A Visa card that spends your crypto balance and gives some bitcoin back
Lava is not really a crypto card in the ordinary sense. It is a Visa card that spends a dollar balance you top up from stablecoins or local currency, and it hands a slice of some purchases back in bitcoin. That distinction matters more than the marketing does, because it decides what the card can and cannot do for you — and who it is quietly closed to. I read the card’s own pages and its International Terms, checked the fee claims against the wording, and went looking for the things a buyer actually needs: which countries qualify, what the issuance costs, what happens to collateral when payment fails. Here is what I found, and where the card simply does not say.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
My verdict is 7.1 out of 10. Not a recommendation, just a number I can defend, with the reasoning underneath it.
Verdict: 7.1 out of 10, and the caveats are not small
Lava does two things well and leaves a third one vague. What it does well is cost: no annual fee, no foreign exchange fee, no spread on the currency conversion, and a published rate of 5% bitcoin back at partner merchants. What it does well is reach — a Visa card usable at merchants in 150+ countries, aimed explicitly at people outside the United States, which is a real answer to anyone who cannot open an ordinary bank card. What it leaves vague is everything around the edges: the issuance fee is not published, the verification documents and processing time are not published, delivery countries and cost are not published, and the supported top-up coins are not named.

The audience the card is designed for, in Lava’s own framing, is the non-US holder who wants bitcoin back on purchases. If that is you, the card does the thing it promises at a price that is genuinely lower than most of its category. If you are in the US, or you are a US citizen, the International Terms ask you to attest that you are neither a US citizen nor on a US sanctions list — that attestation is the first thing to read if you are anywhere near the United States in any capacity.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Spending works at merchants in 150+ countries, the card is aimed at people outside the US, and there is no country list — but you must attest you are not a US citizen and are not on a US sanctions list |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | No annual fee, no FX fee and no spread; ATM costs 2% with a $1 minimum; the issuance fee is not disclosed |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | Local currency or stablecoins, collateral wallet on Ethereum, Polygon, Optimism or Arbitrum — but no specific coins are named |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | Issuer is Third National under a Visa licence; no complaints found; but Lava is not a bank, and collateral can be liquidated on a Liquidation Event |
| Everyday use | 6 / 10 | Visa, virtual and physical both mentioned, ATM at 2% — Apple Pay and Google Pay are not addressed at all |
Add those up and you get 7.1. The two 8s and two 7s carry the number; the 6 on everyday use is what stops it going higher, because a card you cannot put in your phone wallet is a card you will use less.
Will they give you the card?
Yes, if you are not a United States citizen and not on a US sanctions list — and Lava publishes no country list at all, which cuts both ways.
The International Terms are the only place the eligibility rules appear, and they are short. You must attest that you are “not a United States citizen” and that you are not on a US sanctions list. The card is intended for personal, family and household use — that is, not a business expense card. Lava states the card is meant for people outside the US. There is a separate US terms document, so the company clearly does issue to the US market under different rules; the international document simply is not the one governing you if that is your situation.
Then comes the absence, and it is a real one. Lava’s public pages do not publish a list of countries whose residents may apply. No list of excluded countries, no list of accepted ones. If you are in a jurisdiction where the card is uncertain, the only way to find out is to apply and read the outcome, or to write to the support address given below. Compare that with the alternative cards in this review, one of which publishes two explicit country lists.
KYC requirements are not stated in the sense you care about: the Terms require true and complete information and require you to be off the sanctions list, but no document type, no verification tiers, no processing time. For context, EU due-diligence rules would normally cover name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documentation, a sanctions check and a politically-exposed-person check, and if due diligence cannot be completed the institution is required to hold off and may end the relationship. Lava is not obviously operating as an EU e-money institution, so treat those as background on the category rather than as Lava’s stated process.
My practical read: eligibility looks broad on paper and is genuinely open-ended, but “open-ended” is not the same as “confirmed for your country”. Check before you move money.
How to get it
The signup path is not documented in detail, so plan for a partly self-serve experience and some unanswered questions.
What is stated: the product is called the Lava Card, it is a Visa card, and it can be spent at 150 million merchants in 150+ countries. Lava’s own pages do not say whether the network designation, or the virtual-versus-physical split, applies to your region. The terms do mention both virtual and physical cards, and they mention replacements issued through your Lava account — but they list no delivery countries, no delivery time, no delivery cost and no replacement fee.
