A self-custody wallet with a card bolted on — solid on reach and top-ups, thin on published detail

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

If you have tried to get an ordinary bank card and could not — because of where you live, what documents you hold, or how your bank screens you — a card that turns your own crypto into spendable money is genuinely interesting. Oppi is one of the newer names in that space, and it takes a specific position: your private keys stay on your phone, and the card draws on that balance rather than on a bank account. That is a real philosophical difference from most cards in this category, and it is the reason I scored it where I did.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Oppi works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Where I land is 7.2 out of 10. Not because it is weak, but because the things it does well — reach, top-up options, everyday spend — are offset by a card whose published financial detail is thin in places that matter, and whose issuer is not named anywhere public.

The conditions described on these pages are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 7.2 out of 10

Here is the breakdown, criterion by criterion, with the reason as I read it rather than as a marketing line.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 9 / 10 Claimed in 210+ countries; unofficial listings put it at 221, with Cuba, Iran, North Korea and Syria restricted
Cost 4 / 10 Virtual activation $10 with $5 returned, physical $100 including delivery, 2%–2.5% on non-USD payments, no monthly fee
Top-up options 9 / 10 BTC, BCH, BNB, ETH, LTC, SOL, USDT, TRX, USDC across Ethereum, BSC, Polygon, TRON and Solana
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Self-custody with keys on your device; issuer not named, company is Encoin Limited; no complaints found; App Store 4.6/5 from 50 ratings
Everyday use 9 / 10 Virtual Mastercard plus optional physical, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM withdrawals claimed

Three things pull the score apart from a simple “good card”. First, the self-custody design: your keys do not leave your device, and Oppi states it never holds your funds. For anyone who has lived through a custodian failing, that is worth a lot. Second, the reach: this is a card for people who cannot easily get a normal card, and the breadth of countries and coins reflects a product built for exactly that. Third — and this is the drag — the issuer is not publicly named. When you cannot see which institution stands behind the card, you cannot easily judge how a dispute would be handled, which is why the reliability mark sits at 6.

Who it suits: people who already hold crypto, want to keep control of it, and need card access more than they need a bank relationship. Who it does not suit: anyone planning a single trip abroad and hoping to pay ordinary prices, anyone who needs predictable statement limits or chargeback clarity, and anyone who is uncomfortable with a self-custody wallet in the first place.

Will they give you the card?

Yes, broadly. The card is claimed in “210+ countries” — other pages on the same site say 100+ and 200+, which tells you the marketing number moves around — alongside the phrase “availability varies, regulatory limits apply”. Eligibility is checked at signup, which means the answer you get is the answer that matters, not the one on the homepage.

There is a restricted-country list in the page FAQ, but the answers were not readable when I checked. Unofficial listings put availability at 221 countries and name Cuba, Iran, North Korea and Syria as restricted, with the AML policy also barring Crimea, Donetsk and Luhansk. Treat those as third-party claims, not as the card’s own statement. One unofficial source also explains the “210+” figure as Mastercard acceptance rather than Oppi’s own licensing.

The practical point: the list exists, the list is applied, and whether your country is on it becomes visible only when you try. Do not read the number as a guarantee.

How to get it

KYC is required to enable the card — a government ID plus a selfie, about 2 minutes. The wallet itself works without KYC, which is a genuinely useful distinction: you can hold and manage crypto without handing over documents, and only produce them when you want card functionality.

Beyond that level, the picture is thin. Proof of address and age requirements are not stated on the card page, and only one verification level is described, with no tiers. An unofficial source claims proof of address is required under the AML policy and that withdrawals above USD 10,000 daily or USD 100,000 monthly bring proof of funds, a source-of-wealth questionnaire and a video call. That is not confirmed by the card, but it is consistent with how this category usually works.

On the card itself: you get a virtual Mastercard, and a physical card is optional. The page table lists the physical card as Visa while the App Store listing says the virtual card is Mastercard and the physical one Visa, and another third-party page simply says Visa/Mastercard. Multiple virtual cards can sit on one balance. The currency is implied to be USD, which is why a foreign-currency charge exists — see the fees section.

Physical card delivery details — how long, to which countries, and what a replacement costs — are not stated.

