Rizon pays out in dollars and Visa, but the passport decides everything
If you have spent any time trying to open an ordinary bank card and failing — because of where you live, what documents you hold, or what an automated system decided about you — then the pitch of Rizon is immediately legible. A crypto-backed Visa that spends from your own balance, with no monthly fee, free spending in dollars, and cashback on what you buy. That is a real thing, and for a lot of people it is a genuine improvement on what they had.

I spent the review looking for the catches, and there are several, but they are not the kind that make the card unusable. They are the kind you want to know about before you move money. The largest is eligibility: Rizon says availability follows the passport you hold, not the country you live in, and 44 nationalities are listed. If your passport is not on that list, the rest of this review is academic. The second is cost detail that the official pages leave vague in places — the card price is simply “check the app”, and the currency of the card itself is not stated. The third is a thin public complaint record, small enough that any pattern in it should be read carefully.
I scored Rizon 6.7 out of 10. That is a middle-of-the-road number for a card that is well built for its niche and quietly unfinished in its published documentation. Here is how the marks break down.
The conditions described on these pages are current as of October 28, 2026
What I scored
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 6 / 10 | Availability is decided by citizenship — passport, not residence — across 44 listed nationalities, including the US, Japan, Singapore, the UAE, Brazil and Mexico. The card page separately claims 122+ countries by residence. |
| Cost | 6 / 10 | Maintenance and top-up are free, and spending in USD is free; spending in other currencies is 1.7% + $0.1. ATMs cost $1 + 0.65%. The card price is “check app for the price”. The Emerald tier starts at $5.59 a month. |
| Top-up options | 9 / 10 | On-chain top-up over Arbitrum, Solana, Base, Polygon, Optimism, Avalanche and BSC with no deposit fee. Unofficial sources name USDC and USDT. |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Issued by Signify Holdings and Nimbus LLC (Rain). Trustpilot shows 8 reviews, mostly one-star. Unofficial complaints: a fee charged before KYC, manual review taking longer than 24 hours. |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Virtual and physical Visa Platinum, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM withdrawals up to $250 each. |
| Total | 6.7 / 10 | A good fit for holders of Latin American or Asian passports; a poor fit if you need a card in your local currency or a wide paper trail of published fees. |
Two things stand out from that table. The 9s are for the things that make a card pleasant to use every day — the top-up routes are broad and free, and the everyday toolkit is complete. The 5 is for the part that decides whether you can trust it: who stands behind it, and whether anyone has said publicly what goes wrong. For a card holding money you converted yourself, that asymmetry is worth sitting with.
Will they give you the card
This is the first question, because everything else is conditional on the answer, and Rizon’s public pages answer it two different ways.
The services are described as intended for people who live in and are domiciled in the US or LATAM countries, and they may be restricted elsewhere — a residence-based framing. The card page also claims 122+ countries supported. But the help centre says something narrower and more important: availability is based on citizenship, evidenced by your passport, not on where you live. Forty-four nationalities are listed, and among them are Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Bangladesh, Belize, Brazil, the Cayman Islands, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominica, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, New Zealand, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, the Philippines, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Senegal, Singapore, Suriname, Thailand, Turks and Caicos Islands, Uganda, the UAE, the United States, Uruguay and Zambia.
Russia and Belarus are not on that list. I want to be precise about what that means and what it does not: it means the citizenship route is closed, not that anything else is available to residents of those countries. The card page and the help centre simply disagree about the basis of eligibility, and if you are reading this because you are trying to work out whether you qualify, plan for the citizenship answer to be the one that binds, and expect to be asked for a passport rather than proof of address.
That contradiction is also why I put the mark at 6 rather than higher. An eligibility rule that is described two ways in two places on the same website is not a rule I would design my finances around. If your passport is on the 44-country list, the answer is probably yes. If it is not, no amount of residence will change it.
How to get it
KYC is required — the app verifies your identity before the card works — but the specific KYC requirements are not stated on the card page. I would rather tell you that plainly than fill the gap with assumptions about what documents you will need.
You have three card options in the app: virtual, physical, and metal, which is marked “Coming Soon” and had not shipped by the time I checked. The virtual and physical cards are Visa Platinum. A USD account and a EUR account both exist; the currency the card itself runs in is not stated anywhere I could find, which is an odd gap for a card whose whole selling point is currency conversion.
