A prepaid Visa on top of your crypto, priced honestly but thin on detail
Karta is a Visa Signature card — virtual or physical — that spends a balance you load yourself, mostly with USDT or USDC, from an interface that lives inside Telegram. On my score sheet it comes out at 7.9 / 10: genuinely strong on reach and on the range of networks you can fund it from, unremarkable on cost, and thin on the things that decide whether a card is trustworthy — who issues it, what the limits are, and what happens to your balance if things go wrong.

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
That combination makes Karta a good fit for a specific person and a poor fit for another. It suits you if you already hold stablecoins, you are comfortable moving them on-chain, you mostly spend in countries where Visa is universally accepted, and you want a card that works in an app you already use rather than a separate banking relationship. It does not suit you if what you need is a bank account in your own name, a card with clearly printed limits, or a regulated institution behind it — because there is no bank behind it, and the card’s own pages do not say who issues the card.
Below I walk through eligibility, signup, the fee schedule with real payments worked through, top-ups, daily use, the risks, and then the alternatives I would consider instead. Conditions were checked on 2026-10-20.
Verdict: 7.9 out of 10, and a very specific kind of useful
Karta scores well on the two axes that matter most to someone in the situation this card addresses — reach and funding — and poorly on the axis that matters most to someone worried about whether their money is safe. That is the whole story, and it is worth saying plainly before the details: this is a convenient prepaid product, not a financial relationship.

Who it suits: you keep money in USDT or USDC across several chains, you want to pay at ordinary shops without opening a bank account in a second country, you are at home in Telegram, and you are comfortable with network fees and address checking. The audience this card is really built around is the Telegram user topping up with multi-network USDT — the funding section is the best-built part of the offer, and it shows in the score.
Who it does not suit: you need chargeback protection you can rely on, you are averse to 1.5% on card spending, you need spending caps you can see in advance, or you intend to use this as your only card. Also not a fit if you want the issuer’s name in print — the card names a programme manager and says it works through “regulated financial and card-issuing partners”, but does not name the issuer, and does not state its licences.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 9 / 10 | Works “in 200+ countries and territories where Visa is accepted”; availability “depends on local regulations and partner coverage” |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Virtual activation 5.00 USDT, physical from 100.00 USDT; crypto top-up free; card payments 1.5%; ATM 1.5% + 1 USDT |
| Top-up options | 10 / 10 | USDT or USDC on Tron (TRC-20), Ethereum, BNB Smart Chain, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism, Base, Solana; plus fiat via ACH, SWIFT, SEPA, PIX, SPEI |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Karta Finance Inc., not a bank, issuer not named; Trustpilot 3.9 out of 25 reviews, complaints about high fees; unofficial: “0% commission” and “25% cashback” described as misleading |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Visa Signature virtual and physical, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM access worldwide |
Total: 7.9 / 10.
The two ends of that table are worth pausing on, because they explain each other. A 10/10 for funding and a 5/10 for reliability is the profile of a product built from the outside in — the rails are excellent, the paperwork is thin. Nothing in the score hides that tension; it is the trade you make when you choose this card.
Will they give you the card?
Yes, broadly — this is the strongest part of the offer. Karta works “in 200+ countries and territories where Visa is accepted”, and states that availability “depends on local regulations and partner coverage”.
Read that second clause properly, because it is doing real work. “Where Visa is accepted” is about the merchant’s side, not yours. What decides whether you can hold the card is the law of the country you are in, the country the card is issued from, and which partner is covering you — and none of those three are spelled out on the card’s public pages. Citizenship versus residence is not stated, which matters more than it sounds: sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are typically applied to citizenship and country of birth, not just to where you live.
So the honest version of “will they give you the card” is: probably yes in most places, but there is no country list to check against, and no statement of which passport is a problem. If your situation is unusual — a residency that differs sharply from your nationality, or a country under financial restrictions — that uncertainty is not something I can resolve for you from the card’s own information, and you would need to ask support before you rely on this.
