SharPay card review — a Mastercard from Lithuania for non-EU residents, with prices that add up

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

SharPay is a Mastercard you load with crypto, issued by a licensed e-money institution in Lithuania and operated by a company in Cyprus. On paper that is exactly the shape of card a lot of people in places where a normal bank account is awkward end up looking for: a card number that works in shops, Apple Pay and Google Pay, a balance you fund yourself, and a country on the card that is not the country you live in. That last part cuts both ways.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
SharPay works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I scored it 5.9 out of 10. That is not a bad score, and it is not a good one. It sits almost exactly in the middle of a specific trade: the card is good at the things a crypto card is supposed to be good at — cheap in euros to hold, quick to get a virtual copy of, works with both mobile wallets — and bad at the things that decide whether it is worth your time, which is price. A 1.99% fee to move money onto the card, a 2.99% mark-up on currency conversion, 10 EUR to open the account and 3 EUR a month to keep the card alive add up to a running cost that a lot of ordinary spending will not justify.

The conditions described on this page are current as of October 28, 2026.

Before I go further: I have not used this card. Everything below comes from what the provider publishes about itself, plus what its regulators and partners publish, and I have kept the two apart. Where a card’s public pages do not say something, I say so rather than filling the gap with a guess, because a guess in a fee table is worse than an empty cell.

The verdict: 5.9 out of 10

The score is an average of six separate marks, and looking at the spread tells you more than the total. Daily use scored 9. Reliability and complaints scored 8, which is high mostly because there is nothing to hear about rather than because anyone has written a glowing review. Top-up options scored 6. Getting the card scored 5. And cost scored 3, which is the mark that drags everything else down.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a SharPay payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 The rule is by residence, and residents of restricted or prohibited countries are excluded; crypto services are not for EU residents; the number of countries is not disclosed
Cost 3 / 10 Opening a payment account costs 10 EUR, issuing a card 1 EUR, service 3 EUR; loading the card 2.00 EUR + 1.99%; an FX mark-up of 2.99%
Top-up options 6 / 10 EUR, USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH, XRP, LTC, BCH, also DAI and TUSD; networks not named in the FAQ; USDC top-up via Mastercard/VISA costs 4%
Reliability and complaints 8 / 10 The card is issued by UAB Walletto (Lithuania, Bank of Lithuania licence no. 33), payments by SPEKA Payments Corp (FINTRAC MSB M22046940); no complaints or reviews found
Everyday use 9 / 10 Virtual card available immediately after ordering, physical card in about 15 working days, Google Pay and Apple Pay, ATM withdrawal possible
Total 5.9 / 10 A card that works well and costs too much

Who this suits, in one line: someone outside the EU who needs a Mastercard, particularly one that goes into Apple Pay, and who is comfortable holding an e-money balance with a provider rather than in a self-custody wallet. The audience note on this card is exactly that — non-EU residents wanting a Mastercard with Apple Pay.

Who it does not suit: anyone inside the EU, because the crypto services are explicitly not offered to EU residents. Anyone whose spending is small enough that 3 EUR a month plus per-payment percentages matters. Anyone who wants to be their own custodian. And anyone who expects a wide list of supported countries, because the number is not published — you would be signing up to find out.

Will they give you the card

Yes, probably, if you live outside the EU, are not a resident of a country on the prohibited list, and can produce a foreign passport and English-language bank statements. The rule that catches people out is that eligibility follows residence, not citizenship.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up SharPay starts with a transfer to the right network

The provider’s own wording is blunt: you must not be a resident of a restricted or prohibited country. The prohibited list, published by SPEKA Payments Corp, includes Russia and Belarus, and also Crimea, DNR, LNR, Kherson and Zaporizhzhia, plus Iran, Cuba and Syria among others. Separately, the crypto services are described as not being for EU residents at all — that is a narrower reading than “the card is not available in the EU,” and it is worth understanding the difference before you start: EU residents are not being offered the crypto side, whatever else may technically be reachable.

