PayPilot card review: a euro-balance crypto card with a low conversion fee and no monthly cost

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

The PayPilot card is a Visa payment card that draws on a euro balance inside the PayPilot app, topped up with bitcoin, ether, Tether or euros. Its card-issuing partner is Walletto UAB, a Lithuanian electronic money institution, and that is the legal source of the card. The wallet on top of it holds BTC, ETH, USDT and EUR, and the card spends whatever is sitting in the euro balance after a 0.4% conversion fee.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
PayPilot works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

That is the whole product in one paragraph, and most of this review comes back to it. The good news: zero issuance, zero monthly cost, and a flat 0.4% fee when you top up with crypto. The bad news: the public pages are quiet about a lot of things a cardholder normally wants to know, including the supported regions, the FX fee when you pay in a non-euro currency, the daily and monthly limits, the ATM fee and even whether a virtual or a physical card is the default. The score below reflects that mix.

Card terms and fee pages are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

PayPilot earns 7.4 out of 10, and the strongest parts of that score are the costs and the day-to-day usability. The weak points are country availability and the lack of detail on networks, limits and the FX fee.

Criterion Mark Why it scored that way
Who can get it 5 / 10 Availability depends on your country of residence and local rules, but the list of supported regions is not published
Cost 9 / 10 0 EUR to issue, 0 EUR monthly, 0% on euro-balance payments, 0.4% crypto-to-euro conversion; the FX fee is not disclosed
Top-up options 6 / 10 BTC, ETH, USDT and EUR accepted; the networks for the crypto deposits are not named
Reliability and complaints 8 / 10 Card issued by Walletto UAB under a Bank of Lithuania e-money licence (No 33, 29 March 2018); no public complaints found
Everyday use 9 / 10 Visa, accepted online and in stores, can be added to Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM cashout supported
Total 7.4 / 10 A clean euro-balance card for people topping up with crypto and spending in euros; weak on transparency

The natural audience for this card is a euro-area user who keeps some crypto on the side, wants to convert at the moment of payment rather than selling on an exchange, and is happy to spend in euros day to day. It is not a card for someone who needs to see every fee spelled out before signing up, and it is not a card for someone whose country of residence is unclear from the public pages.

Who PayPilot will give the card to

The headline rule is short: availability “depends on your country of residence and local regulations”, and the “supported regions” list is not published on the card pages. Citizenship is not mentioned, so the gate is residence, not passport. The only way to find out whether you are eligible is to start the sign-up and see whether the country picker accepts yours.

There is no minimum age, no required document list, and no stated minimum income on the public pages, and that is also true of a few other things you would normally expect to see before signing up. The honest answer from the public material is: the residency rule exists, the list does not, so treat country availability as something you verify in-app rather than something you can check on the website.

If you live in a region where local rules make Visa card programmes harder to obtain — places that show up on the FATF grey list, US-sanctioned countries or territories that European EMIs are often asked to exclude — there is a real chance the sign-up flow will stop at the country screen. The site does not say which regions those are.

How to get the card

The sign-up is described in three steps: register, verify your identity, create the card. That is the whole flow as the card page describes it, and the only detailed step is the second one.

Identity verification (KYC)

PayPilot says you complete “quick identity verification” before the card can be created, and that the account is “verified once”. The verification runs through two named partners: KycAid and Ondato. The site does not state which documents you will be asked for, whether proof of address is required, the minimum age, or what would cause a rejection. The card terms add one important point: the issuer can re-verify your identity and ask for additional documents at any time, so a verified account today is not a closed chapter.

In practice that means the user experience is what the EU e-money KYC process usually looks like: a photo of an ID document, a selfie or short video, sometimes a proof of address, and a sanctions and PEP screen. The card pages do not commit to a turnaround time, so plan for the same day to a couple of business days, depending on document quality and queue.

Virtual or physical card

The card is a Visa that works online and in stores and spends from the euro balance. Whether a virtual or a physical card is the default is not stated, and the card terms describe both: a virtual card that is “usable immediately” and a physical card that needs activation and is sent by post, with postal costs included in the issuance fee. Where the physical card is shipped to and how long it takes is not stated on the public pages, so budget for the typical cross-border postal delay of one to three weeks for a region that is not Lithuania.

The cleanest path for a first-time user is to create the virtual card first, get a feel for the top-up and payment flow, and only order the physical card once you are sure the product works for you.

