A cheap way to spend crypto, if a Swiss IBAN and a virtual card are enough

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

SafePal is best known as a self-custody crypto wallet, but the company also runs a Swiss-IBAN banking gateway and a virtual Mastercard that spends from it. That combination is the whole appeal and the whole problem. On one side there is genuinely cheap: no account fee, no monthly fee, a standard top-up fee of 0%. On the other side, the card issuer is not named, the list of supported regions was empty when I checked, the physical card is nowhere described, and in 2026 the company disclosed a data breach affecting roughly 39,798 customers.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
SafePal works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I score it 6.2 / 10. If what you want is a Euro IBAN you can be paid into and a virtual card that leaves your balance without a monthly charge, this is one of the more interesting options on the table. If you want a plastic card in the post, a card you can hand over in a shop without a phone, or a bank whose name is printed on the statement, I am not going to talk you into it.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

The verdict: 6.2 out of 10

Let me put the whole card on one table first, because the shape of it matters more than any single number. My scores are the ones I use across these reviews, and the total is the one I am giving SafePal.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 Limited to citizens of supported regions who live in supported areas — and the regions list itself was empty when I fetched it
Cost 8 / 10 No creation or account-keeping fee, top-up 0%; Mastercard adds 1% on non-USD settlement; refund processing 1 USD/EUR/CHF; rate tables quote 1% and 0.4% for top-ups
Top-up options 9 / 10 Crypto from 40+ blockchains, converted to USDC by default, activation needs 10 USDC on Arbitrum
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 Swiss IBAN via Fiat24 with the issuer not named; a 2026 data breach; Trustpilot 3.1 out of 5 from 394 reviews; reports of withdrawals that never arrived
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual Mastercard with Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay and PayPal; no physical card described; unofficial ATM data conflicts

That 6.2 is not a polite half-score. The top-up and cost lines are among the best I have seen in this category — 9 and 8 out of 10 is not a rounding error. They are dragged down by a 4 on reliability, and reliability is what you actually live with. You do not remember what your top-up fee was. You remember the month your money did not arrive.

Who this suits. Someone who already holds crypto, who wants a Euro-denominated account with a Swiss IBAN, who is comfortable doing KYC with a passport scan through a third party’s app, and who does not need a physical card. If the IBAN is the product for you — being paid by someone who will not pay into an exchange address, or holding a balance that is not sitting in a crypto wallet — this card is aimed straight at you.

Who it does not suit. Anyone whose day involves tapping a card at a supermarket till, queueing with strangers, or paying where a merchant might look twice at a foreign-issued prepaid card. Anyone in a country that is not on the supported list — which, at the time I checked, was a list I could not read. Anyone who has been burned by a platform that holds their money and would rather not be.

And a word for the person who searched their way here from “is SafePal a bank”. SafePal is not the bank. The IBAN and the account run through Fiat24, the Swiss company, which handles the compliance side. The card issuer is not named on the public pages. So when you are deciding where to trust money, the name on your statement is Fiat24’s, and SafePal is the interface you will be dealing with.

Will they give you the card?

The stated rule is short and unhelpful: “Citizens of supported regions who live in supported areas”. Two conditions, one rule, and the evidence that you satisfy them.

The problem is the list itself. The Supported regions for SafePal Fiat gateway page carries a headline naming supported regions and, when I fetched it, showed no names. If you go looking for the list to check your country, you are looking at an empty page. That is not me being unhelpful; the page simply did not contain names to report.

What the same page did state were limits, and they come in two versions: monthly limits of $100,000 with Mastercard, and $1,000 without. That gap is enormous — a factor of a hundred between having the card and not having it. It suggests the region page treats “with card” and “without card” as two different states, which is worth asking about if you are one or the other.

So, honestly: I cannot tell you from the public pages whether your country is supported. What I can tell you is what the rule is, and that the account limits are region-dependent and vary by whether the Mastercard is active. If this is a dealbreaker for you, the check you need to make is at sign-up, not here.

