The card is gone, the platform is closing, and the money is the problem

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

If you landed here searching for a BitMart card to spend crypto on, the honest answer comes first: you cannot get one. BitMart announced a phased shutdown of its platform, the card programme comes with it, and the review that follows is not a buying guide. It is a map of what happened, what it means if you are already holding a BitMart card and money on the account, and where the same jobs — spending crypto through a card, top to crypto, cashing in and out — are actually being done right now. The score is low, and the reasons are structural rather than cosmetic.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
The BitMart card programme no longer issues new cards

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

The verdict: 3.7 out of 10, and the low half of that is not about fees

The headline number is 3.7 / 10. But resist the temptation to read that as “a mediocre card with a few annoyances”. The breakdown matters more than the total. The card was cheap to hold and pleasant to use on paper; it is the reliability and complaints column that pulls the whole thing down, and that column is about an exchange that is shutting down, not about a plastic card that declined at a supermarket.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 0 / 10 The platform is winding down: a phased closure was announced on 26 July, trading ends 26 August, and platform operation is planned to end on 31 January 2027; not confirmed on the official pages
Cost 5 / 10 Issue price: virtual 0 USD, plastic 70 USD, Platinum 120 USD; annual fee 0, transaction fee 1.3%, ATM 2% or 1.5%
Top-up options 7 / 10 USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH, SOL, ADA, BMX, XRP, LTC, DOGE, TON and BNB from a BitMart balance, with no networks named
Reliability and complaints 1 / 10 Platform closure, delayed withdrawals, Trustpilot at 2.3/5 across 2,915 reviews, support going quiet; no issuer named
Everyday use 8 / 10 A virtual, a plastic and a metal Visa, Google Pay for the virtual card, ATMs on the physical cards; Apple Pay is not mentioned
Total 3.7 / 10 A well-designed card attached to a platform that is ending

Who this suited, in its intended form: someone already holding crypto on BitMart who wanted to spend it at ordinary Visa merchants without moving the coins to an exchange first, and who was comfortable leaving the balance inside a custodial exchange account. The coin list was genuinely wide — twelve assets including the ones most people actually hold — and the everyday-use mechanics, a free virtual card, cashback in the first months, a $50,000 daily limit on the plastic tier, were better than a lot of what else was on offer.

Who it does not suit now: anyone who wants a card in the next six months, and anyone whose plan depends on being able to move money off BitMart later. The audience this page serves, then, is the person who already has the card: withdrawing a BitMart balance with as little friction as possible, and moving on.

What happened to the programme, in dates

Nothing about this is ambiguous on the official side once you line the dates up. There was a separate notice for identified US users on 23 July 2026. On 26 July the first-stage restrictions on new activity were announced. Then came the deadlines: 26 August 2026 for general users, by which verification had to be completed, positions closed and withdrawal requests submitted. And 31 January 2027 is the planned end of trading-platform operations. That is the shape of a wind-down with a timetable, not a temporary outage.

So the card question answers itself. BitMart’s card page did not survive as a live product in any meaningful sense: on the official pages I could read, the availability of new applications was not confirmed, and the platform those cards were tied to has its own end date. The card drew on a balance held inside the exchange account — it was custodial, not self-custodial — so when the exchange stops, the card has nothing left to draw on.

Two things that did not happen, and are worth separating out from everything above. First, no official regulatory action against the platform was found. Second, in the coverage of the announcement the founder denied misappropriating user funds. Neither of those is an all-clear: the absence of a regulator is not the presence of a solvent balance, and a denial is not a settlement. What they tell you is that this is an unresolved commercial situation, not a legal one.

For context on the mechanics of a card like this: a payment card number starts with a 6- or 8-digit issuer identification number that tells the merchant which institution and country issued it, and a card issued in one country can look “foreign” to a shop in another. More relevant to a wind-down is who actually issues the card. In the crypto card model, the network — Visa here — routes payments and sets rules, a licensed issuer holds the programme, and the crypto brand is often only a programme manager or front end. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. That is exactly what happened with FTX: Visa said in November 2022 that it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX”, and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer. It is also what happened to WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes.