Citizenship on its own is not stated as a separate rule. That is not the same as citizenship being irrelevant. In practice, verification follows residence, and the documents you can supply must match where you live: citizens of other, non-EU countries verify with a foreign passport, while EU citizens can use a passport or an ID card. Since EU residents are outside the crypto scope anyway, the branch that matters to most applicants is the non-EU one.

The number of countries where this works is not stated anywhere on the public pages. So the honest position is: the rule is clear, the coverage map is not. If you are in a country you have never heard of on a list like this, the only way to find out is to register and find out.

How to get it

The process is three steps, and the middle one is where the waiting happens.

  1. Register with a phone number, email address and password.
  2. Complete verification — level 1 first, then level 2 if you want a fiat account and the card itself.
  3. Order the card in the app.

What verification asks for is more than a passport scan. You need a passport — full page, good quality, and cropped copies are rejected — plus bank statements in English. There is a questionnaire covering turnover, the source of your funds, and any PEP or US-person links. Then a video selfie. Level 2, the one that gates fiat accounts and cards, adds an extra check that can take up to 5 days.

The timing is worth internalising. A document review runs “from 1 to 72 hours.” Level 1 follows the standard verification. Level 2 comes after an additional check, up to 5 days. So a realistic path from signup to being able to order a card is a few days at best, and there is no age requirement stated anywhere on the pages.

The rejections are mundane and avoidable: cropped copies, documents that are not passports, and a video selfie shot in poor light, or wearing a hat, glasses or filters. People fail on the selfie more often than on anything substantive, and it is the one item on the list you can simply take twice.

On the card itself: it is a Mastercard debit, and the terms say the “Flex Mastercard Debit card is issued by UAB Walletto.” You get a virtual card, active immediately after ordering, and a physical card that is typically shipped within about 15 working days — though times vary by destination. Up to 5 cards per account is claimed on the App Store listing and the homepage. Delivery countries and delivery cost are not stated. Replacing a virtual card costs 1,00 EUR; what a physical replacement costs is not stated.

The card currency is EUR, and the fee schedule is in EUR, so this is a euro-denominated card that can spend elsewhere.

What it really costs

Here is the honest part, and it is why the cost mark is 3 out of 10 rather than something respectable. There is no monthly cap on what you pay to hold this, and several of the fees stack on the same purchase.

Fee or limit Value
Payment account opening 10 EUR
Crypto account Free
Card issuing 1 EUR
Monthly card service 3.00 EUR per card
Virtual card replacement 1.00 EUR
Chargeback handling 40 EUR
Card load, card-to-card 2.00 EUR + 1.99%
FX mark-up on personal card 2.99% (1.00% on payments)
Purchase fees Shown as “-”
USDC deposit via Mastercard/VISA 4%
USDC withdrawal via Mastercard/VISA 3%
Other coins “Network fee”
Card POS and e-commerce limit 10,000 EUR daily, 30,000 EUR monthly
SEPA crypto transactions Max 14,500 EUR/day
Crypto purchases by card Monthly limits, amounts in the app
ATM withdrawal Possible; no fee or allowance listed

Two entries in that table deserve a second look, because they are the ones that shape behaviour.

The first is the pair of load and FX numbers. The FX mark-up line reads 2.99% with 1.00% on payments in brackets, and I have reproduced both exactly as the card’s fee schedule states them rather than resolving the ambiguity for you. In practice this means that if you load in one currency and spend in another, you are exposed to a percentage that is high enough to be visible on a single receipt. Combined with the 2.00 EUR + 1.99% card load, money that goes on the card and comes back out has been charged twice before you spend any of it.

The second is the chargeback handling fee of 40 EUR. A chargeback is the mechanism through which an issuer orders a merchant to refund a disputed payment. Being charged 40 EUR to use it changes the arithmetic for anyone planning to lean on disputes, and it belongs in the “read this before you rely on it” column rather than the footnote column.

