A virtual Visa you fund with stablecoins, priced well but still young
Cashi is a virtual Visa debit card that you top up with stablecoins — USDC or USDT — and then spend like an ordinary payment card, or convert your balance into cash in more than twenty currencies. The idea is simple: if you already hold dollars on the blockchain, you should be able to pay for a coffee subscription or a flight without routing through a bank account that may not exist for you. On paper, that is a genuinely useful gap to fill. In practice, the card is virtual only, Apple Pay is not live, no country list is published, and the company behind it describes itself as a technology provider rather than a bank.

I gave it 6.6 out of 10. It is well priced for what it does and unusually flexible about how you fund it, but it is young, incomplete, and thin on the things that make a card trustworthy over years rather than months.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 6.6 out of 10
The score is not a verdict on the crypto idea — it is a verdict on this particular product in its present state. Cashi does two things notably well: it charges almost nothing to move money onto the card, and it accepts deposits on a wide spread of blockchains. What it does not yet do is tell you who issues the card, which countries you are allowed to be in, or what happens to your balance in a bad month.
Who it suits. You already hold USDC or USDT, you spend most of your money in US dollars, you mostly pay online, and you would rather not open a bank account in the country you live in. If you are funded across several chains — Tron, Solana, Base and the rest — the multi-network deposit support is the standout feature, and it is worth scoring out of 10 on its own.
Who it does not suit. You need a physical card in the post. You need to withdraw from a cash machine. You tap your phone in a shop and expect it to work. You live somewhere the card is not actually available, and you have no way to tell from the public pages. Or you want a named, licensed issuer you can point to and a complaint route you trust.
Here is the score line by line.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | No country list is published; the card works “anywhere Visa is accepted” but some merchant types are restricted for regulatory reasons |
| Cost | 9 / 10 | The $5 activation fee comes back as $5 Spending Credit; USD payments cost 0%, other currencies 1%; crypto deposits carry no Cashi fee, only the network fee; a dispute costs $50 |
| Top-up options | 10 / 10 | USDC and USDT on Tron, Solana, Polygon, BNB Chain, Arbitrum, Ethereum, Bitcoin and Base, plus BTC, ETH and SOL; cash in 20+ currencies |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Cashi says it provides technology services only; the issuer and licences are not named; public beta since August 2026, and I could find no reviews at all |
| Everyday use | 4 / 10 | Virtual Visa only, Google Pay exists, Apple Pay is on the roadmap, and no ATM access |
Total: 6.6 / 10.
Two of those marks deserve a word of caution. The 10 for top-up options is the real prize here, and I would not discount it. But the 5 for reliability is not the same as “unreliable” — it is “unknown”. Nobody has written a bad word about Cashi that I could locate, and nobody has written a good one either, because the product has been in public beta since August 2026. An unknown is not a red flag, but it is not a green light.
Will they give you the card?
Short answer: probably, if you can get past the identity check — but you cannot find out whether you qualify from the public pages, and I want to be honest about that rather than paper over it.
The card’s own site and help articles do not list the countries it is available in. What it does say is that the card works “anywhere Visa is accepted” and that “certain merchant types may be restricted for regulatory reasons”. Availability is stated as subject to local laws. The sign-up interface carries country flags — Argentina, Bangladesh, Brazil, Colombia, Dominican Republic, Spain, Ghana, Kenya, Malaysia, Nigeria, Saudi Arabia among them — but those are a starting selection, not a published eligibility list, and I would not read them as a promise.
That gap matters more than it might look. In my reading, the country that matters to you is not where you live but which citizenship and country of birth you hold, because screening is applied to citizenship as well as address. A card issued in one jurisdiction can also look foreign to a merchant in another: shops can look at the issuer identification number — the six- or eight-digit prefix that says who issued the card and where — and apply extra checks when it does not match your billing address. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards on exactly that basis. So the honest answer to “will they give me the card” is: the sign-up form will tell you faster than any review can.
Two further constraints are worth naming. Some merchant categories are restricted for regulatory reasons and the categories are not listed. And a policy for US persons is not something the public pages spell out for you.
