The Nexo card, tested against its fee schedule and its fine print

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

The Nexo card is a solid everyday payment option if you already keep a large balance of crypto on the Nexo platform and want to spend it like ordinary money without touching an exchange rate page every time you buy coffee. It scores 6.3 out of 10 in my assessment — a card that does its core job well but carries the weight of a complicated regulatory situation and a physical card most people cannot get. The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Nexo works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Here is what I found when I went through Nexo’s own card pages, the fee schedule, the loyalty tiers and the complaints people actually leave — plus the surrounding questions about regulation, custody and stablecoins that anyone using a crypto card should understand before they hand over their documents.

The verdict

Nexo gets a 6.3/10. It works, it is cheap in the ways that matter, and for someone holding a substantial crypto balance who wants cashback on everyday spending, it does the job. It is not a 8 or a 9 because the physical card is behind a high balance threshold, because the regulatory status of the platform changed recently in ways that are still clarifying, and because there is a pattern of complaints about withdrawals and account closures that deserves more than a footnote. Let me show you the breakdown so you can decide for yourself.

Here is how I scored the card across its six criteria:

Criterion Mark Reason
Who can get it 5 / 10 The card page names “selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom” but publishes no list; unofficial sources suggest 30 countries with restrictions in Bulgaria, Estonia and the US. A raiding in Bulgaria and an ongoing MiCA transition add uncertainty.
Cost 7 / 10 No monthly or annual fee, free issuance, FX at 0.2% on weekdays in the EEA/UK and 2% elsewhere; an unofficial 0.75% crypto swap fee on top of FX, 2% above the ATM allowance, and a plastic card that requires Gold tier and $5,000 balance.
Top-up options 7 / 10 Spends from your Nexo account balance, more than 100 digital assets, stablecoins and FiatX tokens in Debit Mode; networks are not disclosed.
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Issuer named as DiPocket UAB (Bank of Lithuania); Trustpilot 4.4 but complaints include withdrawal delays, closed accounts, a raid in Bulgaria, the MiCA partner transition and confusion over plastic card ordering; no unofficial cardholder insurance.
Everyday use 8 / 10 Virtual and physical, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM access; the physical card is gated behind Gold tier and $5,000.
Audience fit Europeans holding large crypto balances who want cashback This is who the card serves best. Anyone wanting a bank replacement, anonymity, or a card that works without a big crypto balance should look elsewhere.
Total 6.3 / 10 Solid if you fit the profile, uncertain if you do not.

Who the card suits: you live in a covered European country, you already hold more than $5,000 in digital assets on Nexo, you are comfortable with a custodial platform holding your coins, and you want predictable small fees plus a cashback stream in NEXO tokens or Bitcoin. For that person, the card is a reasonable daily tool.

Who it does not suit: you need a physical card today, you are below the balance threshold, you want a non-custodial setup where your keys stay with you, or you are in a country where Nexo is restricted or unlicensed. It is also a poor fit if you want to avoid regulatory drift — the platform’s licensing picture is still moving.

Will they give you the card?

Nexo says the card is for residents and citizens of “selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom,” and it does not publish a country list on the card page. Excluded jurisdictions are referred to only as “not available in certain jurisdictions.” The wording matters here: the page says both residents and citizens, so your address and your passport nationality both get looked at. For a fuller picture, note that unofficial sources (third-party card databases, not Nexo itself) list roughly 30 countries where the card is available — Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom — with restrictions flagged in Bulgaria, Estonia and the United States. Treat that list as unofficial and unconfirmed by the card; the only thing Nexo publishes is the phrase “selected European countries.”

One more thing to weigh: in 2025 Cointelegraph reported a police raid on Nexo’s Sofia office over alleged Russia-sanctions and AML violations. Nexo did not officially state that Russians were found. It is news, not an official card term, but it is part of the picture if you are deciding how much regulatory weight to give this platform.