Which brings us to the part you will want to check first, because it is the one thing the card’s own public pages never said: the issuer, the legal entity and the licences are not stated. There is no named bank or e-money institution on the card page. For a card you can no longer apply for, that is a historical gap. For your understanding of where your money sits, it is a live one.

What the card was, for the record, since people still search for it: a Visa in three forms — a virtual card issued immediately, a plastic “BitMart Card”, and a metal “Platinum” — settling in USD. The virtual card could be added to Google Pay; Apple Pay was not mentioned. Blocked merchant categories were not stated. Country coverage is one of the murkiest areas: the card page does not state a country list and says only that all BitMart users can apply, while third-party trackers report figures that contradict each other. Unofficial reporting from the September 2025 launch coverage says 115+ countries and regions; CryptoCardHub (February 2026) lists 183 available and 10 restricted countries including the US, UK, Netherlands, Russia and Ukraine — but a U.Today piece says the card expanded to all 50 US states in early 2026, so that list may be out of date. None of that is confirmed by the card, and none of it matters now.

The rewards, if you are wondering whether you are owed anything: cashback of 4.0% on online shopping in the first month for new users and 3.5% from month two; 5.5% on grocery and dining in the first month and 5.0% from month two. The payout asset was not stated. Note that third-party sites give quite different numbers — “up to 5.5%”, “1–10% by tier and merchant”, “1–3.5% standard, up to 10% in promotions” — all unofficial, and all disagreeing with the official ranges above.

If you already have the card: this is a withdrawal checklist

Here is the practical part. The card itself does not matter much now; the balance does.

1. Check whether you can still see a balance, and which assets it is in. The card spends from a crypto balance held in your BitMart account. If that account is showing funds, that is the thing you are trying to get out.

2. Get your identity checks finished, not started. The card required Identity Verification Level 2, with extra documents possible and proof of address required. Verification was the explicit gate on the 26 August 2026 deadline for general users. Levels 0 and 1, what each unlocks, processing time and rejection reasons were not stated on the card page — so there was never a published timetable for how long this would take.

3. Submit the withdrawal request well before the deadline, and do not assume a submitted request equals a completed one. The general-user deadline to submit withdrawals was 26 August 2026, with platform operations planned to end 31 January 2027. A third-party guide from OneKey, dated 7 August 2026 and not official, notes that withdrawals may be held for review — KYC, source of funds, address ownership, the Travel Rule, sanctions screening — and that the BitMart Card is not mentioned in it at all. That last point deserves emphasis: the wind-down documentation is about the exchange, not about your card.

4. Confirm the network for each coin before you send. The card was funded from USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH, SOL, ADA, BMX, XRP, LTC, DOGE, TON and BNB in a BitMart balance, and the networks were not listed. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. This is one of the few pieces of advice here that is not about the closure at all, and it is the one most likely to cost you money permanently if you skip it.

5. Do not treat a fresh deposit as a way to test whether the system works. The card page’s own advice was to keep enough crypto in your account, which is exactly the wrong instinct during a wind-down — deposits were still being accepted after suspension according to user reports, and credited late or not at all in other cases. There is also no stated withdrawal route for a card balance, no stated support arrangement on the card page beyond a help centre, and no dispute or chargeback section anywhere on it.

6. Keep your own records. Screenshot balances, transaction histories, submitted withdrawal requests and every message you send. A chargeback is a refund ordered by the card issuer, with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received — and since no issuer is named and no dispute process is described, you should not assume any refund route exists. In the US, debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z, and prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed.

That is genuinely all there is. There is no top-up fee, no minimum top-up and no fiat top-up detail on the card page — the card was simply paid from a crypto balance — which is one reason there is nothing to unhook there.