My advice: before you commit, read the terms yourself in your own jurisdiction. This review cannot answer that question for you, and anyone who claims otherwise is guessing.
How to get it
You need your ID, a selfie, five dollars. Most people finish in minutes, though some can take up to 24 hours.
The sequence is short:
- Sign up in the app.
- Verify your identity with an ID document and a selfie. Most people finish in minutes; some take up to 24 hours.
- Add at least $5 to your balance.
- Tap “Activate card for $5”.
- Get the $5 back as Spending Credit.
That is the whole flow. There is no tiers system to climb, no waiting list, no branch appointment.
What you get is a USD-denominated virtual Visa debit card. A physical card, the card’s own help articles say, “will be available in the future” — which is not the same as a date. If your card details are ever exposed, the stated route is to email support.
On the identity check itself: the card describes it as “a quick check with your ID and a selfie”, with no levels described and no published list of rejection reasons. Proof of address and age requirements are not stated. Most cards in this category are adult-only (18+), and some issuers set higher limits, so if you are under 18 the honest expectation is that this is not for you.
One thing you should weigh before you start: identity verification is not bureaucracy for its own sake. Regulated businesses have to verify customers and assess risk under anti-money-laundering rules, keep monitoring transactions, and report suspicious activity. Where the checks cannot be completed, the institution is expected to refuse the transaction or close the relationship. That is why accounts freeze pending documents — it is the system working, not the card punishing you.
Fees and what a payment really costs
This is where Cashi looks best. The headline fees are either zero or refunded, and the one that bites — 1% on non-USD payments — is at least clearly stated.

| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Activation | $5, returned as $5 Spending Credit, so net zero; must be paid from cash balance |
| Monthly or annual fee | not stated |
| USD payment | 0% Cashi fee |
| Non-USD payment | 1% conversion fee |
| Crypto conversion spread | not stated |
| Transfer between Cashi accounts | free |
| Cashi fee on crypto deposits and sends | none; only the blockchain network fee |
| ATM | not stated; the virtual card cannot be used at ATMs |
| Cash deposit or cash-out | Cashi fee on each, quoted in the app before you confirm |
| Raising a dispute | $50 |
| Daily spending limit | set by you in the app, up to $50,000 per day |
| Monthly limit | not specified |
Now the part people actually care about: what does a Tuesday cost you?
A $40 subscription in dollars. Nothing. No Cashi fee on USD payments. If it is one of the eligible subscription services and it falls within the monthly cashback cap, you may also get 3% back as Spending Credit — see the rewards section for how the caps actually bite.
A €30 dinner in Spain. The card converts to USD at a 1% fee, so roughly 30 cents plus whatever the network exchange rate gives you on the day. The crypto conversion spread, if there is one, is not stated — so treat 1% as the floor on your cost, not the total.
A $12 taxi paid for with crypto you just received. No Cashi fee on the deposit; only the network fee of the chain you used, paid by your sending wallet. Spending $12 in USD costs 0%. So the fee layer between the blockchain and the merchant is close to nothing, and the real cost is whatever the blockchain itself charges.
Three things to watch. The crypto conversion spread is not stated, which means I cannot tell you whether converting USDC into a spendable balance costs anything on top of the 1% — you would have to look in the app. Holds above the final amount, such as a car rental, are deducted at authorisation and adjusted afterwards, so your balance can dip below what you expect mid-transaction. And disputes cost $50 — a flat fee to open a chargeback, on top of the possibility that you only get some of the money back. Asking the merchant for a refund directly is free, and that is the first thing to try.
Cashback categories have monthly caps; the amounts are set out under daily use below, because that is where they start to matter.
How to Top up the card
This is the section where Cashi scores full marks, and I would say plainly: it is the best part of the product.

You can deposit USDC or USDT on Tron, Solana, Polygon, BNB Chain, Arbitrum, Ethereum, Bitcoin and Base. Per the activation article, BTC, ETH and SOL are also accepted. On top of that you can add cash in local currency and take cash out in 20+ currencies.
