A close look at the Fiwind virtual card before you put a balance on it

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

The Fiwind card is a fully virtual Mastercard issued by an Argentine fintech and paid for from a crypto or fiat balance. The marketing leans on free issuance, free maintenance, and no fee on card payments, but the same pages also state that international purchases carry a 1.5% “foreign processing” charge, that USD transfers via USDT or USDC cost 0.50% plus 0.50 USD by ACH, and that the card request itself only needs an address and a phone number, with no document step shown. The card is usable at any merchant that takes Mastercard, but cash use, ATM withdrawals, and dispute handling are not described, and the card’s issuer is not named on the public pages. I dug through the help center, the fees page, the iOS listing and the public registries before writing this so you can decide whether the free-looking front end holds up once you start using it.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Fiwind works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Fiwind gets 5.8 out of 10. The score reflects a card that is cheap to obtain, simple to top up across a long list of networks, and usable worldwide, but also a card whose issuer is not identified, whose list of supported countries is not published, whose KYC requirements are not spelled out, and whose everyday coverage (no physical card, no ATM, no rewards) is narrower than competing products in the same range. It suits people in Argentina or Brazil who want a fast virtual Mastercard paid from a crypto balance, and it suits less anyone outside that audience, anyone who needs cash access, and anyone who needs a clear name on the issuing bank.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Fiwind starts with a transfer to the right network
Criterion Mark Why it lands there
Who can get it 3 / 10 Country list not published; the company is Argentine and Pix is built for Brazil, so the safe assumption is Argentina and Brazil, with the rest uncertain.
Cost 7 / 10 No issuance or maintenance fee, and card payments are described as commission-free, but a 1.5% foreign-processing charge applies to international purchases and crypto-funded USD transfers add another 0.50% plus a fixed USD amount.
Top-up options 9 / 10 Pays in pesos, dollars or crypto, and accepts transfers on a long list of networks, from Bitcoin (including Lightning) to Tron, with ARS and USD deposits and withdrawals shown as free and instant.
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Financewind S.A. is registered as a virtual asset service provider (PSAV No. 75) with Argentina’s CNV, but the site is explicit that this “does not imply a licence or supervision”; the card issuer is not named, public complaint data is thin, and the only public review found is a one-star report of a rejected application with no real support.
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual-only Mastercard, Apple Pay and Google Pay with NFC, no physical card, no cash or ATM use described, no rewards programme.

For the audience the card is built for — Argentines paying with pesos or stablecoins, Brazilians paying through Pix — the lack of a published country list is a smaller problem, because the audience is already on the inside. For anyone else, it is the first thing to check.

Who they will give the card to

The Fiwind site does not publish a list of supported countries. The company is Argentine (the legal name on the App Store is FINANCEWIND S.A.), and the product is clearly built around the Argentine peso and Pix for Brazil. The card itself “works at any merchant worldwide” because it is a Mastercard on the merchant side, but getting the account in the first place is a different question, and the site is silent on it.

The way the signup is described — “complete the required data” and the card is ready to use after verifying your current address and your phone number — suggests a lightweight account flow, but the company does not say which documents it needs, what its PEP or sanctions policy is, or how it handles residents of countries outside the immediate region.

There is also a tier structure that runs alongside the card. Account verification gets you to Gold, proof of address moves you to Platinum, and income documents take you to Black, with operating limits in USD (an annual limit that renews on 1 January, with a monthly cap inside it). The numbers are in a separate article. The site warns that Black “is not guaranteed to exceed Platinum”, so the highest tier is not promised just because you upload payslips.

The practical question for you: if you are reading this from outside Argentina or Brazil, do not assume you can open an account, and do not assume you cannot — ask Fiwind directly through the in-app support before you go through any verification step, because the rules are not on the page.

How to get it

The card is 100% virtual. The network is Mastercard. There is no plastic card, and therefore no shipping address, no delivery fee and no waiting time.

The steps on the site, in order, are:

  1. Download the iOS or Android app.
  2. Complete the data the app asks for (the page does not list which data).
  3. Verify your current address and your phone number.
  4. Choose a payment currency.
  5. The card is ready to use.

The site does not list the documents you will be asked for, does not give a processing time, and does not list the reasons an application might be rejected. A rejected application with a vague “data altered” claim is exactly the kind of experience that shows up in the only public Trustpilot review, so set your expectations accordingly.