There are no card tiers and no plans. It is a single tier, priced per product — that is the whole pricing structure.

Now three ordinary payments, to make the percentages concrete rather than abstract.

Coffee in your own currency. Say you are paying in euros from a euro balance. There is no conversion at all, and purchase fees are shown as “-”, so the fee on the transaction itself is not the problem. What you paid for was getting the balance there in the first place: if that balance arrived as crypto converted and loaded, you have already spent the 1.99% plus 2.00 EUR on the load.

A purchase in a currency other than the euro. The card opens in EUR, and the provider’s own line is that you can purchase in any currency you wish. That flexibility is exactly what costs you 2.99% on the personal card. The fee is listed as 1.00% on payments, and beyond that spread the card does not state whether anything further applies on other-currency purchases.

Paying with crypto directly to the card balance. If you load USDC through Mastercard or VISA rather than over a blockchain, the deposit fee is 4%; withdrawal is 3%. Over a blockchain instead, other coins are charged a “network fee” — that is the network charging you, not the card provider, and it varies by chain.

ATM withdrawals are possible — the pages say the card can be used “or to make ATM withdrawals” — but the fee page lists no fee and no allowance for them. So cash is available in principle and priced in neither principle nor practice as far as the public pages go.

The limits are generous by everyday standards and irrelevant to the fees above: 10,000 EUR a day and 30,000 EUR a month at point of sale and online, and 14,500 EUR a day for SEPA crypto transactions. Monthly limits also apply to crypto purchases made by card, with the amounts visible in the app.

How to top it up

You fund the card in two currencies and a long list of coins, and the mechanics differ enough between them that it is worth separating them.

Supported currencies are EUR, USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH, XRP, LTC and BCH. The price page additionally lists DAI and TUSD. Networks are not listed in the FAQ — the instruction is to “select the currency and network” in the app, which means the network choice is presented to you at the moment of transfer rather than documented in advance. XRP and Stellar transfers need a memo or tag.

The one piece of arithmetic to carry with you: a minimum top-up amount is not published on the page. The instruction is to read the minimum in the top-up amount input field, so the floor exists and is visible in the app; it simply is not stated publicly. If you are planning a specific first transfer, open the app and look before you send.

The card load is charged 2,00 EUR + 1,99% for a card-to-card load, and the card’s FAQ calls this the fee for topping up the card. Crypto sent in another currency is “automatically exchanged at the system exchange rate” — which is a real cost even though the rate is visible at conversion time, because a system rate is not necessarily a market rate.

Getting money back out is fast on paper: transfers to SEPA, to cards, to e-wallets and to crypto are processed “from 1 to 60 minutes.” Two conditions sit underneath that. Card transfers only work if the card was previously topped up. And closing the account costs 25,00 EUR for a personal account and 100,00 EUR for a business one — with what happens to the balance left on it not stated, which is a question worth asking support before you ever get to that point.

So the loop looks like this: register, verify twice, order a virtual card, transfer crypto or euros in, pay, and if you leave, pay a closure fee. The speed is good. The exit cost is the highest single figure on this page.

Paying with it every day

This is where the card is genuinely good, and the 9 out of 10 is deserved rather than generous.

You pay contactless. You put it in Google Pay and Apple Pay. That second point matters more than it looks: when a card number is tokenised into a phone wallet, the device replaces the card number with its own device-specific number and each payment carries a one-time code, so the raw number stops being the thing that travels. For someone whose reason for wanting a card is not to have their card number floating around online, that is a real structural difference, not a feature checkbox.

Virtual and physical, both Mastercard debit, up to 5 cards per account. You can freeze and unfreeze the card in the app. Online payments run through 3-D Secure 2.0, so a code or biometric challenge is part of ordinary checkout rather than an exception.

The SharPay Wallet app is on Google Play and the App Store. Store ratings and the number of ratings were not shown in the text available to me on 2026-10-20, so I cannot tell you how users rate it. The homepage claims “15k +” users — a homepage claim, and worth exactly what that is.

