The free first card is real, the physical card is not
I have read Onboard’s own pages — the card pages, the help centre articles, the fees page — and then went looking for what other people say, and for what the card does not say. This review is for you if you have been turned down by an ordinary bank, or you live somewhere a local card does not work abroad, or you simply want a card that spends a crypto balance without asking questions you would rather not be asked. It is also for you if you want a metal card in your hand, because Onboard does not have one, and no amount of reading will change that.

The short version: Onboard is a virtual card only. The first one is free, spending US dollars costs nothing, spending anything else costs 0.30 dollars plus 1.5 per cent, and loading the card costs 1.25 per cent. It works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, so on a phone it behaves like any other card at the till. But there is no plastic, no ATM has been documented, the bank that stands behind the card is not named, and Trustpilot shows 2.6 out of 5 from four reviews. My overall mark is 6.5 / 10.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
The verdict: 6.5 out of 10, and where the marks come from
Onboard scores 6.5 out of 10. That is not a “stay away” score and it is not a recommendation either. It is the score of a service that does one thing clearly and cheaply — turning a stablecoin balance into everyday spending — and does not pretend to be more than that.
Who it suits: professionals paying across borders who want a card that costs nothing to hold and nothing to spend in US dollars, who already hold crypto and are comfortable with a stablecoin balance rather than a bank account. Who it does not suit: anyone who wants a physical card in their wallet, anyone who needs cash from an ATM, anyone who plans to lean heavily on the rewards, and anyone who wants a named, familiar bank on the other end of the transaction.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | Verification is closed in a listed set of countries including the United States; the rest of the world is open, though in Turkey, Israel, India and a handful of others only the Classic card |
| Cost | 6 / 10 | First Flex card free, then 2 dollars; USD payments free, other currencies 0.30 dollars + 1.5 %; top-up 1.25 % |
| Top-up options | 8 / 10 | USDT and USDC on a chosen network, Tron and Ethereum named, plus bank transfer in NGN, IDR, KES; there is also an article on BTC and SOL |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | A platform, not a bank: partners Gopay Financial Services (FINTRAC) and Onboard Digital (FinCEN); issuing bank not named; Trustpilot 2.6 out of 5 from four reviews |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual Visa only, Apple Pay and Google Pay available; no ATM disclosed, no physical card |
| Total | 6.5 / 10 | — |
The pattern in that table is worth noticing: Onboard scores highest where it is a payments company and lowest where a bank would be expected. Access is broad, funding is flexible and cheap in percentage terms. But the card is thin — one virtual card, no cash, no physical plastic — and the entity on the other side of your money is a set of licence-holding partners rather than a bank with a name.
Will they give you the card?
They will, in most countries — and this is where Onboard is more generous than many of its competitors. But there are three separate gates, and it helps to know which one is closed to you before you install the app.
The first gate is the widest. Verification is available nearly everywhere, with a published exclusion list. Onboard’s own page states that verification — which means any Onboard feature, cards included — is not available in: Afghanistan, Algeria, Belarus, Burundi, Central African Republic, China, Comoros, Congo (DR), Congo (Republic), Cuba, Gambia, Iran, Iraq, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Maldives, Myanmar, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Sao Tome and Principe, Serbia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Suriname, Svalbard and Jan Mayen, Syria, Tajikistan, Togo, Tokelau, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United States, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Wallis and Futuna, Yemen and Zimbabwe. Yes, the United States is on that list — which will surprise anyone who assumes a crypto card is a US product. It is not.
The second gate is narrower but more annoying: in Cyprus, India, Israel, Montenegro, Nepal, North Macedonia, Palestine, Turkey and Vietnam you can sign up, but you get the Classic card only. No Flex. If you are in Istanbul and you have read a review that praised the free first Flex card, that review is not about your country.
The third gate is the one people forget. Georgia, Armenia, Kazakhstan and the UAE appear on neither list. They are not on the exclusion list and they are not on the Classic-only list, which means Onboard simply has not said where they stand. If you are in Tbilisi, Yerevan, Almaty or Dubai, treat this card as untested and ask support before you send money to it.
Who the card is for, in Onboard’s own words: “built for professionals who spend across borders” and “spend globally”. That is the pitch, and it is narrow on purpose. The card’s public pages do not state an age requirement, a list of accepted documents by country, or a list of reasons a verification can be rejected.
How to get it
Three steps, and the whole thing is meant to be quick.
Download the app. Verify your account. Create a virtual Flex Card. Onboard’s promise is “verify your account in minutes — free and instant”.