One background point that helps you read any crypto card’s country claims: a card number starts with an issuer identification number of 6 or 8 digits that identifies the issuing institution, and the rest is an account identifier plus a check digit. Merchants can look that up and see which institution and country issued the card, and may apply extra scrutiny if the issuer country differs from your billing address. A card issued in one country can look “foreign” to a shop in another. “Works in 200+ countries” describes where the card is *accepted*, not how warmly it is *received*.
How to get it
Three steps, all inside Telegram. Start the Karta Telegram bot, complete verification, then top up to activate the virtual card. Karta describes verification as “quick verification (it takes up to 5 minutes)”, done in the app.
Five minutes is the marketing number, and the gap between marketing and reality is where I would caution you. The card’s pages describe a single verification step and do not state which documents are required, what age threshold applies, what the tier structure is, what per-level unlocks look like, or why a verification might be refused. Three things follow from that. First, do not read “5 minutes” as a promise — read it as the best case. Second, there is no tier ladder on the site at all; only two card types exist, Visa Virtual and Visa Physical, so nothing about your verification level is being progressively opened up to you. Third, if a document is rejected you are in the dark about the reason.
One unofficial data point, offered as unofficial and with no date attached: a third-party site describes Karta’s “ID Verification” as requiring email, phone and an identity document, and says proof of address and a selfie are not required. The card does not confirm this. It may be out of date, it may be wrong for your country, and it runs against the general pattern — EU customer due diligence normally covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation plus a sanctions check, and US rules require name, date of birth, address and an identification number. Do not plan around the lighter check; plan around the possibility of a fuller one.
Which card you end up with is decided by your balance, not by your application. The physical Visa activates from 100.00 USDT. The card is Visa Signature, virtual or physical. The card’s currency is not stated — and that omission has real consequences, which I come back to in the costs section. Countries of delivery, delivery time, delivery cost and replacement cost are all not stated as well, so if you want the plastic, the practical logistics are something you will have to ask about.
Fees: what a Karta payment actually costs
The headline numbers are reasonable. What is missing around them is where the money actually goes. Card payments cost 1.5%. Crypto top-up is free. ATM withdrawals cost 1.5% + 1 USDT. Activation is 5.00 USDT for the virtual Visa and from 100.00 USDT for the physical one; virtual accounts are free and no monthly fee is listed. SEPA outgoing transfers are 1.5% + EUR 2, SWIFT in USD is 1.4% + $2, and sending to an external crypto wallet costs the network fee only.

| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Virtual card activation | 5.00 USDT (FAQ also shows “30 USDT 5 USDT”, apparently an old price struck through) |
| Physical card activation | from 100.00 USDT |
| Virtual accounts | free |
| Monthly fee | none listed |
| Crypto top-up | free |
| Card payment | 1.5% |
| ATM withdrawal | 1.5% + 1 USDT |
| SEPA transfer | 1.5% + EUR 2 |
| SWIFT transfer (USD) | 1.4% + $2 |
| Send to external crypto wallet | network fee only |
| FX fee | separate from the above, not stated |
| Card currency | not stated |
| Daily and monthly spending limits | not stated |
Those last three rows are the ones to sit with. The card does not say what currency the account is denominated in, does not say what it charges when you pay in another currency, and does not state whether multi-currency balances exist. It lists a 1.5% payment fee and stops there. In practice, cards in this category either build the conversion into that percentage or charge on top — and this card does not tell you which. Every non-dollar payment you make is therefore a payment whose true cost you cannot calculate in advance from the card’s own information.
Now, three everyday payments.
Coffee, in your own currency, in a shop near you. You pay 1.5%. If your account is dollar-based and the coffee is priced in something else, a conversion cost may be added — the card does not say whether it sits inside the 1.5% or beside it, so treat the real figure as *at least* 1.5%. This is the case where the card’s opacity costs you most, because it is also the case that happens most often.
