The card that spends your stablecoins — and what it costs you to do it

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

Xplace is a Visa card that spends a stablecoin balance you hold yourself, with four tiers stepping from a free Basic card to a Platinum tier with a $750,000 monthly limit. On the promise of no hidden spread, 0% foreign exchange in the card terms, native Apple Pay and Google Pay, and cashback paid in USDC, it looks like a clean bridge between crypto and an ordinary payment card. Much of that promise is what the card’s own documents say. What it costs you in practice depends on a fee table that is less complete than the marketing, and on a support record that reviewers describe unevenly.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Xplace works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I gave it 7.7 out of 10. That is a good card for one specific person: someone already holding stablecoins, comfortable with crypto transfers and networks, who wants to spend them at ordinary shops without opening a bank account in the country they live in. It is a poor fit for someone who wants an ordinary debit card, who needs cash from an ATM, or who plans to travel and be recognised as foreign everywhere they go.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Score out of 10

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 9 / 10 No official country list; Visa is accepted in 160+ countries
Cost 8 / 10 Basic free, Silver $99 a year, Gold $249, Platinum $999; 0% FX, Cross Border and Foreign Transaction fees in the card terms
Top-up options 8 / 10 BTC (cbBTC), ETH (wETH), SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT and xStocks on Solana
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Trustpilot 4.1 out of 5 across 56 reviews, Google Play 3.5; complaints about hidden fees and support
Everyday use 7 / 10 Virtual card instantly, physical Silver now and Gold/Platinum “soon”; Apple Pay and Google Pay built in; no cash withdrawals

Total: 7.7 / 10

Will they give you the card?

The honest answer is that Xplace does not publish a country list. Its public pages say services are “not available in all jurisdictions” without naming which ones, while the card’s Visa acceptance runs to 160+ countries. That is acceptance, not eligibility — the card being swiped in a country says nothing about whether you can open the account.

Unofficial sources give you more to work with. Per CryptoCardHub on 24 August 2026, 162 countries are listed as available and 34 are explicitly unavailable, with Russia among the closed list along with India. The same source makes the point I would make: a negative list does not prove that every unlisted country can actually onboard you. Treat both the official silence and the unofficial list as incomplete, and ask support in writing before you rely on either.

Who What the card says, or what unofficial sources say
Official country list Not stated; “services are not available in all jurisdictions”
Where the card works Visa acceptance in 160+ countries
Unofficial: available 162 countries listed (CryptoCardHub, 24 Aug 2026)
Unofficial: unavailable 34 countries, including Russia and India (CryptoCardHub, 24 Aug 2026)
Age requirement Not stated

If you live in one of the 34, the answer is a plain no, and I would not go looking for a way around that. If you live somewhere unlisted, you are in the grey zone the unofficial source is warning about.

How to get it

Registration and verification take minutes, according to the card, and the virtual card activates immediately after sign-up. Which documents you need, whether proof of address is required, what the minimum age is, and what the verification tiers are — none of that is stated. I have gone through the public pages and cannot tell you whether a passport alone is enough, whether there are tiers at all, how long review takes when it is not instant, or why a verification might be refused. There is no published rejection-reason list.

You also pick a tier at this point, and the tier decides almost everything that follows. Basic is free. Silver costs $99 a year, Gold $249, Platinum $999. The card comes in two forms: a virtual card that appears instantly, and a physical one.

Card form What the card says
Virtual Activates instantly after sign-up
Physical, Silver Live now
Physical, Gold and Platinum “Coming soon”
Delivery time 7–14 business days depending on the region
Delivery countries and cost Not stated
Replacement fee Not stated — the terms list “fees for Card issuance or replacement” without amounts

There is one mode question to settle at sign-up. Cash mode spends your stablecoin balance directly. Credit mode borrows against your holdings. Borrowing carries no origination fee, but it is a loan, and I come back to what that means under risks.

The card currency is not stated. The card terms say the card association converts foreign-currency transactions into U.S. dollars, which tells you the settlement currency but not which currency your balance is held in.

Fees: what it really costs

The annual fee is the one number that is unambiguous: Basic is free, Silver is $99 a year, Gold $249, Platinum $999. Borrowing carries no origination fee. Beyond that, the picture depends on which document you read.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Xplace payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The card terms table shows a 0% Foreign Exchange Fee for non-USD transactions, 0% Cross Border Fee and 0% Foreign Transaction Fee. The page itself says only “0% FX on Platinum”. Those two statements sit awkwardly together: the terms table appears to apply to the card, the page appears to attach the zero rate to Platinum alone.