Fees and what a payment really costs

This is the strongest part of the card. The headline numbers are clean: the card costs nothing to issue, nothing a month, nothing to spend from the euro balance, and 0.4% to convert crypto to euros at the top-up stage. The euro balance is what the card actually spends, so the 0.4% is a one-time hit per top-up, not a per-payment charge.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a PayPilot payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Value
Card issuance 0 EUR
Monthly / annual service 0 EUR
Payment from euro balance 0%
Crypto to euro conversion 0.4%
FX fee on non-euro payments Not stated
ATM withdrawal fee Not stated
ATM allowance Not stated
Single payment limit Not stated
Daily payment limit Not stated
Monthly payment limit Not stated
Minimum top-up Not stated
EUR top-up fee Not stated

Three everyday examples are useful to see which fees actually apply, and which ones you would have to ask support to confirm.

Buying coffee in a eurozone café with a euro balance. Nothing is converted, the merchant is paid in euros, and the only cost is the price of the coffee. If the euro balance was funded from crypto, the 0.4% conversion was already taken at the top-up moment.

Paying a US-based online service in US dollars. The card converts euros to USD at the moment of payment, and the published rate is the Visa or Mastercard rate at the time of exchange. The FX fee on top of that rate is not stated, so this is the part of the cost stack that is genuinely unknown from the public pages. A small but non-zero surcharge is the most likely outcome, but the card does not commit to a number.

Withdrawing euros from a domestic ATM. Cash withdrawal is supported, and the fee and the allowance are not stated. A domestic ATM in a eurozone country will usually be the cheapest cash option, but until the issuer publishes a number, treat the ATM as the part of the card with the weakest cost transparency.

The pattern is clear: the cost story is solid for the obvious case (crypto in, euros out at a shop), thinner for the less obvious cases (foreign currency, cash, large or unusual payments). If you mostly pay in euros from a euro balance, this is one of the cheaper cards on the market. If a meaningful share of your spending is in other currencies or at ATMs, the missing fee disclosure is a real gap.

Top up: how the balance gets filled

The wallet holds four assets: BTC, ETH, USDT and EUR. You can top it up with crypto (which is converted to euros at 0.4%) or with euros directly. The crypto-to-euro conversion is the only fee that the public pages commit to for top-ups; the euro top-up fee, the minimum top-up and the network fees for the crypto deposits are all not stated.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up PayPilot starts with a transfer to the right network

Which crypto and on which network

BTC, ETH and USDT are the three accepted cryptocurrencies. The FAQ does not name the networks, and that is the single most important practical gap. For ETH the realistic default is the Ethereum mainnet (ERC-20) and possibly a Layer 2; for USDT the realistic options are ERC-20, TRC-20 (Tron) and a few others; for BTC the realistic default is the Bitcoin mainnet. Sending USDT on a chain the card does not support, or sending to an address of another network, is the most common way to lose a deposit, because blockchain transfers are irreversible. The deposit screen in the app is the source of truth: read the network and the address there before sending anything, and send a small test amount first if the value is meaningful.

How a top-up turns into a payment

The card spends only from the euro balance, so a crypto top-up is in practice a two-step operation: send crypto to the deposit address the app gives you, then let the wallet convert it at 0.4%. Once the euros are in the balance, every payment is a euro-balance payment with no additional commission.

Off-ramp: getting cash back out

The off-ramp runs through the payment account, not the card. You sell crypto for euros and withdraw to an IBAN, “subject to limits and compliance checks”. If the payment account is closed, the card becomes invalid, which is a useful reminder that the card is a feature of the account rather than a standalone product. What happens to a positive balance on closure is not stated.

Paying with PayPilot day to day

In normal use the card behaves like a prepaid euro card backed by a wallet. A few points are worth knowing in advance.

The combination — Visa acceptance, mobile wallet support, and a euro balance that does not overdraw — is the everyday-payment setup most users actually want. The missing detail is on the edges: rewards, blocked categories, dispute procedure, and what an authorisation hold means for a prepaid balance.

What can go wrong

A crypto card has two layers of risk: the card programme and the underlying platform. PayPilot’s card programme is fairly well documented, the platform layer less so.

The card programme

The card-issuer relationship is the strongest part of the trust picture. The card terms name Walletto UAB (company code 304686884, Vilnius, Lithuania) as the card issuer, holding electronic money institution licence No 33 issued by the Bank of Lithuania on 29 March 2018. The card terms are dated May 2024. An EU EMI is a regulated entity with segregation and capital requirements, and that is a meaningful floor under the card programme. Customer funds are not the same as bank deposits and are not covered by deposit guarantee schemes.

The site also lists the usual platform-level safeguards: AES-256 encryption, PCI-DSS, ISO 27001, cold wallet storage, two-factor authentication, and an audit reserve. The card terms add user-side controls: a card can be blocked on request at any time, the physical card locks after three wrong PINs, and the issuer can block for suspected fraud. None of that replaces reading the terms, but it is a reasonable baseline for an EU-regulated EMI.