Fees: what it really costs

This is where I have the most to say, because it is where the card is weakest on disclosure and where the arithmetic quietly eats into small purchases.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Oppi payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What the card publishes
Virtual card activation $10 one-time, with $5 credited back; a comparison table says $5 issuance
Physical card $100 including shipping; the App Store lists a one-time fee without naming the amount
Monthly or annual fee None
Currency conversion 2%–2.5% on non-USD purchases
Crypto top-up conversion At the real-time rate
Swap fees Described as “low”, not quantified
ATM withdrawal Supported; the main site says “withdraw cash worldwide” — fee and allowance not stated
Spending limits Not stated on the card page

Two everyday payments, so you can see how it lands.

Coffee in a euro-zone café. You buy at the counter and the terminal charges in euro. Your balance is USD, so the conversion charge of 2%–2.5% applies to a purchase that was never in dollars. On a $6 coffee that is roughly 12–15 cents, which you will not notice — but the charge is proportional to the payment, so a $300 purchase in a foreign currency costs $6–7.50 in fees alone. There is a conflict in the published information: the App Store listing says travel bookings carry “no currency exchange fees”, while the card page says 2%–2.5% on non-USD purchases. Where a merchant lets you pay in USD directly, you avoid the conversion — the fee is charged when your USD balance is converted, not because the merchant is foreign.

A subscription billed in USD. Here the currency layer is irrelevant and you are paying the card’s real price: the $10 activation, of which $5 comes back, and any swap fee if you funded the balance by converting a non-stablecoin token. If you top up with USDT or USDC, the top-up converts at the real-time rate and the card’s swap fee is described only as “low”. That is not a number, so it is a cost you cannot calculate in advance. Spending limits are not stated on the card page either. An Oppi blog gives $100,000 per day and another page gives $10,000 per day — they contradict each other, so I have not used either, and I would not plan around them without asking.

One further unofficial note, which contradicts the card’s own figures: a third-party site lists the virtual card as free and the physical card at $10, and mentions a $15 virtual activation in India with $5 returned. That does not match the official pricing, and where the two disagree, the official pricing is the one I would rely on.

Top up: how to get money onto it

This is the strongest part of the card, and it is why the top-up mark is a 9.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Oppi starts with a transfer to the right network

You can fund the card with BTC, BCH, BNB, ETH, LTC, SOL, USDT, TRX and USDC, on the Ethereum, BSC, Polygon, TRON and Solana networks. The App Store listing puts it at 40+ assets. Pre-funded, virtual and physical cards all draw on a single balance, which keeps things simple when you are juggling more than one card.

The top-up itself converts crypto at the real-time rate, so the exchange is not a hidden cost in the way a spread can be. What is missing is the small print: no minimum top-up is stated, and there is nothing on the page about adding fiat directly. An unofficial guide cited by a third-party site says loading typically costs 1%–2%, but that figure is not itemised anywhere by Oppi, so treat it as a rough expectation rather than a published fee.

Two practical warnings that apply to any card in this category, and to this one in particular. A transfer sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost — blockchain transfers are irreversible, and recovery is a matter of manual support with no guarantee. And if you send on Ethereum without any ETH in the wallet for gas, the transfer cannot move at all. On Tron, fees are paid through bandwidth and energy resources rather than ETH, which is a different cost structure; USDT is issued on networks including Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon and others. One asymmetry worth knowing: Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so USDC over TRC20 is not a native option.

Nothing is stated about withdrawing the card balance back out to a wallet or a bank.

Paying with it every day

Day to day, the card behaves like a normal piece of plastic or glass, and that is the point of it.

Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported, so you can leave the physical card at home and pay by phone. Because tokenised wallet numbers are device-specific and each payment uses a one-time code, this is generally the safer way to pay with the card if you are worried about a stolen or skimmed card. Whether individual merchants, merchant categories or gambling sites are blocked is not stated.

Eligible card spending earns Oppi Points, redeemable for top-ups — the points programme was introduced in July 2026. The earning rate and any caps are not stated. Points that pay you back in top-ups are convenient rather than valuable if you think of them as a reward rate, and with no published rate I would not model them into a budget.

The app is iPhone only — iOS 15.6 or later, also listed for M-series Macs and Vision — and English only, which is worth knowing if you are an Android user or need another language. It sits at 4.6 out of 5 on the App Store from 50 ratings, with four visible 2025 reviews all positive. Unofficial figures for the App Store and Google Play vary quite a bit — one page body gives 4.3/5 on Google Play while a sidebar on the same site gives 4.8/5 and 4.5/5 elsewhere — so I would not read much into any single number.