How to get it

You will need to clear Identity Verification with a supported ID document issued in the EEA, the United Kingdom or another eligible European country. That is the only KYC level the card page describes — tiers, processing times and specific rejection reasons are not published there. Proof of address is not stated as a separate requirement, and neither is a minimum age; both of those are simply not said on the public pages. What that means in practice is that whether you need an extra address document, and whether there is an age floor above the usual 18, depends on rules Nexo applies case by case, so treat the official signup flow as the source of truth rather than this summary.

The card itself comes in virtual and physical form. The virtual card activates in the app. The page carries a Mastercard trademark notice, though the network is not stated explicitly in the card text (third-party sources list it as Mastercard). The issuing institution named on the page is DiPocket UAB. Card currency is not stated outright; the fee tables quote allowances in EUR and GBP, which hints at the currencies in play but does not confirm a single card currency.

For the physical card: you order it in the app under the Card tab (“Order Nexo Card”), at no additional cost. Standard delivery runs up to four weeks and it may arrive at your local Post Office. Once it arrives you activate it in the app. The country list for physical delivery and the replacement-card cost are not stated on the page, and availability itself has been disputed in recent news — I will come back to that in the risks section.

Fees and what a payment really costs

This is where the Nexo card is genuinely appealing, and also where the fine print bites. There is no monthly, annual or inactivity fee, and issuance is free. The virtual card needs at least $50 in the account to activate. The physical card ships free but requires a balance above $5,000 in digital assets and at least the Gold loyalty tier — that is a real gate, not a formality, and it is why the “everyday use” score is 8 while “cost” is 7.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Nexo payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Here are the actual numbers as Nexo publishes them:

Fee or limit Value
Issuance Free (virtual and physical; physical needs Gold tier and >$5,000)
Monthly / annual / inactivity fee None
FX fee (EEA/UK/CH) 0.2% weekday, 0.7% weekend
FX fee (rest of world) 2% weekday, 2.5% weekend
Crypto-to-fiat swap (Debit Mode) Not stated officially; unofficial 0.75%, can stack with FX
ATM above free allowance 2%, minimum 1.99 EUR/GBP per withdrawal
Free ATM allowance — Base EUR 200 / GBP 180 per month
Free ATM allowance — Silver EUR 400 / GBP 360 per month
Free ATM allowance — Gold EUR 1,000 / GBP 900 per month
Free ATM allowance — Platinum EUR 2,000 / GBP 1,800 per month
Daily / monthly spend limits Not stated; only “higher limits” for clients with $100,000 in assets (unofficial: EUR 10,000/day and EUR 60,000/month)

Now let me walk three everyday payments through this, because the fee only tells you half the story.

Buying coffee in your home country. If your card currency matches the currency you are spending in, you pay no FX fee at all. The merchant receives fiat. This is the cleanest case: no conversion, no swap, just the base price. Your only exposure is whatever the coffee costs.

Paying for something in a foreign currency on a weekday. Say you are in the EEA or UK and you spend in dollars. You pay the 0.2% foreign-transaction fee, and if the purchase is funded from a stablecoin or crypto in Debit Mode, the unofficial 0.75% crypto-to-fiat swap can apply on top. On a weekend the FX fee rises to 0.7%, and if you are outside the EEA/UK/CH it is 2% on a weekday and 2.5% on a weekend. So a foreign purchase from crypto can realistically cost you around 1% on a weekday (0.2% + 0.75%) — small, but not nothing, and more on a weekend.

Taking cash out of an ATM. Here the tier matters most. At the Base tier you get EUR 200 / GBP 180 of free withdrawals a month. Take EUR 250 and you pay 2% on the EUR 50 above your allowance, with a floor of 1.99 EUR or GBP per withdrawal that goes over. So a EUR 250 withdrawal at Base costs you 2% of EUR 50 (EUR 1) plus the 1.99 minimum — roughly EUR 2.99 in fees. At Gold you would have EUR 1,000 free and pay nothing on that same withdrawal. This is the clearest reason to hold at least Gold if you use ATMs at all.