What can go wrong, and what the reviews actually say

The complaints data is the reason for the 1 / 10. Trustpilot reads 2.3 / 5 from 2,915 reviews, 66 of them in the last twelve months, as of a 20 October 2026 reading. An older third-party report cited roughly 3.1 / 5 across 2,953 reviews, so the picture has been worsening, not improving.

The themes users report are consistent and they are all wind-down symptoms: withdrawals blocked or failing after the wind-down announcement, with reviews dated 3 September, 18 September, 9 October and 11 October 2026; support silent for anything from a week to a month across August and September 2026; deposits not credited, or still being accepted after suspension, in August and October 2026; and no direct notice of the closure, reported in September and October. One reviewer reports 280,000 USD blocked and a Hungarian company with roughly 80,000 USD unreleased since 26 July. There are fraud allegations in the reviews — unverified. Not one card-specific complaint was found, which is worth noting precisely because it means nobody got far enough with the card to complain about the card.

The App Store rating is the same story in miniature: the US iOS listing shows 2.9 / 5 from 3.5K ratings, for iPhone, iPod touch and Apple Vision on iOS 13.0 or later, with interface languages including Russian, Turkish and Ukrainian. The Google Play listing was not read. So the mobile app people would use to manage all of this is rated at the bottom of its category by three and a half thousand people.

No official incidents are stated on the pages I could fetch. That is an absence of published record, not an absence of events, and given the volume of user reports it should be read as the former only.

Now the deeper risk, which outlives this particular card. This card is custodial: the assets sit in the BitMart exchange account, and the card is tied to that balance. Two-factor authentication, freezing the card in the app, spending controls and any insurance were all not stated on the card page. That matters because custodial platforms have a real record of failure — Mt. Gox, about US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014; Coincheck, about US$400 million in 2018; Ronin Network, US$625 million in 2022. Holding funds with a custodian carries counterparty and hack risk by construction.

The mechanics are unforgiving even in ordinary times. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key; with a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials, so you must trust them completely. A seed phrase — typically 12 to 24 words — is an unencrypted form of the private key, and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds. Transfers are typically irreversible, and a stolen key has no built-in recovery: the network cannot freeze or return anything.

The regulatory backdrop explains why accounts freeze in the middle of everything. KYC rules require regulated businesses to verify customers and assess risk under anti-money-laundering law, with ongoing monitoring and suspicious-activity reporting. In the EU, customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are politically exposed. If due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to refrain from the transaction or relationship and, where necessary, end the relationship — which is why accounts close or freeze pending documents. Nationality is screened separately from residence because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are often applied to citizenship and country of birth, not just to your address. In the US, the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number, with electronic systems validating proof-of-address documents.

The tax footnote, offered as information rather than advice: the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services, dollars or other digital assets generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local fiat currency at fair market value on the transaction date. Each card payment funded from crypto may therefore be a separate disposal.

What to take instead

Four alternatives came up, and they are not interchangeable — two are regional, one is US-only, one is European. Scores are mine to be consistent across this page: Bybit Card 6.0, Coinbase Card 6.4, OKX 6.2.

Alternative Score Who can get it The catch
Bybit Card 6.0 / 10 Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru, Asia Pacific Not for European Economic Area customers at all; participation strictly prohibited
Coinbase Card 6.4 / 10 All US states except Hawaii US only, nothing else
OKX 6.2 / 10 EU plus Norway, from 28 January 2026 Iceland and Liechtenstein excluded; euro-denominated Mastercard virtual card linked to OKX Pay

