The Ledger Cl card is built for one audience: people who already trust a Ledger signer and want to spend crypto by card. Everyone else should read the fine print first.

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

The Ledger Cl card is a crypto-linked payment card from Baanx, built for Ledger hardware-wallet users. If you already keep crypto on a Ledger device, it lets you spend that balance at any merchant that takes Visa or Mastercard, without first cashing out to a bank. That sounds simple, and in the happy path it is. The reality is more complicated: a small geographic footprint, a long list of “not stated” details in the official documents, and a user base that has flagged account freezes and slow support.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Ledger Cl works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

This review walks through who can actually get the card, what it costs in practice, how to top it up, and what can go wrong. I read the official Ledger product page, the EU fee document, the UK Terms, and the user reviews on Trustpilot and Reddit. Where the facts came from a third-party site, I say so. Where the card’s own pages simply do not say, I say that too.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

The Ledger Cl card scores 5.9 out of 10. That puts it in the middle of the pack for crypto cards: not bad, not great, and not for everyone. It is essentially a feature added on top of the Ledger Wallet app, with a familiar Visa/Mastercard rail underneath. If you are already a Ledger customer, the appeal is obvious. If you are not, there is very little reason to switch from a crypto card that supports more countries or publishes clearer fees.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Ledger Cl payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Criterion Mark Why it lands there
Who can get it 7 / 10 Available in the EEA, UK, US, Canada, Switzerland, Colombia, Mexico, and Brazil. Citizenship vs residence rules, and how sanctioned countries are handled, are not stated.
Cost 5 / 10 The 2023 EU fee document lists zero for issuance, maintenance, and foreign-currency card payments. ATM withdrawal is €3.00 + 1.5%. Unofficial sources mention a 1.75% conversion fee and a 2% spend fee, and the two sets of numbers do not agree.
Top-up options 7 / 10 BTC, ETH, SOL, stablecoins and other coins from a Ledger wallet. The networks the card accepts are not named.
Reliability and complaints 3 / 10 Issued by UAB Monavate (Lithuania) and Monavate Ltd (UK). Trustpilot and Reddit users report frozen funds, balance holds, and compliance reviews that can stretch past 60 days. An unverified aggregator claim of Baanx/Monavate insolvency was not confirmed by a second source.
Everyday use 8 / 10 Free virtual card, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM access worldwide. Unofficial sources say a physical Visa is available too.

Who it suits: a Ledger hardware-wallet user in one of the eight supported countries who wants to spend BTC, ETH, SOL, or stablecoins directly from their device, and who is comfortable navigating an e-money institution (EMI) account and the customer due-diligence (CDD) checks that go with it.

Who it does not suit: anyone outside the supported countries; anyone who needs a card from a major consumer bank; anyone for whom a frozen balance would be a serious problem; anyone looking for a generous cashback scheme (1% is the headline).

Will They Give You the Card

The official product page lists the supported countries in one sentence: the EEA, the UK, the US, Canada, Switzerland, Colombia, Mexico, and Brazil. That is the full list as of October 2026. It is shorter than what most competing crypto cards offer, and it does not include the usual Asia-Pacific or Middle East presence.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Ledger Cl starts with a transfer to the right network

Two important details are not stated:

The card sits on two regulated rails depending on where you live: UAB Monavate in Lithuania for EEA customers, and Monavate Ltd in England for UK customers. US customers get a Visa debit card issued by Cross River Bank, a Member FDIC institution. That structure is normal for this category, but it does mean your contract is with the issuer, not with Ledger, even though Ledger is the brand you see in the app.

How to Get It

The card’s official pages describe a free virtual card and that is essentially all they describe. A physical card is mentioned in third-party listings, but the product page itself does not list one, does not show a picture of one, and does not state a delivery time or a shipping cost.

The KYC question

The Terms say the issuer verifies identity before issuing the card or opening the e-wallet. The exact documents, the processing time, the cases in which the issuer rejects an application, and the level of verification for different balances are not stated.