One more thing about currency: you choose the card currency when you activate the virtual card, and it cannot be changed on the physical-card order screen — if you pick wrong, Nexo says to contact them. The card page itself does not name a single card currency, so pick deliberately.

How to Top up

There is no separate “top up the card” step, and that is worth understanding clearly. The Nexo card spends directly from your Nexo account balance. Whatever is sitting in that account is what funds the card. So the question “how do I top it up the card” really becomes “how do I get funds into my Nexo account.”

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Nexo starts with a transfer to the right network

The card supports spending from over 100 digital assets. In Debit Mode it draws on stablecoins, crypto and FiatX tokens such as EURx, USDx and GBPx. Deposit fees, minimum top-up amounts, and the fiat top-up options and their fees are not stated on the card page. Networks are also not stated. That last point is the one that bites people hardest in this category: transfers on the wrong network can be lost, because blockchain sends are irreversible. If you are moving stablecoins in, match the network the platform expects for that asset.

Cashback is paid in NEXO tokens or Bitcoin, and you can change which one you receive. That is a nice touch but it means your reward is a crypto asset, not cash — its value moves with the market.

Paying with it every day

The everyday mechanics are straightforward and this is the card’s strongest dimension. Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported, so you can add the virtual card to your phone wallet and use it at terminals with a tap. ATM withdrawals work. You are not signing a form or scanning a QR code at the till — it behaves like a normal payment card.

Cashback is the reward on offer, but it is narrower than it first looks. Cashback only applies to purchases made in Credit Mode — that is, borrowing against your holdings rather than spending your own balance. To earn any cashback your account must hold more than $5,000 in digital assets. The rate depends on your loyalty tier, which itself depends on what share of your portfolio is in NEXO tokens:

So a Base-tier user paying with their own balance in Debit Mode earns nothing. A Gold-tier user paying in Credit Mode earns 1% back in NEXO tokens. The rates “may change and vary by region,” per Nexo, so treat them as current rather than permanent. This credit-mode dependency is something people often miss: the cashback that draws people to the card only exists when you are borrowing, not when you are spending your own funds.

The mobile app is solid. It covers iPhone, iPad, iPod touch and Apple Vision, sits at a 4.2 out of 5 on the App Store across “2K” ratings (as I read them), and is available in 18 languages including Russian, Ukrainian, Kazakh and Uzbek. Google Play I did not read. Whether gambling or other restricted merchant categories are blocked on the card is not stated. How chargebacks and disputes are handled is also not stated — that is a real gap if you ever need one, so factor it in.

What can go wrong

This is where the 5/10 reliability score comes from, and it is the part I would read most carefully before depositing anything.

The card is issued by DiPocket UAB, which is authorised by the Bank of Lithuania — that is the piece of this that is clean and official. But Nexo’s own corporate and licensing picture is unsettled. Nexo said in a June 2026 post that it had set up a MiCA-compliant structure under German oversight with products unchanged, though that came via social media and is not a regulator record. The MiCA transitional period ended on 1 July 2026. Independent ESMA-register checks in August and September 2026 found no entity named Nexo among authorised CASPs. Instead, custody and trading in the EEA run through partners — Tangany for custody and DLT Finance for trading — and a Bulgarian FSC application was reportedly filed in February 2026 and still pending. After the MiCA transition, Nexo moved custody and trading to licensed partners, while borrowing and Credit Mode sit outside the partner licences. There have also been conflicting public statements about whether physical cards can be ordered at all. What this all adds up to: the card works, but it works on top of a platform whose exact regulatory footing is in flux, and the MiCA picture is genuinely unresolved rather than merely untidy.

Then there are the user experiences. Trustpilot shows a TrustScore of 4.4 out of 5 across 18,805 reviews, as I read them on 2026-10-20 — a strong headline number. The recurring themes underneath it are more useful to you than the average: high fees on small transactions and frustration with the $5,000 minimum balance (including a grace period when you fall below it), delayed withdrawals and locked or closed accounts, deposits slow to appear, support described as unhelpful by some on technical problems and praised for speed by others, a third-party “Earn Provider” custody objection, and regional restrictions on bank funding and card access. The pattern I take from this is that the friction concentrates around edges — falling below the balance threshold, funding from some banks, technical problems — not around ordinary spending.

