AQUA Dolphin Card review — suspended worldwide, balances refunded in USDT, and what to use now

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

If you are reading this because you were hoping the AQUA card might be your way around a bank that will not open an account for you, I should tell you straight away: that option is gone. The Dolphin Card, the virtual Visa that AQUA and JAN3 ran through their app, was suspended worldwide with immediate effect on 4 December 2025 because of a problem with the card provider. The provider was never named. No replacement provider and no relaunch turned up in the searches behind this review. So this page is not a buyer’s guide — the thing you would have been buying no longer exists. What it is instead is a short account of what happened, what it means if you still have money sitting in the programme, what the realistic risks were even while it was running, and which four cards do the same job today with an actual operating history. I have read the card’s own public pages, the January-to-December timeline of announcements, and four alternative providers’ public terms, and I have kept the numbers exactly as each side published them.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
The AQUA card programme no longer issues new cards

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 2.4 out of 10, and the reason is not subtle

The AQUA card scores 2.4 out of 10. That is not a mark I give to a mediocre product; it is a mark for a product that is not on the market. Every criterion below reflects that: the highest score in the whole table is a 5 for cost, and a 5 there means “the card’s own pages did not say” rather than “it was cheap”. Let me show you the breakdown honestly rather than round it up.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 0 / 10 Dolphin Card suspended 2025-12-04 worldwide over a card-provider problem; no relaunch found
Cost 5 / 10 Fees not disclosed; unofficial: no issuance or maintenance fees mentioned in a review
Top-up options 4 / 10 BTC, L-BTC or Liquid USDt — one network, Liquid
Reliability and complaints 1 / 10 Card suspended 2025-12-04; balances refunded in USDT on Liquid; pending merchant refunds will not return; issuer not named
Everyday use 2 / 10 Only a virtual Visa was planned for Apple Pay and Google Pay; neither worked at launch
Total 2.4 / 10

Who does this suit? Honestly, almost nobody — the group I would carve out is existing cardholders who need to recover a remaining balance. For them the card is not a product choice any more, it is a claim to settle, and the section on that below tells you what the programme actually said about it. Everyone else should read this as a closed file and move on to the alternatives.

What made it a poor fit even before December, and what I would want a reader to understand about why it ended up here: the card was virtual-only, there was no stated support channel, the issuer behind it was never named publicly, and the checks it ran were so light that a third-party reviewer could describe sign-up as nothing more than entering an email address. A card with that little scaffolding under it has very little to absorb a provider failure. That is not hindsight — I am just noting that when the suspension came, the refund ran on stablecoins over one network, and the money that merchants owed users simply stayed gone. There was no bank behind this to make good on it.

What happened to the programme

The timeline is short and the ending is abrupt.

What the programme looked like while it ran, for the record. Getting in was deliberately easy: a single step, a JAN3 account plus an emailed verification code, and no mention of identity documents anywhere in the beta post. You loaded the card in the app with BTC, L-BTC or Liquid USDt, through a Card Management page, and the blog recommended a small test load first because the balance may take a moment to update. Spending cap: $4,000 USD per month. Apple Pay and Google Pay were planned “in the coming months” but were not live at launch, and tap-to-pay was not available. Costs and fees: the card’s public pages do not say. Tiers and rewards: not stated — only one card was ever described, virtual, USD. Physical card and delivery: none; it was virtual only. Currency: the card was USD; whether other currencies or a multi-currency balance existed is not stated. Cash withdrawal is not stated either.

One third-party account worth repeating, labelled as what it is: a CriptoNoticias review of 24 October 2025, unofficial and not confirmed by the card, described the card as issued in the United States and USD-denominated, reported that a Spotify payment from Argentina was declined because the card’s country and the user’s country did not match, and noted that no issuance or monthly fee was mentioned in that review. That last point is not a fee schedule — it is an absence in someone else’s write-up. The mismatch on the Spotify payment is the more interesting detail, and it connects to something you will have heard about crypto cards generally: a merchant can look up the bank identification number at the front of your card number and see which institution and country issued it, then apply extra scrutiny if that country differs from your billing address. That is not a quirk of this card; it is how card payments work, and it is why a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another.

