The card is free, but the card is not really open to everyone
There are crypto cards that promise a bank account in your pocket and then ask for three documents you do not have. There are cards that are genuinely free and genuinely wide open, and quietly take a slice of every payment. Belo sits awkwardly between the two, and the awkwardness is the story. Belo charges nothing to issue the card, nothing to ship it and nothing to keep it. What it will not do is hand the Mastercard to just anyone: the account opens in twelve countries, and the card itself is marked unavailable in eleven of them. If you are reading this outside Argentina, this is the page that tells you whether you are wasting your time.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
What score does this card get, and should you care?
Belo comes out at 5.5 out of 10 in my assessment. Not a write-off, not a recommendation — the middle, with the reasons on the record below.

| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 2 / 10 | The account opens in 12 countries, but the Mastercard card is issued only to people with Argentine documents and a delivery address in Argentina |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | Issuance $0, delivery $0, maintenance $0; physical card replacement 2.50 USDT, minimum on international payments 0.30 USDT, ATM 3% or a minimum of 0.50 USDT |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | You need a balance in the belo account in pesos or crypto, and the coins and networks are not disclosed |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | The issuer is not named, the processor is Pomelo, unofficial reports point to registration with Argentina’s CNV; App Store reviews mention international transfers and weak support |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual and physical Mastercard, Google Pay, ATMs in Argentina; Apple Pay is not mentioned |
The cost line is the strongest part of the picture, and the access line is the weakest by a distance. That combination matters more than the total. A free card you cannot obtain is worth exactly nothing to you, and no amount of zero fees compensates.
So who does suit it? Argentine residents with an Argentine ID — that is the audience this card is built around, and inside that group it is a reasonable everyday-spending card with no monthly charge. Who it does not suit is anyone in the other eleven countries where the account opens, and anyone anywhere who needs the card delivered to a home address outside Argentina. If you are in Brazil or Mexico or Chile and hoping a virtual card will carry you through a subscription payment, the card pages mark it unavailable. Do not plan around that.
There is one more group I would nudge away: anyone who wants a disclosed, itemised fee schedule before committing money. The card is unusually generous about the fees it does state, and unusually quiet about the ones it does not. Both of those are true at once, and I will come back to it.
Will they give you the card
Two different answers hide inside one product, and this is where most misunderstandings come from. Belo has an account and it has a card, and they are not available to the same people.
The account is enabled in twelve countries: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela. It is open to people whose identity documents were issued in those countries — so the test is what your paperwork says, not where you happen to be sitting.
The Mastercard card is a different story. It is issued only to people with an Argentine ID, described as a DNI or an Argentine passport, and the delivery address has to be in Argentina. On the card’s own availability, it is marked unavailable for the other eleven countries. Both conditions apply together: the document and the address.
If you hold an Argentine document but live in Madrid, you may be able to open an account. That is not the same as being able to receive the card. If you live in Argentina and hold a passport from somewhere else, the account list is not the obstacle — the card is.
I want to be direct about why this matters. The gap between the account list and the card list is easy to misread as a technicality, and it is not: it is the difference between a product you can use at a shop and a product you can only read about. Any comparison that treats Belo as a broadly Latin-American card is comparing the wrong thing.
How to get it
The signup path is short, and the identity rules are strict. In Argentina the accepted documents are the DNI, a foreigner’s national ID, and a passport. The card’s own wording is blunt: only the documents listed will be accepted, and anything unlisted is rejected automatically. That means an unusual document — a residence permit, a consular ID, an expired passport, a driver’s licence — is not a slower path through the system. It is a no.
The sequence runs: open the account, verify with your ID, request the card in the app under the section called “Tarjetas”, then activate the physical card when it arrives. Proof of address and proof of age are not stated on that page, though proof of address does come into play later, for raising limits.
What you end up with is both a virtual and a physical card, on Mastercard. It is described as a local prepaid card with international validity, and it spends either pesos or crypto drawn from your belo balance — which means it behaves more like a stored-value card than a bank debit card. The distinction matters whenever something goes wrong: there is no bank account behind it that a regulator can point at, only a balance.
The physical card ships to an address in Argentina only, and the card’s own estimate is approximately 3 business days from request to arrival. Shipping costs $0. Replacement, if you lose it, is 2.50 USDT.
Beyond the listed documents, what is not stated is as informative as what is: there is no stated proof-of-funds requirement to open, and no stated proof-of-address requirement at that stage. Both reappear when you want higher limits.