Age requirements, processing time and the reasons an application might be rejected are not stated on the public pages. I will not invent them. If you have been refused, the material I have does not say why.

How to get it

Getting the card is a KYC process run by Fiat24, and there is no credit check and no staking requirement — nobody is asking you to lock up $SFP to open a bank account. That is genuinely to its credit.

What the process involves, as described:

You will also need to put down 10 USDC on Arbitrum before the Mastercard will work, plus ETH for gas. I come back to that in the top-up section because it changes how you should fund the account on day one.

There is one detail here that has caused confusion for years and still does: the physical card. The Banking Gateway help section has no physical card article. An unofficial source, a review site, dated 11 August 2026, says virtual only, no physical card, and a data site’s card form records Virtual as the type. I want to be careful about how I treat that. The official pages simply do not say; they describe a virtual Mastercard and are silent on any other. Third-party sites say virtual only. The card’s own pages are not a confirmation, so treat “no physical card” as the likely shape of the product and something to confirm in the app rather than as a promise either way.

The Support answer to what happens if KYC fails: failed registrations and banned accounts go to Fiat24 support. Keep that in mind — the appeal path is not through SafePal.

Fees and limits: what it really costs

Here is where SafePal scores well, and where the published numbers need reading carefully rather than quickly.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a SafePal payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What is stated
Account creation No fee
Account management / monthly fee No fee
Card issuance Not stated
Standard top-up fee 0%
Top-up fee quoted elsewhere From 0.6% for fiat deposits; crypto top-up “as low as 0.4%” on top tier; a tier article cites a standard 1% deposit rate
Mastercard non-USD settlement 1% FX fee
Refund processing 1 USD / EUR / CHF, or 7 CNH
Swaps Include a spread, not quantified
ATM withdrawals Not stated
Contactless limit 1,600 EUR/day
Other payment methods 5,000 EUR/day
Monthly limit Equals the transaction limit; regions page also cites $100,000/month with Mastercard and $1,000/month without
Zero exchange fee Payments in a currency you have enabled; zero FX fees for EUR, CHF, USD, CNY
Unofficial figures No opening, management or virtual-card fee; the main cost is the 1% FX (a review site, 11 Aug 2026; a data site, verified 28 September 2026)

Before you read that table and decide, there is a contradiction inside it that no page resolves. The fee article says the standard top-up fee is 0%. The bank page says fiat deposit fees start from 0.6% and crypto top-up from 0.4% on the top tier. The tier article cites a standard 1% deposit rate. Those are three different statements about the same thing, on the same site, and the page that is most favourable to the user is not necessarily the one that governs at the till. Plan on the assumption that deposits are not always free and check the figure shown in your app at the moment you deposit.

Now the everyday arithmetic, using only the numbers above.

A coffee in your own currency. You enable EUR, CHF, USD or CNY on the account, and payments in an enabled currency carry no exchange fee. Zero exchange fee for those four. The 1% only appears when the payment settles in a currency that is not USD. So a coffee in Berlin, paid from a EUR balance, is at the card’s terms plus whatever the merchant charges — this is the best case, and it is genuinely good.

A meal paid while your balance sits in a different currency. Here the 1% Mastercard fee on non-USD settlement is the line to watch, and the spread on swaps sits on top of it if you had to convert first. Two percentages can meet in one purchase, and the spread is the one with no published number.

A hotel deposit or a large purchase. The contactless limit is 1,600 EUR a day; other payment methods go to 5,000 EUR a day, and the monthly limit equals the transaction limit. If that transaction limit is the low regional figure, a single booking can exceed what the account is allowed to move in a month. The $100,000-with-Mastercard and $1,000-without split on the regions page suggests the answer varies more than the help pages let on.

A failed or reversed payment. Refund processing costs 1 USD, EUR, CHF, or 7 CNH per refund. That is a small number, but it is charged on a thing that only happens when something has already gone wrong, which is the worst possible place to find a fee you did not know about.

