Paying from a crypto wallet, with a 1% purchase fee attached
A crypto card is easy to buy and easy to misjudge. The pitch is simple — take money you already hold in crypto, spend it like an ordinary bank card, and stop thinking about exchanges. Oobit does exactly that, and in most of the 75-odd countries it serves it does it competently. What gives me pause is narrower and more practical: the card’s issuer is not named anywhere on its public pages, and its user rating sits at 3.8 out of 5 from 495 Trustpilot reviews, with held funds, blocked cards and slow support as the recurring themes.

So this review is not an indictment. It is an explanation of what Oobit actually is, who it fits, and the three or four things I would want you to know before you load money into it.
The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
Oobit scores 6.8 out of 10 overall. That is a middle-of-the-road number, and it is not a rounding error away from better or worse: it is what you get when a product is genuinely usable and broadly available, with a clean fee structure on paper, and a service record that produces the kind of complaints that come from money arriving late or not at all.

Who it suits: someone who already holds crypto in a self-custody wallet — MetaMask, Phantom, Trust Wallet, Base — and wants to spend it directly without moving everything onto an exchange balance first. That is Oobit’s natural user. If your money is already in a wallet you control, Oobit’s no-preloading model is a real convenience, and paying straight from the wallet avoids the anxiety of holding a float on a platform while a shop meal sits in it.
Who it does not suit: anyone who needs a physical plastic card in the post, anyone whose country’s rules do not allow it, and anyone whose main concern is a guarantee. That last one matters. Oobit does not publish an issuer name, an insurance arrangement or a safeguarding policy, so if the question for you is “who is legally responsible for this money”, the public pages do not answer it.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | 75+ countries: Europe 43, Asia and the Middle East 10, the Americas 17, Africa 3, Oceania 2 |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Issuance and maintenance free; purchase 1% (minimum $0.25), ATM 2.5% (minimum $0.25), swap 0.95% |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | USDT, Bitcoin, Ethereum and other stablecoins, with MetaMask, Phantom, Trust Wallet or Base connectable; networks not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Issuer not named; Trustpilot 3.8 out of 5 from 495 reviews: held funds, card blocks, slow support |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual Visa, Apple Pay and Google Wallet, ATM up to $250 per withdrawal; no physical card named |
Will they give you the card
Yes in most places — Oobit is available in 75+ countries, and that is a genuinely wide reach, wider than most crypto cards. Europe accounts for 43 of them, including the UK, Germany and Spain. The Americas account for 17, Asia and the Middle East for 10, Oceania for 2, and Africa for 3: Kenya, South Africa and Tanzania.
Two absences from the list surprise people. Turkey is not listed, and Armenia is not listed. More consequentially, Russia and Belarus appear on a “Not supported in” list, which is a different thing from simply being absent — it means the provider has named them as out of scope. If either describes you, the answer is no, and it is a clean no rather than a technical one.
The country list is the first filter. Identity verification is the second, and Oobit is explicit that it is mandatory: a passport or driver’s licence, sometimes proof of address. You cannot hold this card without being identified, and that is not a quirk of Oobit but the ordinary state of the category. Anti-money-laundering law requires regulated businesses to verify customers and keep monitoring them, and in the EU that due diligence covers your name, address, date of birth, nationality and documents, plus a sanctions check and a determination of whether you are a politically exposed person.
One detail worth understanding, because it catches people out: nationality is screened separately from where you live. Sanctions screening and issuer risk policy often apply to citizenship and country of birth, not only to your address. Living in a supported country does not guarantee a supported citizenship, and providers are within their rights to say no on that basis alone.
Oobit does not publish a citizenship rule of its own beyond that general framework. Nor does it publish what documents turn an application down — but the pattern it describes in its own guidance is familiar enough to be useful: most rejections are for expired, unclear or mismatched documents, and you resubmit inside the app rather than starting over.
How to get it
You sign up in the app, verify your identity, and then request a virtual Visa card. The card arrives with a status that moves from Pending to Active once verification is complete, and then you add it to Apple Pay, Google Wallet or a smartwatch. It is a digital card from the start: what you spend is drawn from your Oobit account balance or from a wallet you connect.
The verification step is where most of the waiting happens, and it is not usually long. Oobit says most accounts are verified within minutes, with some taking up to 24 hours. The documents are a passport or driver’s licence, and sometimes proof of address — that last one is worth having ready, because bank transfers specifically require a one-time proof of address before the first payout goes out.