The physical card is delivered globally according to the card page, with an average delivery time of three days. The help article is more specific and less flattering: physical cards are available in 49 countries and territories — including the US, Australia, Japan, Singapore, Brazil, Mexico, South Africa and the UAE — and in the US only 31 states. So “delivered globally” and “49 countries” are not the same promise, and in the US your state matters. The delivery cost and the replacement cost are not stated; the app is where you are pointed.
On verification, the app gives you two distinct outcomes, and the difference matters more than it first appears. “KYC Declined” means your case was flagged by the KYC/AML provider, it is final, and Rizon says it cannot override it. “Verification In Complete” — a typo, an unclear document photo, or an unclear selfie — means you can retry. One of those is a dead end and the other is a bad photograph, and knowing which you are looking at saves a lot of guessing. Processing time is not stated.
What is not stated anywhere is exactly what I would want: the verification requirements themselves, the expected wait, and the price of the card. Card currency: still empty. As for unofficial timings, one reviewer writing in October 2026 reported passport verification with a selfie clearing in two minutes in their own test, while other sources describe manual KYC beyond 24 to 48 hours. Both can be true — an automated pass and a queue for cases the system cannot read — and the difference between those two numbers is the practical difference between a card in your wallet tonight and a card in a week.
Fees: what it really costs
Most of the headline numbers here are good. The parts that are missing are the parts you would most want to know.

| Fee or limit | What the card’s own pages say |
|---|---|
| Virtual, physical, additional and replacement card | “Check app for the price” — not stated publicly |
| Account maintenance | Free |
| Emerald subscription | From $5.59/month |
| Deposit | Free, no limit |
| Card spend in USD | Free |
| Card spend in non-USD | 1.7% + $0.1 (Emerald listed at 1.02%, the page is garbled, verify in app) |
| Trading fee | 1.7% (Emerald 0.85%) |
| ATM withdrawal | $1 plus 0.65% of the amount; up to 3 withdrawals per 24 hours, maximum $250 per withdrawal |
| Limits: deposit, card spend, sends | “No limit” |
| Metal card | Coming Soon |
Run three ordinary payments through that table and you can see the shape of the cost.
A coffee in your own country. Say the coffee costs 4 of a non-dollar currency. The card converts at 1.7% plus $0.10, so roughly 4 plus about 0.07 plus 0.10 — the fixed 10 cents is a meaningful share of a small purchase. Spend the same coffee in USD and the conversion line does not apply at all, because USD spending is free. The same purchase costs materially more depending on which currency the merchant happens to bill in, which is not something you control.
A monthly subscription in dollars. Free, no conversion line, no maintenance. This is the case the card is genuinely built for, and if your recurring bills are dollar-denominated you pay nothing to keep and use the card.
Withdrawing cash abroad. $1 plus 0.65% of the amount, capped at three withdrawals a day and $250 each. On a $100 withdrawal that is $1.65. On three $250 withdrawals in a day the fee is $3 plus 0.65% of the total amount. Convenient within those limits, not a way to move serious sums.
Two costs deserve a second look. The trading fee of 1.7% applies when you convert crypto to load the balance — so a card that costs nothing to spend can still cost you at the moment you fund it, and the two fees stack on the same journey of money. And the Emerald tier is the card’s answer to all of this: from $5.59 a month it cuts FX, trading and transaction fees by 50%. Whether that is worth it depends entirely on volume. If you convert and spend in other currencies regularly, the maths can favour it; if you spend in dollars only, you are paying $5.59 a month to halve fees you were not being charged.
On unofficial figures I would treat these with more caution than usual, because they contradict the official page. One October 2026 review lists a Standard virtual card at $10 one-time, Gold and Emerald virtual cards free, a Standard physical card at $49.99, Gold at $24.99 and Emerald included; plans of Standard free, Gold $3.99/month and Emerald $6.99/month with a three-month minimum. That directly contradicts the official page on the Emerald price, which says “from $5.59/month” and card prices “check app”. The same source also notes an inconsistency in its own reading — 1.7% + $0.30 in one place, 1.5% + $0.30 in another — which is a fair reason to check anything you rely on it for inside the app. My advice is not “pick a plan”, it is: open the app, read the price for your country, and accept only what you can see.
Top up options
Adding money is the strongest part of this card, and the reason its score is a 9.