Fee or limit What the card states
Annual fee Basic free, Silver $99/y, Gold $249/y, Platinum $999/y
Borrowing origination fee None
Foreign Exchange Fee (non-USD) 0% in the card terms table
Cross Border Fee 0% in the card terms table
Foreign Transaction Fee 0% in the card terms table
Crypto conversion fee Not stated
Cash-mode cashback Not stated
Cash advance and balance transfer Not available under the card terms
ATM fee Not stated
Card issuance or replacement Listed in the terms without amounts
Monthly limit Basic $2,000; Silver $20,000; Gold $200,000; Platinum $750,000
Per-transaction limit Not stated officially; unofficial figures: Silver $3,000, Gold $10,000, Platinum $25,000

The unofficial tier-by-tier FX figures — Basic not confirmed, Silver 0.5%, Gold 0.25%, Platinum 0% — come from CryptoCardHub citing an app comparison in August 2026. They contradict the official 0% in the card terms. I would not plan around either number without asking support which applies to your tier, and I would read “no hidden spread” as marketing rather than as a fee schedule, because the conversion fee itself is not stated anywhere I could find.

Two everyday payments, to make this concrete. You buy a coffee for $4 in Lisbon. Under the card terms the Foreign Exchange Fee, Cross Border Fee and Foreign Transaction Fee are all 0%, so the card association converts the euro amount into U.S. dollars and the stated fees add nothing; what is not published is the crypto conversion fee, if any applies to that payment. You tap the same card for $60 of groceries in Chicago. No conversion is involved, but in Credit mode your tier’s cashback rate applies, and in Cash mode no cashback rate is stated at all.

How to Top up the card

Topping up means sending assets to your own wallet, not handing money to a company account. The card accepts deposits of BTC (as cbBTC), ETH (as wETH), SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT and xStocks, on the Solana network.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Xplace starts with a transfer to the right network

That single-network detail is the thing to hold on to. A transfer sent on a network the card does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee — blockchain transfers are irreversible by nature. If you hold funds mainly on Ethereum, topping up from there is not the path this card describes.

Top-up detail What the card states
Assets accepted BTC (cbBTC), ETH (wETH), SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT, xStocks
Network Solana
Deposit or top-up fee Not stated
Minimum top-up Not stated
Fiat top-up options Not stated
Borrowing origination fee None

The card advertises “withdraw the moment you decide” and “no lock-ups”, and that matters to anyone who has dealt with a balance frozen for months. It also carries its own asterisk: withdrawals depend on protocol liquidity and may be temporarily limited during market stress. Withdrawal fees are not stated, and neither is what happens to a balance left on the card when you close it — the terms say only that you must surrender or destroy the card.

If you are coming from an exchange, add the network’s own fee to your mental calculation. On-chain network costs for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by Xplace.

Paying with it every day

The everyday picture is good in the ways that matter. Apple Pay and Google Pay are native, and both the Apple App Store and Google Play links sit on the site without ratings shown on the official page. Cash mode spends your stablecoin balance directly, and the card’s own phrase for it — “no hidden spread, no FX games” — is the pitch.

Rewards are structured around Credit mode. Cashback is paid in USDC to your wallet at settlement, at 0.5% on Basic, 1% on Silver, 1.5% on Gold and 2% on Platinum. Whether Cash mode earns anything is not stated.

Tier Annual fee Monthly limit Cashback (Credit mode) Concierge Lounge Fast Track
Basic Free $2,000 0.5% None None None
Silver $99/y $20,000 1% Standard concierge 1 visit/y None
Gold $249/y $200,000 1.5% Personal concierge 4 visits/y 2/y
Platinum $999/y $750,000 2% VIP Priority concierge Unlimited 5/y

Not everything a shop sells will go through. A Blocked Merchants document is linked from the footer. Merchant category codes automatically declined include explosives, small arms, wire transfers, pawn shops, gambling and lotteries, money transfer services, escort and massage services, and political, labour and religious organisations. Named merchants blocked include eToro, Skrill, Neteller, Wish.com, MoonPay and Wise, plus a “dynamic list” that can change. Read that list before you assume a payment will work.

Disputes have a deadline. Any disputed charge or error must be reported no more than 60 days after the charge is posted. Chargebacks resolved in your favour are credited to your Xplace account.

What can go wrong

Start with the company, because several other questions start there. Xplace is operated by Pontech Group L.L.C-FZ, Meydan Free Zone, Dubai, UAE, licence no. 2527237.01. The card is issued by Third National under a programme managed by Signify Holdings, Inc. The site says plainly that it is not a bank, licensed lender or investment firm. So the entity that brands the app and the entity that issues the plastic are two different organisations, and the Dubai company is the one you would deal with in a dispute.