Bybit Card is the broadest of the three. The card has no balance of its own: it draws on the Funding Account and the Flexible Easy Earn balance, fiat first, and if fiat is insufficient crypto is sold at the “One-Click Sell exchange rate plus a Bybit Card crypto conversion fee”. Supported cryptos are BTC, ETH, XRP, USDT, USDC and GRAM, with a reorderable default priority of USDT, USDC, GRAM, BTC, ETH, XRP. Cards are virtual and physical — a virtual card must be obtained first, and physical is not available in Peru. Virtual issuance is free in all regions “until further notice”; physical costs 29.99 USD in Australia, 5 USD or USDT in Argentina, 29.99 USDT in Georgia, Kazakhstan (AIFC) and Asia Pacific, and nothing in Brazil and Mexico. The conversion fee is 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate for most regions and 0.5% in Argentina; FX adds 2% on top of the network rate in several regions, 7% in Argentina, 1.5% in Brazil, 1% in Peru. Rewards changed materially on 5 October 2026: from 10:00 UTC only crypto-funded transactions earn points or cashback, and fiat-funded spending does not — worth checking if you read an older page. Tiers run from Base at 2.00% with a 5 USD monthly cap up to Infinite at 10% with a 600 USD cap. On country rules, there is no card-specific statement on Russian or Belarusian citizens, and no citizenship-versus-residence rule was found.

Coinbase Card is the simplest and the narrowest. A Visa prepaid debit card, virtual or physical, spending cash or crypto, with all crypto converted to US dollars at purchase or ATM withdrawal. No annual fees and no spending fees; the cost is the exchange spread when Coinbase buys, sells or trades your crypto. Funding is by linking a bank account or depositing part of a paycheck into Coinbase at zero fees. Rewards are optional, US-only, and the rate is variable and shown in the app, with your choice of rotating crypto rewards. If you are outside the US, this one is not for you at all.

OKX is the European answer. A Mastercard, euro-denominated virtual debit card linked to OKX Pay, issued through an unnamed European licensed payment provider; a physical card is not mentioned. No card fee, no transaction fee and no OKX FX fee per the explainer as of May 2026. The conversion spread is the one number to watch and it is stated inconsistently by OKX itself: 0.1% in the explainer against 0.4% market spread in the launch release — the explainer is the newer source. Funding is USDC or USDG held in OKX Pay via Convert or external deposit; other coins must be converted first, there is no auto top-up, and payment is declined if the balance is insufficient. Cashback is USDG-only — USDC earns none — with monthly EUR caps from Regular 2% cap 10 up to VIP4+ at 10% cap 1,000.

One general point on why closures happen and what the pattern looks like, since it bears on your expectations for all of these: programme closures typically run through a notice period, then stop spending and loading, then ask users to withdraw remaining balances. Visa did exactly that to FTX in November 2022, and to WaveCrest in Europe in 2018.

Who I would recommend it to

Nobody, as a card to apply for. The programme is closed and the score reflects that.

To the person already holding a BitMart card and a balance: treat this as a withdrawal task with a deadline, not as a card relationship. Finish verification, submit the withdrawal request with time to spare, double-check the network for every coin, and keep your own record of every step. Expect review holds on the source of funds and on address ownership, and expect slow replies. Do not send anything in to “test” the system, because deposits were still being accepted after suspension in some reports and not credited in others.

To someone who wanted the original product — spending crypto at ordinary Visa shops without moving coins first: look at Bybit Card in a supported region, and read the October 2026 rewards change carefully first. Coinbase Card if you are in the US. OKX if you are in the EU or Norway and you are comfortable holding USDC or USDG in OKX Pay.

To anyone still choosing a crypto card in general, three checks before anything else. First, who actually issues the card: a named licensed bank or e-money institution, not a brand name. In the EU an electronic money institution can issue e-money, payment cards and e-wallets but cannot lend, and must safeguard customer funds in dedicated accounts or insure them — and such funds are not the same as bank deposits, so they may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme. A crypto card often rests on two licences, because the card itself is a payment service regulated separately from the crypto side; MiCA is the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, which took legal effect in June 2023, with its stablecoin rules applying from 30 June 2024 and the remaining provisions including crypto-asset service provider rules from 30 December 2024. The transitional period ran until 1 July 2026 or until a provider received or was refused authorisation, whichever came first, and ESMA keeps an interim public register where you can check a provider. Second, whether funds are custodial or self-custody. Third, what happens when the company has a bad year — because they all eventually do.