The card pays merchants in ARS by default, and in BRL when the path goes through Pix, even though the balance you load can be in ARS, USD or crypto. If you are paying in another currency, the conversion is handled by Fiwind (for ARS→USD) and by Mastercard (for USD→merchant currency), each at its own rate, and the 1.5% foreign-processing charge sits on top of that.

The card also has a “no limits” line that needs context. The card “has no limits to make payments” in the sense that the card itself does not cap a single transaction, but crypto or dollar payments “consume the monthly operating limits” of your account tier, and you can set a daily cap on the card yourself.

What it really costs

This is where Fiwind is at its strongest, and where you have to read the small print. The card looks free on the front page and is mostly free for an Argentine user paying a domestic merchant, but the moment you cross a border, pay in a non-ARS currency, or move USD via stablecoins, the picture changes.

Fees

Fee or limit What Fiwind states
Card issuance Free (“sin costo de emisión ni mantenimiento”).
Monthly / annual maintenance None stated.
Card payments “Tus pagos con la tarjeta fiwind no tienen comisiones” — no commission on card payments.
Buying / selling crypto in the app “Sin comisiones” — described as commission-free.
Foreign purchases (1.5%) “Cargo del 1,5% processing of charges abroad” — a 1.5% foreign-processing charge on international purchases.
USD transfers via USDT / USDC (ACH) 0.50% + 0.50 USD.
USD transfers via USDT / USDC (wire) 0.50% + 20 USD.
ARS and USD deposits “Sin costo”, 24/7, instant.
ARS and USD withdrawals “Sin costo”, 24/7, instant.
Cash / ATM Not stated; the card is virtual and only described for online and NFC use.
Conversion Fiwind uses its own ARS→USD buy rate; Mastercard uses its own rate for USD→merchant currency. A single payment can pass through up to three currencies.
Card-level limits User can set a daily cap; “monthly operating limits” of the account apply to crypto or USD payments.
Account-tier limits Gold (after verification), Platinum (proof of address), Black (income documents). Figures in a separate article.

Three everyday payments, walked through:

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Fiwind payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Paying a domestic merchant in ARS from a peso balance. Fiwind sells you the USD at its buy rate, converts to ARS at the Mastercard rate, charges the 1.5% foreign-processing fee only if the merchant is treated as international, and the card payment itself carries no commission. The all-in cost is the spread inside the Fiwind buy rate plus any foreign-processing fee that applies.

Paying an online merchant abroad in EUR from a USDT balance. You deposit USDT (or USDC) at the network fee charged by the blockchain (not by Fiwind). Fiwind converts USDT to USD with a 0.50% + 0.50 USD ACH charge. Fiwind then sells USD to Mastercard, which sells USD to the merchant in EUR, and a 1.5% foreign-processing fee applies on the international leg. The card payment itself is commission-free.

Buying something in a shop through Apple Pay. Same path as the online merchant, but routed through the device token. Fiwind treats the payment as international if the merchant is abroad; the 1.5% still applies. There is no foreign-exchange commission stated, only the spread inside the Fiwind buy rate and the Mastercard rate.

What the fees page does not list is just as important as what it does. There is no monthly fee, no inactivity fee, no published ATM fee (because cash is not described at all), no replacement-card fee (because the card is virtual), and no published dispute or chargeback fee.

How to top it up

Top-up is the strongest part of the product. The card accepts three funding sources and a long list of networks.

The networks the site lists for crypto deposits are unusually long: Bitcoin (including Lightning), Ethereum (ERC-20), XRP Ledger, BNB (BEP-20), Arbitrum, Optimism, Cardano, Solana, Polygon, Stellar, TON, Polkadot, World Chain and Tron.

Two things the page does not say: the minimum top-up, and who pays the network fee when you deposit. The help center has 20 articles in its “Depósitos y retiros” collection, and the fees page does not summarise the network-fee policy.

A practical caution that comes from the wider category, not from Fiwind specifically: blockchain transfers are irreversible, and sending on a network the platform does not support, or to an address of another network, can mean a lost deposit or a slow manual recovery with no guarantee. The site does not warn about this, so the safe move is to copy the deposit address from inside the app each time and double-check the network.

Paying with it every day

Once loaded, the card behaves like a prepaid Mastercard.

A few practical consequences of being virtual-only: you cannot pay at unattended terminals that require a chip, you cannot pay at toll booths or parking machines that read a physical card, and you cannot hand a card to a waiter. For an Argentine or Brazilian user with a phone and NFC at the till, none of that matters. For a traveller, it does.

What can go wrong

This is the section I would pay closest attention to.

