The card is easy to live with, hard to get, and expensive outside Australia
If you are looking for a card that turns a crypto balance into everyday spending, the CoinJar card does one thing and does it without drama: it hands you a free Mastercard, plastic and digital, and pays for things out of the crypto you have already set aside. On the everyday-use side of my scorecard it did well. On getting the card at all, on what it costs once you leave Australia, and on how thinly its public pages document the parts you would need before you commit, it did badly enough to pull the total down. That tension is the whole story of this card, and it is worth reading to the end rather than stopping at the fee table.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 5.5 out of 10, and that average hides two very different cards
My total for the CoinJar card is 5.5 out of 10. That number is not a rounding of something more flattering; it is the plain result of scoring five things separately, and those five things disagree with each other. Everyday use scored 9. Reliability and complaints scored 7. Eligibility scored 3. Cost scored 5. Top-up options scored 5.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 3 / 10 | Rules in the AU product disclosure statement: 18+, an Australian resident, with a verified CoinJar account. The card’s own page does not name any country. |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Issuance and replacement are free; purchases cost 1%, foreign transactions “2.99%+”, ATM withdrawals 1%, a dispute costs 27.50 AUD. |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | You choose a crypto to act as the “Spend” account and the card auto-converts at CoinJar rates. The list of coins is not disclosed. |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | Issued by EML Payment Solutions Limited (AFSL 404131), with CoinJar Australia Pty Ltd as authorised representative. Trustpilot for the exchange shows 3.3/5 across 2,549 reviews, and only one of those complaints is about a card. |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Free physical and digital Mastercard, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM withdrawals at 1%. |
| Total | 5.5 / 10 | A good card for a narrow set of Australian residents paying with crypto in AUD, wrapped in documentation that leaves too many blanks. |
Who does it suit? An Australian resident, 18 or over, who already holds crypto on CoinJar, mostly spends inside Australia, and wants a card that arrives free, works in Apple Pay, and doesn’t require a separate bank account application. For that person this is a genuinely pleasant card, and the 9 in the everyday-use column is not charity.
Who does it not suit? Anyone outside Australia — the card page says nothing about other countries, so you are inferring, not reading. Anyone who spends abroad regularly: the 1% purchase fee stacks on top of a foreign exchange fee of 2.99% plus whatever the Mastercard network rate turns out to be, which is the most expensive combination in this comparison. Anyone who wants to know in advance which coins will work, how long a payment takes to clear, or what the identification requirements actually are, because the card’s own pages answer none of those questions. And anyone planning to lean on the crypto side as a savings account, since the money is held by a custodian and this card adds an e-money issuer on top of that chain of custody.
Will they give you the card?
Here is the blunt answer: only if you are an Australian resident, over 18, with a verified CoinJar account — and the card’s own page will not tell you that, because it does not state eligibility or countries at all. That silence is worth noticing. You get the rules from the Australian product disclosure statement instead, and they are short.
- You must be 18 or older.
- You must be an Australian resident.
- You must hold a verified CoinJar account.
Three requirements, and one of them — residency — does the heavy lifting. If you moved away from Australia, or if you are an Australian citizen living somewhere else, the disclosed rules point you toward “no”. I want to be careful about what that means in practice: the card documents define the audience as Australian residents, and the card page does not say whether a non-resident Australian citizen is refused or merely falls outside the intended audience. Nobody publishes a list of borderline cases; if you are in one, the only honest answer is that you will find out by applying, and I would not plan a financial arrangement around the hope that you fall on the inside of the line.
If you are outside Australia entirely, the practical conclusion is the same as for other cards in this category: there is nothing on the public pages to support an application. Some cards in this space explicitly welcome applicants from a long list of jurisdictions and explicitly bar others. The CoinJar card makes no such statement either way. Absent an invitation, the default expectation has to be that the Australian-resident rule holds.
How to get it
The application route is short, and the card you end up holding is described in the same plain terms throughout: a prepaid, reloadable Mastercard in Australian dollars, with a digital card and a free physical card. There is no tier system, no paid upgrade, and no premium version. One tier, and the perks do not vary because there is nothing to vary.
- The card is a prepaid reloadable Mastercard, denominated in AUD, issued by EML.
- A physical card is free, and a replacement card is free as well. The product disclosure statement’s fee table shows a Card Issue Fee of Free and a Replacement Card Fee of Free.
- The digital card exists alongside the physical one; both are managed in the CoinJar app.
Two things you will notice as gaps rather than features. The card page does not state verification requirements, levels, or processing time — the only verification fact available is that eligibility requires a verified CoinJar account, and neither which documents you need nor why an application might be refused is published. And delivery countries and delivery time are not stated anywhere on the card materials. In Australia, obviously, this is less alarming; anywhere else it is a second reason the card is realistically an Australian product.