Two more practical cautions. The card is custodial, which means Nexo holds the credentials to your funds and you are trusting them completely; a third-party source notes no cardholder insurance is included, and two-factor authentication details are not stated on the card page. And because crypto transfers are irreversible, sending funds on an unsupported network or to the wrong address can mean they are gone, with no built-in recovery. None of this is unique to Nexo — it is the structural risk of custodial crypto cards — but it belongs in your decision.

What to take instead

If Nexo does not fit your situation, these are the alternatives I would weigh, with their own tradeoffs.

Xplace (7.7/10). Visa card with instant virtual and a physical card on the Silver tier (Gold and Platinum coming; delivery 7–14 business days). Annual fee is free at Basic, then $99 Silver, $249 Gold, $999 Platinum — so it costs you money where Nexo does not. Its strengths: “0% FX on Platinum,” “no hidden spread” on stablecoin spending, and Credit-mode cashback of 0.5% to 2% by tier paid in USDC. It is more expensive to hold but richer on rewards for Platinum users. The country list is not stated and services are “not available in all jurisdictions.”

ether.fi (6.7/10). Visa, virtual and physical, with a very generous cashback ladder paid in ETHFI (locked seven days): Core 3% up to $2,000 a month then stepping down, Luxe 3% up to $10,000, Pinnacle 3% up to $50,000. Its FX fee is tier-based on top of base rate (Core 0.5%, Luxe 0.25%, Pinnacle and VIP none; EUR purchases at 0%). The first virtual card is normally free, though $10 in regional-pricing countries. Its limits: it is issued only in listed jurisdictions and “if your jurisdiction is not listed, you will not be able to apply,” and ATM withdrawals are blocked in North Korea, Iran and Myanmar.

Exa (6.2/10). Visa Signature virtual card issued in 45 countries and 31 US states, accepted at 150+ million merchants, marketed as free. It spends via Pay Now or installments against collateral. Its differentiators are different: no cashback model (the “earn” refers to yield on assets, not spending), a help center full of perks like Airalo eSIM discounts, and a US activation reward. Rule is by residence, and it explicitly blocks spending in Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela.

Comparing them side by side on the things that decide it for most people:

Nexo Xplace ether.fi Exa
Score 6.3/10 7.7/10 6.7/10 6.2/10
Network Mastercard (unofficial) Visa Visa Visa
Holding cost Free Free to $999/yr by tier Free virtual card (first) Free (marketed)
Cashback Credit Mode only, >$5k balance, 0.5–2% Credit mode 0.5–2% in USDC 3% in ETHFI, tiered caps None (spending)
Physical card Gold tier + $5,000 Silver tier Available Help article; unclear
Best for Large crypto balance, cashback Platinum rewards, 0% FX High cashback in listed countries Broad country reach

No one of these is universally right. Xplace is the strongest all-rounder by score. ether.fi wins if cashback rate is your priority and you are in a listed country. Exa wins on reach. Nexo wins if you want free, no-minimum-fee spending from a balance you already hold.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the Nexo card to someone in a covered European country who already keeps more than $5,000 in digital assets on Nexo, is comfortable with a custodial platform, and wants to turn that balance into everyday spending with modest fees and a cashback stream paid in crypto. For that person it is a genuinely good tool, and the free issuance with no monthly fee is hard to argue with.

I would not recommend it to you if any of these are true: you need a physical card now (it is behind a Gold-tier and $5,000 gate, and availability is disputed); you want to spend without already holding a large crypto balance; you prefer self-custody and want your keys in your own wallet; or you are outside the covered countries and relying on an unofficial list. I would also hesitate if dependable, uncontroversial withdrawals are non-negotiable for you, because that is the loudest thread in the complaints and the regulatory picture is still settling.