The card issuer is not named. Fiwind’s own pages describe the card as a Mastercard, but the legal entity behind the card programme is not on the fees page, the help center or the homepage. Fiwind is the programme manager; the regulated issuer — usually a bank or an e-money institution — is the party that holds the card programme, sets the BIN and stands behind chargebacks.

The PSAV registration is not a card licence. Financewind S.A. is registered as a virtual asset service provider (PSAV) with Argentina’s CNV under No. 75 (6 September 2024). The site itself says this “does not imply a licence or supervision”. A separate entity, Fiwind Capital S.A., is an ALYCI with CNV No. 2231. No licence loss or fine was found in the public record.

No dispute or chargeback process is published. The help-center card collection lists articles on taxes and fees, not on disputes. The fees page does not list a chargeback fee or a reversal process. For a virtual card, this matters more than for a debit card, because prepaid coverage varies and should not be assumed.

Public complaint data is thin. The only Trustpilot review is a one-star report dated 4 May 2026 (Spanish): the application was rejected on a claim that the data was altered, and the user says there was no real support. No Reddit thread and no card-specific complaint channel was found.

Help-center support is the only channel described. Help Center in Spanish (help.fiwind.io/es, 12 collections), plus social and community channels on X, Instagram, TikTok, LinkedIn, Discord, Telegram, Facebook and YouTube. There are no published support hours, no email address on the page, and no live chat.

Custodial risk is the structural one. Fiwind is custodial: you fund the platform, the platform funds the card, and the platform holds the crypto in between. That means your exposure is the same as any custodian — counterparty risk, hack risk, and the risk of a regulator-directed freeze. The category has had Mt. Gox (~US$350 million, 2011–2014), Coincheck (~US$400 million, 2018) and the Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). Holding on a card platform is a deliberate trade-off: simpler payments, but the funds sit with someone else.

Programmes can close. Visa’s November 2022 termination of its global agreements with FTX, and the 2018 suspension of WaveCrest in Europe that closed every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme, are reminders that the network — not the crypto brand — can pull the plug, and the user is the one left to withdraw. I have not found any equivalent termination for Fiwind; the point is structural, not current.

3-D Secure and foreign BINs. A virtual Mastercard paid from a non-USD balance can be declined at merchants that treat foreign-issued BINs as higher risk, especially in the US, Canada and the UK, where Address Verification Service is offered and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards. It is worth keeping a backup card.

What to take instead

The honest comparison is with cards that publish a country list, name an issuer and a regulator, and give you a clearer picture of the total cost. Three alternatives to weigh, with the trade-offs in one place:

Card Score Country rule Card form Issuance FX / conversion Rewards Where it wins
RedotPay 6.9 / 10 Two published lists, covering ~47 places for cards; KYC list bans citizens of about 40 countries; both lists are public. Virtual and physical Visa (Singapore terms); USD and HKD cards. Virtual 10 USD; physical 100 USD (non-refundable); Pro tier 12.90 USD / month or 129 USD / year. 1% crypto conversion; 1.20% non-default currency; small-auth and decline fees; some merchants 1.5%. 5 USD welcome reward, valid 30 days. Clarity on who can sign up, USD and HKD card options, physical card available.
Bitpanda 6.5 / 10 Euro-area residence required; Bankident users cannot order. Physical Visa debit (EUR only); one card at a time. Account and first card free; reissue 5.90 EUR; each additional physical 10 EUR. “VISA mark-up fees apply” on non-EUR; crypto spread not stated. 1% (body) / “up to 2%” (summary) cashback on crypto spending; fiat, stocks, metals, stablecoins excluded. EUR-denominated card, regulated EU issuer, easy euro-area access.
Wirex 6.7 / 10 “130+ countries” on the homepage; physical and virtual card availability varies; Singapore residents cannot withdraw cash. Virtual and physical Visa (or Mastercard, region-dependent); metal card available. Card issuance free in UK, EEA, APAC, SG, AU and “Other”; metal 45 GBP UK / 45 EUR elsewhere; one-off 30 GBP for GToS violations. FX fee not on the fee page; exchange rate shown in the app; card page says “no foreign exchange fees”. Cryptoback in WXT: 0.5% Standard, 3% Premium, up to 8% Elite (metal). Worldwide coverage, metal card, WXT rewards.