What is missing: cashback is not stated, and no cashback appears anywhere on the pages I read. There is no rewards scheme to note.

Blocked categories exist. The prohibited-activities list that SPEKA applies covers illegal gambling services, including illegal online casinos and sports betting, adult content, and more beyond that. Separately, crypto purchases by card have their own monthly limits, and some card networks block specific merchant categories as policy rather than law — so expect friction at particular merchants even where nothing is formally prohibited.

One small piece of everyday comfort: if your account is debited twice during a payment, the money is returned to your account automatically. A refund policy document is linked, though the time frames for refunds are not stated.

What can go wrong

Let me split this into the things that are structural and the things that are specific to this card.

Structurally, you are trusting a custodian. The balance sits in a custodial payment and e-money account at the provider, so the provider holds the credentials that control it. This is not a criticism unique to SharPay — it is the design of most cards of this type — but it does mean the risk profile is counterparty risk, not just technology risk. Custodial platforms have a real history: Mt. Gox with about US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014, Coincheck with about US$400 million in 2018, and Ronin Network with US$625 million in 2022. Holding funds with a custodian carries both hack risk and failure risk, and a card number does not change either.

Blockchain transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost entirely or need manual support recovery with no guarantee attached. This is why the app asks you to select the network rather than inferring it, and why XRP and Stellar need a memo or tag. Wrong network, wrong address: there is no chargeback for a blockchain transfer the way there is for a card payment.

And the 40 EUR chargeback handling fee sits oddly against the card’s own promise of an automatic refund for a double debit. The automatic case is covered; the disputed case costs you to attempt.

Specific to SharPay, the honest picture is mostly about silence.

Complaints. I found no complaints and no reviews about this card — and that silence is genuinely ambiguous. There is no dedicated complaints page with content, no Trustpilot page under this brand, and a search on 2026-10-20 returned only unrelated brands. No complaint themes exist to report because no reports surfaced. A new provider with no complaints is a different situation from an established provider with a clean record, and you should read it as the former.

Who is actually behind it. GTM Exchange Ltd (Cyprus) designs and operates the website and app. The card is issued by UAB Walletto, a Lithuanian e-money institution under Bank of Lithuania licence no. 33. Payment services come from SPEKA Payments Corp, registered in Canada as FINTRAC MSB M22046940. That is a real structure with named licensed parties, which is more than a lot of cards in this category can show — but note the split: the front-end brand, the issuer and the payment processor are three separate entities in three jurisdictions, and the crypto services sit outside the EU and are not to EU residents.

Regulation. MiCA, the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, took legal effect in June 2023; its rules on asset-referenced tokens and e-money tokens applied from 30 June 2024, with the remaining provisions including crypto-asset service provider rules applying from 30 December 2024. Its grandfathering window runs until 1 July 2026 or until a provider gets a MiCA authorisation or is refused one, whichever comes first. A card is regulated separately as a payment service — so a crypto card of this type commonly rests on two licences rather than one. None of that gives SharPay an EU footing, and no dated enforcement or regulatory events against these companies surfaced.

Safeguards. Two-factor codes at login, card freeze and unfreeze in the app, 3-D Secure 2.0, and the provider may ask for proof of funds. What is not stated: whether customer funds are safeguarded or insured, and under what arrangement. E-money balances are not bank deposits and do not automatically carry deposit-guarantee protection, so treat the absence of a stated safeguarding policy as an open question to put to support rather than as a reassurance.

Support. Phone +357 2503-09-49, email addresses obfuscated on the page, a website support widget, and social channels on Facebook, X, Instagram and LinkedIn. The site runs in English, Ukrainian and German. Hours are not stated.

What to take instead

Four alternatives, all of which I scored on the same basis. SharPay came fifth of the five on total score — but read the reasons, because the reasons are where the choice actually lives.