And one last piece of background worth keeping. A card number does not tell a shop who is spending; the merchant reads the issuer identification number and sees an institution and a country. That is why a foreign-issued card can be declined, and why some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards outright. Address Verification Service, which compares the numeric parts of the billing address the buyer typed with issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards. A declined authorisation may also leave a hold on your funds that can stay for several days, typically up to seven. None of that is BitMart-specific. It is what you are signing up for with any of them.

Frequently asked questions

What is BitMart card?

It was a Visa payment card tied to a crypto balance held inside the BitMart exchange account. Three versions existed: a virtual card issued immediately, a plastic BitMart Card, and a metal Platinum card, all settling in US dollars. The card drew on a custodial balance rather than a self-custody wallet, which is the single fact that matters most now that the platform is closing.

How does the BitMart card work?

You keep crypto in your BitMart account and the card spends from it, converting your balance to USD in real time at the moment of purchase, with a 1.3% transaction fee on every card type. Funding coins named on the card page were USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH, SOL, ADA, BMX, XRP, LTC, DOGE, TON and BNB. The networks for those coins were not stated, which is why you must confirm them yourself before any transfer.

Is BitMart a bank?

No. BitMart is a crypto exchange platform, and the legal entity and licence behind the card were not stated on the card’s public pages. In this category the exchange is often only the programme manager, while a licensed issuer holds the actual card programme — and here even that issuer was not named. Nothing on the card page put customer funds under a deposit guarantee scheme.

Can I still apply for a BitMart card?

No. New applications are not confirmed on the official pages, and the platform they belonged to has announced a phased shutdown: trading ending 26 August 2026 and operations planned to end 31 January 2027. If you were hoping to start using one now, read the alternatives section instead — Bybit Card, Coinbase Card or OKX depending on where you live.

Does the BitMart card require KYC?

Yes, and it was Identity Verification Level 2, with extra documents possible and proof of address required. General users had until 26 August 2026 to complete verification, close positions and submit withdrawal requests, and a separate notice went out for identified US users on 23 July 2026. The card page did not state what lower KYC levels unlock, nor how long review took.

How do I withdraw money from BitMart?

As a holder now, your route is the exchange withdrawal process, not the card: finish your verification, submit the withdrawal request before the deadline, and expect a review that may cover source of funds, address ownership, sanctions screening and the Travel Rule. Support went quiet for a week to a month according to user reports, so keep screenshots of everything. Your card cannot help you here, and platform operations are planned to end 31 January 2027.

Was the BitMart card free to get?

The virtual card cost nothing to issue; the plastic card cost 70 USD and the metal Platinum 120 USD, with no annual fee on any of them. Spending was not free: 1.3% per transaction, plus ATM withdrawal fees of 2% on the plastic card and 1.5% on Platinum. Whether those numbers mattered is now academic, since none of the tiers can be new.

Can I add the BitMart card to Apple Wallet?

Apple Pay was not mentioned on the card page; only Google Pay was listed, for the virtual card. Apple Pay works by replacing the card number with a device-specific number stored in the phone’s secure hardware and using a one-time code per payment, but there is no official statement that the BitMart card ever supported it. Anything you read claiming otherwise should be treated as unverified.

Is the BitMart card safe?

Not in the sense that matters now. The card was custodial, so the crypto sat in the exchange account rather than in your wallet, and two-factor authentication, in-app freezing, spending controls and insurance were all not stated on the card page. Trustpilot showed 2.3 / 5 across 2,915 reviews, with reports of blocked withdrawals after the closure announcement and funds unreleased since 26 July.

Is BitMart Card worth it anymore?

No new applications, and the platform behind it is ending, so the question only applies to money you already hold there. Work through the withdrawal checklist: complete verification, submit before the deadline, confirm the network for every coin, keep your own records. If you want a card for spending crypto going forward, pick from the alternatives that are actually open in your country.

Content created by the «cryptocardchooser.com» team