ATM withdrawals. Not stated on the official pages. a data site records “ATM withdrawals: Yes” with no fee or limit, as of 28 September 2026, and a review site says there is no physical card at all, which makes ATM use doubtful. Two unofficial sources pointing in opposite directions. I would assume nothing about ATM use until you have seen a card.

Where tiers come in. Account tiers are set on the 1st of each month from the points earned over the previous three months. Opening the IBAN account gives you 1,500 points. Higher tiers get a rebate on top-up fees — the worked example is that Silver pays the standard 1% deposit and gets 0.1% back — and reduced fees when buying USDC with the Mastercard. Staking $SFP for a 90-day lock with no early redemption raises your level, and referral commission depends on your tier. The point of this for a non-crypto reader: the way to a lower fee rate runs through a token with a three-month lock. That is a risk decision dressed as a rewards decision.

Cashback. None. There is no cashback on this card.

Top up: crypto in, balance out

This is the strongest part of the product, and the reason I scored it 9 out of 10.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up SafePal starts with a transfer to the right network

You can fund from crypto on more than 40 blockchains. By default it is converted to USDC; you can also convert to fiat. The transactions mentioned run on Arbitrum. In practice the flow is: send crypto to an address, have it converted, spend the resulting balance through the card or the IBAN.

The activation step is the part people miss. To switch the Mastercard on you need a deposit of 10 USDC on Arbitrum, plus ETH to cover gas — from a help article dated 25 July 2026. That means before your card works you need a little ETH sitting on Arbitrum, and if you have never used that network you are looking at a small extra errand. I mention it now so it is not a surprise on the day you try to pay.

About the fees here: the fee article says standard top-up 0%; the bank page says fiat deposit fees from 0.6% and crypto top-up from 0.4% on the top tier; the tier article cites a standard 1% deposit rate. And there is a zero-fee waiver on on-ramp and deposit while SafePal’s program runs — with terms that can change, so treat it as a promotion rather than a permanent state.

One thing that is always true and is not SafePal’s to charge you: the blockchain charges its own network fee for your transfer, and the sender pays the gas. If you are moving funds in from an exchange, the withdrawal fee there is also on you.

Moving money out again is the easier direction to summarise. Transfers between accounts within the IBAN are free. Transfers to external banks carry no SafePal or Fiat24 fee, though other banks may charge their own. Help articles on payout transfers exist. What is not stated: how to withdraw back to crypto, and what happens to a remaining balance if you close the account. If holding a balance matters to you — and in a card like this it usually does — ask both of those questions before you fund it.

Paying with it every day

What you get for the day-to-day is a virtual Mastercard, plus Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay and PayPal. No cashback. No physical card described anywhere official.

Apple Pay is the interesting one, because it is the route that makes a virtual card usable in a physical shop. When you add a card to Apple Pay, the card number is replaced by a device-specific number stored in the phone’s Secure Element, never on Apple’s servers, and each payment generates a one-time code. In practice you hold your phone to the terminal and it behaves like tapping a card. It is not the same as handing over plastic, and if your phone dies or the battery is flat, you have nothing.

PayPal is supported, which is quietly more useful than it sounds — it is one of the few ways to spend a balance in a merchant category that a card issuer might otherwise decline. Which brings the subject of declines. Blocked merchants are not stated. That means gambling is not addressed in what I have, and it means I cannot tell you what else is switched off. The category code for gambling exists precisely so issuers can block it, and each issuer decides its own list — so the practical answer is: test the card before you rely on it.

What about chargebacks, if a merchant takes your money and does not deliver? Not stated. Refunds carry a processing fee of 1 USD/EUR/CHF or 7 CNH. If a registration fails or your account is banned, the route is Fiat24 support.