An online subscription in dollars. This is the clean case. 1.5%, no conversion layer if the merchant prices in dollars, and 3-D Secure handles the identity step — the card lists 3D-Secure among its safeguards, and under 3-D Secure the issuer assesses risk and either approves frictionlessly or challenges you with a code or biometric. The caveat is not the fee but the decline: address verification compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type with issuer records, and it is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, so it is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards and can cause declines. A card like this, with no stated billing country, may fail exactly here.
Cash from an ATM abroad. 1.5% + 1 USDT, plus whatever the ATM operator charges on top — a third-party source claims ATM withdrawals are “unlimited” and the fee is free, which directly contradicts the card’s own 1.5% + 1 USDT, so I would not plan on it. Two more warnings for this case: some merchants and ATMs decline prepaid or foreign-issued BINs because the lookup reveals the card type and issuer country, and a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to 7. There is a further gap: the free allowance and limits on cash withdrawals are not stated.
Add to that the possibility of losing the 1.5% to a decline you had no way to anticipate, and the practical verdict on cost is 7/10 — fair but not transparent. If you want to compare, the alternatives further down set out the same costs for three other cards; some of them state their fees more openly, though none of them is clearly better on every point.
How to top it up
This is the part Karta does best, and the reason the funding score is a clean 10/10. You can load with USDT or USDC on Tron (TRC-20), Ethereum, BNB Smart Chain, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism, Base and Solana. You can also load fiat through ACH, SWIFT, domestic wire (USD), SEPA (EUR), PIX (BRL), bank transfer (COP) and SPEI (MXN), varying by country. Withdrawals go out to external crypto wallets at the network fee only.
Eight networks and two stablecoins means you can send from whichever chain you already hold assets on, which is the actual reason to prefer this card over a competitor that takes one network. It also removes the most common expensive mistake in this category — the mismatch transfer. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Here, the network list is published, so the main risk is gone.
The minimum top-up is not stated, which is a real omission when you are trying to work out whether the 5.00 USDT virtual card activation is reachable for you. Note that the 1.5% card-payment fee and the free top-up are separate things: loading is free, spending is not.
Getting money back out is narrower. Withdrawals to external crypto wallets work at network fee only. Bank withdrawals are “coming soon” — which means if you loaded fiat rails, you cannot currently get fiat back out through this card. What happens to a remaining balance at closure is not stated, and in this category that question matters more than it looks: programme closures typically mean loading stops, then spending stops, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. One secondary source reported a 2026 closure with new loads ending 8 July 2026 and spending stopping 8 August 2026 — a single unconfirmed report, but the shape of such a closure is the pattern to plan for.
On the stability of what you are loading: USDT and USDC are dollar-pegged, and the BIS put about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation in these two as of July 2025. Circle says USDC is redeemable 1:1 for USD and fully backed by cash and cash equivalents with monthly reserve attestations. But stablecoins can depeg — TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022 and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023. Also worth knowing: Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so USDC over TRC20 is not a native option. If you hold USDC on Tron, that is not a route into this card.
Paying with it every day
You get a Visa Signature, virtual or physical, and it is “compatible with Apple Pay, Google Pay”. That is the whole of the everyday-use story, and it is genuinely good. Mobile wallet use is the least troublesome way to pay with a card like this: Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific number stored in the Secure Element, never on Apple servers, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic security code. So a virtual Karta card added to your phone behaves like an ordinary contactless card in a way that a copied card number cannot.
The app is an app inside Telegram rather than a standalone download. The site makes no mention of App Store or Google Play listings or ratings — for an unofficial data point, a third-party site shows the Android app at 3.0 stars, with no date shown and no number of ratings given, so treat it as weak evidence.
What is missing in daily use is the same list as everywhere else. Restricted merchant categories are not stated — so you cannot tell whether gambling, adult content or ticketing is blocked on your card. In this category, gambling typically maps to a four-digit merchant category code, and many issuers block it by policy rather than by law, with the blocked list varying by issuer; since Karta’s list is unpublished, assume nothing is blocked until you test it. Dispute handling is not stated — you do not know whether chargebacks exist, on what grounds, or how long they take. That is not a technicality: a chargeback is a refund ordered by the card issuer to settle a dispute, and in the US, reversal rights for debit cards come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z, while prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. A prepaid card without a stated dispute process is a card where a bad transaction is simply your loss.