The fee structure for moving money is unusually clean:
- Digital assets, in and out. No minimum. No Cashi fee. Only the blockchain network fee — which, for a deposit, comes out of the sending wallet, and for a send from your Cashi balance, out of the balance. You can send digital assets out over eight networks.
- Cash, in and out. A Cashi fee on every transaction. It depends on the currency, method and amount, and the app quotes it before you confirm. Minimums vary.
- USD account transfers. Receiving is free. Sending and receiving together are capped at 3,000 USD in any rolling 7 days. Sends carry a fixed bank fee plus a small transfer fee.
One operational warning, and it is a general one about crypto transfers rather than about this card: transfers are irreversible. Send to the wrong network, or to an address on a network the provider does not support, and the money can be gone or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Check the network before you confirm, every time. A second, narrower point: on Ethereum, gas is paid in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT but no ETH cannot send at all.
If you are closing the account, the stated instruction is to transfer any remaining balance out first — because after deletion “you won’t be able to access your funds”. And a word on what this card does not let you do: you cannot yet permanently close the card itself. You can freeze it.
Paying with it every day
Daily use is where the product is thinnest. A virtual Visa with no Apple Pay and no cash machine is a narrower tool than most people picture when they hear “card”.
Where you can pay. Anywhere Visa is accepted, subject to the merchant-category restrictions the card mentions without listing. Payments in other countries work, but the currency is converted to USD for you.
Wallets. Google Pay is supported for in-store tap-to-pay, on Android. Apple Pay is “not available yet, but it’s on our roadmap” — the help centre has an article on it, but the function itself does not exist. iPhone users pay online by entering card details.
Cash machines. The virtual card cannot be used at ATMs. There is no workaround here and I am not going to invent one; if cash withdrawal is essential to how you live, this card is not the tool.
Cashback. 3% on eligible subscriptions, 2% on eligible online shopping, 1% on eligible travel. It is automatic and paid as Spending Credit. The caps are where the headline rates stop meaning much:
| Category | Rate | The cap |
|---|---|---|
| Subscriptions | 3% | Monthly plans only — Amazon Prime, Google One, Canva, Uber One; one charge per service per month; the overall cap is not stated |
| Online shopping | 2% | $500 per store per calendar month, up to $10 cashback per store; other eligible stores share $500 and $10 per month |
| Travel | 1% | $20 cashback per month; each booking counts up to $2,000 |
Read that table twice, because the second row is easy to misread. The $500 is not a monthly allowance you can spend anywhere — it is per store, per calendar month, and other eligible stores pool into a shared $500 and $10. If you shop heavily at two or three sites, you run out at one of them while the others still show headroom.
Two everyday mechanics you should expect. A declined online payment can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven, which is unsettling when the balance is also your savings. And if a purchase you got cashback on is refunded, the cashback is removed. Spending caps, not storage, are what limit you here: you set your own daily limit in the app, up to $50,000.
If something goes wrong. Asking the merchant for a refund is free. Opening a formal dispute costs $50. Time frames for resolution are not stated. Cashback is removed on a refund, per the help centre. That $50 is steep enough that it changes behaviour: I would exhaust the merchant route first, every time.
What can go wrong
The risks here are not primarily technical. They are structural, and they are the sort of thing you only wish you had read before you needed it.
You do not know who issues the card. Cashi says it “provides technology services only”; the financial products are issued and managed by licensed third parties. The issuer, the country of registration and the licences are not stated. That matters because a card network does not issue crypto cards to consumers itself — it licenses issuers, and it can suspend a programme. The company in front of you may be a perfectly good technology company and still be one step removed from the institution that actually holds your money.
Programmes do end. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. A closure typically follows a pattern: a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then a request that you withdraw your balance. If you have been relying on one of these cards, that is what the ending looks like.
Nobody can tell you how your funds are held. The company says assets sit with licensed third parties. Safeguarding arrangements and insurance are not stated. In the EU, e-money institutions must safeguard customer funds by segregating them or insuring them — but such funds are not the same as bank deposits and are not covered by a deposit guarantee scheme. If you are used to a bank guarantee, you should not assume an equivalent here.