The app itself is not the weak point. The SafePal app for iPhone and iPad requires iOS 15.0 or later; version 4.11.12 was current on 12 October, and the App Store shows 4.7 out of 5 from 17K ratings, read on 20 October 2026. That rating is for the wallet, not the card, so do not treat it as a card endorsement. Its interface includes Russian among English and 13 other languages — worth noting if support is easier in one language than another, though the App Store lists support languages, not support staffing.

Support runs on email and a request form through a Zendesk help centre, and Fiat24 account problems go to a Telegram bot. Hours are not stated, and one report from mid-2026 describes support as email-only with copy-paste replies. If you are going to hold a balance here, that is the single most important operational fact on this page: your recourse is a support queue, and the queue has been criticised.

What can go wrong

I would rather be blunt about this section than reassuring, because the reliability score is 4 out of 10 and that is the whole ballgame.

The data breach. SafePal disclosed a data breach that exposed order information of approximately 39,798 customers in 2026. SafePal says no seed phrases, keys, card numbers or identity documents were exposed. Separately, users reported phishing with accurate personal data in early July, weeks before the statement came out. The honest reading: order data and personal data together are enough to make a convincing phishing call, which is exactly what some users then reported receiving.

Reviews. Trustpilot for SafePal reads 3.1 out of 5 from 394 reviews: 57% five-star, 37% one-star, and the company answers 93% of negative reviews — which is a better response rate than most, and does not change the score. I also saw a 3.5 from 374 reviews, a wallet-level figure rather than a card-specific one. The substantive complaints in 2026: swaps and withdrawals between February and September shown as completed but not arriving; a May 2026 Fiat24 refund received with roughly 20% missing, with the user told to contact Fiat24; phishing and scam calls in July to September using order details; and email-only support with templated replies in June and July. One review claims crypto was removed without consent. No review mentions the card or the IBAN directly, and I want to be straight with you about that — it means the card itself is not a known problem area, but the money moving under it is.

The issuer is not named. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers, and the crypto brand is usually a programme manager in front. SafePal’s pages name Fiat24 for the IBAN and the gateway, and do not name the card issuer. If the programme ever ends, you would be withdrawing a balance from whoever is actually behind it.

Programmes do end. It is not a scare story, it is history: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down. WaveCrest, the Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its programmes. Closures typically follow a pattern — a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. I will not give you dates for SafePal, because there is no closure to report.

The fiat on-ramp has already been switched off once. In March 2026 SafePal’s own blog noted that the fiat on-ramp was disabled until further notice. The crypto on-ramp through third parties such as MoonPay still worked. So a service described as part of the gateway has been suspended within the last year.

A word on the crypto side. Stablecoins are not stable by definition — USDC lost its peg briefly in March 2023, and TerraUSD collapsed outright in May 2022. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit on a network the provider does not support can be lost. And transfers are not censorship-proof: Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity.

Small print that can hurt. A declined authorisation may leave a hold on funds for several days, typically up to seven. And if a merchant declines a prepaid or foreign card, it is often because the BIN lookup reveals the issuer and country — which is the same mechanism that makes a Swiss-issued Mastercard look unusual in a shop outside Switzerland.

And the regulatory frame. In the EU, a card is a payment service regulated separately from the crypto side, so a crypto card like this often rests on two licences: one for the crypto activity and one for the card. E-money institutions must safeguard customer funds in dedicated accounts or by insurance, but those funds are not bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme. Ask yourself the ordinary question: if this company failed, whose money was I holding, and who pays me back?

What to take instead

Three cards come up constantly against SafePal, and all three score at or above it. That is worth a look — but so is the reason each is different.

