A crypto wallet card with regional cards, thin fees pages and unclear backing
Volet is not really a bank card in the way your everyday bank card is one. It is a prepaid payment card that spends money you have already loaded into a crypto wallet’s fiat balance, and the card comes in regional versions — a digital Mastercard, a plastic Mastercard for Asia-Pacific, and Visa or Mastercard cards for Europe. That design is the whole appeal and the whole drawback: the card can be got in a lot of places where an ordinary bank card is hard to get, but almost every euro or dollar you spend has passed through a conversion step that the public pages do not price clearly.

The score is 6.0 / 10. That is not a bad card. It is a card with a genuinely wide reach and no monthly fee, sitting inside an e-wallet whose corporate structure is hard to read from the outside.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
The score, and who this suits
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | Service in 180+ countries; Global digital Mastercard in 150+ countries, regional cards for Asia-Pacific and Europe |
| Cost | 4 / 10 | Issuance: Digital global $5, Asia-Pacific plastic $5, Europe Virtual 1 USD/EUR; e-wallet top-up 2.5% + $1 on Digital global, 1% + 1 USD/EUR in Europe; wallet-card top-up 3.5% |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | The card loads only from the fiat Volet wallet; USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH and others are deposited and converted to USD or EUR; networks not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Issuer and legal entity not named, agreements per region; Trustpilot 4.1 out of 5 from 965 reviews, complaints about high fees, verification limits, cards not sent |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Digital and plastic Mastercard and Visa cards, Apple Pay and Google Pay on some cards; ATM not officially disclosed |
Total: 6.0 / 10.
Who this suits, in plain terms: someone who already holds crypto and wants to spend it at ordinary shops without opening a bank account, and who accepts that the rate of return on that convenience is the fees in the table above. The regional card structure is the strongest single argument for Volet — if you are in Europe, you can hold a euro balance on a Visa or Mastercard rather than converting dollars twice; if you are in Asia-Pacific, you get a physical Mastercard.
Who it does not suit: anyone who needs a normal credit line, a bill-payment history their landlord will accept, or a card they can be confident is issued by a named, licensed institution. If you want to be able to read the name of the entity that owes you the money on your statement, this is not that card.
Will they give you the card
Yes, in a large part of the world — and the answer is region-dependent rather than country-dependent, which is worth understanding before you spend an afternoon filling in forms.
The service itself runs in “180+ countries”. The card availability is narrower and split into three families:
- Global digital Mastercard — available in 150+ countries, USD only, digital, no plastic.
- Asia-Pacific plastic Mastercard — for Australia, Cambodia, Japan, Malaysia, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand and Vietnam.
- Europe cards — Visa and Mastercard, virtual and plastic, for the EU plus Switzerland and Norway, and Visa cards also for Turkey and Israel.
One thing the page does not settle: residence versus citizenship. The published wording speaks of “region” and lists places, not a rule about which passport you must hold. If that distinction matters to you — it does matter if you live in one country and hold citizenship in another — you should assume nothing and ask support directly.
Unofficial information from third-party sites, not confirmed by Volet: 29 countries are described as restricted, including the US, UK, Puerto Rico, Cuba, Iran, Syria and North Korea, with 51 countries described as available. Treat that list as a starting point for your own check, not as the official rule.
How to get it
The flow is short. The part that surprises people is that you do not necessarily need to verify your identity at all to begin.
- Basic functions need no KYC. You can use the wallet’s basic functions without verification.
- Full verification is what unlocks the cards, all card features and higher limits. Volet says it usually takes only a few minutes.
- Verification is also required for fiat methods without limits and for full withdrawals.
What the official pages do not say: which documents, whether proof of address is needed, what age threshold applies, what the tiers are, or why a verification might be refused. If your situation is not straightforward — a country of residence different from your documents, a name change, a second nationality — those are exactly the gaps you will hit.
Unofficial, per a third-party card comparison site from August 2026: depending on the programme you may be asked for an identity document, a selfie or liveness check, proof of address and information about where your funds come from, and the Asia-Pacific card is said to require proof of residential address in a specific named country. Volet does not publish this; your own experience is the only test.