A third-party site (cryptocards.so, 2026) reports that the basic flow needs only an email, a phone number, and an identity document, with no proof of address or selfie required. I have not been able to confirm that against an official Ledger or Monavate source, so treat it as unofficial.

For context on what regulated EU issuers usually ask: the EU’s anti-money-laundering (AML) framework requires name, address, date of birth, nationality, an identity document, a sanctions check, and a check on whether you are a politically exposed person (PEP). US issuers run a separate Customer Identification Program (CIP) that asks for name, date of birth, address, and an identification number. Either way, expect to hand over an ID and to wait while the issuer runs those checks. The card will not be issued before they finish.

What the EU fee document says about the card itself

The Fee Information Document for EU customers (UAB Monavate, dated 3 November 2023) is the clearest official source on the card object itself. It lists:

The row alignment in the PDF is a little ambiguous, so treat these as the issuer’s stated numbers, not as a fee schedule I have tested myself.

What It Really Costs

Crypto cards often have fees across multiple documents. The Ledger Cl card’s costs are set out in the issuer’s fee information documents. Where unofficial sources provide additional figures, they are marked as such.

Fee or limit Amount Source
Card issuance €0.00 EU Fee Information Document (2023)
Monthly maintenance €0.00 EU Fee Information Document (2023)
Card payment in pounds €0.00 EU Fee Information Document (2023)
Foreign-currency card payment €0.00 + 0% of transaction value EU Fee Information Document (2023)
Replacement card €5.00 EU Fee Information Document (2023)
Card cancellation €3.50 EU Fee Information Document (2023)
Cash withdrawal in euro (domestic) €2.50 per withdrawal EU Fee Information Document (2023)
Cash withdrawal in foreign currency €3.00 + 1.5% of transaction value EU Fee Information Document (2023)
ATM balance enquiry €0.35 EU Fee Information Document (2023)
Conversion fee 1.75% (unofficial) cryptocards.so, 2026
Spend fee 2% (unofficial) cryptocards.so, 2026; Reddit (undated)
ATM withdrawal limit $2,000 (unofficial) cryptocards.so, 2026
Daily spend limit $15,000 (unofficial) cryptocards.so, 2026
Monthly spend limit Unlimited (unofficial) cryptocards.so, 2026

The headline cost story is friendly: zero to issue, zero a month, zero for foreign-currency card payments on the official EU document. The ATM numbers are less friendly: €3.00 plus 1.5% for a foreign-currency cash withdrawal is on the steep side for a no-monthly-fee card.

What does not add up is the unofficial 1.75% conversion plus 2% spend fee cited on the same third-party page. If that 2% spend fee is real, it would be the dominant cost of using the card and would change the picture. Reddit commenters (undated) also mention a 2% spending fee. The 2023 EU fee document does not show it. Until Ledger or Monavate publish a current, complete fee schedule, the only safe assumption is that there is some non-zero conversion or spread baked in, and that the actual cost of a purchase is more than zero.

Three everyday payments, worked through

Imagine you are an EU customer with the official fee document in front of you. Here is what each type of purchase actually costs.

The pattern: card payments in foreign currency are presented as free, but the unofficial conversion fee and the spend fee make them anything but. ATM withdrawals are clearly the most expensive way to use the card.

How to Top It Up

Top-ups start in the Ledger Wallet app. The product page says the card is funded from a Ledger signer and lists the supported assets: BTC, ETH, SOL, stablecoins, and other coins. The networks that the card accepts are not specified on the official page, and the EU Fee Information Document does not list a load fee.

A few things to know before you send anything.

The Terms for the UK issuer (Monavate Ltd) say funds can be withdrawn from the e-wallet via the personal login area, minus pending transactions, and that a fee may apply. Withdrawing everything does not close the account. Closing the account needs one month’s written notice and payment of relevant fees, and after closure funds can be redeemed for up to six years. If funds remain 12 months after the agreement ends, a maintenance fee starts being deducted. None of this is in the product page; it is all in the Terms.