The platform layer

The footer says the platform is developed by Pilot Innovation Sp. z o.o. and that financial services are provided by Nexora Fintech Limited “where applicable”. The card terms link to Walletto UAB as the card e-money provider. The card-issuer name is not stated on the homepage in a single line, and licences for the platform itself are described only as “regulated partners” rather than spelled out. The company ownership chain is therefore a little harder to read than it should be.

Custody, sanctions and account actions

The custody model is not stated. The site claims cold wallet storage, but the split between hot and cold, the custodian identity and the insurance arrangements are not on the public pages. The card terms do allow the issuer to re-verify, restrict and block, and that is the standard set of powers an EMI needs to keep its licence.

If your account is restricted, the most common reason in practice is a sanctions or PEP hit that needs additional documentation. The card terms do not give a timeframe, so the practical answer is the same as for any regulated fintech: respond to document requests quickly, keep your address and source-of-funds information current, and expect that unusually large payments can trigger a review.

What is missing from the public material

A few items that a careful card shopper would normally want to see are simply not on the public pages:

That is a long list, and it is fair to flag it as a transparency concern rather than a red flag. The card is issued by a regulated EU EMI, the fees that are disclosed are competitive, and there is no public complaint record that suggests anything is going wrong. The picture is just less complete than the more transparent programmes in the same category.

What to take instead

Three cards cover most of the same use cases. None of them is a perfect substitute, and the right pick depends on whether you care more about country availability, fiat on-ramp, or rewards.

RedotPay — 6.9 / 10

RedotPay is a more expensive card to obtain, with a USD 10 application fee for the virtual card and USD 100 for the physical card (not cancellable or refundable once paid), and a USD 5 first-replacement / USD 10 later-replacement fee. Account maintenance is free. The transaction fee is 1.00% for the crypto conversion, and 1.20% on non-default-currency spending; a small-auth fee applies after the first five transactions of USD 1 or less per card per month, and a declined-transaction fee after the first three. A welcome reward of USD 5 can be earned but cannot be used toward the issuance fee. The card currencies are USD and HKD rather than EUR. Country availability is unusually well documented: a published KYC list and a separate card-issuance list published by RedotPay make it possible to check eligibility in advance. The transparent country policy is RedotPay’s strongest point compared with PayPilot; the cost is its weakest.

Bitpanda — 6.5 / 10

Bitpanda’s card is a physical Visa debit card in euros only, with one active card at a time, and it is open to verified Bitpanda users resident in a euro-area country (Bankident-verified users cannot order). The cost is low: no account-opening fee, no monthly fee, first shipment free, EUR 5.90 reissue (or EUR 9.90 per the FAQ for lost/stolen), and EUR 10 per additional physical card. The FX fee is EUR 0 but Visa’s mark-up applies, and the crypto conversion spread is not stated. Spending draws from a chosen main asset (crypto, precious metals, or EUR) and is auto-converted to EUR at payment, with a EUR 1 minimum payment. The rewards page says 1% cashback on crypto spending, with a separate “up to 2%” figure in the page summary that the public material does not reconcile, and several asset classes (fiat, stocks, metals, stablecoins) are excluded. Bitpanda is the right card if you are already a Bitpanda customer, the euro-area residency rule fits, and you want a card that spends from a chosen asset rather than a single euro balance.

Wirex — 6.7 / 10

Wirex offers a virtual and a physical card (one of each at a time) on Visa or Mastercard, with a metal Visa Signature debit card on top. The card is free to issue in the UK, EEA, APAC, SG, AU and “Other” regions; the metal card costs GBP 45 in the UK with free DHL Express, and “only EUR 45” as a delivery fee elsewhere. The card page advertises “no annual or foreign exchange fees”, while the fee page says exchange rates are “market-leading” and the exact FX number is shown in the app before confirming. The strongest feature is the rewards programme: WXT-based Cryptoback at 0.5% (Standard), 3% (Premium) and up to 8% (Elite and the metal card), with an excluded list that includes ATM withdrawals, cash advances, crypto purchases, gambling, refunds, and a long list of MCCs. Singapore terms also note that cash withdrawals are not permitted in Singapore. Wirex is the right pick if you live in a country it serves, want a paid rewards programme, and are happy to check the live rate in the app before each payment.

Compared side by side

Card Score Issuance Monthly Crypto conversion FX fee Country list
PayPilot 7.4 / 10 0 EUR 0 EUR 0.4% Not stated Not published
RedotPay 6.9 / 10 USD 10 (virtual) / USD 100 (physical) 0 1.00% 1.20% non-default Published lists
Bitpanda 6.5 / 10 Free first shipment 0 Not stated EUR 0 (Visa mark-up) Euro-area only
Wirex 6.7 / 10 Free (metal: GBP 45) 0 Variable, shown in app “No FX fee” (marketing) Worldwide (130+), regional fee pages

A short read of the table: PayPilot is the cheapest of the four on the published numbers, RedotPay is the most transparent on country eligibility, Bitpanda is the most tightly restricted (euro-area only) but also one of the simplest, and Wirex is the only one with a meaningful rewards programme.