Which card you would get, in short:
- Global digital Mastercard, USD, digital.
- Asia-Pacific plastic Mastercard, USD, physical.
- Europe Virtual and Europe Plastic, Visa or Mastercard, in USD or EUR.
Delivery. Physical cards exist for Asia-Pacific and for Europe, Turkey and Israel. Delivery is described as “free or express” — but the public pages give neither the timeframe for either option nor the price of express. That is a real gap if you are trying to plan around a trip. Replacement cost is also not stated officially; a third-party site lists $19.95 for Digital, €/$1 virtual or €/$5 plastic, and $120 for Global Plus, which you should verify before relying on it.
Fees: what it really costs
This is where the card is weakest, and it is worth reading the table slowly rather than skimming it.

| Fee or limit | What is stated |
|---|---|
| Issuance | Digital global $5; Asia-Pacific plastic $5; Europe Virtual 1 USD/EUR; Europe Plastic $5 / EUR 5 |
| Monthly fee | Not listed as a charge; the FAQ says there are no monthly fees |
| Loading the card from the wallet | Digital global 2.5% + $1; Asia-Pacific 1.5% + $1; Europe 1% + 1 USD/EUR |
| Card purchase and FX | No extra fee on the Global card (Mastercard rate); Europe states “no POS fee” |
| Crypto deposit to wallet | Free |
| Auto-conversion to fiat or stablecoin balance | $1 for USDT/USDC; free for BTC/ETH and others |
| Loading the wallet from a bank card | 3.5% |
| ATM | Not stated officially |
| Per-purchase limit | Digital global up to $50,000; Asia-Pacific up to $22,000 and $6,500 load per day; Europe not listed |
| Monthly caps | Not stated |
| Tiers | A single tier per card type; no perk levels listed, the types differ by region only |
Now three everyday payments, so the percentages land somewhere real.
Buying coffee. This is the friendliest case, and it is the case the card is really built for. There is no extra fee on the purchase and no FX fee on the Global card at the Mastercard rate. If the balance is already in dollars and you are spending dollars, what you feel is the cost you already paid when you loaded the card — and that load is 2.5% plus $1 on the Digital global card, 1.5% plus $1 in Asia-Pacific, or 1% plus 1 USD/EUR in Europe. On a small purchase, the flat dollar component dominates: a $4 coffee on a 2.5% plus $1 load structure carries a load fee that is out of proportion to the transaction. Frequent small purchases are the weak spot of this pricing, not large ones.
A holiday in a country that is not your own. Here the card holds up better than many people expect. On the Global card there is no extra FX fee and the Mastercard rate applies. But note that the Mastercard rate applies to the dollar balance you loaded — the currency conversion cost of turning a euro or stablecoin into dollars was already charged at the load step, at 1% plus 1 USD/EUR in Europe, and conversion from crypto into fiat is a separate line: $1 for USDT and USDC, free for BTC, ETH and others. Add the bank’s own FX rate on your home currency and the total is the sum of three separate percentage hits, only one of which is labelled “FX”.
A large monthly bill paid by card. Watch the per-purchase ceiling rather than the fee. The Digital global card goes up to $50,000 per purchase; Asia-Pacific caps a single purchase at $22,000, which a rent payment may exceed. Europe limits are simply not listed, which is not the same as unlimited.
ATM cash is the genuine blank. Nothing official. A third-party site from August 2026 lists €/$1.99 domestic in Europe and €/$2.99 outside it, $2.99 for Asia-Pacific with $1.99 in Australia, and $2 plus 1% for Global Plus with another 2% for non-dollar currencies, while admitting the Digital card’s ATM fee is not clearly stated. If you plan to take cash out, budget for the upper end and consider asking support first.
One more thing the pricing page leaves open: whether multi-currency balances exist. It says fiat balance exchange happens at “near-market” rates, which is a phrase, not a number.
Top up: how the money gets in
The mechanism is single-track, and that is the most important fact in this section.

