A Japanese stablecoin card with published fees but unpublished limits
Slash is a Visa payment card you load with USDC and spend like an ordinary card, and it is built for one country only. Residents of Japan aged 18 and over can open an account in the Slash App, pass identity verification there, and receive either a virtual card immediately or a physical card delivered inside Japan. The card is marketed as Japan’s first credit card usable with stablecoins; merchants are paid in yen.

I scored it 4.6 out of 10. That is not a rounding of a good card into a cautious rating — it is a genuinely mixed result, and the mix is the point. The things the card does plainly: open an account for free, get a virtual card in seconds, pay contactless in stores, hold several cards of each kind, freeze the card instantly in the app, and pay a small, stated fee for the plastic. The things that would decide whether a card is worth keeping for years are the ones the public pages do not answer: the conversion fee, foreign-exchange treatment, ATM access, spending limits, daily and monthly caps, and the issuing bank’s licensing status are all absent.
So this review is going to spend as much time on the silences as on the features. If you are a Japan resident holding USDC and you spend in yen, the card’s basic design fits you well and the missing numbers are things you would want before committing real money. If you are anywhere else reading this hoping for an international option, the eligibility rule ends the conversation immediately.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 4.6 / 10
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 2 / 10 | Japan residents aged 18+ only; physical cards ship within Japan |
| Cost | 3 / 10 | Account opening is free; physical card 70 USDC (35 USDC in the launch campaign), virtual 20 USDC, annual fee free in year one then 20 USDC; conversion fee not disclosed |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | USDC top-up in the app on Solana and Ethereum; Base, Arbitrum and HyperEVM marked “coming soon” |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | Issuer Iquitous, programme run by Slash Vision Pte. Ltd. (Singapore), Orico as BIN sponsor; no independent complaints found, launch moved from 2025 to 20 April 2026 |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Virtual card issued instantly, physical card also available, contactless payment in stores; Apple Pay, Google Pay and ATM not disclosed |
| Total | 4.6 / 10 |
Read the table as two different cards wearing one name. On availability and reliability — who can get it, who runs it, whether anyone has complained — the marks are respectable and in two cases better than the total suggests. On cost, availability and everyday banking details, the marks are low, and the low marks are not caused by bad values. They are caused by absent ones. A card that publishes its fees honestly has something to criticise; a card that publishes two fees and leaves the rest blank gives you almost nothing to work with.
Who it suits: a resident of Japan who already holds USDC, pays in yen, wants a virtual card today, and treats the physical card as a nice-to-have rather than a wallet staple. Who it does not suit: anyone outside Japan; anyone who needs Apple Pay, a working ATM, or published spending limits; anyone who plans to use it abroad, where the missing foreign-exchange terms matter most.
Will they give you the card
Only residents of Japan, aged 18 or over. The eligibility test is residence, not citizenship, and there is no separate route for people who live elsewhere but hold Japanese papers. Physical cards are shipped within Japan, so a Japanese address is effectively part of the requirement rather than a convenience.
That is the whole of it, and I would rather say it plainly than dress it up. This is not a card with international ambitions that happens to start in Asia; it is a domestic Japanese product with a crypto balance behind it. If you are in Osaka or Sapporo and you can show a Japanese address, you are inside the intended audience. If you are in Bangkok, Lisbon or São Paulo, nothing else on this page changes that answer.
The reason the availability score is 2 out of 10 despite a clean, well-published rule is that eligibility is not the same as reach. Compared with the alternatives later in this review, which sign up across dozens of countries and even operate a waitlist for the rest, a single-country card is a narrow product no matter how well it serves its own market.
How to get it
The route runs entirely through the Slash App, on iOS or Android. Account creation and identity verification — the card’s own Japanese term is *honnin kakunin* — happen in the app. News coverage mentions a driver’s licence and biometric authentication among the accepted routes; CoinPost reported in October 2026 that a driver’s licence is now accepted for ID. What the company’s public pages do not state is whether proof of address is required, so do not assume a utility bill will be part of the flow until you have seen the app’s own screen.