Paying With It Every Day

The card behaves like a prepaid card from the user’s point of view: you top up a balance, and the card spends that balance. The product page confirms Apple Pay and Google Pay, and the third-party listing (cryptocards.so, 2026) says a physical Visa is available alongside the free virtual card. The official page describes only the virtual card, so the physical one is a “check the app” item.

Rewards

The headline reward is 1% cashback, paid in BTC or USDC for US customers and in BTC or USDT elsewhere, calculated monthly on total card spend. One percent is a baseline offer: many competing cards advertise 1.5% to 4% on at least some categories. The Zeal card, for example, advertises up to 4% paid in GNO tokens, and KAST’s Private tier advertises 3% in USD. The Ledger Cl card’s 1% is competitive with the cheapest tier of MetaMask’s Virtual card, but lower than anything above that.

The Ledger Wallet app

The card is managed from the Card section of the Ledger Wallet app (iOS and Android). The Ledger Wallet app on the App Store has a 4.9 average over 564 reviews in the Brazil storefront snapshot I read (AppFollow, updated 10 July 2026). That rating is for the whole Ledger Wallet app, not for the CL Card feature specifically. The CL Card does not have its own public rating on the App Store or Google Play.

Disputes and unauthorised transactions

The Terms give the standard EU-style protection: on request, the issuer refunds the transaction amount including fees, unless the customer acted fraudulently or with gross negligence, or did not report the issue within one month of the transaction. Complaints go to the card issuer’s support address. The card-network chargeback procedure, the time frames, and the specific reason codes are not stated in the pages I read.

For context on the wider system: a chargeback is a refund the card issuer orders to settle a dispute, with codes like fraud, duplicate billing, or goods not received. Under 3-D Secure (Visa Secure for Visa cards, Identity Check for Mastercard), liability for fraudulent online payments can shift from the merchant to the cardholder’s bank. The cardholder does not have an automatic right to a refund on every disputed transaction, and prepaid cards can be a grey area depending on the jurisdiction.

Things that may not work

A few everyday situations are worth flagging.

What Can Go Wrong

The most important question for a card like this is not the fee schedule. It is whether your money is accessible when you need it. By that measure, the Ledger Cl card has real issues.

The reliability story

Trustpilot for “CL Card” sits around 3.5 to 3.8 out of 5 across several hundred reviews, with the company replying to somewhere between 41% and 69% of negative reviews and often taking four to six days to do so. Recurring themes in the negative reviews are:

On the Baanx Trustpilot page (the parent company), a 1-star review notes that a Ledger device purchase was declined twice, and the Baanx page as a whole sits at 2.5 out of 5 from 6 reviews. That is a very small sample, so read it as a signal rather than a verdict.

Reddit’s r/ledgerwallet has threads noting that Baanx can block the card account and the balance attached to it, and that there is a 2% spending fee on top of the official EU document. The 2% fee on Reddit is undated, so I am treating it as user-reported rather than as a current, published fee.

There is also an unverified claim, from a single aggregator, that Baanx and Monavate became insolvent in April or May 2026. I could not confirm this against a second source, and Ledger’s own pages do not mention any such event. Treat it as unverified.

The regulatory and corporate picture

The card is provided by Baanx and designed for Ledger (Ledger SAS). Issuers are UAB Monavate in Lithuania, Monavate Ltd in the UK (FCA-registered, number 901097), and Cross River Bank in the US (the US Visa debit). Cross River Bank is a Member FDIC institution, but that status covers bank deposits, not necessarily the funds in your card’s e-wallet.

US availability was added after earlier versions of the Ledger page that listed only “EEA and UK”. The exact date of the US launch is not stated.