The cards load only from the fiat Volet e-wallet. To use crypto you deposit it first and it is converted to USD or EUR. There is no stated list of networks for those deposits — which is a genuine practical hazard, since sending on a chain the provider does not support is a well-known way to lose funds.
What is stated about the money side:
- Crypto to crypto wallet: free.
- Crypto to fiat or stablecoin balance, automatic: 1 USD for USDT and USDC, free for BTC, ETH and others.
- Fiat card top-up to the e-wallet (Visa, Mastercard): 3.5%.
Not stated: the minimum top-up, and any fee for SEPA or bank transfers.
Withdrawing money out is where the fee schedule gets long, and it is worth reading because it tells you what the business model charges for:
- To a Volet card: from 1%.
- To a Visa or Mastercard card: from 3%.
- SWIFT: 1% + 25 USD.
- SEPA: from 1%.
- Local bank: from 1%.
- P2P: free.
- Crypto from the crypto wallet: USDT on TRC-20 3.5 USDT; USDT or USDC on other chains 0.5; BTC and ETH at the network fee.
- Crypto from a fiat or stablecoin balance: USDT on TRC-20 0.5% + 3.5 USD; other chains 0.5% + 0.5 USD.
What happens to a leftover balance when you close the account is not stated, and that is worth asking about before you close anything.
Paying with it every day
Everyday use is the card’s strongest ordinary score, 7 out of 10, and the reasons are concrete.
You get a real Mastercard or Visa number that shops accept. Some cards work with Apple Pay and Google Pay — the page says to check each card’s own description rather than assuming. Unofficial, from a third-party site in August 2026: Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported on the Digital and Spend Virtual cards, not advertised for Europe, and not supported for Asia-Pacific or Global Plus. That is exactly the kind of detail that decides whether the card slips into your existing routine.
Rewards are the disappointment. No cashback is mentioned anywhere. There is a referral programme listed as “coming soon” — 2 USD/EUR per activated digital card, 5 USD/EUR per activated plastic card — which is not a reward you can count on today.
The app. Google Play and App Store badges are shown, but the page also says “iOS coming soon”, which is a contradiction the reader should notice: store ratings are not given, and the iOS app is not stated to be available. If you are on an iPhone, that is a live question, not a detail.
Disputes and blocked merchants are not disclosed. The card’s blocked merchant categories are not stated and the dispute process is not stated. For a prepaid card that is a meaningful silence, and it ties into the wider point that a card number can be declined for reasons that have nothing to do with your balance.
What can go wrong
I want to be straight with you about the parts I could not verify.
Nobody names the issuer. The card and personal pages do not name a card issuer or a legal entity; the footer carries only the domain. Agreements are published per region — “Agreement Canada”, “Agreement Costa Rica” — which tells you the contracting entity may change depending on where you are, without telling you who it is. Licences are not stated. Unofficial information says Volet is formerly ADVcash and that the card issuers are not publicly named. In the EU, an electronic money institution is the kind of body that issues these cards and must safeguard customer funds; in the US, a comparable role is played by a money transmitter. Volet’s pages give you neither. If that matters to you, that is the single most important gap on this page.
Custodial, by definition. Your funds sit on Volet’s side, not yours. That means you are exposed to the provider’s solvency and to how well it is run, on top of everything else. The published safeguards are described as “multi-layer security, encryption, access controls and continuous monitoring”, with PCI-DSS, GDPR, SSL and ISO badges shown. Two-factor authentication, freezing the card in the app, spending controls and any deposit safeguarding or insurance are not stated — and those are precisely the things that would tell you how exposed you are.
What users actually report. I found no official incident record. Trustpilot shows 4.1 out of 5 across 965 reviews as I read them on 2026-10-20, with 72% five-star and 16% one-star. The themes are consistent and specific, and they are worth weighing one by one:
- High fees. Reviews in June 2025 and August 2026 describe the cost of getting euros in as high, and one February 2026 review calculates the wallet-to-card cost at up to 11%.