Verification is prompted when you first fund, withdraw, trade or create a card — it is not a separate wall you hit at signup. What it involves, in order: a phone number confirmed by an SMS or WhatsApp code, your address, a photo of a passport, national ID card or driver’s licence, and a live selfie. Which documents count depends on the country you pick during signup. Onboard says this “usually finishes within seconds”, though some cases go to manual review and take longer. The pages I read do not state the age requirement, do not publish separate verification tiers, and do not list rejection reasons — though a help article on identity verification exists that I did not read, so treat this as a gap in what is publicly documented rather than proof that nothing is written down.
There is no delivery step, because there is nothing to deliver. Onboard issues virtual cards only; the help centre calls them “virtual Visa cards”, and the card currency is the US dollar.
What it really costs: Fees, in detail
Onboard’s fee structure is the most attractive part of this card, and it is worth understanding in two parts: what the card charges, and what the blockchain charges. They are different companies, and both hit you.

| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| First card | Free |
| Subsequent cards | $2 creation fee each |
| Monthly or annual fee | Not stated |
| Flex card payment in USD | Free |
| Flex card payment in another currency, or cross-border USD | $0.30 + 1.5% |
| Classic card payment in another currency, or cross-border | $0.50 + 2.5% |
| Flex decline charge | None |
| Classic decline charge | $0.32 international / $0.02 domestic |
| Funding with Flex | 1.25% |
| Funding with Classic | 1.5% |
| Network base fee | $1.25 on Tron, $0.10 on Ethereum |
| Crypto conversion rate | Not stated |
| ATM fee | Not stated |
| Daily limit | $5,000 |
| Monthly limit | $20,000 |
| Higher limits | On request via support |
Three everyday payments, with the fees that actually apply:
- A $40 lunch in New York, paid in dollars. No fee. This is the case Onboard is built for, and it costs you nothing at the point of sale.
- A €30 dinner in Berlin, paid from a dollar card. $0.30 plus 1.5 per cent — so the fee is $0.30 and the percentage on $30. This is where the 0.30 matters less than the 1.5, and where the exchange rate your network applies sits on top.
- A $25 online subscription. No fee, but note that freezing the card does not cancel subscriptions. This is Onboard’s own warning, and it is a common way people get surprised: a freeze stops the card, not the merchant’s standing order.
Two things are missing from the table that you should not assume. Onboard does not publish the crypto conversion rate — its fees page mentions “fees for certain actions like funding, currency conversion” without giving amounts — and it does not state an ATM fee, because the card is virtual and there is no ATM article. On a virtual card, “ATM” means one more app-based step and a third-party operator, and none of that is described.
How to Top up: four routes, one percentage
Funding is where Onboard is strongest. The card page says “Fund from local currency or stablecoins”, and the help centre fills in the detail.

The funding fee is per transaction: 1.25 per cent on Flex, 1.5 per cent on Classic. The minimum is $1 and the maximum is $5,000 per transaction. Stablecoins are not credited one-for-one — the example given is about 1.0125 USDT per $1 on Flex — and some networks add a base fee on top: $1.25 on Tron, $0.10 on Ethereum, paid by you.
Your four options:
- USDT or USDC on a network of your choice. Tron and Ethereum are named. Arrival is quoted at about 5 minutes.
- Bank transfer in NGN, IDR or KES. The Nigerian naira, Indonesian rupee and Kenyan shilling.
- Move money inside Onboard. From your Cash balance, your Trading Wallet or another card. This is free of network cost because nothing leaves the app.
- BTC, SOL or other crypto. There is an article covering this; I did not read it, so treat the details as unconfirmed.
That internal Move option is the one people miss. It is how you get money off a card and back onto a card without paying a network fee, and it is the reason the “USD and EUR cannot be withdrawn directly from a card” restriction matters less than it sounds.
Paying with it every day
You add the virtual Visa to Apple Pay or Google Pay, and in a shop it behaves like any other contactless card — tap, done. That is the entire everyday story, and it is genuinely fine if your phone is your wallet.
What is limited:
- One card type in most countries. Two exist: Flex (first card free, then $2 each, USD payments free, funding 1.25 per cent) and Classic (funding 1.5 per cent, non-USD payments $0.50 plus 2.5 per cent, decline charges). Classic is the only option in Cyprus, India, Israel, Montenegro, Nepal, North Macedonia, Palestine, Turkey and Vietnam.
- Apple Pay and Google Pay only. No other mobile wallet is mentioned.
- No cashback. None is mentioned on the card pages. There is a referral programme called “Refer & earn”, but that is not a reward for spending.
- Categories are blocked, partly automatically and partly by rule. Automatically blocked: money transfer services, cryptocurrency platforms, securities brokers, dating services, massage parlors, telemarketing, government-licensed gambling, and financial services companies. Prohibited outright: unlicensed controlled substances, weapons, gambling, counterfeit goods, Ponzi schemes and pirated media. Read that first list carefully if you spend on anything that looks like a money transfer — it will decline.