On the physical card, the honest answer is that there is nothing to read. Oobit’s pages describe a virtual Visa card requested in the app after verification; whether a physical version exists, what it costs to post, and what a replacement costs are all not stated. I would not order a wallet’s worth of expectation around a plastic card on the strength of that silence. Treat this as a phone-first product unless you have seen otherwise yourself.
One small thing that does bite: a card unused for 90 days is cancelled. A new one can be requested, but the gap is annoying, and it is the kind of rule that catches people who hold a card as a backup rather than as a daily tool.
Fees
Here is the whole fee schedule as the card states it. There is no monthly charge and no charge for holding the card; the costs come in when you spend, when you withdraw cash, and when you convert.

| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Issuance | Free — no issuance or monthly fee stated |
| Card purchase | 1% (minimum $0.25); Brazil 1% with no minimum, plus IOF and FX charges |
| ATM withdrawal | 2.5% (minimum $0.25), plus any fee the ATM operator charges; no free allowance stated |
| Swap | 0.95%, and 3% when receiving OOB |
| Card purchase limit | $1 to $2,000 per purchase, up to $25,000 per rolling 24 hours |
| ATM limit | Up to $250 per withdrawal including operator charges, 3 attempts per 24 hours |
| Swap limit | $5 to $10,000 |
| Crypto deposit minimum | $0.10 |
The purchase limit deserves a flag because Oobit’s own two official pages disagree. The FAQ says up to $10,000 per day; another official page says up to $25,000 per rolling 24 hours. If a large purchase is your use case, that discrepancy is worth resolving with support before you rely on it.
Now the everyday arithmetic, which is where a 1% fee stops being a rounding error.
A $30 lunch: $0.30, because the minimum $0.25 applies below that. Nothing unexpected. A $12 taxi: $0.25, the floor rather than the percentage. And $400 of groceries: $4. Over a month of ordinary spending that adds up to something you will notice, and it is charged on top of whatever the shop’s own currency conversion does to you.
The FX side is where I would slow down. Oobit states that transactions settle in local currency over the Visa network, but a foreign exchange fee is not separately stated, and the balance currency is not stated either. That leaves a real gap. A Trustpilot reviewer writing on 24 August 2026 reports roughly 7% on non-USD payments — that is a user’s account, not confirmed by Oobit, and I treat it as a warning about where the cost might land rather than as a published rate. In Brazil the picture is clearer: 1% with no minimum, plus IOF and FX charges.
There is one more thing about fees that is easy to read as a saving and is not. There are reward levels: points scale with cumulative spend over a 90-day cycle, from 1x at level one up to 5x at $1,500 of spend, with 1,000 points worth $1, and stablecoin rewards of 5% of eligible payments up to a $200 spend cap, or 10% if you hold OOB tokens with a $5,000 cap. Those headline numbers are generous on a 1% fee. But the payout asset and the caps are not stated, there is a single card with no paid tiers, and the smaller caps mean the headline percentage applies to less of your spending than it sounds like. I would treat the rewards as a rounding item, not a reason to pick the card.
How to top it up
The short version: you do not have to preload anything. That is Oobit’s design and its best feature. The card pays directly from a connected self-custody wallet — the system is called DePay — or from your Oobit balance. If you use the self-custody route, your crypto stays in your own wallet until you authorise a payment, which is a meaningfully different risk position from a platform balance.
The assets named are USDT, Bitcoin, Ethereum and other stablecoins, and the wallets you can connect are MetaMask, Phantom, Trust Wallet or Base. What is not stated is the networks. This is the single most useful thing to pin down yourself before you transfer, and I will come back to why in the risks section.
Beyond the card itself, there is a broader account: crypto deposits from $0.10, buying crypto through a provider whose limits are shown at checkout, withdrawals to external wallets with the network fee displayed before you confirm, and swaps at 0.95% — or 3% when the receiving asset is OOB. Fiat top-up fees are not stated, which is its own kind of answer.
Cashing out works in two directions. Crypto withdrawals run from $1 to $50,000 per withdrawal, with a $5 minimum for US residents and a daily limit per asset that is not stated; the network fee appears before you confirm. Bank transfers go up to $50,000 per transfer with a minimum of €10, £10 or $10, though the bank-transfer fee is not specified and failed bank transfers are automatically refunded to your balance. If you want to close the account, you do it in the app or through Support — and how the remaining balance is handled on closure is not stated. If you have money sitting there, that is a question worth asking before you need to know.