Card Score Card type Cost Fees
SafePal 6.2 / 10 Virtual Mastercard, Swiss IBAN No creation or management fee; issuance not stated Top-up stated 0% (other pages say 0.4%–1%); 1% on Mastercard non-USD settlement; refund processing 1 USD/EUR/CHF/7 CNH
MetaMask 7.1 / 10 Mastercard — virtual free, metal $199/year Virtual free, no annual or maintenance fee; metal $199/year “Minimal fee for each transaction”, amount not stated on the pages read; no additional MetaMask fees; no foreign transaction fee, Mastercard rate used
KAST 6.1 / 10 Virtual and physical, up to 10 cards; Visa Platinum, Infinite metal or gold Standard $0/year, Premium $1,000/year, Private $10,000/year; extra virtual card $2; Standard physical $0 plus $40 delivery; inactivity $1/month after 12 months Stablecoin top-up 0%; spend in USD 0%; transaction fee 0%; Apple/Google Pay 0%; non-USD FX 0.5%–1.75%; non-USD under $25 costs $0.10; declined transaction $0.50
Zeal 6.1 / 10 Visa, virtual, addable to Apple Pay; physical not stated Not stated No additional FX fee; conversion at the Visa wholesale rate; Gnosis Pay fees such as ATM may still apply

MetaMask is the strongest of the four on my scoring, and the difference is mostly about who can get in. Sign-up is open in 45 listed countries and territories — Andorra, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Germany, France, Spain, Uruguay are among them — with proof of residency required, while other regions join a waitlist. US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed per the FAQ. You get a virtual card instantly and can pre-order a metal one afterwards. The catch is that it spends directly from a connected wallet, across Linea, Base, Monad and Solana, and it pays cashback in mUSD: 1% on the virtual card, and 3% on the metal card’s headline rate, with a footnote limiting that 3% to the first $10,000 spent and 1% after. The published transaction fee is not stated on the pages I read. Choose it if you are in a listed country and want cashback.

KAST is the one with a physical card and real, published numbers — and it separates cleanly by tier. Annual membership is $0 for Standard, $1,000 for Premium, $10,000 for Private, billed annually upfront. Cashback in USD runs 1.5% on the first $2,000 a month, 2% on the first $10,000, and 3% on the first $40,000, by tier. Fees are unusually well published: 0% to top up in stablecoins, 0% to spend in USD, a $0.10 charge on non-USD transactions under $25, $0.50 for a declined transaction, and 0.5%–1.75% FX depending on where you live, where you are spending and which card programme. On eligibility, KAST is stricter than it first appears: if your country is not shown at KYC, KAST is not available there, and living in a supported country while holding an ID from a restricted region can still make you ineligible. Dual citizens with an ID from a supported country may pass. Only your own ID is accepted, and a VPN does not bypass any of it. If you are ineligible, you can still create an account and your KYC simply stays locked.

Zeal is the simplest of the four and the least documented. Spend in 150+ countries, with issuance depending on eligibility and regional availability; the programme is live in the EU, UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, the Philippines, Indonesia and Thailand. No fee schedule is published. What is clear is that Zeal charges no additional FX fee and converts at the Visa wholesale rate — although Gnosis Pay fees, for example on ATM, may still apply. Cashback is up to 4%, paid in GNO on Gnosis Chain, and you must hold GNO in the card Safe to qualify; the app store also advertises up to 5% variable APY on EUR and USD balances. Accounts are in EUR, USD and GBP.

The pattern worth noticing: MetaMask and KAST score above SafePal mainly on published detail and daily use. KAST publishes every fee; SafePal publishes three contradictory top-up rates. MetaMask gives you a metal card for $199 a year; SafePal does not describe a physical card at all. What SafePal has that none of these three match in this comparison is the Swiss IBAN — and if that is the reason you are here, none of the others is a substitute.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend this card to someone who has already decided that a Euro account with a Swiss IBAN matters more than having plastic, and who is organised enough to check one thing before depositing: the fee shown in the app at the moment of the deposit, given the three conflicting published rates.

I would recommend it with more enthusiasm to someone who needs to be paid into an account that is not a crypto exchange address, and who values the free internal transfers and the free transfers out to external banks.