Deposits are free with no limit, and they go on-chain over Arbitrum, Solana, Base, Polygon, Optimism, Avalanche and BSC — described as Solana and EVM-compatible networks. There is no deposit fee charged by Rizon. That is a broad spread of cheap, fast networks, and for someone who already holds stablecoins it means funding the card costs nothing on the provider’s side.
What the official pages do not tell you is the part you need most: which coins are accepted, what the minimum is, and who pays the network fee. Those are not stated. The card page says only that you can deposit money multiple ways, without specifying the ways. Unofficial sources from October 2026 name USDC and USDT on Polygon, Optimism or Arbitrum, and additionally a US bank transfer and credit card — while the official help centre lists more chains than that, so the unofficial list is narrower than reality rather than wrong.
Two things to hold onto here. Network fees on the blockchain are charged by the network itself, not by Rizon, so a cheap deposit still costs what the chain costs. And transfers on-chain are irreversible: sending on a network Rizon does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can lose the funds or require slow manual recovery with no guarantee. Checking the network twice is not paranoia, it is the single cheapest habit available when topping up.
Withdrawals cost network fee plus 0.1%, and international sends cost network fee plus 0.1%; a send to another Rizon user is free. What happens to a remaining balance if you close the account is not stated — worth asking support before you ever get to that point.
Paying with it every day
Virtual cards provision into Apple Pay and Google Pay immediately, according to unofficial sources, and both wallets are supported for virtual cards. That is the everyday quality-of-life layer: pay with a phone, freeze a card in the app if it goes missing, and you have lost nothing but the plastic.
The rewards are 2.5% back on eligible purchases, in stores, online and at ATMs, redeemable from a cashback balance, with RizPoints accruing on spending alongside. The payout currency is not stated.
Two gaps you will notice only when you hit them. Which merchants are blocked is not stated — and blocked merchant categories vary by issuer rather than by law, so you cannot work it out from general knowledge. And dispute handling is not stated: the help centre has articles about limits and cards, but no chargeback article to read. That matters if you are ever trying to reverse a payment through a card whose issuer relationship is thin.
The apps exist for iOS and Android, linked from the card page; the card site shows no ratings and I did not read the store pages. Unofficial figures: Google Play shows “RIZON: Stablecoin Finance” at about 4.3 out of 5 from around 3,500 ratings, and the App Store at 4.0 from 144 ratings — an older snapshot of unknown date. Take the trend, not the digits.
On why a shop might say no: the first six or eight digits of any card number identify the issuing institution, and merchants can look that up. If the issuer country differs from your billing address, some apply extra scrutiny, and some decline foreign or prepaid BINs outright. That is the mechanism behind a surprising number of otherwise unexplained declines, and it is worth knowing before you assume the problem is the balance. A declined authorisation can also leave a hold on funds for several days, typically up to seven.
What can go wrong
The company picture first. Rizon Technologies, UAB makes the products available; the card is issued by Signify Holdings Inc. and its subsidiary Nimbus LLC (Rain). That is the arrangement most crypto cards have — the brand is usually a programme manager or front end, while a licensed institution holds the card programme. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers and can suspend a programme. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022, and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. I found nothing dated on licences, issuer changes or fines in 2025 or 2026. Medium and aggregators name Third National as the issuing bank, unverified.
On controls: Rizon describes itself as non-custodial, meaning you keep full control and are responsible for your recovery phrase. There is biometric login, “smart fraud protection”, and physical cards can be locked and unlocked in the app. Two-factor authentication and insurance are not mentioned. Support is a help centre and a contact email; phone and live chat are not mentioned, hours not stated.
Non-custodial is a real advantage and a real responsibility. Your funds stay under your control until the moment of payment, which removes the counterparty risk that took Mt. Gox (about $350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about $400 million, 2018) and the Ronin Network ($625 million, 2022). But a seed phrase of 12 to 24 words is an unencrypted key: anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds, transfers are irreversible, and no network can freeze or return a stolen key. With a self-custody card the risk moves from “can I trust the provider” to “can I protect twelve words”, and there is no support desk that can reverse a mistake.
Then the complaints, which need careful reading. There is no Trustpilot page for this card — the name collides with an unrelated IRC network, so any profile you find under it is unreliable. What exists is a Trustpilot profile scoring about 2.4 out of 5 from 8 reviews, mostly one-star, with themes: a card fee charged before KYC finished, manual KYC beyond 24 to 48 hours against advertised minutes, and support loops blocking refund requests. Separately, a secondhand account via an aggregator reports a virtual card issuance fee of around $3.50 charged before eligibility and KYC completed, slow recovery on a wrong-network deposit, and refund requests stuck in chatbot loops; the aggregator says Rizon acknowledged the onboarding flaw and planned a country-selection step. I did not open the underlying forum threads, and no dates are given for any of it.