Rewards are claimed but barely specified. Karta says cashback on spending, “the more they spend, the more you earn”, and does not state the rate or the payout currency. Referral rewards are paid in KARAT points, where 1 KARAT = 0.01 USDT. A third-party site states that “0% commission” and “25% cashback” claims are widely seen as misleading and that cashback is paid in an illiquid token. I would hold both numbers at arm’s length — but the fair criticism of Karta’s cashback is not the rate, it is that no rate is published at all.
What I would actually do day to day: add the virtual card to your phone’s wallet, use it for subscriptions priced in dollars, keep a mental note that every purchase costs 1.5%, and keep enough balance loaded that a declined payment does not leave you short — remembering that a decline can still hold funds for days.
What can go wrong
Four risks, in descending order of how much they should worry you.
The counterparty risk. Karta Finance Inc. is at 221 W 10th St, 4th Floor, Wilmington, DE 19801, USA, and states plainly that it is “not a bank” and that its funds are not FDIC insured. It does not name the card issuer, referring only to “regulated financial and card-issuing partners”, and does not state its licences. That is the single most important thing on this page for a new user. Understand how the chain works: a card payment involves the network (Visa) routing messages and setting rules, the issuer — a bank or e-money institution licensed under the network’s licence — holding the card programme, and the crypto brand often being only a programme manager or front end. Karta tells you it is the front end. It does not tell you who the issuer is.
Custodial platforms have a track record: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018) and Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). In the EU, e-money institutions must safeguard customer funds by segregating them in dedicated accounts or insuring them, and those funds are not bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme. Karta’s own pages state nothing about insurance or safeguarding — that is not stated.
The complaints record. Trustpilot shows 3.9 out of 5 from 25 reviews. Twenty-five reviews is a small sample, so treat the average as a mood rather than a measurement. The themes are more useful than the number: some reviewers praise how quick the setup is, one says the fees are high, another says there was too little information before registration. That last complaint matches my own reading of the site — the omissions on currency, limits and issuer are systematic, not accidental. A third-party aggregator (cryptocards.so) scores Karta Virtual Visa 4.0/10, flags the “0% commission” marketing as deceptive and the Android app at 3.0 stars; it is unverified. The site itself claims the card is “used monthly by over 20,000 people”; I found no news coverage either way.
The operational risk. Because the issuer is unnamed and licences unstated, you cannot check the provider against the relevant public registers. That check is real and available: ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised crypto-asset service providers, white papers and non-compliant entities, and under MiCA a provider authorised in one member state can serve the whole EU. Note the two-licence structure — MiCA took legal effect in June 2023, its rules on e-money tokens applied from 30 June 2024 and the remaining provisions from 30 December 2024, while a card itself is a payment service regulated separately under e-money and payment-services law. In the US, FinCEN guidance treats administrators and exchangers of convertible virtual currency as money transmitters, while people merely buying goods are not. So a card like this usually stands on two licences, and this one shows you neither.
The self-custody risk, in the other direction. Karta lists a self-custody wallet among its safeguards, along with 3-D Secure, encrypted transactions and PIN protection. Self-custody moves the risk to you rather than removing it: control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key or seed phrase; a seed phrase — typically 12 to 24 words — is an unencrypted form of the private key, and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend its funds. Transfers are typically irreversible and there is no built-in recovery, because the network cannot freeze or return funds. A self-custody-linked card keeps your funds in your own wallet until the moment of payment, but you bear sole responsibility for key loss, for phishing, and for clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps an address after you copy it. The card does not mention 2FA or an instant card freeze — both standard safeguards in this category — so that side of security is thinner.
Support, for what it is worth, exists: in-app chat, email at [email protected], a Help Center and Telegram.