I would not recommend it to anyone who needs a physical card, who lives in a country they cannot confirm is on a list that came back empty, or who has a large balance they would be uncomfortable not holding themselves. The 2026 data breach, the Trustpilot score of 3.1, and the unresolved complaints about withdrawals that showed as completed and never arrived are the reasons for the 4 out of 10. Those are not abstractions; they are reports from people in 2026 about money that did not turn up.

If you want a checklist before committing, it is short: confirm your region is accepted and what your monthly limit actually is; read the deposit fee in your app, not on this page; work out whether you will ever need a physical card; and keep the amount you park here to what you could afford to have delayed for a month. If you are staking $SFP to reach a lower fee tier, notice that you are locking for 90 days with no early redemption, and that a lower top-up fee does not help if the tier you are chasing needs a deposit you only make once.

Frequently asked questions

What is the SafePal card?

It is a virtual Mastercard debit card that spends from a Euro-denominated account holding a Swiss IBAN, supplied through SafePal’s banking gateway with Fiat24. You convert crypto into a spendable balance and the card draws on that balance. The physical card is not described on the official pages, so treat it as a virtual card for now.

How does the SafePal card work?

You convert or deposit crypto — from more than 40 blockchains, converted to USDC by default — the balance sits in your account, and the Mastercard spends it. Switching the card on also requires a deposit of 10 USDC on Arbitrum plus ETH for gas. Transfers between accounts within the IBAN are free.

Is SafePal a bank?

No. SafePal is a crypto wallet company that runs a banking gateway. The Swiss IBAN and the account are provided by Fiat24, which handles compliance and runs the KYC. The card issuer is not named on the public pages. So the name on your statement is Fiat24’s, not SafePal’s.

Who can apply for the SafePal card?

The stated rule is citizens of supported regions who live in supported areas, and the regions list was empty when I fetched it, so I cannot confirm your country from the public pages. Account limits vary by region: $100,000 a month with Mastercard, $1,000 without. Age requirements and rejection reasons are not stated.

Does the SafePal card require KYC?

Yes, and it is not optional — it is required by the licence and regulator. Fiat24 runs the process: email and phone verification, an address check requiring a residential address within 2 km of your current location, and a passport scan in the ReadID Ready app. No credit check and no staking are needed.

How much does the SafePal card cost?

There is no account creation fee and no management or monthly fee, and the card issuance fee is not stated. The standard top-up fee is given as 0%, though other pages quote 0.4% to 1%. Mastercard adds 1% on non-USD settlement, refund processing is 1 USD/EUR/CHF or 7 CNH, and swaps include an unquantified spread.

Is the SafePal card safe?

It has real safeguards — instant card freeze and unfreeze, customisable spending limits, transaction viewing in the app, and 3-D Secure — but there is real counterparty risk too. SafePal disclosed a 2026 data breach affecting about 39,798 customers, phishing reports preceded it, and Trustpilot shows 3.1 out of 5 from 394 reviews. No insurance is stated.

Is the SafePal card free?

Almost. There is no creation or monthly fee and no fee for the virtual card, so the card itself costs nothing to hold. The costs sit in usage: 1% when Mastercard settles a payment outside USD, whatever the deposit fee currently is, and 1 USD/EUR/CHF or 7 CNH per refund. Blockchain gas for your own top-up is paid by you as sender.

Can I use the SafePal card in Apple Pay?

Yes, Apple Pay is supported, along with Google Pay, Samsung Pay and PayPal. Adding the card to Apple Pay stores a device-specific number in the phone’s Secure Element rather than the card number, and each payment uses a one-time code. It works at contactless terminals, but you depend on your phone — there is no physical card to fall back on.

Is the SafePal card worth it?

It is worth it if what you want is a Euro account with a Swiss IBAN, cheap transfers, and no monthly fee, and you can live with a virtual card and a support queue. It is not worth it if you need plastic, or if the empty regions list makes eligibility impossible to confirm. My score is 6.2 out of 10, with the cost and top-up lines strong and reliability weak.

Content created by the «cryptocardchooser.com» team