My read: eight reviews cannot establish a pattern, and an aggregator is not a primary source. But the specific claim — a fee taken before the KYC check completed — is the kind of thing you can verify yourself by reading your own app’s fee schedule before you start. That is the practical response, not reassurance.
A last structural point worth internalising. Programme closures follow a pattern: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source ended new loads on 8 July 2026 and spending on 8 August 2026, single source and unconfirmed. Balance treatment on closure is not stated by Rizon. Keep your exit in mind.
And a note for the US reader: Regulation E gives US debit card reversal rights, Regulation Z covers credit cards, and prepaid coverage varies and should not be assumed. If a charge goes wrong, the strength of your position depends on a document set I could not find published.
What to take instead
None of these is universally better. They differ in which problem they solve.
MetaMask scores 7.1 / 10, the highest here, and its structure is the cleanest: sign-up is open in 45 listed countries and territories, proof of residency is required, and other regions join a waitlist — ineligibility limits sign-ups, not spending, which is a much more useful framing than Rizon’s citizenship rule. You get a Mastercard, virtual first and instantly, with Metal pre-orderable at $199 a year; the virtual is free with no annual or maintenance fee. It spends directly from your connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana. Cashback is 1% on Virtual; on Metal the headline is 3% but the footnote caps 3% at the first $10,000 spent, then 1%. Note that US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed per its FAQ. Its weakness is transparency: “minimal fee for each transaction”, amount not published on the pages I read.
KAST scores 6.1 / 10 and is the most configurable, with up to 10 cards per user across Standard, Premium (Visa Infinite metal) and Private (Visa Infinite gold plated), priced at 0, 1,000 and 10,000 USD a year, billed annually upfront. Fees are the most transparent in this group: stablecoin top-up 0%, USD spend 0%, transaction fee 0%, Apple and Google Pay 0%. The catch is a non-USD FX fee of 0.5% to 1.75% depending on your country, the transaction country and the card programme, plus $0.10 on non-USD transactions under $25. Eligibility is residence-based and checked at KYC, and — importantly — holding an ID from a restricted region can disqualify you even if you live somewhere supported. Its published country list is not available; a Restricted Locations list is referenced without countries.
Zeal scores 6.1 / 10. Spend is claimed in 150+ countries with issuance “dependent on eligibility and regional availability”; the card programme is live in the EU, UK and parts of Latin America and Asia. It is a Visa, virtual, addable to Apple Pay, with EUR, USD and GBP accounts through Gnosis Pay. The genuinely attractive part is that Zeal charges no additional FX fee and converts at the Visa wholesale rate, which beats everything above on foreign spending. But no fee schedule is published at all, and cashback up to 4% requires holding GNO in the card Safe.
| Rizon | MetaMask | KAST | Zeal | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.7 / 10 | 7.1 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 |
| Eligibility basis | Citizenship, 44 listed | Residence, 45 listed | Residence, list unpublished | Regional availability |
| Card | Visa Platinum, virtual and physical | Mastercard, virtual then metal | Visa, virtual and physical | Visa, virtual |
| FX on non-USD spend | 1.7% + $0.1 | None extra; Mastercard rate | 0.5%–1.75% | None; Visa wholesale rate |
| Cash in | Free on-chain, seven networks | From wallet, four networks | Free, stablecoins | Balances in the card Safe |
| Headline cashback | 2.5% | 1% virtual, 3% metal to $10k | 1.5% to 3% by tier | Up to 4% in GNO |
Against those, Rizon’s case is specific: free on-chain funding across seven networks, free USD spending, and a physical Visa Platinum that reaches 49 countries and territories. If you hold stablecoins on a cheap chain and mostly pay in dollars, that combination is not nothing.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Rizon to you if you hold a passport from one of the 44 listed nationalities, you already have stablecoins on Arbitrum, Solana, Base, Polygon, Optimism, Avalanche or BSC, and your regular spending is dollar-denominated or dollar-priced. In that shape of life, the card costs you nothing to hold, nothing to fund, nothing to spend, and pays 2.5% back doing it. Add Apple Pay and Google Pay, a three-day physical delivery in supported countries, and $250 ATM withdrawals at $1 plus 0.65%, and it is a comfortable daily card.