The sequence is short: download the app, create the account, verify your identity, then receive either a virtual card — issued instantly — or a physical card. You can hold more than one card of each kind, which matters if you split spending between an online card and one you carry.
The card is Visa. Currency is not stated on the public pages, and merchants are paid in yen or other fiat according to news reports. The site calls Slash Japan’s first credit card usable with stablecoins. One more silence worth naming: verification tiers are not stated. There is a single identity step as far as the public pages go, and no public ladder of levels that would change your limits later — that ladder is not published, so I cannot tell you whether one exists internally.
If you are the sort of reader who wants to know the whole sequence before starting, this is all of it. There is no branch I cannot describe.
Fees
Here is where a short page becomes a long question. Slash publishes what it charges for the card itself and very little of what happens when you spend.

| Fee or limit | What the card’s public pages say |
|---|---|
| Account opening | Free |
| Physical card | 70 USDC (35 USDC under the launch campaign) |
| Virtual card | 20 USDC |
| Annual fee | Free in year one, 20 USDC from year two |
| Conversion fee | Not stated |
| Foreign-exchange fee | Not stated |
| ATM | Not stated |
| Daily limits | Not stated |
| Monthly limits | Not stated |
The first four rows are the entire published price list. The last four are the ones I would want most and cannot give you.
So what does a purchase actually cost? Walk with me through three ordinary ones and count the fees that are known versus unknown.
A coffee in a Tokyo café. You hold USDC in the account; the merchant charges you in yen. No cash withdrawal, no foreign currency, no ATM. The fees that could apply here are the conversion fee and any card currency or foreign-spend charge — both unstated. There is no per-transaction fee published. So the honest description is: one purchase, no known fixed charge, an unknown margin.
A monthly online subscription in dollars. This is where the missing foreign-exchange terms stop being theoretical. The card is a Visa card and the payment leaves Japan, so either a foreign-exchange fee applies at a rate the card does not publish, or none applies and the card’s own currency handles it at some undisclosed rate. Either way the amount on your statement is not predictable from the public pages.
Cash from a Japanese cash machine, 10,000 yen. This one I cannot walk you through at all. ATM access is not stated — not whether the card works at domestic machines, not whether a fee applies, not whether a partner network is named. If you need cash, this card’s public documentation does not tell you that it does it.
Two structural points help. First, you are not converting stablecoins yourself per purchase: you fund in USDC, and the card pays merchants in fiat, so the stablecoin-to-yen step happens on the card’s side rather than as an action you take at the till. Second, member tiers are marked “coming soon”, ranked by service usage with perks unspecified; today it is a single product with virtual and physical cards. Unofficial reporting describes planned tiers named Virtual, Normal and Premium, with Premium up to 1.5% cashback, and a referral worth about the equivalent of USD 10 per friend after their first payment — third-party figures, not confirmed by the card’s own site, and rates that may change.
If your decision hinges on the conversion rate, the honest advice is to test with a small balance and read the exchange rate on your own statement before scaling up. That is not a workaround for anything; it is the only way to learn a number the company has not published.
Top up
Top-up is USDC, in the app, on Solana and Ethereum. Base, Arbitrum and HyperEVM are labelled “coming soon”, so if your USDC sits on a cheaper network today, you would either move it to Solana or Ethereum first or wait.

That is the entire funding picture. Minimum top-up, top-up fee, and fiat top-up are all not stated beyond that. Whether you can buy USDC with a Japanese card or bank transfer inside the app — the obvious next question for someone new to stablecoins — is not answered on the pages I read. Withdrawing money back out is also not stated. So the flow I can confirm is one-directional on paper: USDC arrives from a supported network, and the card spends it.
The network choice has one practical consequence worth understanding before you send anything. Chain transfers are irreversible. Send to an address on a network the provider does not support, or to a wrong address, and the funds can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. On Solana or Ethereum a USDC transfer also costs a network fee paid to the blockchain, not to the card, and you need a little of the network’s own token available to pay it. Both Solana and Ethereum are live, so the two networks people usually hold USDC on are covered — that is a genuinely useful choice — but the irreversible-transfer rule does not relax because the network is supported.