If you already have the card

If you were in the beta, this is the part that matters to you, and I am going to be precise about what was promised and what was not.

After the 4 December 2025 suspension, the programme said remaining balances would be refunded in USDT on Liquid. The mechanism: a secure request form on the AQUA website, and the money could go to your AQUA wallet or to any Liquid-capable wallet. Processing starts once Aqua receives the funds from its provider, with email confirmations along the way. That sequencing matters — the refund is not instant and it depends on a third party upstream actually releasing funds.

Three things I could not find anywhere, and you should plan around them not being there:

And one thing that was stated plainly, which is the loss I would think hardest about: pending merchant refunds will not return to the card. If you had a payment in flight when the card stopped — a shop that took the money and was going to credit it back — that money is not coming to you through this programme. There is no dispute route described. In card terms, the issuer orders a chargeback to settle a dispute with reason codes like fraud or duplicate billing, and US debit-card reversal rights come from Regulation E while credit-card rights come from Regulation Z, with prepaid-card coverage varying and not something to assume. None of that machinery was set out here. If you are in that position, the practical route is the merchant itself, and any statutory rights you have under your own country’s law — I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice, so if the sum is significant, that is a question for a professional in your jurisdiction rather than for me.

One more unofficial detail about how the money went in, from the same CriptoNoticias piece of 24 October 2025 and not confirmed by the card: on-chain BTC top-ups needed to cover miner fees and three to four network confirmations before crediting, BTC balance was converted automatically to USD, and the card was nameless. The conversion point is worth sitting with, because it means the balance you were spending was a converted figure, not the bitcoin you had deposited.

What can go wrong

Here I am describing risks rather than history, because with the programme closed the most useful thing I can do is tell you what the shape of the failure was, so you can recognise it elsewhere.

You were trusting an unnamed issuer. The card was issued and operated by JAN3 via AQUA, and the card issuer was never named. That is not a small gap. When a card payment runs, several parties are involved: the network — Visa or Mastercard — routes the messages and sets the rules; the issuer is a bank or e-money institution licensed to issue under that network’s licence and actually holds the card programme; the crypto brand is often only a programme manager or front end that markets it. Here the front end was visible and the licensed institution underneath it was not. In the EU an electronic money institution can issue e-money, payment cards and e-wallets but cannot lend, and may serve the whole EU/EEA from one member state’s licence — a structure designed so that a licensed body stands behind customer money. You could not check whether AQUA’s card rail had that.

Money sat with a custodian, not with you. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key or seed phrase; with a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials, so you have to trust the provider completely. A seed phrase — typically 12 to 24 words — is an unencrypted form of the private key, and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds. Transfers are typically irreversible, and a stolen key has no built-in recovery: the network cannot freeze or return the funds. Custodial platforms have a real record of this going wrong: Mt. Gox, with about US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014; Coincheck, about US$400 million in 2018; Ronin Network, US$625 million in 2022.

Your refund depended on one chain. USDT on Liquid was the settlement route. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit on an unsupported network, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee of outcome. And there is a category of crypto you cannot treat as risk-free: Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so stablecoins are not censorship-proof.

A suspension can arrive with almost no warning. This programme went from an all-clear to “effective immediately” in one announcement, with no notice period. Programme closures typically work differently — a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw — but “typically” is not a guarantee. This is not the first card programme to vanish: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer, and WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Neither of those was fraud; they were business decisions. That is the point — this category can stop for structural reasons that have nothing to do with your money or your conduct.

Security safeguards were never described. The beta post says nothing about security measures beyond the card living inside the AQUA app Marketplace, and JAN3’s CEO said user funds were safe. The usual safeguards in this category — app-based two-factor authentication, instant card freeze, spending limits, 3-D Secure confirmation, tokenised mobile wallets — were not stated for this card. Similarly, what happens when a merchant declines a payment was not stated: a declined authorisation may leave a hold on funds that can run for several days, typically up to seven.

On complaints: I found no user reports on Reddit or Trustpilot, and no complaint detail published. Read that carefully rather than as reassurance. A programme that stopped four months after a beta launch, with no support channel and no issuer named, has very little time to accumulate a public complaint record. Silence there is not evidence of a good experience.