I would steer you away if your passport is not on that list, if you need the card in your local currency with a predictable, published rate, or if you plan to convert large balances regularly and want the trading fee explained rather than listed. I would also pause anyone whose main worry is a card that works abroad: Zeal’s conversion at the Visa wholesale rate with no added FX fee is a better fit for that, if you can get one.
Two things to do before your first cent moves. Open the app and read the actual card price and currency for your country, because the website will not tell you. And find out what your balance becomes if you close the account, because the public pages do not say. Neither is a reason to skip the card. Both are reasons to go in with your eyes open.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Rizon card?
Rizon is a crypto payment card: you convert or deposit funds into your account balance and spend that balance through a Visa Platinum, virtual or physical. The card is issued by Signify Holdings Inc. and its subsidiary Nimbus LLC (Rain), while Rizon Technologies, UAB makes the product available. It is a prepaid-style instrument, not a bank account, and the card currency itself is not stated publicly.
How does the Rizon card work?
You convert or top up a balance, then pay with it as you would any Visa. Spending in USD is free; spending in other currencies costs 1.7% plus $0.1. Converting crypto to load the balance carries a 1.7% trading fee, reduced to 0.85% on Emerald. Because it draws on a stored balance rather than a credit line, the card cannot overdraw — but your own funds are what stands behind it.
Is Rizon a bank?
No, and this distinction matters more than the marketing suggests. Rizon is a card programme front end operating with licensed issuers behind it, not a deposit-taking bank. Funds held through electronic money institutions are safeguarded in dedicated accounts or insured, which is not the same as a bank deposit and may not fall under a deposit guarantee scheme. No licence changes or fines were found in 2025–2026.
Who owns Rizon?
Two different answers, both accurate at different levels. Rizon Technologies, UAB is the company that makes the products available to you. The card itself is issued by Signify Holdings Inc. through its subsidiary Nimbus LLC (Rain). Medium and aggregators name Third National as the issuing bank, though I could not verify that.
Does Rizon require KYC?
Yes, KYC is required and the card’s page does not state the specific requirements. You will verify a passport with a selfie, and the app reports either “KYC Declined” — final, and Rizon says it cannot override it — or “Verification Incomplete”, which allows a retry. Unofficial reports range from two minutes for an automated pass to over 24 hours for manual review.
Can I use the Rizon card in my country?
Availability follows citizenship, not residence: 44 nationalities are listed, including the US, Japan, Singapore, the UAE, Brazil and Mexico, while Russia and Belarus are not. The card page separately claims 122+ countries by residence, and that contradiction is unresolved. Physical cards reach 49 countries and territories, and in the US only 31 states.
How do I top up the Rizon card?
Deposits are free with no limit, on-chain over Arbitrum, Solana, Base, Polygon, Optimism, Avalanche and BSC. Which coins are accepted, the minimum, and who pays the network fee are not stated. Unofficial sources name USDC and USDT on Polygon, Optimism or Arbitrum, plus a US bank transfer and credit card. Check the network twice before sending — transfers are irreversible.
What does it cost to use the Rizon card?
Account maintenance, deposits and USD spending are all free. Non-USD spending is 1.7% plus $0.1, trading is 1.7%, and an ATM withdrawal is $1 plus 0.65%, with three per day and $250 each. The Emerald tier starts at $5.59 a month and halves those percentages. The card price is listed only as “check app for the price”.
Is Rizon card safe?
Two answers. The security design is sound: non-custodial, biometric login, app-based card lock, and you hold the recovery phrase. But non-custodial means a lost seed phrase is unrecoverable and a compromised one loses the money permanently. The complaint record is thin and poor — about 2.4 out of 5 from 8 Trustpilot reviews, mostly one-star, with themes of fees charged before KYC completed and refunds stuck in support loops.
Is Rizon worth it?
For me, it is worth it if you hold a listed passport, keep stablecoins on a supported chain and spend mostly in dollars — then the card is free to hold, fund and use, with 2.5% back. It is not worth it if you need predictable fees in your local currency or convert large balances often, because the 1.7% trading fee and the unpublished card price are the terms you would be relying on.
Wallet cards – cryptocardchooser.com
Content created by the «cryptocardchooser.com» team