A word on buying crypto through the app rather than transferring it. The reason to top up with a card or bank transfer is convenience; the reason to transfer an existing balance is cost and control. Network fees on the deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by Oobit, so a transfer of a small amount across an expensive chain can cost more than the card purchase fee you were trying to avoid.
Paying with it every day
Day to day, this is a virtual Visa card you add to Apple Pay or Google Wallet, and it behaves like a normal contactless card in a shop. Points accrue on purchases, and the headline on the rewards page is 10% cashback in some form. Which categories are blocked is not stated, which is a gap: plenty of crypto cards restrict gambling and similar merchant categories through the four-digit merchant category code that classifies a business, and many issuers block those on policy rather than by law, with the list differing by issuer. If online betting or similar is part of your life, ask before you assume.
The app is on iOS and Android, and the ratings on it are the strongest single signal in the whole picture. Oobit shows App Store 4.8 from 22K+ ratings and Google Play 4.7–4.8 from 25K+. Worth knowing if you dig further: the US App Store listing itself showed 4.5 from 134 ratings, iPhone only, iOS 15.4+, when it was read on 20 October 2026. The headline figures are global; the one you will download may be different.
Declined payments have a documented handling: check the in-app notification and retry. There is also a failure mode worth understanding. If a merchant charges more than the amount first approved, you can be left with a negative balance and a paused card — which is exactly how you end up locked out of your own money while trying to pay for something ordinary.
And then there is the question people ask that has a frustrating answer: if a charge is wrong, what happens? There is no formal card dispute process described in Oobit’s help centre. No chargeback route, no documented refund handling. That is a meaningful hole in a card whose whole purpose is being spent at shops, and it belongs at the front of your thinking rather than the back.
What can go wrong
Let me take the sharpest risks first, because they are not the ones most reviews mention.
Wrong network, lost money. Oobit does not name the networks it supports for deposits. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network Oobit does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost outright or need manual support recovery with no guarantee of the outcome. Before your first transfer, confirm the network in the app. This is not paranoia; it is the single most common way money disappears in this category, and it is entirely avoidable with thirty seconds of attention.
No gas, no send. If you are sending on Ethereum, fees are paid in ETH. A wallet holding USDT but no ETH cannot send. Tron-based transfers price their fees through bandwidth and energy resources, often burning TRX. Small practical detail, real consequence.
Stablecoins are not actually stable. A stablecoin aims to hold its value against a currency, but the name overstates the guarantee. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022 and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. If you are spending a balance held in a stablecoin, a depeg turns your 1% fee into a much larger number.
And they are not censorship-proof either. Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity. That is worth remembering when you read claims that stablecoins are beyond the reach of any authority.
The card number itself. Oobit calls it a Visa Platinum card, and transactions run over the Visa network and settle in local currency. Merchants can look up the issuing institution and country from the card’s first six or eight digits, and may apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from the billing address. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards for exactly this reason. In a practical sense: expect the occasional refusal that has nothing to do with your balance.
Address verification, online. The billing-address check that compares what you typed against issuer records is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards. That is a common cause of declines on foreign cards, and it is not something you can fix by trying again.
Holds on declined payments. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven. On a balance you were planning to spend, that is uncomfortable.
Who is actually behind this? Oobit Technologies operates through multiple entities globally; its US crypto services run in partnership with Bakkt Financial Solutions I, LLC. The card issuer is described only as “licensed partners depending on your location” — no name is given. That is normal phrasing for this category, and it is also the reason I cannot tell you who stands behind your balance. Recall how these programmes are built: the card network routes the messages and sets the rules, the issuer is the licensed institution holding the programme, and the crypto brand is frequently just the front end. When something goes wrong, you need to know which of the three you are dealing with.
The platform risk is real history, not theory. Custodial providers have failed in the most expensive way: Mt. Gox with about US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014, Coincheck at about US$400 million in 2018, and the Ronin Network at US$625 million in 2022. Self-custody removes that counterparty risk but transfers it to you — key loss, phishing, and clipboard-hijacking malware that silently swaps a copied address.
Card programmes get shut down. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures typically mean a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. That is the pattern to hold in mind before you park a meaningful balance here.