What it really costs: Fees, limits and the parts that are not on the table
Here is where Belo is genuinely attractive, and where I want to slow you down.

| Fee or limit | Value as stated |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | $0 |
| Shipping | $0 |
| Monthly maintenance | $0 |
| Physical card replacement | 2.50 USDT |
| Minimum cost on international transactions | 0.30 USDT (0.40 USDT at selected merchants) |
| ATM withdrawal fee | 3% or 0.50 USDT minimum |
| Crypto conversion spread | not stated |
| Percentage FX fee | not stated |
| Default daily purchase limit | $20,000,000 (ARS, editable in the app) |
| Consolidated monthly cap | 5,000 USDT |
| Consolidated annual cap | 50,000 USDT, across physical and virtual cards |
| ATM limit | not stated |
| Free ATM allowance | not stated |
Zeros, all three of them, for issuance, shipping and maintenance. There are plenty of cards that charge you a dollar a month forever for the privilege of existing quietly; this is not one of them. There are also no tiers — no higher-spending membership unlocks anything, because there is nothing to unlock. One card, virtual and physical, and limits you can raise yourself in the “Tarjetas” section of the app.
Now the gaps, which are larger than the numbers suggest.
The conversion spread is not stated. If you hold crypto and spend it, someone converts it into something spendable, and the margin on that conversion is the single most likely cost you will pay. It is not published. That does not mean it is unreasonable — it means you cannot predict it, and for a card whose whole premise is spending a crypto balance, that is the wrong thing to leave unsaid.
The percentage foreign-exchange fee is not stated either. There is a floor — 0.30 USDT on international transactions, 0.40 USDT at selected merchants — which tells you the shape of the fee: a small fixed minimum, plus something on top that varies. Payments abroad are settled in US dollars, and foreign-currency taxes apply in the same way they apply to any Argentine-issued card, though the amounts are not listed. The exchange rate used and any markup are also not stated.
ATM withdrawals are the expensive one. 3% or a minimum of 0.50 USDT, whichever is greater, at any ATM in Argentina, available around the clock. Cash is also available at participating merchants. There is no free allowance stated and no ATM limit stated, which means the effective ceiling on how much you can pull out in a day is a question the public pages do not answer.
The limits are unusual in shape. A default daily purchase limit of $20,000,000 in Argentine pesos is not a real constraint for most people — it is a ceiling high enough to be irrelevant in normal life. The binding limits are the consolidated 5,000 USDT monthly and 50,000 USDT annual caps across both the physical and the virtual card. Read that carefully: the virtual card does not give you a second allowance. If you need to move more than 5,000 USDT a month through this card, you need the caps raised, and raising them requires proof of address and proof of the origin of your funds.
Here are three ordinary payments, priced against what is actually published.
A 20 USDT subscription service billed in dollars. You pay the minimum international transaction cost of 0.30 USDT, plus whatever the exchange markup is, plus foreign-currency taxes that are not listed. If the card can settle it without conversion, the known part of your cost is about 1.5% of the amount, made up of the 0.30 USDT minimum alone.
A 200 ARS coffee in Buenos Aires. No international minimum applies, so the only costs are whatever the balance conversion carries — the spread, which is not stated — or nothing at all if the peso balance covers it. This is the payment Belo looks best at, and it is also the least informative.
Pulling cash out of an ATM. 3% of the withdrawal, or 0.50 USDT, whichever is higher. On a small amount the minimum wins and the effective percentage becomes punitive; on a large one the 3% dominates. Either way it is the most expensive thing on this list, and cash should be a deliberate choice rather than a habit.
The honest summary is this: the fixed fees are among the lowest in the category, and the variable ones are unpublished. If you spend in dollars from a peso balance, you are relying on terms you cannot see.
How to top it up: the balance comes first, the coins come later
The mechanic is simple and it trips people up: the card does not hold funds. Your belo account holds funds, and the card draws on that balance. The card’s own requirement is to have funds in your belo account — pesos or crypto, with the order of debit selectable, so you can choose which balance is spent first.
That is the whole of the stated top-up story, and it leaves the practical questions open. Deposit fees: not stated. Minimum top-up: not stated. Which coins: not stated on the pages read. Which networks: not stated. The last two are the ones that will decide whether your first deposit works, because a transfer sent on a network the provider does not support can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee.