Card Score The thing that decides it for you
RedotPay 6.9 / 10 The broadest country list and the clearest rules, but a 1.00% transaction fee and a 100.00 USD physical card that cannot be cancelled or refunded once paid
Wirex 6.7 / 10 Free issuance and no stated foreign-exchange fee, with cashback in WXT, but card availability is region-dependent and its rules are split across many regional fee tables
Bitpanda 6.5 / 10 The simplest and most regulated of the four, but euro-area residents only, no virtual card stated, and rewards figures that do not reconcile
SharPay 5.9 / 10 The cheapest to hold in euros and strong on Apple Pay and Google Pay, but the highest loading and FX costs
— — Self-custody: no percentage fees, and no card either

RedotPay (6.9) is the one to look at first, because on eligibility alone it is clearer than SharPay. Two official lists word the rule differently, which is itself worth noticing: one KYC list says citizens of listed countries “will not be able to complete identity verification (KYC) or use RedotPay’s services” and frames restrictions as based on local regulations and sanction policies rather than on individuals, naming Afghanistan, Albania, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cuba, Iran, Iraq, North Korea, Russia, Serbia, Slovenia, Sudan, Syria, Ukraine, the United States, Venezuela, Yemen, Zimbabwe and others. A second, dated August 28, 2026, covers 47 places and adds India, Indonesia, Morocco, Nepal, Singapore and Turkey, with residents of those areas ineligible for both virtual and physical cards and unable to use them as billing addresses; citizenship is not mentioned there. Georgia, Armenia, Kazakhstan and the UAE are on neither list. So RedotPay tells you more about where it will and will not work than SharPay does — at the cost of a 1.00% transaction fee, 1.20% in a non-default currency, a 10.00 USD virtual card and a 100.00 USD physical one that is explicitly non-cancellable and non-refundable. Account maintenance is waived. Deposits to the card balance are free.

Wirex (6.7) makes the opposite trade: the pricing is friendlier where SharPay’s is not. Card issuance is free in the UK, EEA, APAC, Singapore, Australia and “Other”; the card page claims no annual or foreign exchange fees; there is cashback in WXT at 0.5% for Standard, 3% for Premium and up to 8% for Elite, though ATM withdrawals, crypto purchases, gambling and refunds are excluded. What you give up is certainty: availability “depends on your region”, fees are published per region, and the Singapore terms state that cash withdrawals are not permitted there.

Bitpanda (6.5) is the most conventional option — a physical Visa debit card, EUR only, one active card at a time, free account opening and free first shipment, reissue at EUR 5.90 or EUR 9.90 for loss or theft depending on which page you read. But it requires a verified account and residence in a euro-area country, and users verified via Bankident cannot order a card. The rewards information is inconsistent between its own pages: one says 1% cashback on crypto spending, the summary says up to 2%.

And the option with no card at all is keeping your own keys and paying from your own wallet, which costs you the percentages entirely. The trade is total responsibility: key loss, phishing and clipboard-hijacking malware that silently swaps a copied address.

Who I would recommend it to

If you are outside the EU, in a country not on the prohibited list, and what you need is a Mastercard that goes cleanly into Apple Pay and Google Pay without your card number leaving your phone — this is a reasonable card, and the 9 out of 10 on everyday use is not politeness.

If you are inside the EU, it is the wrong card for a simple reason the provider states itself: the crypto services are not for EU residents.

If you spend monthly enough that 3 EUR of service plus 1.99% plus 2.00 EUR on every load is real money against what you are actually buying, do the arithmetic on your own spending first. The percentages, not the features, are the argument against.

If you are choosing because you want a card in a specific currency, or because you want to hold your crypto yourself, this is the wrong shape of product.

And if you do go ahead, three things to do in the first week: read the top-up screen for the network and the minimum before you send anything; ask support directly what happens to a remaining balance at account closure, because that is the one place the public pages are silent and the fee is 25,00 EUR; and put the card into a phone wallet rather than carrying the number around, because that is the security benefit this card genuinely delivers.

Frequently asked questions

What is the SharPay card?