The UK Terms are explicit on one important point: customer funds are not protected by the UK Financial Services Compensation Scheme (FSCS). They are safeguarded under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011, which is the lighter, separate regime that applies to e-money institutions. EU safeguarding rules work the same way: e-money funds are segregated or insured, but they are not deposit-guaranteed.

The custodial and self-custody split

This is the part that matters most for a Ledger-specific card. The card itself, and the e-wallet it draws on, are custodial: the issuer (Monavate) holds the funds. Your Ledger signer is recommended but not required, which means you can in principle use the card without a hardware wallet. But that means two things at once: the funds are not in your own wallet, and a regulated EMI is responsible for them.

For context, this is the standard split in this category. With a fully self-custody-linked card, the funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment, and you alone bear the risk of losing your seed phrase. With a custodial card like the Ledger Cl, the issuer takes the security burden but also takes control, and you rely on its compliance team to release your money when they finish their checks.

The Terms say the customer must report a lost or stolen card immediately to block it. App-based freeze, two-factor authentication (2FA), and spending controls are not stated on the pages I read. In-app card freeze and 2FA are now standard for this category, so it would be surprising if they are missing, but until Ledger publishes the details, “check the app” is the right answer.

The Bitcoin and stablecoin price path

Spending from a crypto balance is, in tax terms in many jurisdictions, a disposal of the asset. In the US, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services, or dollars generally creates a capital gain or loss measured in local fiat at the fair market value on the date of the transaction. Each card payment may be a separate taxable event. The same logic applies under most EU national rules, though the details vary by country. None of this is unique to the Ledger Cl card, but it is worth knowing that a 1% cashback paid in BTC does not offset a price move in BTC.

What to Take Instead

The card you should consider depends on what you want from a crypto card. Here are three alternatives with different strengths.

MetaMask Card (7.1 / 10)

The MetaMask Card is a Mastercard issued by Monovate and provided by Crypto Life. Sign-ups are open in around 45 listed countries (Andorra, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Germany, France, Spain, Uruguay, and others), with a waitlist for regions not on the list. US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed per the FAQ, which is a real limitation for those audiences. Proof of residency is required, and the card spends directly from the connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad, and Solana, holding mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC, and USDT (nine tokens named in total).

Pricing: Virtual card free, with no annual or maintenance fee. The Metal tier is $199 a year. A “minimal fee for each transaction” is mentioned on the page; the precise amount is not stated and is in a linked fee table. There is no foreign transaction fee, and the Mastercard wholesale rate is used. Cashback on Virtual is 1% in mUSD into the Money Account. Metal is advertised at 3%, but the footnote limits the 3% to the first $10,000 of spend and then drops to 1%. There is also an extra $FLY bonus of 5x on Virtual and 7x on Metal through the Blackbird dining app.

The MetaMask Card’s edge is the deeper integration with the MetaMask wallet and the larger set of supported networks. Its edge over the Ledger Cl card is the broader country list and the more interesting cashback structure, but only if you can sign up: US and UK customers cannot right now.

KAST (6.1 / 10)

KAST is a Visa card (Platinum, Infinite metal, and Infinite gold plated, plus branded designs like Pengu, Solana, and Bitcoin) with up to 10 cards per user. KYC is residence-based: if your country is not on the list at the KYC step, KAST is not available, and the country list is not published. The Rules say that if you live in a supported country but only hold an ID from a restricted region, you may still fail KYC, while a dual citizen with a supported-country ID can pass. Only the account holder’s own ID is accepted, and a VPN does not bypass the check. An account can be created in an unsupported country, but KYC stays locked.

Pricing: three tiers, billed annually upfront with no monthly option. Standard is $0 a year. Premium is $1,000 a year. Private is $10,000 a year. Standard includes one virtual card at no extra fee in some regions, otherwise $2 per extra virtual card. The Standard physical card is $0 in card fee plus $40 delivery. Premium and Private physical cards are included. There is an inactivity fee of $1 a month after 12 months, and renewal or reactivation fees exist (amounts not stated).