So the sequence to expect is: transfer value into the platform, land in your belo balance, then spend from that balance with the card. The middle step is the thin one. Before you send anything, find out which coins and which networks are actually supported — from the app itself rather than from an assumption.
Withdrawing is the reverse, and narrower. Cash from ATMs in Argentina only, at 3% or a minimum of 0.50 USDT. The virtual card can be deleted in seconds from the app, which is a genuinely good feature if you are worried about a compromised number. What happens to a remaining balance on closure is not stated, and that is a question worth asking before you ever put money in.
Paying with it every day
This is the section where Belo scores well, and the reasons are concrete rather than promotional.
You get a virtual card and a physical one, both Mastercard. Google Pay is confirmed. Apple Pay is not mentioned, which means you should plan around adding the card manually. The card can also be saved in Mercado Pago.
At the point of sale, the practical picture in Argentina is good: physical card, contactless on the Mastercard side, ATMs around the clock, participating merchants for cash. Rewards are not stated. Blocked merchant categories are not stated — which means you do not know whether gambling or similar categories are closed by default, and if a payment is ever declined that will be the first question worth asking. The app’s own quality and feature set are also not described on the pages read.
Two payment behaviours are documented and worth knowing. The card spends in whatever balance you have, in an order you choose. And payments made abroad settle in US dollars, with foreign-currency taxes applied the same as on any Argentine-issued card.
Disputes have a stated timetable, which is more than most cards give you. Refunds for rejected or reported purchases are credited in pesos within 8 to 30 calendar days. A dispute over an unrecognised charge “can take 30 to 120 days” — that is a long window, and it is the one you will care about if a charge you do not recognise turns up on a statement. Claims wait 31 days from the transaction. Claims must be filed within 90 days. Escalation goes first to the processor, Pomelo, then to Mastercard.
On rewards, take this with a pinch of salt. Unofficial reports describe crypto cashback of up to 21% — one source citing Rankia in 2026, and an earlier undated interview with the CEO putting the range at 2% to 21% in The Fintech Times. Neither is confirmed by the card. Treat 21% as a marketing number to verify in your own app, not as a fact to plan a budget around.
One piece of background helps explain why cashbacks in this category can look extravagant. Stablecoins are the fuel most of these cards run on. Tether’s USDT and Circle’s USDC are dollar-pegged, and the BIS put about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation in those two as of July 2025. And “stable” is doing quiet work in that sentence: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. Cashback advertised in crypto is paid in an asset that has a history of moving.
What can go wrong
Let me take the risks in order of how likely they are to hurt you.
Not getting the card at all. For anyone outside the eleven-country account list with no Argentine documents, this is the whole risk analysis. You will not have a card.
Spending limits biting at the wrong moment. A 5,000 USDT monthly cap across both cards is fine for ordinary spending and tight for anything larger. Raising it requires documents you may not want to hand over, and it is a per-account process, not a phone call.
Unpublished conversion and FX costs. Already covered above. This is the one I would want answered in writing before I moved real money, because it can turn a cheap card into an expensive one without warning.
Losing control of the card. The good news first: a lost or stolen physical card can be reported in the app under “Reportar”, which deactivates it in seconds. The card can be paused and resumed. ATM use is protected by a 4-digit PIN set in the app. That is a competent baseline. Two-factor authentication and card insurance are not stated on the card pages, so do not assume either.
The company behind it. This is where I found the least and think the most. The card is described as a local prepaid card, and the issuer or BIN sponsor is not named in the public information. The payment processor is Pomelo, named in the dispute procedure. Unofficial reporting from Rankia in 2026 says Belo is registered as a crypto asset service provider with Argentina’s CNV — third-party, not confirmed by the card. When a dispute escalates, the path is processor then network, and the licence holder in the middle is the piece that is not visible to you.
There is a reason this matters more for crypto cards than for ordinary ones. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key, and with a custodial wallet the provider holds it — meaning you must trust them completely. A seed phrase is typically 12 to 24 words in plain form, and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend its funds. Transfers are typically irreversible, with no built-in recovery. Custodial platforms have a real record: Mt. Gox at about US$350 million reported stolen across 2011–2014, Coincheck at about US$400 million in 2018, and Ronin Network at US$625 million in 2022. Belo is not a name in that list, and I am not suggesting it will be. The point is structural: a balance held on someone else’s platform carries counterparty and hack risk, whoever the platform is.