It is a Mastercard debit card that you load with money yourself, funded in euros or in crypto. The card is issued by UAB Walletto, a Lithuanian e-money institution, while the website and app are run by GTM Exchange Ltd in Cyprus and payment services come from SPEKA Payments Corp in Canada. It works at shops, online, contactless, in Apple Pay and Google Pay. You are spending a balance you have loaded, not drawing on a bank account.

How does the SharPay card work?

You load a balance and the card spends it, like a prepaid card rather than a bank debit card. Supported funding currencies are EUR, USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH, XRP, LTC and BCH, with DAI and TUSD also listed on the price page. The card opens in EUR, and you can buy in other currencies at a stated mark-up. There is a virtual card you get immediately after ordering and a physical one that ships in about 15 working days.

Is SharPay a bank?

No. It is an e-money and payment arrangement, not a bank account. The card comes from an electronic money institution licensed in Lithuania under Bank of Lithuania licence no. 33, and the payment side runs through a Canadian money services business registered as FINTRAC MSB M22046940. E-money balances are not bank deposits, so do not assume deposit-guarantee protection applies to a balance held here.

Who owns SharPay?

Three separate companies, in three jurisdictions, do three different jobs. GTM Exchange Ltd (Cyprus) designs and operates the sharpay website and app. UAB Walletto (Lithuania) issues the card under a Bank of Lithuania e-money licence. SPEKA Payments Corp (Canada) provides the payment services and the crypto services under a FINTRAC MSB registration. Knowing which of them you are dealing with matters when something goes wrong.

Who can get a SharPay card?

Anyone who is not a resident of a restricted or prohibited country and not an EU resident for crypto services. The prohibited list published by SPEKA includes Russia and Belarus, Crimea, DNR, LNR, Kherson, Zaporizhzhia, Iran, Cuba and Syria, among others. Non-EU citizens verify with a foreign passport; EU citizens may use a passport or ID card. The number of supported countries is not published, so eligibility in your specific country is something you find out by registering.

What does it cost to get the SharPay card?

Opening a payment account costs 10 EUR, issuing the card costs 1 EUR, and the card service is 3.00 EUR per card per month. The crypto account is free, and replacing a virtual card costs 1.00 EUR. Card loading is charged separately at 2.00 EUR + 1.99%, and that is the cost that matters most in practice, because you pay it every time you move money onto the card.

How do I top up the SharPay card?

You transfer euros or crypto into the account, then load the card. In the app you select the currency and the network for your transfer — the FAQ does not list which networks are supported, so read that screen before sending. XRP and Stellar transfers need a memo or tag. The minimum top-up is not published; the page tells you to read it in the top-up amount input field. Loads from one card to another cost 2,00 EUR + 1,99%.

Is the SharPay card safe?

It is built like most cards of this type: a custodial e-money balance, two-factor codes at login, 3-D Secure 2.0, and instant card freeze in the app. Because it is custodial, you depend on the provider holding your funds, and blockchain transfers are irreversible — a wrong network or wrong address can be lost. Whether funds are safeguarded or insured, and on what terms, is not stated on the pages I read, so ask.

Can I use the SharPay card in my country?

Almost certainly, if you can get one. It is a Mastercard, so it works wherever Mastercard is accepted, and that is the point of the card. The constraints are on holding it, not using it: you must not be resident in a prohibited country, and EU residents are not served for crypto. Merchant categories are also restricted — the prohibited list covers illegal gambling services, adult content and more — and some purchases outside euros carry the 2.99% mark-up.

Are there complaints about SharPay?

I found none, and I want to be precise about why, because silence is ambiguous. There is no complaints page with content, no Trustpilot page under this brand, and a search on 2026-10-20 returned only unrelated brands with similar names. No complaint themes exist to report because no reports surfaced. Treat that as a young provider without a track record either way, not as evidence of a clean one, and ask people who already hold the card.

Content created by the «cryptocardchooser.com» team