Funding and fees: stablecoin top-ups (USDT, USDC, PYUSD, RLUSD) at 0% on Ethereum, Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum, and TRON (the app lists current networks). Card spend in USD is 0%. Apple Pay and Google Pay are 0%. Non-USD FX fees are 0.5% to 1.75% depending on residence country, transaction country, and card programme. Non-USD transactions under $25 carry a $0.10 fee. A declined transaction due to insufficient balance costs $0.50. Non-stablecoin tokens may be auto-converted at a fee shown in the app.

Cashback: USD cashback, paid when the transaction is authorised. Standard is 1.5% on the first $2,000 of monthly spend. Premium is 2% on the first $10,000. Private is 3% on the first $40,000. Premium adds 1% in KAST Points, Private adds 2% on eligible spend.

KAST is the strongest on the rewards side at the top tier, but the entry cost of $1,000 a year for Premium is steep, and the closed country list means many readers will not be able to apply at all.

Zeal (6.1 / 10)

Zeal is a Visa card programme running on Gnosis Pay rails, with cards spendable in 150+ countries. The card programme is live in the EU, UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, the Philippines, Indonesia, and Thailand, with Zeal update notes also mentioning Bolivia.

The card itself: a virtual card for online use, addable to Apple Pay. Accounts in EUR, USD, and GBP. A physical card is not stated on the pages I read. Zeal charges no additional FX fee, and the conversion uses the Visa wholesale rate, though Gnosis Pay’s own fees (including ATM) still apply.

Funding: spends from balances in the card Safe in EUR, USD, or GBP stablecoin accounts. Gnosis Pay’s documentation points to Gnosis Chain and Celo as the chains involved, and the exact coins supported for Zeal are not stated.

Rewards: up to 4% cashback, paid in GNO on Gnosis Chain, with GNO held in the card Safe required to qualify. Rates can change. The App Store listing also advertises up to 5% variable annual percentage yield (APY) on EUR and USD balances, which is a different thing from card cashback.

Zeal is the most interesting of the three for someone who lives in the Gnosis Pay ecosystem, but it requires holding GNO to get the headline cashback, and the physical-card question is left to the user to confirm.

How they line up

Card Score Free tier? Headline cashback Notable limit
Ledger Cl 5.9 / 10 Yes (virtual, €0 issuance, €0/month) 1% in BTC or USDC/USDT ATM €3 + 1.5% foreign currency
MetaMask Card 7.1 / 10 Yes (Virtual, no annual fee) 1% (Virtual), 3% on first $10,000 (Metal) US/UK sign-ups currently closed
KAST 6.1 / 10 Yes (Standard, $0/year) 1.5% on first $2,000/month (Standard) $1,000/year for Premium, $10,000/year for Private
Zeal 6.1 / 10 n/a (no published fee schedule) Up to 4% in GNO Must hold GNO in the card Safe to qualify

If you already own a Ledger device and you live in one of the eight supported countries, the Ledger Cl card is the most natural fit. If you want better cashback and a broader country list, the MetaMask Card is worth a look, provided you are not in the US or UK. If you want to spend in USDT or USDC across many networks and do not mind a $1,000 a year membership for the better cashback, KAST is the strongest reward structure here. If you live in the Gnosis ecosystem and are happy holding GNO, Zeal is the most flexible in terms of countries.

Who I Would Recommend It To

The Ledger Cl card is a specific tool for a specific reader. It works best for someone who:

I would not recommend it to someone outside the eight supported countries, to someone whose main concern is rewards, or to someone who has a low tolerance for frozen balances and compliance reviews. The 5.9 score reflects that it does the basics reasonably well, but the user reports of slow support and long freezes pull the reliability score down to 3 out of 10, and that is the part that should give any reader pause.