Refunds work, slowly. A merchant’s refund returns to the same card and “can take up to 30 days to process after the merchant initiates it”. Past 30 days, you contact support with the transaction ID, merchant name and proof of payment. A refund that arrives after you close the card lands in your Cash Balance. How a chargeback works is not stated.
What can go wrong
This is the section where the 5/10 marks live.
You are dealing with a platform, not a bank. Onboard says so itself: “Onboard is a technology platform, not a bank”. The services come through licensed partners — Gopay Financial Services Inc. d/b/a Onboard Pay (Canada, FINTRAC MSB C100000565) and Onboard Digital (FinCEN MSB 31000293152346), a subsidiary of Nestcoin Holding Limited (BVI). The bank that issues your card is not named, and no BIN sponsor is published on the pages I read. If you want to know whose balance you are trusting until you tap, the honest answer is that Onboard does not say.
The complaint record is thin and bad. Trustpilot, read on 2026-10-20, shows onboard.xyz at a TrustScore of 2.6 from four reviews, all one-star, with an unclaimed profile. Four reviews is not a sample; it is a signal, not a verdict. The themes are: unpaid promotional or referral rewards (February 2026), generic support replies (August 2025 to May 2026), slow or difficult verification and restricted services (August 2025, May 2026), and unclear fees (February 2026). Official sources post no complaints and no dated licence or programme events that I could find. A search for user reports on the Flex card returned only unrelated brands.
Fee clarity is a stated problem by users. The 1.25 per cent top-up, the network base fee, and the undisclosed conversion rate add up in ways the app may not show you in one place. Ask for a worked example before you load a large amount.
Transfers are irreversible. If you send stablecoins to a network Onboard does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the money can be gone or need manual recovery with no guarantee. This is a property of blockchain transfers in general, not an Onboard flaw, but it lands on your deposit.
Freezing is not cancelling. You can freeze a card in the app (Cards, swipe to the card, more, Freeze), but pending transactions may still settle and subscriptions are not cancelled.
Regulation is still moving. Under the EU’s MiCA regime, providers operating under national law could continue only until 1 July 2026 or until a MiCA authorisation decision, whichever came first. I found no dated licence news for Onboard on its own pages. Check ESMA’s interim register if you want to see whether a provider you are considering is listed as authorised.
What to take instead
If Onboard’s shape does not fit, here is what the alternatives actually charge. All three also offer virtual cards; two also offer physical ones, which is the gap Onboard leaves.
| Onboard | Bitrefill | UPay | Kemy | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.5 / 10 | 6.8 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 | 6.0 / 10 |
| Card | Virtual Visa | Virtual and physical Visa | Virtual and physical, personal and business | Unlimited virtual (Visa), one physical Mastercard contactless |
| Cost | First free, then $2 | Card free through the app; inactivity fee after 12 months without spending or cash-out, amount not stated | Not stated | Virtual $15 issuance + $2/month; physical $250 issuance with DHL Express + $10/month |
| Payment fees | USD free; non-USD $0.30 + 1.5% | Deposit spread on crypto-to-euro conversion, percentage not stated; SEPA pay-in 1.99%; spread by payment processors/ATM operators | Not stated; conversion may occur during payment | Transaction fee 3.5% + $1; failed transaction $0.8 |
| Funding | 1.25% Flex, 1.5% Classic; NGN, IDR, KES bank transfer; USDT/USDC | Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, USDT, Solana, BASE, Polygon, Li.Finance, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Visa, MasterCard; SEPA transfer | BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC | USDT and USDC “on the main networks”, plus BTC, ETH, SOL; fiat via mobile money and virtual bank accounts |
| Cashback | None mentioned | 2% total, no cap: 1% on each crypto deposit and 1% on each purchase | None stated on the card page | Not mentioned |
| Where it is open | Verification closed in a long list including the US; Classic-only in nine countries | Country list not stated; eligibility “subject to eligibility criteria” | Residents of certain countries not served, list may change; support claimed in 180+ countries | 190+ countries, “a few restrictions apply” |
Reading across the row: Bitrefill is the one with a real reward, 2 per cent with no cap, and it is the closest on score. Kemy is the expensive one — 3.5 per cent plus $1 per transaction on the virtual card — but it has a physical Mastercard and does not charge for declined payments on physical cards beyond the $0.80 listed. UPay sits closest to Onboard in shape, with virtual and physical options and support claimed in 180-plus countries, but it states no costs and no fees, which for a cardholder is its own problem.