Programmes disappearing. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves — they license issuers and can suspend a programme. Visa said in November 2022 that it had terminated its global agreements with FTX, and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. Typically a closure means a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source — a single, unconfirmed source — had new loads ending 8 July 2026 and spending stopping 8 August 2026. This is not a forecast for Belo. It is the shape of the failure, so you know what to watch for.
Complaints. Officially, none found. In practice, third-party reports — a paid-report page and secondhand user reports, undated, including a Kimola paid report of Brazilian App Store reviews — mention problems with international transfers, delayed transactions, inability to access funds, difficulty with account verification, and weak support. A dedicated search turned up no Reddit or Trustpilot threads about the Belo Mastercard, and no Trustpilot or Google Play rating was found. So: some app-store-level grumbling, attributed mainly to users outside Argentina, and no independent rating to lean on either way. Support itself is an in-app Help Center plus email, in Spanish, with hours not stated.
Taxes. I am not going to advise you here, but you should know the mechanism exists. The IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local currency at the fair market value on the date of the transaction. A practical consequence: every card payment funded from crypto may be a separate disposal, and your own country’s rules are what apply.
What to take instead
Three alternatives are worth comparing, primarily because of how differently each handles the points Belo leaves unclear.
| Belo | Bitrefill | UPay | Kemy | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 5.5 / 10 | 6.8 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 | 6.0 / 10 |
| Card | Mastercard, virtual + physical | Visa, virtual + physical | Virtual and physical; network not named | Unlimited virtual cards (Visa on mockups), one physical Mastercard |
| Card cost | $0 issuance, $0 shipping, $0 maintenance | Free through the app; issuance and monthly amounts not stated | not stated | Virtual $15 issuance, $2/month; physical $250 issuance, $10/month |
| Top-up | Belo balance in pesos or crypto; coins and networks not stated | Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, USDT, Solana, BASE, Polygon, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Visa, Mastercard; SEPA transfer | BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC; networks not stated | USDT and USDC on the main networks, plus BTC, ETH, SOL; fiat via mobile money and virtual bank accounts |
| Fees you can see | 2.50 USDT replacement, 0.30 USDT international minimum, ATM 3% or 0.50 USDT minimum | SEPA pay-in 1.99%; deposit spread on crypto-to-euro (percentage not stated); spread by payment processors and ATM operators | not stated | Virtual: top-up $1.5 under $100 or 1.25% from $100 (min $5), transaction 3.5% + $1, failed $0.8; physical: same top-up (min $10), failed $0.80 |
| Rewards | Unofficial: crypto cashback up to 21% | 2% total cashback, no cap — 1% per crypto deposit, 1% per purchase | none stated on the card page | not mentioned |
| Where you can get it | Card: Argentine documents and an Argentine address | Country list not stated; access “subject to eligibility criteria” | Country list not stated; some countries not served; claims support in 180+ countries | “190+ countries”; “a few restrictions apply” |
Three things jump out.
Bitrefill publishes more of its fee structure than Belo does. Its SEPA pay-in fee is a specific 1.99%, and its cashback is a plain 2% with no cap — 1% on each crypto deposit and 1% on each purchase. Its own eligibility language is vaguer than Belo’s, though: access is “subject to eligibility criteria” and further requirements are “established and verified by our partners”. Also worth knowing: an inactivity fee applies after 12 months without spending or cash-out, amount not stated. If you are in Argentina and want a second card to compare against, this is the one that publishes more of its arithmetic.
Kemy is the opposite of Belo on price, and similar in spirit. Unlimited virtual cards and one physical Mastercard, “190+ countries”, no cashback mentioned. But the virtual card is $15 to issue with $2 a month, the physical is $250 with $10 a month, and each transaction costs 3.5% plus $1. Its own pricing page does not separate consumer from business, and the main-account deposit fee is shown as 8% in a summary but 5% in a section — a conflict on the site itself, which should temper how much you trust the rest of it.
UPay is the vaguest of the four. Cost not stated, fees not stated, country list not stated, network not named. It says it does not serve residents of certain countries and that the list may change, it claims support in 180+ countries, and its KYC partner accepts only ID documents issued by the same country as the user’s — a nationality-and-document rule with the same shape as Belo’s. The card page does say conversion may occur during payment depending on network and settlement.