No review history exists. I found no Trustpilot page, no Reddit threads, no user reviews and no news complaints specific to Cashi. The public beta dates from August 2026, with press-release reprints dated 11 August 2026; a full launch is expected before the end of 2026, with Mexico expansion and a physical card planned, and one report calls Cashi Hong Kong-based with its release datelined Sharjah, UAE — all third-party and none of it confirmed by the card. The absence of complaints is not evidence of quality. It is evidence of a very young product.
The controls exist, and they are good. Freeze the card instantly in the app. Set daily limits and online payment controls. Two-factor authentication, PIN and biometrics articles in the help centre. Real-time activity alerts, and what the company calls secure account controls and continuous monitoring. I would use all of them, immediately, rather than gradually.
The category’s own risks. On-chain network fees are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider — so a deposit on a busy network can cost more than the card ever would. Stablecoins can depeg: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC briefly lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. Transfers are irreversible. And because USDC is not natively supported on Tron since Circle stopped that support in February 2024, “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option — which is exactly the kind of detail that makes a wrong network choice expensive.
Taxes are yours. I am not giving tax advice and you should not treat this as any. What is worth knowing is that the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss measured in local currency at the fair market value on the date of the transaction. A run of ordinary card payments funded from crypto can therefore be a series of separate taxable disposals. Ask a qualified adviser in your own country.
What to take instead
If Cashi’s gaps — no physical card, no Apple Pay, no published country list, no named issuer — land on your must-have list, these are the same-category alternatives I would look at, with their scores for context.
| Card | Score | Card type | Fees and limits as stated | Cashback |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bitrefill | 6.8 / 10 | Virtual and physical Visa, card currency EUR | Card described as free through the app; issuance and monthly amounts not stated; inactivity fee after 12 months without spending or cash-out; deposit spread on crypto-to-euro conversion; SEPA pay-in 1.99%; FX fee not stated | 2% total, “no cap” — 1% on each crypto deposit, 1% on each purchase; payout currency not stated |
| UPay | 6.1 / 10 | Virtual and physical, personal and business; network not named; payments convert to USD, EUR, AED and others | Not stated; conversion may occur at payment depending on network and settlement | None stated on the card page |
| Kemy | 6.0 / 10 | Unlimited virtual cards and one physical Mastercard; currency not stated | Virtual $15 issuance valid 3 years, $2/month, transaction fee 3.5% + $1, failed transaction $0.8; physical $250 issuance with DHL Express, $10/month; no cashback mentioned | None mentioned |
How to read that table honestly:
Bitrefill is the nearest comparison, and slightly ahead on score. It gives you a physical card, a published “buy with” list including Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, USDT, Solana, Base and Polygon, plus Apple Pay, Google Pay, Visa and Mastercard, and SEPA transfers. Its country list is also not stated, with eligibility “subject to eligibility criteria” verified by partners — the same uncertainty as Cashi, and its inactivity fee after twelve quiet months is a trap worth reading twice.
UPay claims support in 180+ countries but does not state a country list, warns it does not serve residents of certain countries, and — this is the detail that would decide it for me — its KYC partner accepts only ID documents issued by the same country as the user. That is a real obstacle for anyone whose documents come from elsewhere. Fees are simply not stated on the card page.
Kemy says 190+ countries with “a few restrictions apply” and eligibility checked at sign-up, and its pricing is the most transparent of the three — but $15 plus $2 a month for a virtual card, and 3.5% plus $1 per transaction, is a materially more expensive way to spend than Cashi’s 0%-in-dollars model. Its main-account deposit fee also appears inconsistently on its own pricing page, as 8% in the summary and 5% in the section.
None of these is a clean win, and none is without risk. What the comparison tells me is that the market has settled into a shape: a small score spread across near-identical products, where the differentiators are the things the marketing pages leave out.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Cashi, with eyes open, to someone in a specific position: you already hold dollars on-chain, you spend in dollars most of the time, you pay mainly online, you move money across more than one blockchain, and you have accepted that this is a young product without a review history and without a published list of the countries it serves.