Stablecoins are not perfectly stable, either. USDC briefly lost its dollar peg in March 2023, and the BIS in July 2025 put about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation into USDC and USDT combined. Card issuers generally do not protect you from a depeg in the token you hold.
Paying with it every day
Contactless payment in stores: yes. You tap the physical card or present the virtual card number. That is the daily experience the card actually documents.
Beyond that, the public pages go quiet. Apple Pay and Google Pay support is not stated — that matters more than it used to, because tokenised mobile wallets are the usual reason people pick one card over another. The blocked merchant category list is not stated either, so you cannot tell in advance whether gambling venues or other common blocks apply. You can freeze the card instantly in the app if it is lost or stolen, which is the single most useful everyday control the card does publish.
The app exists on iOS and Android. Store ratings are not stated. Rewards are modest and partly unconfirmed: no cashback is stated by the card; a referral reward is mentioned for when a referred friend issues a card and makes a first payment; member tiers are “coming soon”, and the rewards figures circulating in the press, up to 1.5%, are unofficial and may change.
For daily use inside Japan this is a competent, slightly bare card. For daily use anywhere else, an unconfirmed wallet integration and unpublished merchant blocks make it a card you would keep in a drawer rather than your wallet.
One general point about how these cards behave in shops, because it explains some declines you may meet elsewhere. Merchants can look up the issuing country from the card’s identification number and may apply extra scrutiny when it differs from the customer’s billing address. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign cards outright. Address verification, which compares the numeric parts of a typed billing address with issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards. None of that is a Slash-specific fault — it is the category’s texture — but it shapes how any of these cards performs away from home.
What can go wrong
The card is young and almost untested by independent users. One search turned up no independent reviews and no complaints. News coverage notes the launch slipped from an earlier 2025 target to 20 April 2026, and most of the writing is press-release based rather than reporting from people who have used it month to month. That is a genuinely two-sided fact: no complaint volume is a good sign, and it is also what an untested product looks like.
The company structure is public but the licences are not. The issuer is Iquitous (iKitas) Inc. as card issuer and customer management; the programme manager and brand owner is Slash Vision Pte. Ltd. in Singapore; Orico is the BIN sponsor and international brand support. That partnership was announced 13 February 2025, with pre-application in June 2025, issuance beginning 20 April 2026, and general public opening planned for about August 2026. Issuing bank and licences are not stated on the site.
If you want to know who stands behind the brand in a regulatory sense, that is the gap. For context on the category: Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves — they license issuers and can suspend a programme. In November 2022 Visa said it had terminated its global agreements with FTX and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. In 2018 Visa suspended WaveCrest in Europe, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Programmes can end. When they do, the usual sequence is a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances.
You do not know who holds the funds. The custody model is not stated. This is the single most consequential silence on the page. Custodial platforms have a history of failure — Mt. Gox with about US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014, Coincheck about US$400 million in 2018, Ronin Network US$625 million in 2022 — and self-custody carries its own burden of key loss and phishing. Which side of that line Slash sits on is not something the public pages tell you.
The stated protections are real but generic. The card can be frozen instantly in the app. The press release speaks of strict identity verification, transaction monitoring, international AML standards, and compliance with Japan’s Installment Sales Act and the Act on Prevention of Transfer of Criminal Proceeds. Identity checks mean KYC rules as usual: regulated businesses must verify customers and assess risk, with ongoing monitoring and suspicious-activity reporting. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to 7.
Support is thin on the page. Contact is [email protected], and the help centre is a Zendesk site at slash-card.zendesk.com/hc/ja with categories for an issuance guide, a usage guide, and terms and policies. It is Japanese-language; hours and other languages are not stated. Dispute handling is not stated beyond those help-centre categories.