Who I would recommend PayPilot to

The card earns its score with two specific user profiles in mind, and it is the wrong fit for several other reasonable ones.

It is a good fit if you live in a euro-area country, you hold BTC, ETH or USDT that you want to spend without manually selling on an exchange, and you do most of your card spending in euros. The 0.4% conversion is low for the category, the monthly cost is zero, and the euro-balance design means the card cannot overdraw. If you also use Apple Pay or Google Pay, the physical card becomes optional and the postal wait is a non-issue.

It is a poor fit if your country of residence is not clearly supported (because the public pages do not list supported regions), if a meaningful share of your spending is in non-euro currencies and you want a known FX number, if you need an ATM allowance, or if you want a published rewards programme or a transparent dispute procedure. A heavy traveller, a heavy ATM user and a heavy foreign-currency online shopper will each find a more transparent card elsewhere.

Before you sign up, do three things. First, start the country check in the app before you commit any document upload, because eligibility is the only gate the public pages will not help you with. Second, send a small test amount on the exact network the deposit screen shows before sending the full top-up, because the supported networks are not on the FAQ. Third, ask support for the FX fee, the ATM fee and the daily and monthly limits, in writing, and keep the answer — those are the four numbers the public pages do not disclose, and they are the difference between a cheap card and an expensive one for your specific use case.

Frequently asked questions

What is the PayPilot card?

The PayPilot card is a Visa payment card issued by Walletto UAB, a Lithuanian electronic money institution. It draws on a euro balance inside the PayPilot app, which can be topped up with bitcoin, ether, Tether or euros. Crypto is converted to euros at a 0.4% fee, and payments from the euro balance carry no commission.

Is PayPilot a bank?

No. PayPilot itself is not a bank. The card is issued by Walletto UAB, an electronic money institution licensed by the Bank of Lithuania (licence No 33, 29 March 2018). E-money institutions can issue payment cards and hold customer funds, but they are not banks and customer funds are not covered by deposit guarantee schemes.

Who owns PayPilot?

The site says the platform is developed by Pilot Innovation Sp. z o.o. and that financial services are provided by Nexora Fintech Limited “where applicable”. The card terms name Walletto UAB as the card issuer. The full ownership chain of Pilot Innovation Sp. z o.o. is not on the public pages.

Is the PayPilot card available in my country?

The card page says availability “depends on your country of residence and local regulations” and does not publish a supported-regions list. Citizenship is not mentioned. The only reliable check is to start the sign-up flow and see whether the country picker accepts yours.

Does the PayPilot card require KYC?

Yes. The card page says identity verification is a one-time step before the card can be created, and that the account is “verified once”. The verification is handled by two named partners, KycAid and Ondato. The specific documents, the minimum age and the rejection reasons are not stated on the public pages, and the card terms allow the issuer to re-verify and ask for additional documents at any time.

How do I top up the PayPilot card?

You top up from inside the app with BTC, ETH, USDT or EUR. Crypto is converted to euros at a 0.4% fee and lands in the euro balance, which is what the card spends. The FAQ does not name the supported networks for each cryptocurrency, so read the network and the deposit address in the app before sending anything, and consider a small test transaction first.

Is the PayPilot card free?

The card has a 0 EUR issuance fee and a 0 EUR monthly fee. Payments from the euro balance carry no commission, and the only published top-up fee is the 0.4% crypto-to-euro conversion. The FX fee on non-euro payments, the ATM fee, the minimum top-up, the EUR top-up fee and the daily and monthly limits are not stated on the public pages.

How do I add the PayPilot card to Apple Pay or Google Pay?

The card can be linked to Apple Pay and Google Pay from inside the app, which tokenises the card number into the phone’s Secure Element. A physical card is not required for contactless in-store payments once the card is in the wallet.

Is the PayPilot card safe?

The card is issued by a regulated EU electronic money institution, and the site lists AES-256 encryption, PCI-DSS, ISO 27001, cold wallet storage, two-factor authentication and an audit reserve among its safeguards. The card terms allow you to block the card at any time and lock it after three wrong PINs. The custody model and the identity of the custodian are not stated in the public material, and customer funds are not covered by deposit guarantee schemes.

How do I delete my PayPilot account?

The public material does not describe an in-app account deletion flow. The card terms say the issuer can restrict or close the account, and that if the payment account is closed the card becomes invalid. What happens to a positive balance on closure is not stated. Contact support at [email protected] or through the “Write to us” form for the current procedure.

Content created by the «cryptocardchooser.com» team