My honest summary: this is a good card wrapped in a complicated company. Judge the card on its fee schedule, which is fair and transparent, and judge the platform on its licensing and complaints, which are still in motion. If both pass your test, it will serve you well.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Nexo card?

The Nexo card is a payment card that spends directly from your Nexo account balance. It exists as a virtual card that activates in the app and a physical card you can order. Rather than drawing from a bank account, it converts your stablecoins, crypto or FiatX tokens to pay merchants, so it behaves much like a prepaid card funded by crypto.

How does the Nexo card work?

You fund your Nexo account, and the card spends from that balance. In Debit Mode it converts your crypto or stablecoins to fiat at the moment of payment; in Credit Mode it borrows against your holdings and that is the mode where cashback applies. The card is issued by DiPocket UAB and works at contactless terminals, ATMs and in Apple Pay and Google Pay.

Is Nexo a bank?

Not exactly. The card itself is issued by DiPocket UAB, which is authorised by the Bank of Lithuania, but that licence covers the card programme, not your Nexo account. Nexo as a platform is a crypto company whose EU regulatory structure shifted to licensed partners (Tangany for custody, DLT Finance for trading) around the 2026 MiCA transition, so your funds sit with a custodial crypto platform rather than a bank.

Do I need KYC to get the Nexo card?

Yes. Nexo requires Identity Verification with a supported ID document issued in the EEA, the UK or another eligible European country. This falls under standard anti-money-laundering rules, which also screen your name, address, date of birth and nationality and check you against sanctions lists. Proof of address and a minimum age are not stated on the public card pages.

Is the Nexo card free?

There is no monthly, annual or inactivity fee, and the virtual card is free to issue once you have at least $50 in the account. The physical card ships free too but requires the Gold loyalty tier and a balance above $5,000 in digital assets. Spending abroad is not free: FX costs 0.2% on weekdays in the EEA/UK/CH and 2% elsewhere, and cash from ATMs above your tier’s free allowance costs 2%.

How do I top up the Nexo card?

You do not top up the card separately — it spends straight from your Nexo account. You fund the account instead, using more than 100 supported digital assets. Deposit fees, minimum amounts and fiat top-up options are not stated on the card page, and the required networks are not disclosed, so match the network the platform expects for the asset you send or the transfer can be lost.

How do I activate the Nexo card and add it to Apple Wallet?

Activate the virtual card in the app first; that is where you also choose your card currency, which cannot be changed later on the physical-card order screen. Once active, both Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, so you can add the card to your phone wallet and pay by tap. The physical card, if you qualify for it, is activated in the app after it arrives, with delivery taking up to four weeks.

Is the Nexo card safe and are my funds insured?

Treat it as custodial: Nexo holds the credentials to your funds, so you are trusting the platform completely. The card page promises instant freeze, security spending controls, biometric locks and “industrial-grade custody,” but it does not detail two-factor authentication or insurance, and third-party sources note no cardholder insurance is included. Because crypto transfers are irreversible, a deposit on the wrong network or to the wrong address generally cannot be recovered.

Can I use the Nexo card in my country?

It depends on where you are. Nexo states the card is for residents and citizens of “selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom” but publishes no list, so the authoritative answer is whatever the signup flow shows you. Unofficial third-party databases suggest availability in about 30 countries with restrictions in Bulgaria, Estonia and the United States — treat that as unconfirmed and check with Nexo directly for your country.

Is the Nexo card worth it?

For someone already holding more than $5,000 in crypto on Nexo and comfortable with credit-mode borrowing, the low fees and tier-based cashback (up to 2% in NEXO tokens at Platinum) make it worthwhile. For someone spending mainly their own balance below the Gold tier, the value is thinner — cashback is a Credit Mode feature — and the custodial and regulatory questions may outweigh the savings. It is a good tool for its core user and a poor fit for everyone else.

Content created by the «cryptocardchooser.com» team