So the sequence is roughly: sign up, complete the identity steps the account asks for, receive either a virtual or a physical card or both, then load it. What I cannot tell you is which of those happens where, how long any of it takes, or what it costs to be issued the card.
On the nature of the card, the terms describe it as a Visa credit card, and Lava describes it as “secured” — it spends from your USD balance and, in Lava’s words, “does not offer unsecured credit”. Those two framings sit oddly together, and it is worth knowing which one you are relying on: the card cannot spend money you have not loaded, because there is no credit line behind it. If you are used to a credit card, the behaviour will feel completely different. No minimum spend is stated, and there is no fixed spending limit — your limit tracks the dollar value of your collateral or available balance, and Lava can change it, or drop it to zero, at any time.
One detail you will not find anywhere on the main site: the issuer is Third National, at 2100 Southbridge Pkwy STE 650, Birmingham, AL 35209, operating under a Visa licence. Lava says it is not a bank. Governing law is Puerto Rico, and disputes go to arbitration in New York. That is a US-centred structure with a non-US-facing product, and for a reader outside the US it is the kind of thing you want to know before you fund it.
What it really costs: Fees
This is the strongest part of the file. Lava’s fee claims are unusually clean, and the two numbers that do exist are both transparent.

- No annual fee.
- No foreign exchange fee and no FX spread.
- No exchange fee or spread on buying or selling bitcoin, per the page.
- ATM usage: 2%, with a $1 minimum, per the International Terms.
| Fee or limit | Value | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Annual fee | “no annual fees” | Lava card pages |
| Issuance fee | not stated | — |
| FX fee | 0% on non-USD transactions | Lava card pages and terms |
| Cross-border fee | 0% | Lava card pages |
| FX spread | “zero spread” on foreign currency | Lava card pages |
| Exchange fee on bitcoin buy/sell | none stated | Lava card pages |
| ATM | 2% with $1 minimum | International Terms |
| ATM (US) | a Lava page says ATM withdrawal is fee-free in all 50 US states | US context only |
| Free ATM allowance / cash limit | not stated | — |
| Spending limit | no fixed limit; tied to USD value of collateral or balance, changeable or reducible to $0 | Terms |
| Minimum spend | “no minimum spend” | Lava card pages |
Notice the row that is missing: the issuance fee is not stated. On a card with no annual fee, an undisclosed issuance charge is the number that decides whether “free” is true, so treat free as unconfirmed until you see the price at application.
How the fees behave in practice, on three everyday payments. Coffee in your own country — the card spends from the USD balance; no FX fee applies because the payment is not a conversion, so the only cost is whatever the merchant charges. A subscription or hotel in a foreign currency — this is the case Lava’s fee claims are really about: 0% FX fee, 0% cross-border fee and zero spread, so the amount you pay is the converted amount without a hidden margin. Note that the card spends from a USD balance, and multi-currency balances are not stated — so if you top up in euros or naira, a conversion is happening somewhere, and the card pages do not describe it in detail. Cash from an ATM — 2% with a $1 minimum, which means a small withdrawal pays the minimum fee. The free allowance and the cash limit are not stated.
One more thing worth knowing before you read the fees as a system: declining your transaction is not free everywhere. Some merchants add their own surcharge, and Lava’s terms reserve the right to change fees. But for the card itself, the fee story is genuinely good.
How to top it up
Deposits in local currency or stablecoins. That is the short version, and the detail underneath is thinner than you would like.
Stated routes:
- Stablecoin transfer — instant, 24/7, per Lava.
- Bank transfer from a local bank account.
- Direct deposit.
- Borrowing USD against bitcoin via BLOC — separate terms, fixed rates from 6.50% to 8.50%.
Lava also says “no hidden fees” on the deposit side. The deposit fee itself and the minimum top-up are not stated.
The collateral question is the one to understand before you send anything. The wallet holding your collateral sits on a “Supported Blockchain”, and the International Terms name four: Ethereum, Polygon, Optimism and Arbitrum. The specific coins accepted on those networks are not stated. That is a real gap, because blockchain transfers are irreversible — a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee of success. Two related background facts make this sharper: on Ethereum, gas is paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT with no ETH cannot send it at all; and Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option. If you are depositing, check the network on the deposit screen before you confirm, every time.