If the deciding factor for you is “I need to know whether I am eligible before I upload my ID”, RedotPay is the only one of these with two public lists. If the deciding factor is “I want a physical card and a clear EU regulator”, Bitpanda is the cleanest fit if you live in the euro area. If the deciding factor is “I want one app, a metal card, and a reward in a token I can hold”, Wirex is the more rounded option. Fiwind wins on network coverage for deposits and on the simplicity of the free front end, and loses on every axis that requires an issuer or a regulator to put its name on the page.

Who I would recommend it to

The card is a good fit if you live in Argentina, if your main use case is paying from a peso balance or a stablecoin balance, and if you do not need cash. It is also a good fit for the Pix path in Brazil, because Pix is built into the funding side and the card is described as settling in BRL when it goes through Pix. The free issuance, the free maintenance, the listed networks for crypto deposits, and the integration with Apple Pay and Google Pay all line up for that audience.

The card is a poor fit if you are outside Argentina or Brazil and the country list is decisive for you, if you need a physical card, if you need cash, if you want a published dispute or chargeback process, if you want a named issuer and a regulator willing to put its name on the card programme, or if you want a cashback programme that you can read the terms of on the marketing page. It is also a poor fit if your main use case is paying for things abroad, because the 1.5% foreign-processing charge on top of a two-step currency conversion can stack up, and if you need a USD transfer via USDT or USDC on the regular path, because the 0.50% plus 0.50 USD ACH fee is not the cheapest way to move dollars.

If I had to make a one-line call: Fiwind is a regional product that does its regional job well and stops where the regional job ends. Treat it as a virtual card for pesos and stablecoins in Argentina and Brazil, not as a global spending card, and the gap between the marketing and the experience closes considerably.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Fiwind card?

A fully virtual Mastercard issued under the Fiwind app, paid from an Argentine peso, US dollar or crypto balance held on the Fiwind platform. The card is usable at any merchant that takes Mastercard, online and through Apple Pay or Google Pay, and there is no physical card.

How does the Fiwind card work?

You fund the app with ARS, USD or crypto on one of the supported networks, choose a payment currency, and the card pays merchants from that balance. Domestic payments settle in ARS, Pix payments in BRL, and international payments in USD with a 1.5% foreign-processing charge on top.

Is Fiwind a bank?

No. Fiwind is an Argentine fintech. Financewind S.A. is registered as a virtual asset service provider (PSAV No. 75) with Argentina’s CNV, and Fiwind Capital S.A. is registered as an ALYCI (CNV No. 2231). The site states the PSAV registration “does not imply a licence or supervision”, and the card issuer is not named on the public pages.

Who owns Fiwind?

The site does not publish ownership. The iOS app lists the seller as FINANCEWIND S.A., and the platform operates under the Fiwind brand alongside Fiwind Capital S.A. as a separate legal entity.

Is the Fiwind card available in my country?

The site does not publish a list. The product is built around Argentina and Pix in Brazil, so the safe assumption is those two, with the rest uncertain. The card itself works at any Mastercard merchant worldwide, but the ability to open an account is a separate question.

How do I get the Fiwind card?

Download the iOS or Android app, complete the data the app asks for, verify your current address and your phone number, choose a payment currency, and the card is ready to use. No document step is shown on the public pages, and no processing time is given.

Does the Fiwind card require KYC?

The site describes a flow that needs current address and phone verification to get the card, and account verification (Gold), proof of address (Platinum) or income documents (Black) to move up the tier system. The full document list and processing time are not on the public pages.

How do I top up the Fiwind card?

You can top up with ARS or USD (free, instant, 24/7), or with crypto on one of the supported networks: Bitcoin including Lightning, Ethereum ERC-20, XRP Ledger, BNB BEP-20, Arbitrum, Optimism, Cardano, Solana, Polygon, Stellar, TON, Polkadot, World Chain and Tron. The minimum top-up and who pays the network fee are not stated.

Is the Fiwind card safe?

The account is custodial, the issuer is not named on the public pages, and the published safeguards are the ones in the app — pause the card, set a daily cap, change the payment currency, plus 2FA and linked-device controls in the help center. Insurance and safeguarding of funds are not stated, and the public complaint record is thin (one Trustpilot review, one star).

Is the Fiwind card worth it?

If you are in Argentina or Brazil and you mainly pay in pesos, dollars or stablecoins online and via NFC, the free issuance and the wide network coverage make it a reasonable option. If you are outside the region, need a physical card, need cash, or need a named issuer and a dispute process on the page, the value drops quickly and one of the alternatives is a better fit.

Content created by the «cryptocardchooser.com» team