- Verification and withdrawal limits. A September 2026 user in the UK cannot complete full verification.
- Transactions blocked. A January 2026 report of transactions blocked from India without justification.
- Lost funds by mistake. An August 2026 report of money sent to an old wallet address.
- Cards not delivered. September 2026, one star.
- Proof of address refused. A March 2025 review reports a bank-statement PDF rejected, with Volet saying the issuing partner decides.
That last one is the clearest illustration of the structural problem: the card programme is run with partners who make the final decision, and you are dealing with a front-end that may not be able to overrule them.
The category risks apply here too. Card programmes get wound down — in November 2022 Visa said it had terminated its global agreements with FTX — and when that happens, loading stops, spending stops, and you are asked to withdraw. A card issuer can also be suspended. Crypto transfers are typically irreversible, and a deposit on the wrong network or to the wrong address has no built-in recovery. And because a prepaid card looks exactly like one to a merchant’s systems, some shops and payment processors decline it for reasons that have nothing to do with you.
Support and language. Live support is advertised as 24/7, with a support centre and a contact page, and the site is in about 20 languages including English, Spanish, German, French, Chinese and Japanese. That is better than most. It does not change who the issuer is.
What to take instead
If part of this is not right for you, the alternatives below come from the same review work, and the difference between them is mostly about how the fees are shaped.
| Bitrefill | UPay | Kemy | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.8 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 | 6.0 / 10 |
| Card | Virtual and physical Visa | Virtual and physical, personal and business; network not named | Unlimited virtual cards, one physical Mastercard |
| Cost | Free through the app; amounts not stated; inactivity fee after 12 months | Not stated | Virtual $15 issuance, $2/month; physical $250 issuance with DHL Express, $10/month |
| Fees to watch | Deposit spread on crypto-to-euro conversion; SEPA pay-in 1.99%; processor and ATM spreads | Not stated; conversion may occur during payment | Top-up $1.5 under $100 or 1.25% from $100 (min $5); transaction fee 3.5% + $1; failed transaction $0.80 |
| Where you are | Country list not stated; access “subject to eligibility criteria” | List not stated; does not serve residents of certain countries; claims support in 180+ countries | 190+ countries, “a few restrictions apply” |
| Top-up | Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, USDT, Solana, Base, Polygon, Li.Finance, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Visa, Mastercard; SEPA per terms | BTC, ETH or USDT; USDC also listed | USDT and USDC on the main networks, plus BTC, ETH, SOL via on/off ramp; fiat via mobile money and virtual bank accounts |
| Rewards | 2% total cashback, no cap: 1% per crypto deposit and 1% per purchase | No cashback stated on the card page | Not mentioned |
Read that table as a set of trade-offs rather than a ranking. Bitrefill is the one with the most explicit reward, 2% cashback with no cap, and it is the highest-scoring of the three — but its costs are described in spread terms without percentages, which means you need to read its pricing yourself. UPay tells you least about money and most about eligibility, which is the reverse trade-off. Kemy is by far the most expensive on paper: $250 for the physical card, $10 a month, and a 3.5% plus $1 transaction fee, with a deposit fee that a single source shows as 8% in one place and 5% in another — that inconsistency alone should slow you down.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Volet to someone in this position: you have crypto, you cannot easily get an ordinary bank card, you spend in the currency your card holds, and you mostly pay for things rather than take cash out. Under those conditions the fees are known, the limits are published, and the card works.
I would steer someone else. If you need to know the name of the institution that issued your card, look elsewhere. If small daily purchases are the bulk of your spending, the flat dollar component on every load is working against you. If you take cash out regularly, you are relying on an ATM fee that is not officially published. If you are relying on iOS, the app situation is contradictory on the company’s own page. And if your region’s availability is uncertain — the residence-versus-citizenship question is not answered anywhere I could find — check with support before you move money.
Frequently asked questions
What is Volet card?
Volet is a prepaid payment card that spends money from your existing balance in the Volet e-wallet. It is not a credit card and it does not extend a line. You load dollars or euros first, then the card spends only that balance, so it cannot go overdrawn. It comes in a digital Mastercard version, an Asia-Pacific plastic Mastercard, and European Visa or Mastercard cards in dollars or euros.