On custody, the card says Xplace does not hold your funds and cannot freeze, seize or move them. That is the non-custodial claim, and it is the reason a crypto card can exist without being a bank. Two-factor authentication, in-app card freeze, spending controls and any insurance are not stated. Those are exactly the four things I would want before topping up, so treat their absence as information.

Support is advertised as “real support, 24/7. Across every tier.” The card terms give an email at [email protected] and a phone number, +971 554 570 290, and there are community channels on Discord, X, Telegram, Instagram, YouTube and LinkedIn.

Then the complaints, which is where my reliability mark comes from. Trustpilot for x.place sits at 4.1 out of 5 across 56 reviews, read on 20 October 2026; a separate reading of the same profile showed roughly 4.4 out of 5 across only 10 reviews, and Google Play sits at 3.5. The recurring themes are more useful than the averages. In September 2026 a reviewer reported being offered a plastic card instead of the advertised metal card and being asked to pay extra for it, with the company saying metal launches in October. Another September 2026 review is a two-star “hidden fees” complaint. August to September 2026 brought reports of slow support. October 2026 brought incoming SEPA transfers rejected without a reason, and a September 2026 report of being unable to add the card to Apple Wallet. An unofficial secondary guide, penchan.co, reviewed on 2 October 2026 and unverified, describes Credit mode as a collateral-backed loan with interest and liquidation risk, says the Drift lending protocol was hacked affecting users, and notes Xplace moved to Kamino in May. Aggregators mention withdrawal lock-ups and slow support. I found no Reddit threads, and no official incident report.

What goes wrong What is actually known
Physical card not as described Sept 2026: plastic instead of advertised metal, extra payment asked; company said metal launches in October
Fees Sept 2026: two-star “hidden fees” review
Support Aug–Sep 2026: reports of slow support, against a 24/7 promise
Incoming transfers Oct 2026: SEPA transfers rejected without a reason
Apple Pay Sept 2026: one user could not add the card to Apple Wallet
Credit mode Unofficial guide: collateral-backed loan with interest and liquidation risk; Drift hacked; moved to Kamino in May
App ratings Google Play 3.5 out of 5 across 35 ratings, per cryptocardhub, Aug 2026
Penalty fees Oct 2025 international card terms list late payment up to $40, returned payment $29

Two general risks sit underneath all of this. Borrowing against holdings is a loan: if the value of your collateral falls, you can be liquidated, and a liquidation is not a fee you budgeted for. And a stablecoin is not a bank deposit. Stablecoins aim to hold a stable value against a fiat currency but are not necessarily stable — USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. Spending a balance that is meant to be stable means taking that risk personally.

What to take instead

Four alternatives come up when people compare cards in this category. None of them is clearly better; they are differently shaped, and the score column uses the same ten-point scale as above.

Card Score Where it is issued Annual or setup cost Stated FX fee Cashback
Xplace 7.7 / 10 No official country list Basic free; Silver $99/y; Gold $249/y; Platinum $999/y 0% in card terms; unofficial per tier 0.5%–2% in Credit mode
ether.fi 6.7 / 10 Listed jurisdictions plus 31 US states First virtual card $10 in some regions, otherwise free Core 0.5%, Luxe 0.25%, Pinnacle and VIP none 3% at the top of each ladder, paid in ETHFI
Nexo 6.3 / 10 Selected European countries, EEA and UK No monthly, annual or inactivity fee 0.2% weekdays, 0.7% weekends in EEA/UK/CH 0.5%–2% by tier, in NEXO tokens or Bitcoin
Exa 6.2 / 10 45 countries and 31 US states Marketed free Not stated Not stated

Take Nexo if you want the clearest fee structure of the four. It charges no monthly, annual or inactivity fee, publishes an FX fee that varies by weekday and by region, and pays cashback in NEXO tokens or Bitcoin. The costs sit elsewhere: the virtual card needs at least $50 in the account to activate, and the physical card needs a balance above $5,000 in digital assets and at least Gold tier. It is limited to residents and citizens of selected European countries including the EEA and the UK, with no list published. There is also a non-official report of a 2025-era Bulgarian police raid on Nexo’s Sofia office over alleged sanctions and AML violations, with no official Nexo statement.