If you are in Argentina and want something to spend from, Belo is a fair free option. If you are anywhere else, none of these three solves the delivery problem Belo has, and each introduces its own disclosure gaps. That is the honest conclusion of the comparison: the field’s problem is not fees, it is information.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Belo to an Argentine resident who holds a DNI or an Argentine passport, has an address that can receive a card, spends mostly in pesos or occasionally in dollars, and would rather not pay a monthly fee to keep a card alive. In that group it is a straightforward, well-priced everyday card with a virtual option, Google Pay, and local ATM access.
I would not recommend it to anyone who needs the physical card outside Argentina — the option simply is not offered. I would not recommend it to someone whose identity document is not on the short list, because the rejection is automatic rather than discretionary. I would not recommend it as a first crypto card for someone who wants to see their fees itemised, because the conversion spread, the FX percentage and the ATM limit are all unstated and you will be spending real money against them.
And I would not recommend it as a place to hold a balance you cannot afford to think about, for the structural reasons above: custodial custody, irreversibility, and the industry’s own history of programmes ending. Use it to spend. Do not treat the balance as savings.
If you want a second opinion before committing, the two questions I would ask the app directly are the conversion spread and the ATM daily limit. Everything else on this page is either published or clearly marked as not published. Those two are the ones standing between “free card” and “cheaper than my bank”.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Belo card?
Belo is a payment card product that combines a crypto and peso account with Mastercard cards, one virtual and one physical. It is described as a local prepaid card with international validity, which means it draws on a stored balance rather than a bank account. Spending comes from your belo balance in pesos or crypto, with the debit order between the two selectable.
Is Belo a bank?
Not on the evidence available. The card pages describe it as a local prepaid card and do not name the issuer or BIN sponsor. The payment processor is Pomelo, named in the dispute escalation path. Third-party reporting from 2026 says Belo is registered as a crypto asset service provider with Argentina’s CNV, which is not the same thing as a banking licence. Treat any description of Belo as a bank as unconfirmed.
Who owns Belo?
The card’s public pages, as far as they describe them, do not name the owning company, the issuing institution or the licences. Unofficial reporting from Rankia in 2026 points to registration with Argentina’s CNV as a crypto asset service provider. The processor is Pomelo. If ownership matters to your decision, this is a question for the company directly rather than for any page I could read.
Can I use the Belo card in my country?
You can if it is Argentina, and only with an Argentine DNI or Argentine passport plus a delivery address in Argentina. The account itself is enabled in twelve countries — Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela — but the Mastercard card is marked unavailable in the other eleven. Account access is not card access, and the difference is worth checking before you plan anything around it.
How do I get and activate the Belo card?
Open an account, verify with an accepted ID, request the card in the app under “Tarjetas”, then activate the physical card when it arrives. Accepted documents in Argentina are the DNI, a foreigner’s national ID and a passport — unlisted documents are automatically rejected. The physical card ships to an Argentine address only and takes approximately three business days, at $0.
Does the Belo card require KYC?
Yes. The card lists specific accepted identity documents and states that only those will be accepted. Proof of address and proof of age are not stated on that page, though proof of address is needed to raise your limits, along with proof of the origin of your funds. Beyond identity, KYC rules generally require ongoing monitoring and sanctions screening, and nationality is often screened separately from residence.
How do I top up the Belo card?
Funds must sit in your belo account balance first, in pesos or crypto, and the card spends from that balance. Deposit fees, minimums and the specific coins and networks accepted are not stated, so check the app before sending anything — a transfer on an unsupported network can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee.
What fees does the Belo card charge?
Issuance, shipping and maintenance are all $0. A replacement physical card is 2.50 USDT, international transactions carry a minimum of 0.30 USDT (0.40 USDT at selected merchants), and ATM withdrawals are 3% or 0.50 USDT minimum. The crypto conversion spread, the percentage FX fee and any ATM limit are not stated, which is the main reason to check before committing money.
Is Belo card safe to use?
The practical protections are reasonable: report a lost or stolen card in the app to deactivate it in seconds, pause and resume the card, and set a 4-digit ATM PIN. Two-factor authentication and card insurance are not stated. What you are trusting is a custodial platform holding your balance, where transfers are typically irreversible and no issuer is publicly named — the same structural exposure that ended the FTX card programme.
How do I delete my Belo account, and what happens to my balance?
The virtual card can be deleted in seconds from the app. What happens to any remaining balance in your belo account on closure is not stated on the public pages, so ask before you close anything with money in it. Cash withdrawals are limited to ATMs in Argentina, at 3% or a minimum of 0.50 USDT.
Virtual cards – cryptocardchooser.com
Content created by the «cryptocardchooser.com» team