Bigger question: can you get the money back out? Cash advances and balance transfers are not available. Withdrawal of your USD balance back to crypto or to a bank account is not stated. So the routes in are documented and the routes out are not — and the only clearly described route out is spending. That asymmetry is the single thing I would ask Lava about directly before loading anything you would miss.
Paying with it every day
The reward is the reason to carry this card rather than spend from a plain balance. Earn up to 5% back in bitcoin on every purchase, per Lava. But the headline is doing work the detail does not fully confirm.
What the detail says: 5% bitcoin back at partner merchants; 3% on other purchases for US cardholders and 1% for non-US cardholders, per a Lava comparison article. Rewards are issued once a transaction settles, and there is a 100,000-satoshi minimum to redeem. Some merchants and categories are ineligible. The conditions behind “up to 5%” are not stated in one place — which merchants count as partners is the question that determines whether you see 5% or 1% on your actual spending.
| Where you spend | Bitcoin back |
|---|---|
| Partner merchants | 5% |
| Other purchases, US cardholders | 3% |
| Other purchases, non-US cardholders | 1% |
| Headline | “up to 5%” |
So for a non-US reader, plan on 1% unless you are deliberately shopping at partner merchants — and know that bitcoin back is not free money, it is a taxable disposal in most jurisdictions (see below).
Included Visa benefits: purchase protection up to $20,000, extended warranty up to $25,000, global auto rental insurance, travel accident insurance and lost luggage insurance. Worth having, worth checking the terms on, but they are standard Visa programme benefits rather than something unusual Lava has arranged.
The app exists on mobile and web, though App Store and Google Play links are not on Lava’s site. An aggregator listing for “Lava: Secure Bitcoin Loans” shows 4.8 out of 5 from 132 reviews, data updated 2026-02-16 — that is a third-party aggregator, not a Lava publication, and the listing name suggests the app’s framing may lean loan-first.
What is not disclosed: whether Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, and whether any merchant categories are blocked. Both are things you discover at the till. Wallet support in particular is where the everyday-use score loses its point — on a normal card you add it to your phone once and tap; if Lava’s virtual card cannot be tokenised, you are re-typing card details for every online purchase, and online purchases are most of where a Visa gets used.
If something goes wrong with a purchase: report a disputed charge within 60 days of it appearing on your statement, try the merchant first, and a chargeback resolved in your favour is credited to a current or future statement. Card issues go to the issuer through the cardholder agreement’s channels.
What can go wrong
Four risks, in descending order of how much they should worry you.
Liquidation of your collateral. This is the one the terms are unusually explicit about. Collateral can be liquidated on a “Liquidation Event” — defined as payment unpaid one calendar day, or collateral value falling below the charges. The issuer may also suspend or cancel the account at any time. Closing the account does not cancel your repayment obligations, though prepayment carries no penalty. Lava also says the daily spending limit can be set in the app and reduced to zero at any time. Read that whole cluster together: you do not have an unconditional claim on your collateral, and a missed payment has a very short fuse.
Custody. Lava says it does not rehypothecate — “We don’t trade, lend out, or otherwise use your funds” — and describes its infrastructure as minimising trust and eliminating single points of failure. The collateral sits in a wallet on a supported blockchain. Insurance on the balance is not stated. That is the ordinary trade in this category: you are trusting a non-bank company with your money, and Lava is explicit that it is not a bank.
Voluntary suspension. The issuer can suspend or cancel at any time. This category has a real history here: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down; WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures typically mean a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw. A 2026 closure reported by a single secondary source had new loads ending 8 July 2026 and spending stopping 8 August 2026 — that is one unconfirmed source, and I would not present it as a prediction for Lava, only as a shape of what can happen.
Declines and holds. Foreign-issued cards can be declined more often than people expect. Merchants can look up the issuing institution and country from the card’s first six or eight digits, and may apply extra scrutiny when that country differs from your billing address; address verification is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards outright. A declined authorisation can also leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven. And under 3-D Secure, responsibility for a fraudulent online payment can shift from the merchant to your bank.