What to take instead
None of these is clearly better across the board. Each buys you something specific — usually either fee transparency or a cheaper way in.
| Alternative | Score | Card | Issuance | Ongoing fees | Funding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Karta | 7.9 / 10 | Visa Signature, virtual and physical | 5.00 USDT virtual; physical from 100.00 USDT | 1.5% per payment; ATM 1.5% + 1 USDT | USDT/USDC on 8 networks; fiat rails too |
| MaxSwap | 5.2 / 10 | Virtual only, Mastercard | Card 50 USD with 25 USD first deposit required (total issuance listed 77.125 USD) | Top-up 4.5% + $1; transaction 0.25 USD + 0.4%; no separate FX rate stated | Long coin list, no network list given |
| Tegro | 4.7 / 10 | Virtual, Visa | 13 USD one-time; minimum card amount 50 USD | Deposit fee 4% of the amount; FX fee not stated | USDT on Tron (TRC-20) only |
| Worldwide (Karta Without Borders) | 4.2 / 10 | Virtual, Mastercard; Standard, Premium, Promo, Business tiers | Standard from 2,900 RUB/year; Premium from 3,900 RUB/year; Promo 2,390 RUB issue and 0 RUB maintenance in the first year; Business from 12,900 RUB/year | 0.00 USD per card operation; 0% top-up fee on Promo; FX “close to exchange/central bank rate” | SBP from any Russian card in 1–3 minutes; USDT TRC-20 in the app store app |
MaxSwap is the one to consider if transaction cost hurts more than card flexibility. Its per-payment cost is 0.25 USD + 0.4% against Karta’s flat 1.5%, which on a large purchase is dramatically cheaper. The trade-offs are real: virtual Mastercard only, a 50 USD card with a 25 USD first deposit, top-up at 4.5% + $1, and — importantly for anyone reading this page — not stated on who qualifies; the site claims “no geographical restrictions” without a country list. Its funding list is long on coins (ADA, ALGO, AVAX, BNB, BTC, ETH, TRX, TON, USDT, USDC, XRP and many more) but gives no network list, which reintroduces the transfer-mismatch risk Karta avoids.
Tegro is simpler and cheaper to enter than either: 13 USD once, no subscriptions, and an explicit 50 USD minimum card amount. But it takes USDT on Tron only — any other network must be converted to TRC-20 first — and charges 4% on deposit. The bot issues an address and a unique amount and credits automatically, which is a nicer top-up experience than most. Eligibility is not stated.
Worldwide / Karta Without Borders is a Russian-language Telegram mini-app, and the pricing is the most transparent of the group: 0.00 USD per card operation, no transfer fee on SBP top-ups, an FX rate close to the exchange or central bank rate shown before you top up. It is explicitly ordered and funded “from Russia without a VPN” — I am describing a product’s stated positioning, not endorsing any way of working around local restrictions, and you should check what is lawful where you are. It has four tiers, and citizenship versus residence is not stated.
The option nobody searches for: a conventional bank card. The whole appeal of a product like Karta is that you have no ordinary card. If you do have one — a debit card, a multi-currency account, or a neobank — then 1.5% per payment buys you conveniences you probably already have, and the missing dispute process and unnamed issuer are costs you do not need to accept. Cheap, unglamorous, and often correct.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Karta to someone in this position: you hold USDT or USDC, possibly spread across more than one chain; you cannot open or do not want an ordinary bank card; you spend mostly in places where Visa is accepted everywhere; you tap for coffee and pay for subscriptions rather than handling large sums; and you are the kind of person who reads a network name before sending funds. For that person, the 10/10 funding section is real value and 1.5% is a fair price.
I would not recommend it, and would suggest looking at MaxSwap for the maths or at a normal card for the protections, if any of these apply: you need chargebacks; you are moving five figures and want to know your limit before you spend; you want to know which bank issued your card; you need to be sure your balance is safeguarded in a way you can point to; or you simply do not want a 1.5% toll on every purchase.