What to take instead

Four cards do the job this one was meant to do. Each has its own published terms; none of the four is a like-for-like replacement for a no-KYC virtual card, because that is precisely the category this page should be steering you away from. All four run proper identity checks.

Alternative Score Card Cost Where it works
MetaMask 7.1 / 10 Mastercard, virtual instant, Metal pre-orderable after approval; issuer Monovate, card provider Crypto Life Virtual free; Metal $199/year Sign-up open in 45 listed countries/territories; other regions on a waitlist; US/UK sign-ups temporarily closed per FAQ
KAST 6.1 / 10 Visa — Platinum Standard, Infinite metal Premium, Infinite gold plated Private; virtual and physical, up to 10 cards Membership: Standard 0 USD; Premium 1,000 USD/year; Private 10,000 USD/year Residence-based list shown at KYC; country list not published; Restricted Locations referenced but no countries named
Zeal 6.1 / 10 Visa; virtual card for online use, addable to Apple Pay Not stated — no fee schedule published on zeal.app or the App Store Spend in 150+ countries; card programme live in EU, UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, Philippines, Indonesia, Thailand

MetaMask is the one with the highest mark here and the broadest fee story. Sign-up is open in 45 listed countries and territories — Andorra, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Germany, France, Spain, Uruguay are among the examples — while other regions join a waitlist. Proof of residency is required, and the company’s own line is worth sitting with: “Ineligible regions limit sign-ups, not spending”. Citizenship rule is not stated, and US/UK sign-ups are temporarily closed per the FAQ. It is a Mastercard: a virtual card issued instantly, Metal pre-orderable in the app after Virtual approval, one card per user, with Monovate as issuer and Crypto Life as card provider; card currency is not stated. On cost, the Virtual card is free with no annual or maintenance fee, and Metal is $199/year. On fees: “minimal fee for each transaction” — the amount is not stated on the pages I read, and a fee table is linked — plus “no additional MetaMask fees”, no foreign transaction fee, and the Mastercard rate is used. Spending comes straight from the connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana, with tokens named including mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC and USDT, though the page says nine; wallets that are Solana-only cannot withdraw credit. Rewards are cashback in mUSD into the Money Account: 1% on Virtual; on Metal the headline is 3% but the footnote caps 3% at the first $10,000 spent and 1% after that. There is also a $FLY bonus of 5X (Virtual) or 7X (Metal) through the Blackbird dining app.

KAST is the most configurable and, at the top, the most expensive. Eligibility is shown at KYC: if your country is not listed, KAST is not available there, though the country list itself is not published and a Restricted Locations list is referenced without naming countries. Citizenship and ID matter separately — if you live in a supported country but hold only an ID from a restricted region, you may still fail KYC; dual citizens with an ID from a supported country may pass; only the account holder’s own ID is accepted, and a VPN does not bypass it. You can create an account in an unsupported country, but KYC stays locked. The card is virtual or physical, up to 10 per user, across Visa Platinum (Standard), Visa Infinite metal (Premium) and Visa Infinite gold plated (Private), with other designs in Pengu, Solana and Bitcoin, and a USD balance where stablecoin deposits convert 1:1 at a 0% spread. Annual membership is 0 USD for Standard, 1,000 USD/year for Premium and 10,000 USD/year for Private, billed annually upfront with no monthly option; an extra virtual card is 2 USD (“in some regions” 2 USD also applies to the included Standard virtual cards); a Standard physical card has a 0 USD card fee plus 40 USD delivery, while Premium and Private physical cards are included; there is a 1 USD/month inactivity fee after 12 months, and renewal or reactivation fees exist with amounts not stated. Fees are unusually explicit: stablecoin top-up 0%, USD card spend 0%, transaction fee 0%, Apple and Google Pay 0%, non-USD FX 0.5%–1.75% depending on your residence country, the transaction country and the card programme, non-USD transactions under 25 USD at 0.10 USD, and a declined transaction for insufficient balance at 0.50 USD; non-stablecoin tokens may be auto-converted at a fee shown in the app. Funding accepts USDT, USDC, PYUSD and RLUSD, with USDT/USDC on Ethereum, Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum and TRON, and no bank account needed — though the terms say acceptable tokens are “currently USDT and USDC”, which conflicts with the app listing PYUSD and RLUSD. Spending comes from your own balance, deducted at each purchase, so it is not credit. Cashback in USD: Standard 1.5% on the first 2,000 USD/month, Premium 2% on the first 10,000 USD/month, Private 3% on the first 40,000 USD/month; KAST Points add +1% on Premium and +2% on Private of eligible spend, with cashback paid in USD when the transaction is authorised.