Activation is handled inside the app, alongside freezing and unfreezing the card, changing the PIN and viewing transaction history. I would not want to guess at the exact sequence, because it is not documented in what I could read, but there is nothing about the setup that suggests a branch visit or a mailed PIN.
Fees: what a CoinJar payment actually costs you
This is the section where the 5 out of 10 for cost was decided. The headline numbers are genuinely competitive at the front end — the card itself is free, forever, and a replacement is free too — and then the usage fees take back more than you might expect. The structure is straightforward: 1% on everything you buy, more on top when you buy it outside Australia, 1% at the ATM, and a fixed charge if you have to dispute something.

| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Card issue fee | Free |
| Replacement card fee | Free |
| In-store and online purchases | 1% (returned as Rewards points) |
| Foreign transactions | “2.99%+” on top of the Mastercard rate |
| ATM withdrawal | 1% of the withdrawal, plus the ATM operator’s own fee |
| Dispute fee | $27.50 per transaction |
| Daily ATM limit | $1,000 |
| Minimum / maximum per ATM withdrawal | $20 / $1,000 |
| Maximum point-of-sale transaction | $5,000 |
| Daily point-of-sale limit | $5,000, including ATM withdrawals |
| Monthly or annual account fee | Not stated on the card page |
Three everyday payments, to make the fee table mean something. A $60 grocery shop in Melbourne: you pay $60 plus a 1% purchase fee, and the 1% comes back as CoinJar Rewards points against a future trade or as Rewards Store credit — which is a real offset, though it is not cash and it is not a discount, it is the same 1% fee wearing different clothes. A $45 taxi in Sydney: you pay $45 plus a 1% fee, same story. A $30 subscription charged by a service priced in US dollars, from your Australian card: the purchase fee adds 1%, then the foreign exchange layer of “2.99%+” applies on top of the Mastercard rate, so the effective cost of that $30 is the original amount plus the 1% fee and the foreign exchange charges — and that last part is exactly why the card page hedges with a plus sign.
The ATM case is where people get surprised, so take it slowly. A $200 withdrawal costs you $2 in the ATM fee, and then the machine’s operator charges whatever it charges, on top. There is a free allowance that I could not find stated anywhere, which means I cannot tell you whether any part of that $2 is waived. There is a $1,000 daily limit on ATM withdrawals and a $20 minimum per withdrawal, and the daily point-of-sale limit of $5,000 includes your ATM withdrawals rather than sitting alongside them.
One more cost you should not be surprised by, because it is not on the fee list at all: the 1% is only half of what a crypto-funded purchase costs. When the card converts your crypto, CoinJar charges its normal trading fee on top of the 1%. So a $60 shop can cost meaningfully more than $60 once the spread on the sale of the underlying crypto is counted. The card page does not show this as a single combined number, which means you have to add it up yourself.
Top up: how money reaches the card
There is no separate wallet balance sitting under the card, and this trips people up. The card draws on what CoinJar calls the Spendable Balance of your CoinJar Everyday Account, and that balance is funded by one crypto that you nominate as the account’s “Spend” account. At the moment of payment the card auto-converts at CoinJar’s rates.

- Pick a crypto to act as the “Spend” account; the card converts automatically at CoinJar rates.
- Spends come out of the Spendable Balance of the CoinJar Everyday Account.
- Card top-up fee, minimum top-up and network fees: not stated.
- Coins and networks supported: not listed. A 2021 launch press release mentions 30 digital currencies and a flat 1% conversion.
The design is the good part. Set the Spend account once and the card just works; there is no rebalancing ritual, no manual conversion at the till, no per-payment decision. The plain-card guarantee holds too: because the card spends a converted balance rather than a line of credit, it cannot overdraw.
The unknowns are the problem. The list of supported coins is not published on the card materials, so if you hold an asset you would rather spend, you cannot confirm from the documentation that it will work — you would be reading the app. Card top-up fees and minimums are not stated either, so I cannot tell you what the transfer side costs on top of the network fee the blockchain charges. And if you cancel or the card is revoked, the remaining value goes back to CoinJar, who pay it into your Everyday Account in Australian dollars once no pending authorisations remain and you ask them to. The card can be cancelled by you at any time, and by the issuer on 14 days’ notice — or immediately if they suspect misuse or false information.
Paying with it every day
This is the 9 out of 10 column, and it earned that mark on simplicity rather than on feature count. You get a free physical Mastercard and a free digital one, you add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay, and from then on the card behaves like a normal card in a normal wallet. For a resident of Australia paying with crypto in Australian dollars, the friction is close to zero.
- Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported.
- Card controls live in the iOS and Android app: hold or unblock, change PIN, view history.
- 1 CoinJar Rewards point per $1 spent, offsetting future trades or redeemable in the Rewards Store.
- Contactless payments under $100 are mentioned in the app.
- Merchant category codes that are blocked: not stated.
App quality is the one place where third-party ratings add something the official materials do not, and I want to flag clearly that these are unofficial figures rather than anything the card or the company publishes. The App Store listing shows 4.1 out of 5 across 123 reviews (per App Pricing Lab, listing updated 7 March 2026; Marlvel gives 128 ratings), and Google Play shows 3.91 from roughly 2.6 thousand ratings (per AppBrain), as searched on 20 October 2026. Two large stores, two very different pictures: iOS users broadly like it, Android users are noticeably less enthusiastic. If your spending happens on one phone rather than the other, that asymmetry is worth a look before you rely on the card day to day.
The rewards point is small enough to be easy to overvalue. One point per dollar is a 1% return, and a 1% return that only comes back as a trading credit or a Rewards Store voucher is not the same as 1% back in your pocket. It softens the purchase fee; it does not cancel it.
What can go wrong
Nothing dramatic is specific to this card — no official complaints surfaced, and no card-specific Reddit or Trustpilot complaints surfaced either. But the structure underneath carries the usual crypto-card risks, and the supporting pages are quieter than they should be on two important points.
Who actually holds your money. This is custodial. Funds sit in your CoinJar account and EML issues the card on top of it. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key, and with a custodial provider that is not you; a seed phrase is the unencrypted form of the key, and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend it. Transfers are typically irreversible and a stolen key has no built-in recovery, because the network cannot freeze or return funds. And custodial platforms have a real record: Mt. Gox reported about US$350 million stolen between 2011 and 2014, Coincheck about US$400 million in 2018, Ronin Network US$625 million in 2022. Two providers stand between you and your balance here, not one.
What safeguarding you get. Here is the gap I keep coming back to: insurance or safeguarding arrangements are not stated in what I could read. In the EU an electronic money institution must safeguard customer funds by segregating them in dedicated accounts or insuring them, and those funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme. Knowing whether the equivalent applies to your Australian card money, and through whom, would materially change how you size what you keep on it. I cannot answer that from the public documents.
The exchange’s own track record, which the card inherits. Trustpilot for CoinJar — the exchange, not the card — shows a TrustScore of 3.3 across 2,549 reviews with 17% one-star, as read on 20 October 2026. The themes in those reviews are transfers and withdrawals held “under review” or under Travel Rule holds (June to October 2026, including a BTC transfer paused for more than four days in August 2026), identity re-checks and account freezes (May to September 2026), and slow support. Only one complaint in the whole set is actually about a card: a virtual Mastercard “constantly having technical issues” (18 October 2026). CoinJar replies to 100% of negative reviews. One card complaint in 2,549 reviews is a good sign; it is also a single data point, and it is about the virtual card, which is the part you would use most.
Declines and holds. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards because the BIN lookup reveals the card type and issuer country, and the address verification service that would normally rescue an online payment is mostly unavailable for foreign-issued cards — which can cause declines. A declined authorisation can also leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven. And because this is an Australian card, it will look foreign almost anywhere else.
Disputes, with a clock. Chargebacks follow Mastercard scheme rules. You should notify EML as soon as possible; the time limit is generally 90 days from the transaction, but you must supply extra information within 10 days or the chargeback may be lost or reversed. If the dispute fails, you are charged $27.50. CoinJar attempts resolution within 5 days and otherwise within 30, after which it escalates to AFCA. Merchant refunds go back to your Everyday Account in AUD. Official complaints go to [email protected]; support is [email protected] and the issuer is issuer EML [email protected], with a help centre at support.coinjar.com.
Programme risk, in general terms. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves — they license issuers and can suspend a programme. Visa said in November 2022 that it had terminated its global agreements with FTX, and WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended in Europe in 2018, closing all its programmes. Closures typically mean a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. That is the pattern to watch for with any card in this category, and it is not a knock on CoinJar specifically; CoinJar’s own card dates from August 2021 and CoinJar’s blog in February 2026 still described it, with no 2026 programme change found.
Fees, limits and who is behind it — the short version
A few things worth keeping on one page, because they are the facts you will look up again when something goes wrong:
- Issuer: EML Payment Solutions Limited (AFSL 404131), with CoinJar Australia Pty Ltd as authorised representative.