Disputes are the quiet gap here. The help centre has an FAQ list but the answers were not readable when I checked, so how a chargeback would actually run on this card is something you would have to ask support before you need it.

What can go wrong

Nothing about Oppi has produced a public complaint trail that I could find. A search across Trustpilot and Reddit returned nothing about Oppi itself, only unrelated products, and the App Store rating is the only user signal available. One unofficial source reports a single Trustpilot review from a reviewer saying a physical card was never arrived — a single anecdote, not a pattern, and not confirmed by the card.

The bigger risks are structural, and they apply across this whole category.

The issuer is not named. The App Store developer is Encoin Limited, trading as Oppi Wallet, and the site says it is operated by Oppiwallet and is “VASP-certified”. But no card issuer or BIN sponsor is named, no licence number and no jurisdiction are stated. This matters more than it sounds. A card number carries an issuer identification number, and shops can look it up to see which institution and country issued it. If the issuer country differs from your billing address, a merchant may apply extra scrutiny, and some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs outright. An unnamed issuer makes it harder to predict.

Self-custody cuts both ways. Your keys stay on your device, which means no counterparty risk — but also no safety net. A seed phrase is typically 12 to 24 words and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend from it. Transfers are irreversible, and a stolen key has no recovery path. Clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps a copied address is a real attack. The card’s own site says Oppi never holds your funds at any point, and that is the honest version of the risk. Freeze, spending controls and insurance are not stated.

Programmes can be switched off. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers and can suspend a programme. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing every WaveCrest-issued programme. Closures typically mean a notice period, then loading stops, then spending stops, then you are asked to withdraw what remains.

Holds and declines. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on funds for several days, typically up to seven. And 3-D Secure adds an identity check to online payments — Visa calls it Visa Secure, Mastercard calls it Identity Check — which can shift liability for a fraudulent online payment away from the merchant and toward you.

Taxes, briefly. I am not giving tax advice, but the mechanism is public: the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods or dollars generally produces a gain or loss, measured in your local currency at the value on the date of the transaction. Each card payment funded from crypto can therefore be a separate taxable event. If that is going to matter to you, it is worth checking with a professional in your own jurisdiction rather than taking my word for anything.

Support. There is a support centre at oppiwallet.com/en/support and an email address, and in-app tickets have been added per release notes. Hours are not stated, and the app is English only.

What to take instead

None of these are better than Oppi at being a self-custody card for someone without a normal card. They are better if your constraint is different — and all three scored lower than Oppi overall, which is itself worth saying.

MetaMask (7.1 / 10). Sign-ups are open in 45 listed countries and territories, with other regions on a waitlist, and US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed. The card is Mastercard from Monovate, virtual first and instant, with a metal card pre-orderable in the app at $199 a year; the virtual card is free with no annual or maintenance fee, and one card per user. It spends directly from the connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana, with mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC and USDT named. Fees are described as minimal per transaction with no MetaMask fees and no foreign transaction fee, but the amount is not stated on the pages I read. Rewards are real and quantified: 1% cashback on the virtual card, and a headline 3% on metal limited by a footnote to the first $10,000 spent, then 1%. Pick this if cashback and a clean published reward structure matter more to you than reach.

KAST (6.1 / 10). Residence-based and ID-sensitive: if your country is not listed you are outside, and holding only an ID from a restricted region can make you ineligible even while living in a supported country. Virtual and physical, up to 10 cards per user, on Visa tiers from Standard to Infinite. The cost structure is far more explicit than Oppi’s: annual membership 0, 1,000 or 10,000 USD by tier, billed annually upfront; a 40 USD delivery fee on the Standard physical card; a 1 USD monthly inactivity fee after 12 months. Fees are unusually clear — 0% on stablecoin top-ups, USD spends, and Apple/Google Pay; a 0.5%–1.75% FX fee depending on where you live and which card programme; 0.10 USD on non-USD transactions under 25 USD; 0.50 USD for a declined transaction. Cashback is 1.5%, 2% or 3% by tier on capped monthly spend. Pick this if you want the fee schedule printed in public.

Zeal (6.1 / 10). A Visa card with a virtual card addable to Apple Pay, spending from balances held in the card Safe in EUR, USD and GBP across Gnosis Chain and Celo, live in the EU, UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, the Philippines, Indonesia and Thailand. Zeal adds no FX fee of its own and converts at the Visa wholesale rate, though Gnosis Pay fees such as ATM may still apply. Cashback is up to 4% paid in GNO, and you must hold GNO in the card Safe to qualify. Costs are not stated at all, so you would be going in blind on the numbers.

