Tria pays from your crypto across 1,000+ tokens, but its issuer is unnamed and its physical card is still in batches

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

Tria is a Visa card tied to a self-custodial crypto wallet, sold in three tiers — a digital-only Lite card, a plastic Pro card and a metal Max card. The pitch that makes it interesting is breadth: you can spend from more than 1,000 tokens across nine networks, and the card converts to local currency at the moment of payment. On top of that sits a tiered cashback that scales with what you pay.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Tria works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I scored it 7.3 out of 10. That is a good card with real gaps in it, and the gaps are not evenly spread. Top-up options and everyday use earned the highest marks in my assessment — 9 out of 10 each — because the token coverage and network list are genuinely wide, and because the Pro and Max tiers give you a physical card plus Apple Pay and Google Pay. Reliability and complaints earned the lowest, 4 out of 10, because the card’s public pages never name the operator or the issuer. That single omission shapes everything else you should weigh.

Who it suits: someone who already holds a wide spread of tokens and wants one Visa to spend them from, tiered by how much they use it. Who it does not: someone who needs a physical card next week, who wants a named bank behind the card, or who needs a published, unambiguous fee schedule.

Conditions stated here are current as of October 28, 2026.

My score, criterion by criterion

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 8 / 10 The rule is by country of residence, the app dropdown lists 200+ regions, and an unlisted country fails KYC
Cost 7 / 10 Lite $0, Pro $109 a year, Max $250 a year, Tria FX 0, no top-up fee, ATM $1.00 plus 1%; unofficial figures say FX 4% and Lite $20
Top-up options 9 / 10 1,000+ tokens; Bitcoin, Ethereum, Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, Optimism, BSC, Aptos, Solana, plus USDC and USDT over L2 and Solana; minimum BTC $50, everything else $10
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 Operator and issuer are not named; unofficial sources name Nimbus as issuer; Trustpilot 3.4 out of 2 reviews, one of which doubts the company is legitimate
Everyday use 9 / 10 Lite is digital, Pro is plastic, Max is metal, Apple Pay and Google Pay where supported; no ATM on Lite

Total: 7.3 / 10.

The pattern in that table is worth pausing on. Tria is strong where the product is technical — networks, tokens, wallets — and thin where the product is institutional. Nobody has published the name of the company you are trusting with the card programme.

Will they give you the card

The rule is by country of residence, not citizenship. The documents you submit must match the country of residence you pick in the app, and you must physically be in that country when you apply. The app’s dropdown lists more than 200 regions — Australia, Canada, Germany, Hong Kong, the UAE, the UK and the US among the examples the card gives. If you pick a country that is not on that list, your KYC fails. Citizenship is not addressed on the public pages.

So if you are a citizen of one country and live in another, the country you live in is the one that decides. That is the detail to check first, before anything else about this card, because it is binary: either your country of residence is on that 200-plus list or the application does not go through. The app is the place to see the list; there is no clean public page reproducing it.

Two further conditions from the same section. One account per person — a second account with the same documents or phone number is an official rejection reason. And physical shipping happens only “once shipping is officially enabled” for your country, which means the physical card is not guaranteed to be something you can order today just because you are eligible.

How to get it

You buy the card first and verify afterwards. The sequence is: personal details, a valid ID document and a selfie photo check, done once, inside the mobile app. Desktop is not supported for this — the app is required. Age is 18+.

The card’s public pages do not say which specific document types are accepted, and proof of address is not mentioned. A separate “KYC Document Requirements” article is referenced, so the detail likely exists; it just is not on the pages I could read. Treat that as something you confirm in the app rather than assume.

What the card does state is a list of official rejection reasons, and it is a useful one to read before you apply:

Two of these catch people out. The region rule means you cannot pick a country from a menu while sitting somewhere else; the app ties your selection to where you actually are. And expired or damaged documents may not be accepted at all, so check the expiry date before you photograph anything.

There are no KYC levels — it is one-time verification, not a tiered upgrade. Processing time is not stated. That matters more than it sounds: if your documents are rejected, you are in an app-based support loop rather than a stated turnaround queue.

What it really costs: Fees and limits

The headline is that the card itself is not where the money goes. Tria charges no direct service fee on card deposits “at this time”, though provider fees may apply on some routes, and its own FX fee is zero for members. The catch is in the sentence that follows: Visa’s own FX fee may still apply, and Tria says travel-related fees stay under 1%. So “zero FX fee” describes Tria’s line, not necessarily your total cost on a foreign purchase.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Tria payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Membership pricing is the one number that is genuinely murky on the public pages. The help centre does not print prices; it tells you to check the Membership section in the app, and adds that prices vary by region. Third-party estimates put Lite at about $20–25, Pro at about $90–109 and Max at about $225–250. The renewal prices given elsewhere are Pro $109 a year and Max $250 a year, with promotional first-year prices cited as $90 for Pro and $225 for Max, while Lite is free and renews at $0. Treat all of those as app figures, not page figures.