The complaints. Oobit finds no official record of incidents — though its own page figures are inconsistent, with 175M and 150M merchants both appearing. The unofficial user picture is less comfortable. Trustpilot shows Oobit at 3.8 out of 5 from 495 reviews as of 20 October 2026, with no recent history of asking for reviews. Recurring themes: held or missing funds through July to September 2026; an unresolved refund from 8 October 2026; unresponsive support through July to October 2026; card suspension and account blocks in July and September 2026; and opaque fees in August 2026. Specific reports include a deposit from another wallet that never arrived with no support response in April 2026, high fees converting USDC and EURC to euros and on withdrawals in March 2026, a delayed USDC-to-BTC conversion in March 2025, and an LTC transaction not accepted within two hours in February 2025 — to which Oobit replied that delays can come from network conditions. Oobit answers 100% of negative reviews, often with a template, and replies to most reviews.
I want to be fair about how to read that. A 3.8 with a company replying to every negative review is not the same as a company that ignores you. But answering is not the same as resolving, and when the categories of complaint are held funds and account blocks, the response rate tells you less than the resolution rate would.
On security, what is claimed and what is not. The self-custody option is real and is the strongest thing about this product: with DePay the crypto stays in your wallet until you authorise a payment. You can lock the card in the app. Oobit claims bank-grade encryption and real-time blockchain monitoring. Two-factor authentication, insurance and safeguarding are not stated — and given the unnamed issuer, that silence matters more here than it would elsewhere.
What to take instead
All three of these scored lower or level with Oobit on our scale, and all of them are worth a look for a reason Oobit is not the answer.
| Alternative | Score | Where it differs from Oobit |
|---|---|---|
| MetaMask | 7.1 / 10 | Mastercard, virtual card instant and free, metal $199/year; no foreign transaction fee; spends from the connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad, Solana |
| KAST | 6.1 / 10 | Virtual and physical, up to 10 cards, Visa Infinite tiers; stablecoin top-up 0%, non-USD FX 0.5%–1.75% depending on country; membership up to $10,000/year |
| Zeal | 6.1 / 10 | No additional FX fee, Visa wholesale conversion; card Safe balances in EUR/USD/GBP on Gnosis Chain and Celo; cost schedule not published |
MetaMask is the higher-scoring option, and its structural difference matters. You spend directly from the connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad or Solana — named networks, which is the transparency Oobit does not offer. There is no additional MetaMask fee and no foreign transaction fee, with the Mastercard rate used instead; the pages describe only a “minimal fee for each transaction” without stating the amount. Sign-up is open in 45 listed countries and territories with proof of residency required, and US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed. It is a Mastercard rather than a Visa, and cashback is 1% on the virtual card and a headline 3% on metal, limited to the first $10,000 spent.
KAST is the one to consider if you want zero fees on the obvious spending path. Stablecoin top-up 0%, card spend in USD 0%, transaction fee 0%, Apple and Google Pay 0% — and the non-USD FX fee of 0.5%–1.75% depends on your residence country, the transaction country and the card programme. Under 25 USD non-USD transactions cost 0.10 USD; a declined transaction for insufficient balance costs 0.50 USD. The cost is structure: annual membership of 0, $1,000 or $10,000, a 2 USD fee for an extra virtual card in some regions, 40 USD delivery on a Standard physical card, and 1 USD per month after 12 months of inactivity. KAST’s eligibility logic is stricter than a country list and worth reading carefully, since holding an ID from a restricted region can make you ineligible even when you live in a supported country.
Zeal takes the simplest line on currency: no additional FX fee, conversion at the Visa wholesale rate. You spend from balances held in a card Safe in EUR, USD or GBP on Gnosis Chain and Celo. It is live in the EU, UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, the Philippines, Indonesia and Thailand. Two cautions: no fee schedule is published on its site or App Store, and its cashback of up to 4% is paid in GNO on Gnosis Chain, meaning you must hold GNO in the card Safe to qualify and the rate can change.
If your priority is simply spending without a fee on the transaction, KAST’s 0% USD spend is the cleanest structure on paper. If your priority is a named, transparent network list, MetaMask. If your priority is not losing money to currency conversion, Zeal.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Oobit to someone in this position: you already hold USDT or another stablecoin in a self-custody wallet, you live in one of the 75-odd supported countries, you want a virtual Visa card in your phone’s wallet today, and you treat it as a spending tool rather than a place to keep money. That person gets a genuinely useful card at a fair, disclosed price — 1% per purchase, no monthly fee, no preloading required — and the self-custody route keeps their crypto in their own hands until they authorise a payment. That is a good deal.