Take ether.fi if you want the highest cashback on the list and you live in a listed jurisdiction. It pays 3% up to a monthly cap, then steps down, and the EUR purchase ladder uses lower rates. Its list of jurisdictions is the most explicit of the four, and it says outright that if your jurisdiction is not listed you cannot apply. Belgium and Ireland are eligible without physical delivery. ATM withdrawals are blocked in North Korea, Iran and Myanmar.

Take Exa if you are in one of its 45 countries or 31 US states and want installments rather than straightforward spending. It is marketed free with no amounts on the page, is a Visa Signature card accepted at over 150 million merchants, and has no stated cashback. It also draws the clearest lines about who is excluded: 18 ineligible countries including Belarus, China, India, Iran, Israel, Turkey, Ukraine, Vietnam and Russia, with Russian residents unable to be issued a card, and spending blocked in Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela.

What none of these cards does is give you cash. Xplace states outright that cash advances and balance transfers are not available under its card terms, and the ATM fee is not stated. If a cash machine is part of your week, weigh that above every other line in this review.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Xplace to someone who already holds stablecoins on Solana and wants to spend them at ordinary shops — the person who wants Apple Pay, a normal Visa acceptance footprint, and a balance they control rather than one a company holds. The card says it does not hold your funds and cannot freeze, seize or move them, and for someone whose problem with ordinary banking is precisely that an institution can do those things, that is the feature that matters most. The free Basic tier with a $2,000 monthly limit is a sensible way to test it.

I would not recommend it to someone who needs an ATM, who wants to travel and be treated as a local customer, or who is uneasy with a support line that reviewers describe as slow. I would also hold back anyone planning to spend in Credit mode until they have read the terms on liquidation, because an unstated cost there is worse than an unstated fee. And anyone in one of the 34 countries on the unofficial unavailable list should not spend time on this.

Frequently asked questions

What is Xplace card?

Xplace is a Visa card that spends a stablecoin balance you hold in your own wallet. The company is Pontech Group L.L.C-FZ in Dubai, and the plastic is issued by Third National under a programme managed by Signify Holdings. There are four tiers, from a free Basic card to Platinum at $999 a year, and both a virtual card that activates instantly and a physical card.

Is Xplace a bank?

No, and the site says so. Xplace states it is not a bank, licensed lender or investment firm. It is a card programme manager and front-end on top of an issuer, which is a normal structure for this category but means the entity you deal with is not the entity that issued the card.

Who can get an Xplace card?

The card publishes no country list, saying only that services are not available in all jurisdictions. Unofficial sources list 162 countries as available and 34 as unavailable, including Russia and India. Unlisted countries are a grey area rather than an automatic yes, so ask support in writing.

How do I apply for the Xplace card?

Registration and verification take minutes, and the virtual card activates immediately after sign-up. Which documents are required, whether proof of address is needed, the minimum age, and the reasons a verification might be refused are all not stated on the public pages.

Does Xplace card require KYC?

Identity verification is required, since no regulated provider issues cards without it. Beyond that, the card publishes no detail: no tier structure, no document list, no processing times, no rejection reasons. That silence is worth weighing before you upload anything.

How much does an Xplace card cost?

Basic is free, Silver is $99 a year, Gold $249 and Platinum $999, and borrowing carries no origination fee. The card terms show 0% Foreign Exchange, Cross Border and Foreign Transaction fees, but the crypto conversion fee, ATM fee and card replacement fee are all not stated.

What are the limits on the Xplace card?

Monthly limits are $2,000 on Basic, $20,000 on Silver, $200,000 on Gold and $750,000 on Platinum. Your spending limit is generally set by Pontech Group, and the issuer may apply additional limits that can change at any time. Unofficial per-transaction limits are $3,000, $10,000 and $25,000 for Silver, Gold and Platinum.

How do I top up the Xplace card?

You deposit crypto to your own wallet — BTC as cbBTC, ETH as wETH, SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT or xStocks — on the Solana network. Deposit fees, minimum top-ups and fiat top-up options are not stated. Sending on the wrong network can lose the funds, so check the network before you send.

Can I use the Xplace card in my country?

Where the card works and where you can open an account are two different questions. Visa acceptance runs to 160+ countries, but eligibility follows the issuer’s and programme manager’s rules. Unofficially, 162 countries are listed as available and 34 as unavailable, so check your own country with support before relying on it.

Is Xplace card safe?

The card says it does not hold your funds and cannot freeze, seize or move them. But two-factor authentication, in-app freeze, spending controls and insurance are not stated, and Trustpilot reviews mention hidden fees, slow support, a card not matching its description and rejected transfers. Judge it as a crypto product with real counterparty risk.

Content created by the «cryptocardchooser.com» team