I would not recommend it to you if any of these are true. You need a card in the post, and “in the future” is not a delivery date. You need to take money out at a cash machine. You need Apple Pay to tap with an iPhone today. You need to know, in plain terms, which institution holds your money and under which licence — because the card does not say. Or you live in a jurisdiction where you suspect you are not eligible, and the absence of a country list means you would be finding out by being refused.
The thing I keep returning to is that this is not a bank, and it does not pretend to be one. It says it provides technology services only, and the products come from licensed third parties. That is a normal arrangement in this category — an electronic money institution can issue cards without lending, and a card network licenses the issuer rather than issuing to consumers itself. But it means your protection is your protection against a third party, and the card does not tell you who that party is. Judge it on that basis: the fees are genuinely good, the funding options are genuinely excellent, and the trust question is still open.
Start small. Move a small amount in, try the payments you actually make, set the limits tight from day one, and keep the balance you would hate to lose separate from the balance you are spending.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Cashi card?
Cashi is a virtual Visa debit card that you fund with crypto rather than a bank account. You deposit stablecoins — USDC or USDT — on one of several supported blockchains, and the card spends a USD balance converted from them. You can also add cash in local currency and withdraw cash in more than twenty currencies. It is a payment tool, not an account with an IBAN.
Is Cashi a bank?
No. Cashi says it “provides technology services only”, and that the financial products are issued and managed by licensed third parties. The issuer, its country of registration and its licences are not stated on the public pages. The card itself does not state whether customer funds are safeguarded or insured. Treat it as a product fronted by a technology company, not as a deposit-taking bank.
How do I get the Cashi card?
Sign up in the app, verify your identity with an ID document and a selfie, add at least $5 to your balance, then tap “Activate card for $5” and receive $5 back as Spending Credit. Most verifications finish in minutes; some take up to 24 hours. You get a virtual card immediately. A physical card is described as coming in the future.
Does Cashi require KYC?
Yes. It describes “a quick check with your ID and a selfie”, with no tiered levels and no published list of rejection reasons. Proof of address and age requirements are not stated. This is normal: regulated businesses must verify customers and screen them under anti-money-laundering law, and where the checks cannot be completed, transactions or the relationship itself can be refused.
Is the Cashi card free?
Almost. The $5 activation fee is refunded to you as $5 Spending Credit, so the net is zero. There is no stated monthly or annual fee. USD payments cost 0%, non-USD payments carry a 1% conversion fee, and crypto deposits carry no Cashi fee — only the blockchain network fee. A cash deposit or cash-out does cost a fee, quoted in the app.
Can I use Cashi at an ATM?
No. The card’s own help material states that the virtual card cannot be used at ATMs, and ATM pricing is not stated because the facility does not apply. If taking out cash is part of how you manage money day to day, this card will not do that job for you.
Can I add the Cashi card to Apple Wallet?
Not yet. Apple Pay is described as “not available yet, but it’s on our roadmap”, and the help centre has an article on the subject rather than a live feature. Google Pay is supported for in-store tap-to-pay on Android. iPhone users pay online by entering the card details directly.
What network should I use to send USDC or USDT to Cashi?
The card accepts USDC and USDT on Tron, Solana, Polygon, BNB Chain, Arbitrum, Ethereum, Bitcoin and Base, with BTC, ETH and SOL also accepted per the activation article. Check the network before you send, because blockchain transfers are irreversible. Note that Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option.
Is the Cashi card safe?
The controls are reasonable: instant card freeze in the app, spending limits you set yourself, online payment controls, two-factor authentication, PIN and biometrics, and real-time activity alerts. The unresolved part is not technical. Safeguarding and insurance arrangements are not stated, the issuer is not named, and the product has been in public beta since August 2026 with no independent review history. Use the controls, and keep only what you can afford to have tied up.
How do I close or delete my Cashi account?
Transfer any remaining balance out of your account first — after deletion you will not be able to access your funds. Digital asset sends carry only the network fee; cash withdrawals in 20+ currencies carry a fee quoted in the app; USD account sends carry a fixed bank fee plus a small transfer fee. One gap: the card itself cannot be permanently closed yet, so freezing it is the strongest step available today.
Virtual cards – cryptocardchooser.com
Content created by the «cryptocardchooser.com» team