I would not recommend it to someone who needs a physical card, who is in Russia, Belarus, Turkey or Armenia, who needs a documented dispute or chargeback process, or who wants a named issuer and a published safeguarding policy. Nor would I suggest it as the only card anyone has. The combination I dislike is a large balance held long-term on a platform with an unnamed issuer and a 3.8 Trustpilot score. The no-preloading design is what protects you here, and if you ignore that design you lose the main advantage this product has over its competitors.
Two checks before you transfer anything, and I would do them in this order. First, find out which networks Oobit supports for your deposit, in the app, before you send — because a wrong-network transfer is usually simply lost. Second, ask support what happens to your balance if you close the account, because that handling is not stated anywhere public. Both take minutes and both protect money.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Oobit card?
The Oobit card is a virtual Visa card you request inside the Oobit app after completing identity verification, then add to Apple Pay, Google Wallet or a smartwatch. You do not have to preload it: it pays directly from a connected self-custody wallet or from your Oobit balance. It is a phone-first product — Oobit’s public pages describe a virtual card and do not state anything about a physical one, its delivery or its cost.
How does the Oobit card work?
You verify your identity, request the card in the app, and its status moves from Pending to Active. After that, transactions run over the Visa network and settle in local currency, drawing on your Oobit balance or your connected wallet. Purchases cost 1% with a $0.25 minimum, and a purchase can run from $1 to $2,000.
Is Oobit a bank?
No — and the distinction matters for what you are protected by. Oobit Technologies operates through multiple entities globally, with US crypto services in partnership with Bakkt Financial Solutions I, LLC. The card issuer is described only as “licensed partners depending on your location”, and no issuer name is published. So the entity responsible for your card programme is not identifiable from the public pages.
Who owns Oobit?
Oobit is the brand and platform operator, described as operating through multiple entities globally. In the US its crypto services run in partnership with Bakkt Financial Solutions I, LLC, which is a partnership rather than ownership. Oobit is not a licensed bank, and the issuer behind the card programme is not named — it is referred to only as a licensed partner that varies by location.
Does the Oobit card require KYC?
Yes, verification is mandatory: a passport or driver’s licence, and sometimes proof of address. Bank transfers additionally require a one-time proof of address before the first payout. Most accounts verify within minutes, some within 24 hours, and rejections are most often caused by expired, unclear or mismatched documents — you resubmit inside the app.
Is the Oobit card free?
Getting it and holding it: yes. Oobit states no issuance fee and no monthly fee, and account creation and card issuance are free. Spending is not free — card purchases are 1% with a $0.25 minimum, ATM withdrawals 2.5% with a $0.25 minimum plus any operator charge, and swaps 0.95%, rising to 3% when receiving OOB.
How do I top up the Oobit card?
You do not need to preload it, which is the point. It pays from a connected wallet — MetaMask, Phantom, Trust Wallet or Base — or from your Oobit balance. Supported assets named are USDT, Bitcoin, Ethereum and other stablecoins; the networks are not stated, so confirm that in the app before transferring. Crypto deposits start at $0.10.
Is the Oobit card safe?
Safer than most, if you use it as designed. With the DePay option the crypto stays in your own wallet until you authorise a payment, and the card can be locked in the app. Oobit claims bank-grade encryption and real-time monitoring. Two-factor authentication, insurance and safeguarding are not stated, and no issuer is named — so judge it on that basis, not on the security language.
Can I use the Oobit card in my country?
It depends, and you should check the list rather than assume. Oobit is available in 75+ countries, with 43 in Europe, 10 in Asia and the Middle East, 17 in the Americas, 3 in Africa (Kenya, South Africa, Tanzania) and 2 in Oceania. Turkey and Armenia are not listed, and Russia and Belarus appear on a “Not supported in” list. Spend is separate from eligibility.
Is the Oobit card worth it?
For someone already holding stablecoins in a self-custody wallet, I think so: no preloading, no monthly fee, and a disclosed 1% purchase fee. The case weakens if you need a physical card, a documented dispute process, or a named issuer — and I would not hold a large long-term balance here, given a 3.8 out of 5 from 495 Trustpilot reviews centred on held funds and account blocks.
Wallet cards – cryptocardchooser.com
Content created by the «cryptocardchooser.com» team