Before you apply, check three things in the app itself: which networks the card accepts for top-ups (the official page does not list them), what the current FX and spend fees are (the 2023 EU fee document is the only published number, and it does not match the unofficial sources), and whether freeze, 2FA, and spending controls are exposed in the card settings. Those three answers decide whether the card is a good fit for you or a frustrating one.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the Ledger Cl card?

The Ledger Cl card is a crypto-linked payment card from Baanx, built for Ledger hardware-wallet users. It is available as a free virtual card, with a physical card reported by third-party sources. The card is issued by UAB Monavate in the EEA, Monavate Ltd in the UK, and Cross River Bank in the US, and it is managed from the Card section of the Ledger Wallet app.

How does the Ledger Cl card work?

The card draws on an e-wallet balance funded from a Ledger signer. When you pay, the card converts the chosen crypto into fiat at the time of the transaction. US customers spend in USD, UK customers in GBP, and EEA customers in EUR, with the EU fee document listing a 0% fee for foreign-currency card payments. Unofficial sources cite a 1.75% conversion fee and a 2% spend fee, and the two sets of numbers do not agree.

Is the Ledger Cl card a bank?

No. The card is issued by licensed electronic money institutions (UAB Monavate in Lithuania, Monavate Ltd in the UK) and, in the US, by Cross River Bank as a Visa debit card. Customer funds are not protected by the UK Financial Services Compensation Scheme. They are safeguarded under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011, which is a different and lighter regime than bank deposit insurance.

Who owns the Ledger Cl card?

The card is provided by Baanx, a UK-based crypto-fiat infrastructure company, and designed for Ledger (Ledger SAS). Ledger is the brand, Baanx is the programme operator, and the issuer is one of the three institutions above. Your contract is with the issuer, not with Ledger, even though the experience sits inside the Ledger Wallet app.

Is the Ledger Cl card available in my country?

The official product page lists the EEA, the UK, the US, Canada, Switzerland, Colombia, Mexico, and Brazil. Citizenship rules, residence rules, and how sanctioned jurisdictions are handled are not stated on the product page. If your country is not on the list, the card is not offered.

How do I apply for the Ledger Cl card?

The card is requested from the Card section of the Ledger Wallet app. The Terms say the issuer verifies identity before issuing the card or opening the e-wallet. The exact documents required, the processing time, and the rejection criteria are not stated. A third-party source (cryptocards.so, 2026) reports that email, phone, and an identity document are required, with no proof of address or selfie. I have not confirmed that against an official Ledger or Monavate source.

Does the Ledger Cl card require KYC?

Yes. The Terms say the issuer verifies identity before issuing the card. As an EU-licensed electronic money institution, Monavate is bound by EU anti-money-laundering rules, which require a name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity document, sanctions check, and a politically exposed person (PEP) check. US customers go through a similar Customer Identification Program under US rules.

How do I top up the Ledger Cl card?

Top-ups are sent from a Ledger signer via the Ledger Wallet app, using BTC, ETH, SOL, stablecoins, or other supported coins. The networks the card accepts are not specified on the official page, and the EU Fee Information Document does not list a load fee. Because blockchain transfers are irreversible, confirm the supported network in the app before sending anything.

Is the Ledger Cl card safe?

The card is regulated under EU and UK e-money rules, with US customers covered by Cross River Bank’s banking licence for the debit card itself. Customer funds are safeguarded but are not deposit-insured. The user reviews describe account freezes, compliance reviews lasting 60+ days, and phishing emails impersonating the card. Report a lost or stolen card immediately to the issuer’s support contact.

Is the Ledger Cl card worth it?

It is worth it if you already use a Ledger device, you live in one of the eight supported countries, and you want a no-monthly-fee way to spend crypto at a normal card terminal. It is less worth it if you want strong cashback, a wider list of countries, or quick access to your balance during a compliance review. The 1% rewards, the unclear fee picture, and the user reports of long freezes are the main reasons to pause before relying on it as your only card.

Content created by the «cryptocardchooser.com» team