Fee or limit What it is What the card states
Issuance Whether a card costs anything up front Lite is digital-only and renews at $0; Pro and Max are annual memberships
Monthly fee A recurring charge Not stated; memberships are annual
Annual membership Pro / Max Pro $109 a year, Max $250 a year; promotional first-year $90 and $225 cited
Deposit fee Loading the card No direct Tria service fee on deposits “at this time”; provider fees may apply
Tria FX fee Currency conversion by Tria Zero for members
Visa FX fee Network conversion May still apply; Tria says travel-related fees stay under 1%
ATM Cash withdrawal, Pro and Max $1.00 plus 1% of the amount; $750 per transaction, 3 withdrawals per 24 hours
ATM on Lite Cash withdrawal on the digital tier No ATM
Cashback spend cap Spend eligible for cashback $1,000 a month on Lite and Pro, $2,000 on Max
Daily spend Stated ceiling “Up to millions per day”, no exact figure
ATM free allowance How many withdrawals are free Not stated

Three everyday payments, and which fees actually bite:

A coffee in your own country, on Lite. The card converts to local currency — USD or EUR — at the point of payment. No Tria FX fee applies, and if you are paying in your own currency there is no Visa conversion either. What you are paying is whatever you loaded. Cashback on eligible spend applies at the Lite’s basic rate.

A hotel in a currency you do not hold, on Pro. This is the case the fee table was built for. Tria’s own FX fee is zero; Visa’s may still be charged, and Tria’s own statement is that travel-related fees stay under 1%. That is the figure to plan against if you travel often. The ATM fee also matters if you take cash out — $1.00 plus 1%, with $750 per transaction and 3 withdrawals per 24 hours.

An ATM withdrawal on Lite. There is no ATM on Lite. That is a hard limit on the free tier and the single most practical reason to move up a tier if you take cash out at all.

Two figures deserve suspicion rather than trust. A third-party site lists Lite at $20 a year, which contradicts the official free/$0 line, and the same site lists FX at 4% (3% FX plus 1% international), which contradicts the official zero-Teia-FX figure. Both are unofficial, neither is confirmed by the card, and the fee table above uses the official figures. If the number that matters most to you is the FX rate or the Lite price, read it out of the app yourself before you commit.

How to Top up

This is the strongest part of the card and the reason it scored 9 out of 10. You can spend from more than 1,000 tokens held in the Tria wallet, and you can also fund from external wallets (Gemini and MiniPay are named) or by credit/debit card purchase.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Tria starts with a transfer to the right network

Minimums: BTC $50, every other token $10. That means if you hold a handful of ether and some USDC, both clear the floor, but a small altcoin position does not unless you combine it.

Networks: Bitcoin, Ethereum, Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, Optimism, BSC, Aptos and Solana. Avalanche is not supported for card top-ups, and SOL must be converted first — you cannot send Solana’s native token directly to the card. Tron appears in the picture for fees: Tron network fees are charged and require TRX. Most chains are gasless for this; Solana needs native SOL for its fee.

Timing is typically instant, with up to 2–4 hours in congestion. USDC and USDT over the L2 networks (Optimism, Arbitrum, Base, Polygon) are typically the cheapest route, which matters if you are moving size.

One thing to watch: a “Provider Fee” — covering swaps, liquidity routing and bridging — is shown in the app before you confirm. So the deposit itself is free but the conversion around it may not be. On-chain network fees are charged by the blockchain, not by Tria, which is the part people forget when they compare card providers.

Two structural points before you move money. The wallet is self-custodial, and renewing or downgrading a membership does not touch the wallet or the funds. But if you let a membership lapse, the card is not cancelled and keeps its number — your account drops to Lite and the cashback rate goes away. Card-balance withdrawal back to crypto or to a bank, and how a closure is treated, is not stated on the public pages.

Paying with it every day

Lite is digital only. Pro is plastic (PVC), Max is metal, and Pro and Max each include a Lite card alongside the physical one. That means on the paid tiers you get both: something in Apple Pay or Google Pay where supported, and something in your hand.

Cashback on eligible card spend scales by tier — basic on Lite, higher on Pro, highest on Max. The percentages and the payout currency are not stated; they are shown in the app. The caps are stated: $1,000 a month of eligible spend on Lite and Pro, $2,000 on Max.

Physical cards ship in batches, earlier buyers first, and only where shipping is enabled for your country. Delivery time and delivery cost are not stated. Reissue is where the picture gets bleak: an in-app physical-card reissue is still pending, and replacement promo codes are currently unavailable. The one thing you can reissue is the digital Lite card, up to 3 times.