How does the Volet card work?
You hold crypto or fiat in the Volet wallet. When you want the card to spend, the crypto is converted to a fiat or stablecoin balance, and that balance is loaded onto the card, which then behaves like an ordinary Mastercard or Visa at any shop that accepts it. Each step is charged separately: conversion, then loading, then the purchase itself. Cards physically delivered exist for Asia-Pacific and for Europe, Turkey and Israel.
Is Volet a bank?
Not on the evidence published. The card pages do not name a bank, a card issuer or a legal entity, and no licences are stated; the footer carries only the domain, and the agreements are published per region, which suggests the contracting entity changes with your location. Unofficial sources describe Volet as formerly ADVcash and say the card issuers are not publicly named. Treat it as a card from an e-money or prepaid programme, not from a deposit-taking bank.
Does the Volet card require KYC?
Only for the parts that matter. The wallet’s basic functions work without verification. The cards, all card features, higher limits, unrestricted fiat methods and full withdrawals require full verification, which Volet says usually takes a few minutes. The public pages do not list which documents, whether proof of address is needed, the age threshold, or what causes a refusal.
How much does the Volet card cost?
Issuance is $5 for the Digital global card, $5 for the Asia-Pacific plastic card, 1 USD or EUR for Europe Virtual, and $5 or EUR 5 for Europe Plastic. No monthly fee is listed, and the FAQ says there are none. The recurring cost is at the loading step: 2.5% plus $1 for the Digital global card, 1.5% plus $1 in Asia-Pacific, 1% plus 1 USD or EUR in Europe.
What are Volet’s fees and limits?
Loading the card from the wallet costs 2.5% plus $1 on the Digital global card, 1.5% plus $1 in Asia-Pacific and 1% plus 1 USD or EUR in Europe. Purchases carry no extra fee, and the Global card has no extra FX fee at the Mastercard rate. Limits: up to $50,000 per purchase on the Digital global card; up to $22,000 per purchase and $6,500 of daily loading in Asia-Pacific; European limits are not listed. Monthly caps, tiers and ATM fees are not stated.
Can I use the Volet card in my country?
Probably, but check first. The service runs in 180+ countries and the Global digital Mastercard in 150+, with separate cards for Asia-Pacific and Europe. Unofficial sources list 29 restricted countries including the US, UK, Puerto Rico, Cuba, Iran, Syria and North Korea. The pages speak of “region” rather than residence or citizenship, so if you live in one country and hold another nationality, ask support rather than assume.
How do I top up the Volet card?
Only from the fiat Volet e-wallet. Crypto — USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH and others — is deposited into the wallet and converted into dollars or euros; the networks used are not named, so pick the chain carefully before sending. Loading the wallet itself from a bank card costs 3.5%. Automatic crypto-to-fiat conversion costs 1 USD for USDT and USDC, and is free for BTC, ETH and others.
Is the Volet card safe, and what is not verified?
Nobody names the issuer, no licence is stated, and your funds are held on Volet’s side rather than yours, so you carry counterparty risk on top of everything else. The company shows PCI-DSS, GDPR, SSL and ISO badges and claims layered security and continuous monitoring, but two-factor authentication, card freezing, spending controls and any safeguarding are not stated. Trustpilot showed 4.1 out of 5 from 965 reviews, with complaints about fees, verification limits and undelivered cards.
Is a Volet card worth it?
Worth it if you already hold crypto, cannot easily get an ordinary bank card, spend in the currency the card holds, and mostly pay rather than withdraw cash. Not worth it if small daily purchases dominate your spending, if you need a named issuing institution, if you need an ATM regularly, or if cash-flow predictability matters more than reach. Compare Bitrefill, UPay and Kemy first — each charges in a different shape, and the cheapest-looking headline is not always the cheapest total.
Virtual cards – cryptocardchooser.com
Content created by the «cryptocardchooser.com» team