Zeal is the simplest of the three and the vaguest on price. You can spend in 150+ countries, though issuance “depends on eligibility and regional availability”; the card programme is live in the EU, UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, Philippines, Indonesia and Thailand, with Zeal update notes also mentioning Mexico, Colombia and Bolivia. It is a Visa, with a virtual card for online use that can be added to Apple Pay, and accounts in EUR, USD and GBP per the Gnosis Pay documentation; physical cards are not stated. Cost is not stated at all — no fee schedule is published on zeal.app or the App Store. Zeal charges no additional FX fee and converts at the Visa wholesale rate, though Gnosis Pay fees, for example at an ATM, may still apply. Spending draws on balances in the card Safe — EUR/USD/GBP stablecoin accounts, on Gnosis Chain and Celo per the docs — and the exact coins are not stated for Zeal. Rewards are up to 4% cashback paid in GNO on Gnosis Chain, which must be held in the card Safe to qualify and whose rates can change; the App Store also advertises up to 5% variable APY on EUR/USD balances.

Which of those fits you depends on the thing you were using AQUA for. If you wanted to spend straight out of a self-controlled wallet without pre-loading, MetaMask is the closest shape to that. If you want a wide range of Visa materials and printed cards with published, itemised fees, KAST is the most transparent on paper — and its membership tiers are where your decision gets expensive. If you want the fewest moving parts and do not mind that no fee schedule is published, Zeal is the light option. All three ask for documents; that is not a defect, it is what makes a refund possible when a provider fails.

Who I would recommend it to

My honest answer: almost nobody, and specifically not as something to adopt.

I would recommend it to exactly one group — people who already held a Dolphin Card when it stopped on 4 December 2025 and still have a balance showing, who need to complete the refund process described above and get their USDT on Liquid into a wallet they control. For them the page is a record of what they are owed and how it is being returned, not a recommendation.

For everyone else, my recommendation is to treat this as a closed file and use the time you would have spent reading this product’s terms on one of the four alternatives instead, with the comparison table above as your starting point.

The broader lesson, since it will keep applying: a card in this category is a stack of three parties — network, licensed issuer, and crypto front end — and the useful questions are about the middle one. Who is the issuer, in which jurisdiction is it licensed, and what is the safeguarding arrangement? Here the issuer was never named, which meant that when the provider problem surfaced in December 2025 the programme had nowhere else to go. An electronic money institution must safeguard customer funds by segregating them in dedicated accounts or insuring them, and even then those funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme. The crypto side has its own layer: MiCA, the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, took legal effect in June 2023 per ESMA, with rules on stablecoins applying from 30 June 2024 and the remaining provisions, including crypto-asset service provider rules, from 30 December 2024. Under MiCA, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution, and the transitional period runs only until 1 July 2026 or until a provider receives or is refused authorisation, whichever comes first. ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised providers and white papers, and a card is a payment service regulated separately from the crypto side — so a crypto card often depends on two licences. In the US, FinCEN guidance treats administrators and exchangers of convertible virtual currency as money transmitters, while ordinary users buying things are not.

None of that applies to a wallet you hold yourself. With a self-custody-linked card the funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment, and you bear sole responsibility for key loss, phishing and clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps a copied address. That is a different kind of risk from trusting a provider, and for someone whose problem is that institutions will not deal with them, the honest position is that neither model is a workaround — one asks you to trust a company, the other asks you to be careful with keys. I would not tell you a card is safe, or that any of these is anonymous. Neither is true. What I am saying is that you can pick a card whose issuer is named, whose licence you can look up, and whose fee schedule you can read before you commit money.