- Program documentation: product disclosure statement from 2021; news coverage (third-party, BusinessWire and EML press releases) dates the Australian launch to August 2021 and a UK GBP card to February 2022.
- Currency: AUD, with all fees in the product disclosure statement in Australian dollars and GST inclusive.
- Refunds and remaining balances come back as Australian dollars into the Everyday Account — not as the original crypto.
- Card networks: Mastercard. Digital and physical, both free.
- Disputed transaction fee: $27.50 per unsuccessful dispute.
One structural point about all of these cards, including this one, is worth internalising. A card is a payment service and is regulated separately from the crypto side. Under MiCA, which is the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation and took legal effect in June 2023 with the token rules applying from 30 June 2024 and the service-provider rules from 30 December 2024, a crypto card often depends on two separate licences: one for custody and exchange, one for the payment instrument. Visa and Mastercard route the messages and set the rules; the issuer holds the programme; the crypto brand is frequently only the programme manager and the face of it. When you are choosing a card, you are choosing which of those companies your money sits with.
What to take instead
The honest comparison here is uncomfortable for CoinJar, because it wins on exactly the axis a crypto card user cares about — physical card included, free, in a major wallet — and loses on everything about breadth.
| CoinJar | Bybit Card | Coinbase Card | OKX | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| My score | 5.5 / 10 | 6.0 / 10 | 6.4 / 10 | 6.2 / 10 |
| Where it is offered | Australian residents, 18+, verified CoinJar account | Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru, Asia Pacific — and EEA customers are strictly prohibited | All US states except Hawaii | EU plus Norway, launched 28 January 2026 |
| Card | Free physical and digital prepaid Mastercard, AUD | Virtual and physical Mastercard or Visa depending on region; a virtual card must come first; no physical in Peru | Visa prepaid debit, virtual or physical | Euro-denominated virtual Mastercard linked to OKX Pay |
| Purchase / conversion cost | 1% purchases, plus CoinJar’s trading fee on the conversion | Crypto conversion fee 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate in most regions; 0.5% Argentina | No Coinbase transaction fees, but a spread applies on conversion | No transaction fee; conversion spread 0.1% per an explainer (May 2026) versus 0.4% in the launch release — the figures conflict |
| Foreign transactions | “2.99%+” over the Mastercard rate | 2% on top of the network rate in most regions; 7% Argentina; 1.5% Brazil; 1% Peru | Not stated here | Not stated here |
| Rewards | 1 point per $1, usable against future trades | From 5 October 2026, crypto-funded transactions only earn; tiers from 2% (Base, $5 cap) to 10% (Infinite, $600 cap) | Optional crypto rewards, variable rate, US only | Cashback on USDG purchases only, USDC earns none; 2%–10% by tier, figures inconsistent |
A few notes, because a table flattens things that matter.
Bybit Card is the one that genuinely competes on geography. Its help centre lists nine regions, and where an application comes from an unsupported country it registers interest rather than refusing — though its fiat-service restricted list includes Belarus, Russian Federation, Serbia, China and the United States, and it says Russian users can only make RUB transactions in fiat. No card-specific rule on Russian or Belarusian citizens was found and no citizenship-versus-residence test is published, so do not read the residence list as a citizenship guarantee. The card currency depends on the country where you complete Advanced Identity Verification. Its costs are a mixed bag: virtual issuance is free in every region “until further notice”, physical is 29.99 USD in Australia and Georgia, 5 USD or USDT in Argentina and Asia Pacific, free in Brazil and Mexico, and VIP holders with certain physical cards pay nothing. Its FX padding is 0% in the Australia group and Mexico.
Coinbase Card has the simplest proposition and the narrowest door: US residents only, all states but Hawaii, identity rules under the USA PATRIOT Act, zero spending fees and no annual fees, with a Coinbase spread applied when crypto is converted at payment.
OKX is the newest of the four and the thinnest on detail: EU plus Norway from 28 January 2026, with Iceland and Liechtenstein excluded, a euro virtual Mastercard through an unnamed European licensed provider, no physical card mentioned, and a conversion spread that two of its own published sources state differently. It is also the clearest example of something to know before you apply anywhere: the card is a spend wallet, so a payment is declined if the balance is short.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the CoinJar card to one specific person: an Australian resident over 18, with a verified CoinJar account, who already holds crypto, spends domestically, and wants a free physical Mastercard that works in Apple Pay without a second application to a bank. For that person the daily-use experience is close to ideal, the card is free, the Rewards point puts something back, and the main cost — 1% plus the underlying trading spread — is the price of convenience rather than a trap.