The pattern across all three is worth noting: the products that publish their fees clearly are usually the ones with narrower eligibility, and the product with the widest reach publishes the least. Oppi is at the wide end.

Who I would recommend it to

If you hold crypto, you cannot comfortably get a bank card, and you want to keep the keys yourself, Oppi is a reasonable thing to try. The reach is genuinely broad, the coin and network list is the best I saw in this comparison, and the wallet works without identity documents until you want card functionality.

I would think twice if you want to know exactly what a dispute will do, or what your daily spending limit is, or who stands behind the card if something goes wrong — those three things are the ones Oppi does not publish. And I would not use it as a plan for a trip where predictable pricing matters, because the 2%–2.5% conversion charge is applied on top of whatever the local price is.

What I would do first: install the app and confirm your country passes eligibility before you commit any money, since the country list is only confirmed at signup.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Oppi card?

Oppi is a self-custody crypto wallet with a payment card attached. You hold the private keys on your own device, the card draws on that balance, and Oppi states it never holds your funds. You get a virtual Mastercard and can order a physical card. It is aimed at people who want card spending from crypto without handing custody of their coins to a provider.

Is Oppi a bank?

No. Oppi is a card programme and wallet front-end, not a bank. The App Store developer is Encoin Limited, and the site says it is operated by Oppiwallet and is “VASP-certified”. The card issuer and BIN sponsor are not named publicly, and no licence number or jurisdiction is stated, so you cannot read who stands behind the card programme.

Does the Oppi card require KYC?

The wallet does not. Enabling the card does: a government ID plus a selfie, about 2 minutes. Proof of address and age requirements are not stated on the card page, and only one verification level is described with no tiers. An unofficial source claims proof of address plus enhanced checks above USD 10,000 daily or 100,000 monthly withdrawals.

How much does the Oppi card cost?

The virtual card costs $10 to activate with $5 credited back, and the physical card is $100 including shipping. There is no monthly or annual fee. Payments made in a currency other than USD carry a 2%–2.5% conversion charge, and swap fees are described as “low” without a figure. An unofficial site contradicts these prices, so check the card’s own pricing before relying on either.

Is the Oppi card free?

Not quite. There is no recurring fee, but activation is not free either: $10 for the virtual card with $5 returned, and $100 for the physical card including delivery. An App Store listing mentions a one-time fee without naming the amount, and a third-party page claims the virtual card is free and the physical one $10 — which contradicts the card’s own published pricing.

How do I top up the Oppi card?

You send crypto to the wallet and it converts at the real-time rate. Supported coins are BTC, BCH, BNB, ETH, LTC, SOL, USDT, TRX and USDC, on the Ethereum, BSC, Polygon, TRON and Solana networks; the App Store listing says 40+ assets. Pre-funded, virtual and physical cards share one balance. Make sure the network matches, because a wrong-network transfer can be lost.

Can I use the Oppi card in my country?

The card is claimed in 210+ countries, with other pages on the same site saying 100+ and 200+, alongside “availability varies, regulatory limits apply”. Eligibility is checked at signup, so the answer that counts is the one you get in the app. Unofficial listings put it at 221 countries and name Cuba, Iran, North Korea and Syria as restricted.

Is Oppi safe?

The self-custody design is the strongest point: your keys never leave your device, so there is no custodian to fail or hack. The trade-off is that nobody can recover your funds if you lose your key or send crypto to a phishing address, since blockchain transfers are irreversible. Freeze controls, spending limits and insurance are not stated, and the unnamed issuer is a gap worth thinking about.

What are the Oppi card limits?

Not stated on the card page. An Oppi blog gives $100,000 per day and another page gives $10,000 per day, which contradict each other, so I have not used either. ATM withdrawals are claimed as supported worldwide but no fee or allowance is published. Ask support directly before relying on a limit, and do not assume a declined payment releases your hold immediately.

Is the Oppi card worth it?

It is worth it if you already hold crypto, cannot easily get a normal card, and want to keep control of your own keys. It is less worth it if you want published spending limits, a clear dispute process, or predictable costs when you pay abroad — the 2%–2.5% conversion charge and the unnamed issuer are the two gaps that would stop me recommending it as a primary travel card.

Content created by the «cryptocardchooser.com» team