Taxes are your own problem. Digital assets are treated as property for tax purposes, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local currency at the fair market value on the date of the transaction. Each card payment funded from crypto may therefore be a separate disposal. I am not giving you tax advice — I am flagging that a card spent daily from crypto can create many small taxable events, and that is worth checking with a professional in your own jurisdiction.
What to take instead
None of the alternatives below has the same narrow eligibility rule; each trades Japan’s focus for a wider footprint. Scores are from the same review set, so you can compare like with like.
| Alternative | Score | Who it is for | Headline cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| MetaMask | 7.1 / 10 | Sign-up open in 45 listed countries and territories, others on a waitlist; proof of residency required | Virtual free; Metal $199/year |
| KAST | 6.1 / 10 | Residence-based list shown at KYC; 0% FX fee on non-USD payments stated as 0.5%–1.75% by region | Standard 0 USD; Premium 1,000 USD/year; Private 10,000 USD/year |
| Zeal | 6.1 / 10 | Spend in 150+ countries; programme live in EU, UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, Philippines, Indonesia, Thailand | Fee schedule not published |
MetaMask is the one to look at if you want the most published detail of the three. Sign-up is open in 45 listed countries and territories — Andorra, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Germany, France, Spain and Uruguay among them — with other regions joining a waitlist, and proof of residency required; the citizenship rule is not stated, and US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed per its FAQ. The card is Mastercard, virtual first with instant issuance, then Metal pre-orderable in the app; one card per user; issuer Monovate, card provider Crypto Life. Virtual is free with no annual or maintenance fee; Metal is $199/year. Spending goes directly from the connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana, with tokens including mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC and USDT. Cashback is paid in mUSD into the Money Account: 1% on Virtual, and a headline 3% on Metal limited by the footnote to the first $10,000 spent, then 1%, plus a $FLY bonus of 5X or 7X via the Blackbird dining app.
KAST publishes the most explicit fee schedule in this group and is the most useful contrast to Slash’s silences. Eligibility is decided at KYC by country list — if your country is not listed, KAST is not available there — and citizenship matters separately: living in a supported country with an ID from a restricted region may still fail KYC, dual citizens with a supported-country ID may pass, and a VPN does not bypass the check. Cards are Visa, virtual and physical, up to 10 per user, with balance in USD and stablecoin deposits converted 1:1 at 0% spread. Fees: stablecoin top-up 0%, card spend in USD 0%, transaction fee 0%, Apple/Google Pay 0%, non-USD FX 0.5%–1.75% depending on residence country, transaction country and card programme, non-USD transactions under 25 USD at 0.10 USD, and 0.50 USD for a declined transaction on insufficient balance. Funding accepts USDT, USDC, PYUSD and RLUSD on Ethereum, Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum and TRON, though the Terms say acceptable tokens are “currently USDT and USDC” — a conflict worth noting — and no bank account is needed. Cashback in USD: Standard 1.5% on the first 2,000 USD/month, Premium 2% on the first 10,000 USD/month, Private 3% on the first 40,000 USD/month. Its membership prices are the drawback: 0, 1,000 and 10,000 USD a year, billed annually upfront.
Zeal is the simplest and the vaguest. Spend in 150+ countries, issuance dependent on eligibility and regional availability, a Visa card with a virtual option addable to Apple Pay, and accounts in EUR, USD and GBP through Gnosis Pay. No fee schedule is published on its site or App Store listing, which puts it in the same documentation gap as Slash, but wider in reach. It charges no additional FX fee and converts at the Visa wholesale rate, though Gnosis Pay fees such as ATM may still apply. Rewards: up to 4% cashback paid in GNO on Gnosis Chain, requiring GNO held in the card Safe to qualify, with rates that can change.
If you are a Japan resident, MetaMask, KAST and Zeal are all open to you and all publish more of the numbers that matter — although MetaMask’s temporary US and UK closures are a reminder that availability can change. If you are not a Japan resident, all three offer a route Slash does not.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Slash to a person who lives in Japan, already holds USDC, spends in yen, and wants a card number today rather than a plastic in a week’s time. For that person the value is real: the account is free, the virtual card is instant, you can hold several, tapping works in stores, and the card can be frozen from your phone the second it goes missing. The two live networks, Solana and Ethereum, are the two where most people actually keep USDC, so the funding route works without extra shuffling.