If a payment fails, the process is: contact the merchant to confirm the refund has started. It usually arrives within 14 business days after the merchant processes it, and Visa processing can extend that to 31 business days. If nothing has arrived after 2 weeks, contact Tria support with the refund transaction ID. The chargeback and dispute process is not stated, which is a real absence — if a merchant will not confirm a refund, the card’s pages do not tell you the escalation path.

What can go wrong

Nobody will tell you who is behind the card. The card’s public pages do not name the operating company or the issuer. A third-party source lists the issuer as Nimbus, LLC, but that is unofficial and the operating company is still unnamed. For a card that asks you to photograph an ID and load money, that is the most consequential gap on this page. Look the issuer up on the relevant regulator’s register before you commit money.

The physical card may not arrive. Batches, earlier buyers first, shipping only where enabled, and a reissue that is still pending. If you need a card in your hand this month, Tria is not the card to plan around.

Reviews are too thin to mean anything, in either direction. Trustpilot shows 3.4 out of 5 from only 2 reviews — one 5-star from 25 March 2026, one 1-star from January 2026 asking whether the company is legitimate. The profile is unclaimed and no recurring themes emerge, because two reviews cannot produce themes. No App Store or Reddit data was found. I would not treat that 3.4 as a signal in either direction; treat it as absence of evidence.

Third parties read the FX line differently. Reviews call the “0% FX” marketing misleading, with terms reportedly up to 3% FX. That is unverified, and it contradicts the card’s own zero-Tria-FX statement plus its under-1% travel-fee statement. The honest summary: Tria’s own FX fee is zero, Visa’s may apply, and a third party claims the real figure can reach 3%. Check your own app.

Blockchain transfers do not reverse. A deposit sent on a network Tria does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. This is the single most expensive mistake available to you here, and it costs nothing to avoid by checking the network twice.

Self-custody means self-responsibility. The funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment, which is the point of the design — but key loss, phishing and clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps a copied address are all yours. And stablecoins are not censorship-proof: Tether disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity.

Some payments fail for reasons that have nothing to do with you. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on funds that stays for several days, typically up to 7. Address verification is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines in the US, Canada and the UK. And a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another, because merchants can look up the issuer from the first six or eight digits of the card number and apply extra scrutiny.

The security setup is decent where it exists: card number and CVV stay hidden until you reveal them with an eye icon and a biometric check, PIN reset sits in card details, and a physical card can be frozen in the app. Whether the Lite card can be frozen is not stated. Two-factor authentication, spending controls and insurance: not stated.

Support is in-app only, with the help centre in English, Japanese and Spanish. No email address, no Telegram, no opening hours listed.

What to take instead

Alternative Score Card Who it is for Cost anchors
Tria 7.3 / 10 Visa Wide token coverage, tiered cashback, self-custodial wallet Lite $0, Pro $109/yr, Max $250/yr
MetaMask 7.1 / 10 Mastercard 45 listed countries, spend straight from a connected wallet Virtual free, Metal $199/yr, 1% cashback (Metal headline 3% capped at the first $10,000)
KAST 6.1 / 10 Visa, several tiers Multi-card, high cashback ceilings, no bank account needed Standard 0, Premium 1,000/yr, Private 10,000/yr
Zeal 6.1 / 10 Visa EU-led footprint, spend from balances in the card Safe Not published

MetaMask is the closest comparison and the one to look at if eligibility is your problem in a specific way: sign-up is open in 45 listed countries and territories — Andorra, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Germany, France, Spain, Uruguay among them — while other regions join a waitlist, and US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed per its FAQ. It uses Mastercard, issues a virtual card instantly with metal pre-orderable afterwards, and runs on Monovate with Crypto Life as card provider. Cashback is paid in mUSD: 1% on Virtual, 3% on Metal capped at the first $10,000 then 1%. Its limits are narrower than Tria’s — one card, four networks (Linea, Base, Monad, Solana) and a named token list, against Tria’s 1,000+ tokens.

KAST is for people who want several cards and large cashback ceilings, and who can afford the membership structure. Standard is free, Premium 1,000 USD a year and Private 10,000 USD a year, billed annually upfront with no monthly option. Cashback runs 1.5% on the first 2,000 USD a month up to 3% on the first 40,000. Its fee table is the most explicit of the four: stablecoin top-up 0%, card spend in USD 0%, non-USD FX 0.5%–1.75% depending on your country and card programme, 0.10 USD on non-USD transactions under 25 USD, 0.50 USD on a declined transaction for insufficient balance. It also has the strangest eligibility rule: living in a supported country is not enough if your ID comes from a restricted region. Up to 10 cards per user.

Zeal is the one to watch if you are in the EU or UK. Spending works in 150+ countries, with the card programme live in the EU, UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, the Philippines, Indonesia and Thailand. Accounts are in EUR, USD and GBP, conversion happens at Visa’s wholesale rate with no additional FX fee from Zeal, and cashback goes up to 4% in GNO — but you must hold GNO in the card Safe to qualify, and rates can change. Its cost schedule is not published at all.