Frequently asked questions

What is the AQUA card?

It was a virtual Visa card in USD, reloadable and managed inside the AQUA wallet app’s Marketplace, run by JAN3 through AQUA. It launched in beta on 21 May 2025 for users outside the US and Canada, as a USD card you funded with BTC, L-BTC or Liquid USDt. It was virtual only, with a $4,000 USD monthly spending cap. It was suspended worldwide on 4 December 2025.

Is AQUA a bank?

No — it is not a bank, and no bank was named as the card’s issuer. AQUA is a crypto wallet app; JAN3 issued and operated the Dolphin Card through it, and the card issuer was never identified publicly. This matters: a card payment normally rests on a licensed issuer standing behind it, and here that layer was invisible. It is one of the reasons I would not put money on a card of this kind without knowing who is liable for the balance.

Who owns AQUA, and is the Dolphin Card coming back?

JAN3 issued and operated the card through AQUA. On 4 December 2025 all Dolphin Cards were suspended globally, effective immediately, after a problem with the card provider, which was not named. JAN3 said it was negotiating refunds and looking for alternative providers; my 2026 searches found neither a replacement provider nor a relaunch. I would plan on the programme being finished rather than paused.

Can I still apply for an AQUA card?

No. There is nothing to apply to — the programme has been suspended since 4 December 2025 and no relaunch has been announced or found. All four alternatives I compared do require identity verification and an eligibility check before you can hold a card. That is a change from the AQUA beta, where sign-up reportedly needed only a JAN3 account with an emailed verification code.

Why were all the AQUA cards suspended so suddenly?

The stated reason was a problem with the card provider, and the suspension took effect immediately with no notice period. Other Aqua wallet services were unaffected, which points to the card rail rather than your crypto. The JAN3 CEO said on 30 November 2025 that partners had told him all cards were suspended, so the news was circulating internally four days before the public announcement. No detail on the provider or the fault has been published.

Do I need KYC for an AQUA card?

The card’s own beta material described a single step: a JAN3 account with an email verification code, and no mention of identity documents. A CriptoNoticias review of 24 October 2025, which is unofficial and not confirmed by the card, likewise described sign-up as requiring only an email address. KYC rules generally require regulated businesses to verify customers and assess risk under anti-money-laundering law, and if due diligence cannot be completed, institutions must refrain from the transaction or relationship.

How do I get my remaining AQUA balance back?

The programme said remaining balances are refunded in USDT on Liquid, via a secure request form on the AQUA website, payable to your AQUA wallet or any Liquid-capable wallet. Processing starts once Aqua receives the funds from its provider, with email confirmations. Pending merchant refunds will not return to the card. Refund fees are not stated, and the chargeback process for disputes is not stated either.

What are the alternatives to the AQUA card?

Four came out of this review. MetaMask scores 7.1/10 with a free virtual Mastercard and Metal at $199/year, spending from your connected wallet. KAST scores 6.1/10 with Visa cards, virtual and physical, and itemised fees but tiered membership from 0 to 10,000 USD/year. Zeal scores 6.1/10 with a Visa, a virtual card addable to Apple Pay, no published fee schedule, and spending in 150+ countries. All three ask for identity documents.

Is AQUA card safe?

I would not call it safe, and I would not call it fraudulent either — it stopped for a business reason, and the CEO said user funds were safe. What I can tell you is what was missing: the issuer was never named, no support channel was given, ATM withdrawal and security arrangements were not stated, and no complaint detail was published. Custody itself carries counterparty and hack risk, and this category has a history of programmes ending — FTX’s US debit card in 2022, WaveCrest’s Visa programmes in 2018.

Was the AQUA card free?

Nobody can say, and that is the accurate answer. The card’s public pages do not state the issuance fee, the maintenance fee or transaction fees — not stated, across the board. A CriptoNoticias review of 24 Oct 2025 mentions no issuance or monthly fee, but that is an unofficial review noting an absence, not a published fee statement. For contrast, MetaMask’s virtual card is free with no annual or maintenance fee and Metal is $199/year, and KAST publishes itemised fees.

Content created by the «cryptocardchooser.com» team