I would steer everyone else elsewhere, and toward a specific alternative rather than vaguely. If you live outside Australia, look at a card whose help centre actually names your country; the whole category turns on that sentence existing. If you are in the US, the Coinbase Card’s zero spending fees and no annual fee are hard to argue with, inside the US. If you are in the EU or Norway, the OKX virtual card is worth reading the MiCA transition position on before you commit, since the licence landscape is still moving. If you want the broadest footprint and the deepest reward structure, Bybit Card is in a different class from CoinJar — up to 10% cashback on the top tier, though only on crypto-funded spending, and with a long list of jurisdictions where its fiat services are restricted.
And if you are Australian but outside that first description — you travel, you spend in other currencies, you hold coins the card might not support, you want to know exactly what happens to your funds if the issuer or the exchange has a bad day — then the missing pieces on CoinJar’s public pages are the reason. Not because something is wrong, but because you cannot check.
Frequently asked questions
What is the CoinJar card?
It is a prepaid, reloadable Mastercard issued in Australian dollars by EML Payment Solutions Limited, available as a free physical card and a free digital one. Instead of drawing on a bank account, it spends the Australian-dollar value of the crypto you nominated as the “Spend” account in your CoinJar Everyday Account, converting automatically at CoinJar rates at the moment of payment.
How does the CoinJar card work day to day?
You pick a crypto to act as the Spend account, and every purchase is converted and paid from the resulting Spendable Balance. In-store and online purchases cost 1%, which is returned as CoinJar Rewards points usable against future trades or in the Rewards Store. You manage the card, freeze it, change the PIN and view history in the iOS or Android app, and add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay.
Is CoinJar a bank?
No — the card comes from a licensed payment issuer, not a deposit-taking bank. It is issued by EML Payment Solutions Limited, which holds Australian Financial Services Licence 404131, with CoinJar Australia Pty Ltd acting as authorised representative under the product disclosure statement. The money is held in custody, and safeguarding or insurance arrangements are not stated in the public documents I could read.
Who can get the CoinJar card?
Australian residents who are 18 or older and hold a verified CoinJar account, according to the Australian product disclosure statement. The card’s own public page does not state eligibility or countries at all, so anyone outside Australia is applying without published terms rather than with them. Verification levels, required documents, processing times and grounds for refusal are also not stated.
How much does it cost to spend on the CoinJar card?
In-store and online purchases cost 1%, and that 1% comes back as Rewards points rather than cash. The card issue fee and the replacement card fee are both free, and no monthly or annual account keeping fee appears in the fee table. What the fee list does not include is CoinJar’s normal trading fee, charged when your crypto is sold to fund the purchase — so a 1% purchase fee is not the whole cost.
What does it cost to use the CoinJar card abroad?
Foreign transactions are charged at “2.99%+” on top of the Mastercard rate, on top of the 1% purchase fee. That plus sign means the final figure depends on the network rate at the time. ATM withdrawals cost 1% of the amount plus the ATM operator’s own fee, with no free allowance stated. It is the most expensive foreign-transaction setup among the cards in this comparison.
Can I top up the CoinJar card?
Not by loading the card directly. The card spends the Spendable Balance of your CoinJar Everyday Account, funded by whichever crypto you set as the Spend account and converted at CoinJar rates. Card top-up fees, minimum amounts and network fees are not stated, and the list of supported coins and networks is not published; a 2021 launch release mentioned 30 digital currencies.
Are my funds safe on the CoinJar card?
The arrangement is custodial, with two parties involved: CoinJar holds the funds and EML issues the card. Safeguarding or insurance arrangements are not stated in the public documents, so I could not confirm what protection applies. Official support for the exchange’s wider track record is mixed — Trustpilot shows 3.3/5 across 2,549 reviews, with recurring complaints about held transfers and identity re-checks.
Is CoinJar card safe to use in Apple Pay?
Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported, and the app lets you tokenise the card, freeze and unfreeze it, and change the PIN. Apple Pay stores a device-specific number in the phone’s Secure Element rather than the card number itself, and each payment uses a one-time code. The issuer can also restrict the tokenised card on phone or website channels if it needs to.
What happens if I dispute a transaction?
Tell EML as soon as possible; the general time limit is 90 days from the transaction, but you must provide extra information within 10 days or the chargeback may be lost or reversed. CoinJar tries to resolve within 5 days and otherwise within 30, then escalates to AFCA. If the dispute is unsuccessful you are charged $27.50 per transaction, and any merchant refund comes back to your Everyday Account in Australian dollars.
Exchange cards – cryptocardchooser.com
Content created by the «cryptocardchooser.com» team