On complaints, I found nothing to report — and I want to be precise about what that means. There is no Trustpilot page, no Reddit threads, no card-specific complaints found, no official incidents and no user reports. That is genuinely unusual in this category. It is also what a young product looks like before it has volume, so I read it as thin evidence rather than strong evidence.
Two smaller items. Lava does say it does not trade, lend out or otherwise use your funds — the rehypothecation line is the meaningful one, and it is a policy statement rather than something I can verify. Support is 24/7 and US-based, by email at [email protected] or phone on (347) 588-9745, plus 24/7 Visa customer service; “directly connected to a real human” is the claim. Given that one of the routes out of your money is not documented, an answerable support desk matters more here than usual.
What to take instead
I pulled three alternatives from the same comparison set so you can see them side by side rather than in the abstract. All three scores are from that set, so the numbers are comparable even though the products are not: Gemini 4.9, Trastra 4.1, RedotPay 6.9, against Lava’s 7.1.
| Lava | RedotPay | Gemini | Trastra | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score in this comparison | 7.1 / 10 | 6.9 / 10 | 4.9 / 10 | 4.1 / 10 |
| Card type | Secured Visa, spends USD balance | Virtual and physical Visa debit; USD and HKD cards | Mastercard World Elite credit card | Prepaid debit card at Visa merchants |
| Annual fee | none | none; Pro tier 12.90 USD monthly / 129.00 USD annual | none | not stated |
| Issuance cost | not stated | virtual 10.00 USD; physical 100.00 USD, non-refundable | not stated | not stated |
| FX fee | 0%, zero spread | 1.20% on non-default currency | none; conversion not applicable | not stated |
| Crypto conversion fee | not stated | 1.00% | not applicable | not stated |
| Rewards | up to 5% bitcoin back; 1% non-US on other purchases | 5 USD welcome reward, spending only, 30 days | 4% gas/EV/transit on first 300 USD/month, 3% dining, 2% groceries, 1% other | not stated |
| Funding | stablecoins or local currency; collateral on Ethereum, Polygon, Optimism, Arbitrum | on-chain crypto, or buy in app (ETH, USDC, USDT) | not a prepaid card — paid off in fiat | crypto from a Mover wallet |
| Eligibility published | no country list; not a US citizen, not sanctioned | two country lists, 47 places | not stated on the card page | 31 listed countries, EEA residents; others “Not at the moment” |
Three things stand out.
RedotPay publishes the most. Two official lists, one for identity verification and one for card issuance, dated August 28, 2026, adding India, Indonesia, Morocco, Nepal, Singapore and Turkey as ineligible for both virtual and physical cards, with Russia, Belarus, Ukraine and Serbia on both lists and Georgia, Armenia, Kazakhstan and the UAE on neither. If your question is “can I use this in my country”, RedotPay has already answered it and Lava has not. Against that, RedotPay costs 1.00% per transaction on the crypto conversion, 1.20% in a non-default currency, has a physical card application of 100.00 USD that cannot be cancelled or refunded once paid, and runs a paid tier.
Gemini is a different animal entirely. It is a credit card paid off in fiat, not a card that spends crypto. Rewards are 4% on gas, EV and transit for the first 300 USD a month, 3% dining, 2% groceries, 1% everything else, paid instantly in bitcoin or one of 50+ cryptos and changeable at any time, plus 10% Vault Rewards at some merchants. No foreign transaction fees. If your problem is not “I cannot get a bank card” but “I want bitcoin back on ordinary spending”, Gemini’s structure is simpler and the reward rates are better. Its 4.9 is lower for a reason — it does nothing for anyone without access to fiat credit.
Trastra is 31 listed countries with EEA rollout promised and non-European residents told “Not at the moment”, a prepaid Visa debit in euro, topped up from crypto in a Mover wallet with no coins named. Little is published about its costs.
One background note that applies to all of them, including Lava: Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves. They license issuers — here Third National under a Visa licence — and can suspend a programme. The crypto brand is usually just the programme manager and the front end. That is why the issuer name and its licence matter more than the brand’s marketing.