I would not recommend it to someone whose spending depends on a phone wallet, on cash, or on predictable costs — because Apple Pay, Google Pay, ATM access and the conversion and FX fees are all unstated. Nor would I recommend it to anyone outside Japan, and I would hesitate before recommending it to someone planning to keep a meaningful balance there, because the custody model and the issuing licences are not published, and a new card from a young programme is exactly where you want those answered first.
If you are deciding between Slash and one of the alternatives above and you live outside Japan, the comparison is not close on eligibility. If you live in Japan and you care about knowing your conversion rate before you spend, KAST publishes more of what you need; if you care about a free card and a wide country list, MetaMask publishes more and scores higher. Slash’s case is narrower, and the judgement is whether that narrowness suits your life.
Frequently asked questions
What is Slash card?
Slash is a Visa payment card funded with USDC rather than a bank account, aimed at residents of Japan aged 18 and over. You open an account and verify your identity in the Slash App, then receive a virtual card instantly or a physical card delivered inside Japan. Merchants are paid in yen, and the card is described as Japan’s first credit card usable with stablecoins.
How does Slash card work?
You top up with USDC in the app, on the Solana or Ethereum networks, and the card spends from that balance. You do not convert stablecoins yourself at the till: the stablecoin-to-fiat step happens on the card’s side, and merchants charge you in yen or other fiat. Base, Arbitrum and HyperEVM are marked “coming soon” for top-ups.
Who owns Slash?
The programme manager and brand owner is Slash Vision Pte. Ltd., based in Singapore, with a 2026 copyright on slash.vision. The card issuer and customer manager is Iquitous (iKitas) Inc., and Orico acts as BIN sponsor and international brand support. The partnership was announced on 13 February 2025, with issuance starting 20 April 2026.
Is Slash card available outside Japan?
No. Eligibility is residence-based: residents of Japan aged 18 and over only, and physical cards are shipped within Japan. There is no separate category for people who live elsewhere but hold Japanese documents, and the public pages describe no waitlist or expansion queue that would change this.
Does Slash card require KYC?
Yes. Account creation and identity verification happen in the Slash App, using the Japanese *honnin kakunin* process. News mentions a driver’s licence and biometric authentication, and CoinPost reported in October 2026 that a driver’s licence is now accepted for ID. Whether proof of address is required is not stated on the public pages.
What does it cost to open an account and get a card?
Opening the account is free. A physical card costs 70 USDC, or 35 USDC under the launch campaign, and a virtual card costs 20 USDC. The annual fee is free in year one and 20 USDC from year two. Everything beyond that — conversion, FX, ATM, and spending limits — is not stated.
Is Slash card free?
Partly. The account and the first year of annual fees are free, as is the virtual card under the launch terms, and a referral reward exists for a friend who issues a card and makes a first payment. The physical card is not free, and the second-year annual fee of 20 USDC applies from year two.
Is Slash card safe?
The card can be frozen instantly in the app if lost or stolen, and the press release cites identity verification, transaction monitoring, international AML standards, and compliance with Japanese law. But the custody model is not stated, so who holds your USDC is not publicly documented, and there are no independent reviews or complaints to draw reassurance from either way.
Can I add Slash card to Apple Wallet?
The public pages do not say. Apple Pay support is not stated, and neither is Google Pay. If a phone wallet is how you intend to pay day to day, this is the first thing to test with a small balance rather than assume.
Is Slash card worth it?
Worth it for a Japan resident who already holds USDC, wants a virtual card instantly, and pays contactless in yen. Hard to justify if you need a phone wallet, cash withdrawals, published spending limits, or predictable conversion and foreign-exchange costs — because those are exactly the details Slash does not publish.
Wallet cards – cryptocardchooser.com
Content created by the «cryptocardchooser.com» team