One caution on all four: none of these cards changes the fundamental shape. Your balance is a prepaid balance, so it cannot overdraw, and the entity holding it is a licensed partner rather than your bank.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Onboard to someone in this position: you are outside the United States and outside the excluded list, you hold USDT or USDC already, you spend in dollars or travel in dollars, and you want a card in your phone within minutes without a plastic replacement waiting three weeks in the post. If your country is in the Classic-only nine, know that you are signing up for the more expensive card and its decline charges.
I would not recommend it to someone who needs cash, needs a physical card, or is choosing a card to collect rewards. I would also be cautious about parking a large balance in it, on the strength of four one-star reviews and an unnamed issuing bank.
Before you sign up, check three things yourself: whether your country appears on either list, what a top-up plus a non-dollar payment costs end to end, and what happens to your balance if the card is frozen. Ask support for the conversion rate, which is the number their pages do not publish.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Onboard card?
Onboard is a virtual Visa card you hold inside an app, built for people who “spend globally” and who the company describes as “professionals who spend across borders”. You load it from stablecoins or local currency and it spends like an ordinary card through Apple Pay or Google Pay. Onboard describes itself as a technology platform, not a bank, with services delivered through licensed partners.
Is Onboard a bank, and who owns it?
No — Onboard says so itself: “Onboard is a technology platform, not a bank”. Services run through Gopay Financial Services Inc. d/b/a Onboard Pay in Canada (FINTRAC MSB C100000565) and Onboard Digital (FinCEN MSB 31000293152346), a subsidiary of Nestcoin Holding Limited in the BVI. The bank that issues the card itself is not named on the public pages.
Which countries can use Onboard?
Verification is closed in a long list that includes the United States, the UK-adjacent Serbia, Russia, Belarus, Ukraine and China. In Cyprus, India, Israel, Montenegro, Nepal, North Macedonia, Palestine, Turkey and Vietnam you get only the Classic card, not the Flex card. Georgia, Armenia, Kazakhstan and the UAE are on neither list, so ask support before funding anything.
Does Onboard require identity verification?
Yes, and it is triggered when you fund, withdraw, trade or create a card rather than at signup. You need a phone number confirmed by SMS or WhatsApp code, your address, a passport, national ID card or driver’s licence, and a live selfie. Onboard says it “usually finishes within seconds”, with some cases going to manual review.
How much does it cost to use the Onboard card?
Your first Flex card is free and each later one costs $2. Flex payments in US dollars are free; payments in another currency, or cross-border dollar payments, cost $0.30 plus 1.5 per cent. Classic is dearer: $0.50 plus 2.5 per cent, with decline charges of $0.32 international and $0.02 domestic. Funding costs 1.25 per cent on Flex, 1.5 per cent on Classic.
Can I get cash from an ATM with an Onboard card?
You cannot, in the ordinary way: Onboard issues virtual cards only, with no physical card and no ATM service described on its pages, and no ATM fee is stated. The realistic way to reach cash is to move the money to your Cash balance and take it out through a supported route. If cash is essential to how you live, this is not your card.
How do I top up the Onboard card?
Four ways: USDT or USDC on a network you choose, with Tron and Ethereum named and 5 minutes to arrive; bank transfer in Nigerian naira, Indonesian rupee or Kenyan shilling; an internal Move from your Cash balance, Trading Wallet or another card; or BTC and SOL, which an article covers. Per-transaction funding runs from $1 to $5,000, and network base fees of $1.25 on Tron and $0.10 on Ethereum come on top.
Is there cashback or a reward on the Onboard card?
No cashback is mentioned on the card pages. Onboard has a referral programme called “Refer & earn”, and one of the four Trustpilot reviews complains about unpaid promotional or referral rewards from February 2026. If rewards matter to your choice, that is a thin basis — and Bitrefill’s stated 2 per cent cashback with no cap is the concrete alternative.
Is the Onboard card safe to use?
Take ordinary precautions and know where you stand. Onboard recommends passkeys for login and withdrawal authorisation, supports a 6-digit passcode, Face ID or Touch ID, and one-time codes for sensitive actions, and lets you freeze the card in the app — though freezing does not cancel subscriptions and pending transactions may still settle. Custody arrangements and insurance are not stated, and blockchain transfers cannot be reversed.
Is Onboard worth it?
For someone already holding USDT or USDC who spends in dollars and wants a card in their phone today, yes — the first card is free and dollar spending costs nothing. For a physical card, an ATM, cashback or a named bank behind the balance, no. My mark is 6.5 out of 10, and the free first card is the best of it.
Virtual cards – cryptocardchooser.com
Content created by the «cryptocardchooser.com» team