Who I would recommend it to
Lava to someone outside the US who cannot get an ordinary bank card, already holds stablecoins or has a way to buy them, and is spending in a currency where a 1.20% conversion fee would hurt. They get a Visa card, 150+ countries of reach, no annual fee, no FX fee, no spread, and bitcoin back at partner merchants — on terms that are, for a crypto card, unusually restrained on cost. They should also read the Liquidation Event clause before they load it, and know that their route out is spending.
Lava not to someone who wants a credit line. It is a secured card on your own balance; if you were expecting to be lent against, the answer is no, and BLOC’s 6.50% to 8.50% fixed rates are a different product with separate terms. Not to a US citizen, who is asked to attest otherwise. Not to someone who needs their money out on demand, because withdrawal of the USD balance back to crypto or a bank is not stated. Not to someone who lives on Apple Pay, until Lava confirms it works.
And a word on tax, because nobody mentions it and it quietly changes what 5% means. The IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local fiat currency at fair market value on the transaction date — which means each card payment funded from crypto can be a separate disposal, and the bitcoin you get back is another. I am not giving you tax advice and I am not qualified to; I am telling you that treating the back as free is a mistake, and that a specialist in your own jurisdiction is worth an hour of time if this is going to be your main card.
Frequently asked questions
What is Lava?
Lava is a crypto card product built around a secured Visa card that spends a US dollar balance you top up. It pays up to 5% back in bitcoin at partner merchants. Lava says it is not a bank, and the issuing bank named in the terms is Third National, operating under a Visa licence from an address in Birmingham, Alabama.
How does Lava card work?
You load a dollar balance by depositing stablecoins or local currency, and the card spends only that balance, so it cannot overdraw. Spending limit tracks the dollar value of what you have loaded and can be changed or dropped to zero at any time. Rewards are issued once a transaction settles, with a 100,000-satoshi minimum to redeem.
Is Lava a bank?
No, and Lava says so directly. The card is issued by Third National under a Visa licence; Lava is the programme manager and the company you hold the account with. Governing law is Puerto Rico, and disputes go to arbitration in New York. Balance insurance is not stated anywhere on the public pages.
Who can get a Lava card?
You must attest that you are not a United States citizen and are not on a US sanctions list, and use it for personal, family and household purposes. There is no published country list, so eligibility in your country is genuinely unconfirmed until you apply. KYC documents and processing time are also not stated.
Is Lava card free?
Mostly, yes: no annual fee, no FX fee, no cross-border fee, no spread on currency conversion and no exchange fee on buying or selling bitcoin per Lava. But the issuance fee is not published, and ATM withdrawals cost 2% with a $1 minimum. Judge “free” only after you see the application price.
How do I top up the Lava card?
By stablecoin transfer, which Lava describes as instant and available 24/7, by bank transfer from a local bank account, by direct deposit, or by borrowing USD against bitcoin through BLOC at fixed rates from 6.50% to 8.50%. Collateral sits on Ethereum, Polygon, Optimism or Arbitrum, but the specific accepted coins are not named, so check the network on the deposit screen.
Can I get money back off Lava?
This is the weakest-documented area. Cash advances and balance transfers are not available, and withdrawal of your USD balance back to crypto or to a bank is not stated. Spending is the only clearly described way out. If you need an exit, ask Lava in writing before funding.
Is Lava card safe?
Reasonable, with real caveats. Lava says it does not trade, lend out or otherwise use your funds, and support is 24/7 and US-based. But collateral can be liquidated if payment is unpaid for one calendar day or collateral value falls below charges, the issuer may suspend or cancel the account at any time, and no insurance on the balance is stated.
Is Lava card worth it?
For a non-US holder without access to an ordinary bank card, who spends in a currency where conversion fees bite, and who is deliberate about partner merchants — the fee profile is genuinely strong. It is not worth it if you want credit, need Apple Pay, or need to withdraw on demand. And treat the bitcoin back as a taxable disposal, not as free money.
Where can I use the Lava card?
At merchants in 150+ countries, on Visa, where the merchant accepts a prepaid or foreign-issued card. Some shops decline those, and address verification is generally unavailable on foreign-issued cards, so expect occasional declines online. Cash works at ATMs at 2% with a $1 minimum, though a Lava page says ATM withdrawal is fee-free in all 50 US states.
Credit and cashback cards – cryptocardchooser.com
Content created by the «cryptocardchooser.com» team