Worth knowing across all of them: Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves. They license issuers and can suspend a programme — Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, and WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Programme closures typically mean a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw remaining balances. That is the shape of the risk in this category, whatever the brand.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Tria to someone already holding a spread of tokens who wants a single Visa to spend them from, and who is comfortable with a self-custodial wallet. The 1,000-plus token coverage across nine networks is genuinely the widest thing here, the L2 stablecoin route is the cheap way in, and the tiering is sensible — start free on Lite, move to Pro when you want plastic and an ATM.

I would not recommend it to someone who needs certainty about who stands behind the card. The issuer is not named on the public pages, the operating company is not named either, and the only issuer name available is unofficial. Look it up yourself on the regulator’s register where you live — in the US, FinCEN guidance treats administrators and exchangers of convertible virtual currency as money transmitters, so there is a register to search; in the EU, ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised crypto-asset service providers and white papers, and MiCA has required e-money tokens to be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution since its rules applied from 30 June 2024, with the remaining CASP provisions from 30 December 2024.

I would also not recommend it if a physical card this month matters, or if you take cash out — no ATM on Lite, batch shipping, and a physical reissue still pending.

And one caution for whoever is reading this with a US or European residency in mind: how you use a crypto card can be a taxable event. The IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local fiat currency at fair market value on the date of the transaction — meaning each card payment funded from crypto can be a separate disposal. That is a matter for a qualified professional in your jurisdiction, not for a review page.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Tria card?

Tria is a Visa payment card connected to a self-custodial crypto wallet. It comes in three tiers: Lite, digital only; Pro, plastic PVC; and Max, metal, with Pro and Max each including a Lite card. You load it from more than 1,000 tokens across nine networks and it converts to local currency (USD or EUR) at the point of payment.

How does the Tria card work?

You load crypto into the Tria wallet, the card spends from that balance, and the amount is converted to local currency when the payment is authorised. The wallet is self-custodial, so the funds stay yours until the moment of payment — and renewing or downgrading a membership does not touch the wallet or the funds.

Is Tria a bank?

Not on the evidence available. Tria’s public pages do not name the operating company or the issuer. A third-party source lists the issuer as Nimbus, LLC, but that is unofficial and unconfirmed by the card. The card runs on Visa’s licence through some issuer whose identity you will need to confirm yourself.

Who can get the Tria card?

Eligibility is by country of residence, not citizenship. The app’s dropdown lists 200+ regions — Australia, Canada, Germany, Hong Kong, the UAE, the UK, the US among them — and selecting an unlisted country fails KYC. You must be physically in the country you select, your documents must match it, and you can hold one account per person.

Does Tria require KYC?

Yes, one-time KYC, with no tiers. It runs in the mobile app — desktop is not supported — and covers personal details, a valid ID document and a selfie photo check, at 18+. Declines are officially attributed to duplicate accounts, wrong data, suspected PEP or sanctions exposure, missing documents, bad photos, unsupported ID, or a region mismatch including VPN use.

Is the Tria card free?

Lite is listed as free and renewing at $0, and the card’s own tier table shows Lite with cashback and zero Tria FX fee. Pro and Max are annual: $109 and $250 a year respectively, with promotional first-year prices of $90 and $225 cited. A third-party site lists Lite at $20 a year, which contradicts the official figure — check the app for your region.

What are the Tria card fees?

Tria charges no direct service fee on deposits at this time and its own FX fee is zero for members, though Visa’s FX fee may still apply and Tria says travel-related fees stay under 1%. ATM withdrawal on Pro and Max costs $1.00 plus 1%, capped at $750 per transaction with 3 withdrawals per 24 hours. Lite has no ATM at all.

How do I top up the Tria card?

From the Tria wallet or supported external wallets including Gemini and MiniPay, or by credit/debit card purchase. Minimums are BTC $50 and $10 for every other token. Networks are Bitcoin, Ethereum, Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, Optimism, BSC, Aptos and Solana; Avalanche is not supported for top-ups and SOL must be converted first.

Can I add the Tria card to Apple Wallet?

You can link it to Apple Pay or Google Pay where supported, on all three tiers. The card number and CVV stay hidden behind an eye icon and a biometric check until you reveal them, and a physical card can be frozen in the app. Whether the digital Lite card can be frozen is not stated on the card’s pages.

Is the Tria card safe and worth it?

Worth it if you already hold many tokens and want one card to spend them from; less convincing if you need a named issuer, a physical card quickly, or a published fee table. Its own pages do not name the operator or issuer, Trustpilot shows 3.4 from only 2 reviews, and blockchain transfers cannot be reversed — so check the issuer on your local regulator’s register first.

Content created by the «cryptocardchooser.com» team