And if you are new to this whole category, the single most useful thing to check before signing up for anything is not the fee schedule — it is the three “not stated” items on Karta’s page: the issuer, the currency and conversion terms, and the limits. Ask support, in writing, and keep the answer. If the answers are vague, that tells you something important, and it costs you nothing to find out.
Frequently asked questions
What is Karta?
Karta is a Visa Signature card, available virtual or physical, that spends a balance you load yourself rather than drawing on a bank account. It works as an app inside Telegram, and you fund it mainly with USDT or USDC. Karta describes itself as “not a bank”, and its funds are not FDIC insured. That makes it a prepaid card in substance, whatever the branding.
How does Karta card work?
You start the Karta Telegram bot, complete verification described as taking up to 5 minutes, then top up to activate the virtual card. From then on the card behaves like an ordinary Visa: tap it, use it online, or add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay. Each payment costs 1.5%. The physical card activates from 100.00 USDT.
Is Karta a bank?
No, and this is the most important line in this review. Karta Finance Inc. is registered in Wilmington, Delaware, and states that it is not a bank and not FDIC insured. It does not name the card issuer, referring only to “regulated financial and card-issuing partners”, and it does not state its licences. Treat it as a prepaid product with a crypto front end.
Is Karta card available in my country?
The card says it works “in 200+ countries and territories where Visa is accepted”, but availability “depends on local regulations and partner coverage”. No country list is published, and the card does not say whether it checks citizenship or residence. If your nationality differs from where you live, ask support in writing before relying on it.
Does Karta card require KYC?
Karta describes a single “quick verification (it takes up to 5 minutes)” in the app, without stating which documents are needed or the age threshold. One unofficial third-party source says email, phone and an identity document are required and no proof of address or selfie — but the card does not confirm this, so expect a fuller check.
What are Karta’s fees?
Card payments cost 1.5%, ATM withdrawals 1.5% + 1 USDT, SEPA transfers 1.5% + EUR 2 and SWIFT in USD 1.4% + $2. Crypto top-up is free, and sending to an external crypto wallet costs the network fee only. Activation is 5.00 USDT virtual, from 100.00 USDT physical, with no monthly fee listed.
Is Karta card safe?
It is not a bank, it is not FDIC insured, and it does not name its issuer or state any safeguarding arrangements — that information is simply not stated. It lists a self-custody wallet, 3-D Secure, encrypted transactions and PIN protection, but does not mention 2FA or an instant card freeze. Trustpilot shows 3.9 out of 5 from 25 reviews.
How do I top up Karta card?
Send USDT or USDC on Tron (TRC-20), Ethereum, BNB Smart Chain, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism, Base or Solana — crypto top-up is free. You can also use fiat rails: ACH, SWIFT, domestic wire, SEPA, PIX, bank transfer in COP and SPEI, depending on country. Note that Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron, so USDC over TRC20 is not a native option.
How do I add Karta to Apple Wallet?
Add the virtual card through the Karta interface inside Telegram and choose to add it to your phone’s wallet; the card is “compatible with Apple Pay, Google Pay”. Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific number stored in the Secure Element, and each payment uses a one-time code — which is why paying by phone is usually the smoothest way to use a card like this.
Can I withdraw money from Karta?
You can withdraw crypto to external crypto wallets at the network fee only. Bank withdrawals are listed as “coming soon”, so there is currently no way to pull fiat back out through the card. What happens to a leftover balance if the service closes is not stated, and in this category closures typically mean loading stops first, then spending, then users are asked to withdraw what remains.
Is Karta card worth it?
Worth it if you already hold stablecoins across several chains, cannot get an ordinary card, and accept 1.5% per payment for broad reach and eight-network funding. Not worth it if you need dispute rights, visible spending limits, a named issuer, or a cheaper way to spend — for large payments, MaxSwap’s 0.25 USD + 0.4% costs noticeably less than Karta’s flat 1.5%.
Virtual cards – cryptocardchooser.com
Content created by the «cryptocardchooser.com» team
